DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Objections Claims 11 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11 ln. 13: “the same plane” appears instead of “a same plane” Claim 20 ln. 17: “the same plane” appears instead of “a same plane” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 11-12, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 FILLIN "Insert either \“(a)(1)\” or \“(a)(2)\” or both. If paragraph (a)(2) of 35 U.S.C. 102 is applicable, use form paragraph 7.15.01.aia, 7.15.02.aia or 7.15.03.aia where applicable." \d "[ 2 ]" (a)( 1 ) as being FILLIN "Insert either—clearly anticipated—or—anticipated—with an explanation at the end of the paragraph." \d "[ 3 ]" anticipated by Mao WO 2021197170 . Regarding claim 1 1 , Mao teaches a LIDAR device for a vehicle ([0046, 79]) , comprising: an emitter configured to emit at least one laser beam on an emission path (laser emitting unit 11 in Fig. 1, [0071]) ; a receiver configured to receive at least one reflected laser beam on a receiving path (echo detection unit 12 in Fig. 1, [0071]) ; and a rotating mirror configured to deflect the laser beam via the emission path into the field of view and for deflecting the laser beam reflected in the field of view onto the receiving path (multi-faceted rotating mirror 13 in Fig. 1, [0071-75]) , the rotating mirror being situated between the emitter and the receiver and separating the emission path from the receiving path (multi-faceted rotating mirror 13 in Fig. 1, [0071-75]) , the rotating mirror being a polygon mirror and including at least one mirror surface for deflecting the laser beam via the emission path into the field of view and for deflecting the laser beam reflected in the field of view onto the receiving path (multi-faceted rotating mirror 13 in Fig. 1, [0071-75]; see also Figs. 2-5, 11-12), the laser beam emitted via the emission path into the field of view and the laser beam reflected from the field of view striking the same at least one mirror surface of the polygon mirror in the same plane (Fig s . 1 -2 , [0071-75] ; (lasers and detectors in substantially the same longitudinal position relative to the rotation axis 135 , helping realize a very flat lidar, without upper and lower regions, Figs. 1-2, [0078, 83, 88] ) . Regarding claim 1 2 , Mao teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 11, further comprising: a first deflection mirror situated in the emission path between the emitter and the polygon mirror, the first deflection mirror enabling a right-angled deflection of the laser beam emitted by the emitter on the emission path onto the at least one mirror surface of the polygon mirror (137 in Fig. 2, [0074]) , and/or a second deflection mirror situated in the receiving path between the polygon mirror and the receiver, the second deflection mirror enabling a right-angled deflection of the laser beam reflected by the field of vision onto the polygon mirror on the receiving path to the receiver (136 in Fig. 2, [0074]) . Regarding claim 1 4 , Mao teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 12, wherein the emitter is situated in a longitudinal direction and/or the receiver is situated in the longitudinal direction (Figs. 1-4 all show emitter 11 and receiver 12 situated in a longitudinal direction; similar to Applicant’s Figs. 1-4) . Regarding claim 1 6 , Mao teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 11, wherein the laser beam emitted via the polygon mirror into the field of view causes a point illumination and/or a line illumination of the field of view ([0081-90]) . Regarding claim 1 7 , Mao teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 11, wherein the polygon mirror includes four mirror surfaces (13 shown with 4 mirror surfaces in shown in Fig. 1, [0071-75]) . Regarding claim 1 8 , Mao teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 11, wherein the polygon mirror includes a rotation drive unit for moving the polygon mirror ([0078, 108-109]) . Regarding claim 1 9 , Mao teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 11, wherein the polygon mirror is mounted on one side or on two sides ([0078]) . Regarding claim 20 , Mao teaches a method for optically detecting a field of view for a vehicle ([0046, 79]) , the method comprising the following steps: a) providing a LIDAR device (Figs. 1-2, [0046, 79]) including: an emitter configured to emit at least one laser beam on an emission path (laser emitting unit 11 in Fig. 1, [0071]); a receiver configured to receive at least one reflected laser beam on a receiving path (echo detection unit 12 in Fig. 1, [0071]); and a rotating mirror configured to deflect the laser beam via the emission path into the field of view and for deflecting the laser beam reflected in the field of view onto the receiving path (multi-faceted rotating mirror 13 in Fig. 1, [0071-75]), the rotating mirror being situated between the emitter and the receiver and separating the emission path from the receiving path (multi-faceted rotating mirror 13 in Fig. 1, [0071-75]), the rotating mirror being a polygon mirror and including at least one mirror surface for deflecting the laser beam via the emission path into the field of view and for deflecting the laser beam reflected in the field of view onto the receiving path (multi-faceted rotating mirror 13 in Fig. 1, [0071-75]; see also Figs. 2-5, 11-12), the laser beam emitted via the emission path into the field of view and the laser beam reflected from the field of view striking the same at least one mirror surface of the polygon mirror in the same plane (Figs. 1-2, [0071-75]; (lasers and detectors in substantially the same longitudinal position relative to the rotation axis 135 helping realize a very flat lidar, without upper and lower regions, [0078, 83, 88]). b) detecting the field of view using the LIDAR device ([0071-75]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao WO 2021197170 in view of Yokota US 20180067311 A1. Regarding claim 13, Mao teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 12, Mao does not explicitly teach wherein the emitter has a planar configuration and is integratable into a bottom plate of the LIDAR device, and/or the receiver has a planar configuration and is integratable into a bottom plate of the LIDAR device. Yokota teaches a light source having a planar shape integrated into a bottom surface of a light emitting device (11 and 21 in Fig. 1, [0035-37]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao such that the emitter has a planar configuration and is integratable into a bottom plate of the LIDAR device, and/or the receiver has a planar configuration and is integratable into a bottom plate of the LIDAR device similar to Yokota with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing a heat sink to absorb or radiate heat of the light source (Yokota: [0036]). Claim 1 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao WO 2021197170 in view of Yamamoto US 20220244529 A1 . Regarding claim 15, Mao teaches the LIDAR device as recited in claim 12, wherein the emitter includes a first emission module and a second emission module for emitting multiple laser beams into the field of view (arrays of lasers Figs. 6-8, [0081-85]), the first deflection mirror being situated in a first emission path between the first emission module and the polygon mirror, which enables a right-angled deflection of the laser beam emitted by the first emission module on the first emission path onto the at least one mirror surface of the polygon mirror (137 in Fig. 2, [0074]), the laser beam emitted on the first emission path and/or the laser beam emitted on the second emission path and/or the laser beams reflected in the field of view striking the same at least one mirror surface of the polygon mirror in the same plane (Figs. 1-2, [0071-75]; (lasers and detectors in substantially the same longitudinal position relative to the rotation axis 135 helping realize a very flat lidar, without upper and lower regions, [0078, 83, 88]). Mao does not explicitly teach wherein a third deflection mirror is situated in a second emission path between the second emission module and the polygon mirror, which enables an right-angled deflection of the laser beam emitted by the second emission module on the second emission path onto the at least one mirror surface of the polygon mirror, Yamamoto teaches separate folding mirrors for individual light sources (280 and 290 in Fig. 14, [0106, 107]), It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mao to include a third deflection mirror is situated in a second emission path between the second emission module and the polygon mirror, which enables an right-angled deflection of the laser beam emitted by the second emission module on the second emission path onto the at least one mirror surface of the polygon mirror similar to Yokota with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing a heat sink to absorb or radiate heat of the light source (Yokota: [0036]). Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Schmidtlin US 11486970 B1 teaches a lidar with polygonal mirror (e.g. Fig. 8) Cho 20200049819 teaches lidar with polygonal mirror ( e.g.Fig . 25) Zhang US 20190265336 teaches a lidar with polygonal mirror (e.g. Figs. 7-8) Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JOSEPH C FRITCHMAN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-5533 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8:00 am - 5:00 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Isam Alsomiri can be reached on FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-6970 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.C.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 3645 /ISAM A ALSOMIRI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645