DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendment
Applicant amended the independent claims and associated dependent claims. The following OA examination reflect the new amended claims submitted herein. The arguments regarding previous claim submittal are moot since the amended claim has modified the scope of the previous claim. The amended claims are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 17-23, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vardarajan (US 2019/0215074 A1) in view of Hansen (US 2008/0311944 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 17
Vardarajan discloses a method (See [0005]; method of notification that includes a listing of network identifiers grouped, linked, color coded, positioned, or otherwise arranged according to corresponding access devices) comprising:
determining signal characteristics (See [0017-0018]; RSSI), relative to an access point, (See Fig.3B; [0006]; [0067]; [0073]; using probe request/response and beacon frame, a computer in the network can display a schematic illustration of an example network environment showing a smartphone 604 operating at various locations relative to a wireless access point 608) of a plurality of signals (See [0071]; [0086]; signal information captured between UE and access point is displayed on network device) that the access point (Fig.6(608)) received, from a plurality of wireless devices (Fig.6(604)) associated with a wireless network (Fig.1(104)) and
sending, by a computing device (Fig.11(Server)) and based on signal information of the plurality of signals (See Fig.6; [0071]; signal information is displayed), and based on the signal characteristics (See (See [0017-0018]; RSSI)), an indication of a location (See [0073-0074]; an indication of signal strength weakness can determine benefits of positioning wireless extender at different location in the wireless network range), for one or more range extending computing devices (See Fig.7b(112); [0074]; provide schematic illustration to show need of extended solution), different from the access point (Fig.7b(708)), that is expected to improve performance of the wireless network (See Fig.7b; [0076]; solution to uncovered field for wireless device 704).
But Vardarajan fails to explicitly recite
determining plurality of signal directions between access point and wireless devices.
However in an analogous art,
Hansen teaches about determining plurality of signal directions between access point and wireless devices (See [0014]; The base station and mobile stations may utilize angle and/or distance measurements based on the beacon to locate the mobile stations and map their positions).
Vardarajan and Hansen are analogous art because they all pertain to determining location of wireless device in wireless network. Vardarajan teaches about optimizing access point to increase network performance Hansen teaches about determining plurality of signal directions between access point and wireless devices. Vardarajan could use Hansen features to better locate the wireless devices on the network relative to the access point and to also add wireless extender in case of low RSSI being measured. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill at the time of the application to combine Vardarajan and Hansen as to obtain an efficient wireless network.
Regarding Claim 5,
Vardarajan and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Vardarajan further teaches
wherein the sending the indication comprises
sending the indication (See [0076-0077]; The notification may be included on a web page generated by wireless range extender 712, for example, which may be displayed by smartphone 704 or another network device) to a user device (Fig.1(108)) via the access point (Fig.1(102)).
Regarding claim 6, 18
Vardarajan and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 17 and Vardarajan further teaches
wherein the signal information comprises
at least one of :
a mean received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (See Fig.(6X,7X); [0018]; [0077-0078]),
a minimum RSSI (See Fig.(6X,7X); [0077-0078]),
a plurality of physical layer (PHY) rates associated with the plurality of wireless devices (See [0066]; signal rate can be determined),
a total throughput of the wireless network (See [0019]), or
a highest PHY rate used for transmitting data to the plurality of wireless devices (See [0066]; highest signal rate can be determined through statistical data).
Regarding Claim 7, 20
Vardarajan and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 17 and Vardarajan further teaches
wherein the sending the indication is based on evaluating telemetry data samples collected for the wireless network (See (Fig.7X; Fig.8X; [0018-0019]; [0073-0074]; device, a statistical measure of a characteristic of a wireless association between the wireless network device and the wireless access device, a packet drop rate, an average throughput, determination of a distance between the wireless access device and the wireless network device).
Regarding Claim 8,
Vardarajan and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Vardarajan further teaches
wherein the indication comprises at least one of:
a relative score indicative of an expected improvement to performance of the wireless network (See Fig.7(A-E); [0023]; [0077-0078]; present relative position for optimal performance),
or
an evaluation of a placement of the one or more range extending computing devices relative to one or more of the plurality of wireless devices (See Fig.7(A-E); [0023]; [0077-0078]; present relative position for optimal performance).
Regarding Claim 21,
Vardarajan and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 17 and Vardarajan further teaches
wherein the computing device (Fig.11(1100)) comprises (See [0093]; [0097]; These computer devices can be merge into one as they are already communicating with each other on the network) the access point (Fig.12(1200))
Regarding Claim 22,
Vardarajan and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 17 and Vardarajan further teaches
wherein the one or more range extending computing devices (Fig.7B(712)) do not comprise (See [0074]; FIGS. 7B-7E further depict a wireless range extender 712 positioned at various locations relative to smartphone 704 and wireless access point 708) the access point (Fig.7B(708)).
Regarding Claims 2, 23
Vardarajan and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 17 and Vardarajan further teaches
determining, based on a statistical variation of directions within the plurality of
directions (See [0019]; [0021-0022]; a statistical measure of a characteristic of a wireless association between the wireless network device and the wireless access device) that a current location of the wireless extender device deviates from an optimal location (See [0018-0019]; the notification includes instructions to move the wireless network device closer from the wireless access device); and
based on the determination that the current location of the wireless extender device deviates from the optimal location (See [0018-0019]; the notification includes instructions to move the wireless network device closer from the wireless access device),
sending a notification recommending a change the current location of the access point (See [0020-0021]; generating a new notification based on the new comparison, such as a new notification that includes instructions for positioning the wireless network device).
But Vardarajan and Hansen fail to explicitly recite about
finding the optimal location of the wireless access point relative to the other wireless device
However Vardarajan teaches about finding optimal location of other wireless devices such as wireless bridge or wireless repeater type (See [0079-0080]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill that the access point can also use statistical information measured about signal characteristics to optimize the access point location relative to other wireless devices.
Regarding Claim 3, 11, 27
Vardarajan and Hansen teach all the features with respect to Claim 1 further teach
wherein the signal information comprises
a distribution of azimuths of the plurality of signals or elevation angles of the plurality of signals (See Hansen [0014]; The beacon may be transmitted via a directional radiation pattern that may be swept through an angle over azimuth or altitude for example. The base station and mobile stations may utilize angle and/or distance measurements based on the beacon to locate the mobile stations and map their positions).
Statistical Signal information is used to determined optimal position of the access point relative to the other devices (See Vardarajan [0018-0019]).
Therefore Vardarajan could use Hansen features to determine optimal position of wireless devices.
Regarding Claim 4, 19
Vardarajan and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 17 and Hansen further teaches
wherein the signal information comprises at least one of:
a plurality of angle of arrival (AoA) measurements for the plurality of signals (See Fig.3(304); [0014]; [0023]; [0042]).
Claims 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 24, 25, 27, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crump (US 9819610 B1) in view of Dummond-Murray (US 2006/0217132 A1) and further in view of Hansen (US 2008/0311944 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, 24
Crump disclose a method (See [Abstract]) comprising:
based on indications of a plurality of measurements, relative to an access points of a plurality of signals received (See Fig.11(1106); Column 13, lines (14-24); measurement at different location is recorded), from a plurality of wireless devices (Fig,1(108(a, b, c))),
determining a new location of the access point (See (Column 7; lines (5-19);
Column 13, lines (14-30); optimized placement of a router) that is expected to improve performance of a wireless network (See (Column 7; lines (5-19); Column 13, lines (14-30); to maximize performance); and
sending, by a computing device to a user device (Fig.1(106x)), an indication of the new location of the access point (See (Column 7; lines (5-19); Column 13, lines (14-30); suggest to use to change location). that is expected to improve performance of the wireless network (See (Column 7; lines (5-19); Column 13, lines (14-30); to maximize performance).
But Crump fails to explicitly recite
About indications of a plurality of angle of arrival (AoA) measurements, relative to an access point, is coming from a plurality of directions.
However in analogous art,
Drummond-Murray teaches about network node collecting signal data parameters comprising direction of arrival, signal strength and flight time from multiple wireless devices associated to AP (See [0027-0030]).
Crump and Drummond-Murray are analogous art because they all pertain to
determining location of wireless device in wireless network. Crump teaches about optimizing access point location to increase network performance. Drummond-Murray teaches about network nodes collecting signal directions from a wireless device in order to estimate the location of the UE. Crump could use Drummond-Murray features of recording signal directions of a UE same as QoS of signals to better optimize location of access point in a communication network for better network services to other UEs. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill at the time of the application to combine Crump and Drummond-Murray as to obtain an efficient and flexible wireless network.
But Crump and Drummond-Murray fails to explicitly recite
wherein the data indicating the signal information comprises at least one of:
indications of a plurality of angle of arrival (AoA) measurements associated with the plurality of signals,
However in analogous art,
Hansen teaches about computing system using AoA measurement for signals
associated with the wireless communications in order to estimate access point location (See [0014]; [0042])
or
directions of the signals associated with the wireless communications received
by the access point during a predetermined period of time (See [0014]; [0042])
Crump, Drummond-Murray and Hansen are analogous art because they all pertain to determining location of wireless device in wireless network. Crump and Drummond-Murray teaches about optimizing access point to increase network performance. Hansen teaches about computing system using AoA measurement for signals associated with the wireless communications in order to estimate access point location or directions of the signals associated with the wireless communications received by the access point during a predetermined period of time. Crump and Drummond-Murray could use Hansen features to better estimate location of access point relative to other user devices in the network. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill at the time of the application to combine Crump, Drummond-Murray and Hansen as to obtain an efficient wireless network.
Regarding Claim 10,
Crump, Drummond-Murray and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 9 and Crump further teaches
receiving additional data comprising a floorplan of a premises at which the access point is located (See Column 6, line 54 to Column 7, line 19); room location in home relative to placement of router),
wherein the determining the new location of the access point that is expected to improve performance of the wireless network is further based on evaluating the floorplan (See Column 6, line 54 to Column 7, line 19); when a user starts to change location in a home, knowing that the wireless 65 application protocol (WAP) signal strength is going to decrease, the router 102 may proactively adjust QoS parameters (such as quality of video data requested) to prevent buffering).
Regarding Claim 13, 30
Crump, Drummond-Murray and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 9, 24 and Crump further teaches
wherein the instructions, when executed cause receiving a plurality of priorities assigned to the plurality of wireless devices (See (Column 7; lines (5-19); Column 13, lines (14-30); priority is taken into account), and
wherein the instructions, when executed cause the determining the new location of the access point that is expected to improve performance of the wireless network further based on evaluating the plurality of priorities (See (Column 7; lines (5-19); Column 13, lines (14-30); location of router used priority of signals).
Regarding Claim 15,
Crump, Drummond-Murray and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 9 and Crump further teaches
receiving a plurality of signal strengths of the plurality of signals (See Column 13, lines (13-28); signal strength measurement), and
wherein the determining the new location of the access point that is expected to improve performance of the wireless network is further based on evaluating the plurality of signal strengths of the plurality of signals (See Column 13, lines (13-28); optimization of wireless access point),.
Regarding Claim 28,
Crump, Drummond-Murray and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 24 and further teach
wherein the determining the new location of the access point (See Drummond-Murray [0019-0021]; Collect data to obtain optimum location) that is expected to improve performance of the wireless network (See [0027-0028]; locate wireless device) is further based on evaluating one or more clustering of directions within the plurality of directions of AoA measurements of the plurality of AoA measurements (See Hansen [0014; [0042]); collecting and measuring signal from different angle )
Regarding Claim 12, 25
Crump, Drummond-Murray and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 9, 24 and Hansen further teaches
wherein the determining the new location of the access point that is expected to improve performance of the wireless network is further based on evaluating the plurality of AoA (See [0014]; [0023]; [0042]; geolocation technique (e.g., time difference of arrival ("TDOA''), angle of arrival ("AOA''), etc.) may be used to estimate the location of any device in the network. This found location using AoA can be used to further positioned the device for better network performance )
Regarding Claim 11, 27
Crump, Drummond-Murray and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 9, 24 and Hansen further teaches
about computing system using AoA measurement for signals associated with the wireless communications in order to estimate access point location (See [0014]; [0023]; [0042]; beacon may be transmitted via a directional radiation pattern that may be swept through an angle over azimuth or altitude for example. The base station and mobile stations may utilize angle and/or distance measurements based on the beacon to locate the mobile stations and map their positions).
or
directions of the signals associated with the wireless communications received
by the access point during a predetermined period of time (See [0014]; [0023]; [0042]; beacon may be transmitted via a directional radiation pattern that may be swept through an angle over azimuth or altitude for example. The base station and mobile stations may utilize angle and/or distance measurements based on the beacon to locate the mobile stations and map their positions).
wherein the data indicating the signal information comprises at least one of:
indications of a plurality of angle of arrival (AoA) measurements associated with the plurality of signals (See [0014]; [0023]; [0042]; (See [0014]; [0023]; [0042]; beacon may be transmitted via a directional radiation pattern that may be swept through an angle over azimuth or altitude for example. The base station and mobile stations may utilize angle and/or distance measurements based on the beacon to locate the mobile stations and map their positions.) ,
Claim(s) 14, 16, 26, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Crump (US 9,819610 B1) in view of Drummond-Murray (US 2006/0217132 A1) in view of Hansen (US 2008/0311944 A1) and further in view of Vardarajan (US 2019/0215074 A1)
Regarding claim 14, 29
Crump, Drummond-Murray and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 9, 24 and Hansen further teaches
wherein the determining the new location of the access point that is expected to improve performance of the wireless network is further based
on the plurality of AoA measurements (See [0014]; [0023]; [0042]; measurement is performed on angle of arrival).
But Crump and Drummond-Murray and Hansen fail to explicitly recite
evaluating a statistical variation of on the plurality of AoA measurements
However in an analogous art,
Vardarajan teaches about plurality of measurement taken into account of different frequency band for optimal locations (See Fig.8(A-D); [0018-0021]; [0029]; [0066]; [0085]; In various embodiments, the wireless network device may monitor a quality of a wireless signal or wireless association for a period of time, such as to establish statistical information about the wireless network and quality of
the wireless signals from the wireless network at the position of the wireless network device).
Crump, Drummond-Murray, Hansen and Vardarajan are analogous art because they all pertain to determining location of wireless device in wireless network. Crump and Drummond-Murray teaches about optimizing access point to increase network performance. Vardarajan teaches about plurality of measurement taken into account of different frequency band for optimal locations. Crump and Drummond-Murray could use Vardarajan features to better estimate location of access point relative to other user devices in the network. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill at the time of the application to combine Crump, Drummond-Murray, Hansen and Vardarajan as to obtain an efficient wireless network.
Regarding Claim 16, 26
Crump and Drummond-Murray and Hansen teach all the features with respect to claim 9 , 24
But Crump, Drummond-Murray and Hansen fail to explicitly recite
receiving a plurality of telemetry data samples collected for multiple bands of the wireless network, and
wherein the determining the new location of the access point that is expected to improve performance of the wireless network is further based on evaluating the plurality of telemetry data samples collected for multiple bands of the wireless network.
However in an analogous art,
Vardarajan teaches about plurality of measurement taken into account of different frequency band for optimal locations (See Fig.8(A-D); [0018-0021]; [0029]; [0066]; [0085]; monitoring a characteristic of the wireless association; determining a statistical measure of the characteristic of the wireless association).
Crump, Drummond-Murray, Hansen and Vardarajan are analogous art because they all pertain to determining location of wireless device in wireless network. Crump and Drummond-Murray, Hansen teaches about optimizing access point to increase network performance. Vardarajan teaches about plurality of measurement taken into account of different frequency band for optimal locations. Crump and Drummond-Murray, Hansen could use Vardarajan features to better estimate location of access point relative to other user devices in the network. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill at the time of the application to combine Crump, Drummond-Murray, Hansen and Vardarajan as to obtain an efficient wireless network.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646