DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
After the amendments filed 11/24/2025, claims 1-20 remain pending, of which, 1, 10 and 12 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claims are directed to at least one of abstract idea groupings, according to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Guidelines (Mathematical Concepts, Mental Processes and/or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity). Further, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as discussed below.
Step 1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance
More specifically, regarding Step 1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, the claims are directed to a system and/or process, which is are statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A-1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance
Next, the claims are analyzed to determine whether it is directed to a judicial exception.
Independent claim 1 recites the following, with the abstract ideas highlighted in bold, including an indication as to the abstract idea grouping(s) to which the indicated limitations belong to, according to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Guidelines. Independent claims 10 and 12, having substantially similar features, were also analyzed and to which the following conclusion is also applicable:
1. A system comprising:
a processor; and
a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
responsive to an occurrence of a funding event associated with a first amount of funds (Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity):
automatically determine, based on a plurality of individual transactions anticipated to be separately transacted over a period of time against a frequent transaction account maintained, prior to the occurrence of the funding event, in association with an identified user, a second amount of funds that is greater than the first amount of funds (Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity and/or Mental Processes), and
cause a transfer of the second amount of funds to the frequent transaction account (Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity).
The limitations in claim 1 (as well as claim(s) 10 and 12) recite an abstract idea included in the groupings of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity and/or Mental Processes, connected to technology only through application thereof using generic computing elements (e.g., a processor, a memory, etc.) and/or insignificant extra-solution activity. According to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Guidelines:
Mental Processes include concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion); and
Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity include:
1. Fundamental Economic Principles or Practices (including hedging (i.e., wagering), insurance, mitigating risk);
2. Commercial or Legal Interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations);
3. Managing Personal Behavior or Relationships or Interactions Between People (e.g. social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). The interaction encompasses both activity of a single person (for example a person following a set of instructions) and activity that involves multiple people (such as a commercial or legal interaction). Thus, some interactions between a person and a computer (for example a method of anonymous loan shopping that a person conducts using a mobile phone) may fall within this grouping.
Specifically, the instant claims include functions/limitations, as highlighted in the independent claim above, that constitute at least:
A. Fundamental Economic Practices (e.g., “cause a transfer of the second amount of funds to the frequent transaction account”), which is an abstract idea included in the grouping of Fundamental Economic Principles or Practices. These limitations are interpreted as at least Fundamental Economic Principles or Practices insomuch as the claim limitations are directed to performing the Fundamental Economic Principles or Practices while only generically connected to interaction with a computer utilizing non-special purpose generic computing elements and/or insignificant extra-solution activity as set forth in the claims.
B. Concepts performed in the human mind (e.g., “automatically determine, based on a plurality of individual transactions anticipated to be separately transacted over a period of time against a frequent transaction account maintained, prior to the occurrence of the funding event, in association with an identified user, a second amount of funds that is greater than the first amount of funds”), which is an abstract idea included in the grouping of Mental Processes. These limitations are interpreted as at least Mental Processes insomuch as the claim limitations are directed to performing the concepts in the human mind, while only generically connected to interaction with a computer utilizing non-special purpose generic computing elements and/or insignificant extra-solution activity as set forth in the claims.
Regarding dependent claims 2-9, 11 and 13-20:
Each claim is dependent either directly or indirectly from the independent claim identified above and includes all the limitations of said independent claim. Therefore, each dependent claim recites the same abstract idea as identified above. Each of the dependent claim further describes additional aspects of the abstract idea, i.e., additional aspects to the Mental Processes and/or Fundamental Economic Principles. For example, some dependent claims merely provide additional Mental Processes and/or Fundamental Economic Principles to be performed and/or additional insignificant extra-solution activity, without anything more significant to establish eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 2A-2 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance
The second prong of step 2a is the consideration if the claim limitations are directed to a practical application.
Limitations that are indicative of integration into a practical application:
-Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
-Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
-Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b)
-Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
-Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo
Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application:
-Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f)
-Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)
-Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h)
Claims 1-20 clearly do not improve the functioning of a computer, as they only incorporate generic computing elements, do not effect a particular treatment, and do not transform or reduce a particular article to a different state or thing. Similarly, there is no improvement to a technical field. In addition the claims do not apply the judicial exception with, or by use of a particular machine. The claims do not apply or use the judicial exception in a meaningful way. The claimed invention does not suggest improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field (see MPEP 2106.05 (a)).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claimed invention merely applies the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05 (f)) and/or generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technology or field of use (MPEP 2106.05 (h)). The claimed computer components are recited at a level of generality and are merely invoked as tool to perform the abstract idea. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea.
For the reasons as discussed above, the claim limitations are not integrated to a practical application.
Step 2b of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance
Next, the claims as a whole are analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, is sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because no element or combination of elements is sufficient to ensure any claim of the present application as a whole amounts to significantly more than one or more judicial exceptions, as described above. For example, the recitations of utilization of “a processor, a memory”, etc. used to apply the abstract idea merely implements the abstract idea at a low level of generality and fail to impose meaningful limitations to impart patent-eligibility. These elements and the mere processing of data using these elements do not set forth significantly more than the abstract idea itself applied on general purpose computing devices. The recited generic elements are a mere means to implement the abstract idea. Thus, they cannot provide the “inventive concept” necessary for patent-eligibility. “[I]f a patent’s recitation of a computer amounts to a mere instruction to ‘implement]’ an abstract idea ‘on ... a computer,’... that addition cannot impart patent eligibility.” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2358 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1301). As such, the significantly more required to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 hurdle and transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible abstract idea is lacking. Accordingly, the claims are not patent-eligible.
Further, the claims would require structure that is beyond generic, such as structure that can be interpreted analogous to a general-purpose structure and general-purpose computing elements in that they represent well-understood, routine, conventional elements that do not add significantly more to the claims. See Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank International, 134 S. Ct. at 2358-59. The elements of a processor and a memory are well known conventional devices used to electronically implement a game as evidence by U.S. 2004/0204288, which discloses that a conventional gaming machine comprises elements such as a processor and a memory to control the overall operation of the gaming machine (¶58). See Berkheimer v. HP Inc., 881 F.3d 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
The dependent claims do not add “significantly more” for at least the same reasons as directed to their respective independent claims, at least based on the position, as discussed above, that each of the dependent claims merely provide additional limitations to further expand the abstract idea of the independent claims, without adding anything which would establish eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Consequently, consideration of each and every element of each and every claim, both individually and as an ordered combination, leads to the conclusion that the claims are not patent-eligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 12-14, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Crevelt et al (U.S. 5,902,983).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Crevelt discloses:
a system (6:49-65, Fig. 2) comprising:
a processor (4:54-5:5, gaming machine 4 includes a game controller 6 which includes a processor for controlling game play); and
a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor (4:54-5:5, game controller 6 typically includes associated memory and software as necessary for controlling the game play), cause the processor to:
responsive to an occurrence of a funding event associated with a first amount of funds (9:20-29, a transaction request for a preset amount of funds is generated and sent to casino system):
automatically determine, based on a plurality of individual transactions anticipated to be separately transacted over a period of time against a frequent transaction account maintained, prior to the occurrence of the funding event, in association with an identified user (9:36-10:14, 11:10-34, once authorized playing credits are automatically transferred from a remote funds repository to a casino account established in the player’s name), a second amount of funds that is greater than the first amount of funds (2:30-49, the preset amount of credits is based on an anticipated amount of credits needed depending on the denomination associated with the gaming machine (i.e., it is anticipated a player will require more funds for a higher denomination machine than a lower denomination machine)); and
causing a transfer of the second amount of funds to the frequent transaction account (9:36-10:14, 11:10-34, once authorized playing credits are automatically transferred from a remote funds repository to a casino account established in the player’s name).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Crevelt discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the second amount of funds is transferred from a cashless wagering account (9:36-10:14, 11:10-34, once authorized playing credits are automatically transferred from a remote funds repository to a casino account).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Crevelt discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the second amount of funds comprises a balance of the cashless wagering account (9:36-10:14, 11:10-34, once authorized playing credits are automatically transferred from a remote funds repository to a casino account).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Crevelt discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the funding event comprises a request to place a first wager amount on a play of an online game at a first point in time (9:20-29, a transaction request for a preset amount of funds for wagering is generated and sent to casino system) and
the second amount of funds is associated with a plurality of wager amounts on a plurality of plays of the online game anticipated to be sequentially placed over the period of time (2:30-49, the preset amount of credits is based on an anticipated amount of credits needed depending on the denomination associated with the gaming machine (i.e., it is anticipated a player will require more funds for a higher denomination machine than a lower denomination machine)).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Crevelt discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the funding event comprises a request to place a first sporting event wager at a first point in time (2:30-49, the preset amount of credits is based on an anticipated amount of credits needed depending on the denomination associated with the gaming machine (i.e., it is anticipated a player will require more funds for a higher denomination machine than a lower denomination machine), the examiner broadly and reasonably interprets the wagering as taught by Crevelt to be capable of being sporting event wagers) and
the second amount of funds is associated with a plurality of sporting event wagers anticipated to be sequentially placed over the period of time (2:30-49, the preset amount of credits is based on an anticipated amount of credits needed depending on the denomination associated with the gaming machine (i.e., it is anticipated a player will require more funds for a higher denomination machine than a lower denomination machine), the examiner broadly and reasonably interprets the wagering as taught by Crevelt to be capable of being sporting event wagers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crevelt et al (U.S. 5,902,983) in view of Greenbacker et al (U.S. 2023/0186260).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Crevelt discloses that which is discussed above, however, does not specifically disclose that:
the second amount of funds is collectively transferred from a plurality of gaming establishment accounts.
Greenbacker teaches:
an AI based processing of account transfers (abstract), wherein a funding request is made for a transfer of funds from a first account to a second account (¶68-70, ¶73), and wherein the second amount of funds is collectively transferred from a plurality of gaming establishment accounts (¶38, transfers are automatically processed from various accounts based on various triggers or rules).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to integrate the threshold automatic transfer, as taught by Greenbacker, into the system as taught by Crevelt in order to provide users greater flexibility in funding (Greenbacker, ¶3).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Crevelt discloses that which is discussed above, however, does not specifically disclose that:
the funding event comprises a balance of the frequent transaction account reaching a threshold amount.
Greenbacker teaches:
an AI based processing of account transfers (abstract), wherein a funding request is made for a transfer of funds from a first account to a second account (¶68-70, ¶73), and wherein the funding event comprises a balance of the frequent transaction account reaching a threshold amount (¶12, an account transfer request is generated and sent based on the value of funds in the account exceeding a threshold value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to integrate the threshold automatic transfer, as taught by Greenbacker, into the system as taught by Crevelt in order to provide users greater flexibility in funding (Greenbacker, ¶3)
Claim(s) 6, 8, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crevelt et al (U.S. 5,902,983) in view of Herrmann et al (U.S. 2009/0170612).
Regarding claims 6, 8, 17 and 19, Crevelt disclose that which is discussed above, however, does not specifically disclose:
communicating data to a component of a gaming establishment patron management system that results in a benefit being determined in association with at least one of the plays of the online game.
Herrmann teaches:
a gaming system (abstract), wherein patron management and loyalty systems are used to track player gambling activity (¶6, ¶11, player performance data is collected), and based on the tracked activity incentives are determined to be provided to the player (¶6, ¶11, ¶624, tracked activities are used to determine complimentary packages to be provided to a player).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to integrate the wagering activity tracking and reward system, as taught by Herrmann, into the gaming system, as taught by Crevelt, in order to incentivize players to visit the associated casinos as often as possible, and encouraging the player to spend as much money in the associated establishments (Herrmann, ¶9).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jahanshahi et al (U.S. 2012/0129591) in view of Crevelt et al (U.S. 5,902,983).
Regarding claim 10, Jahanshahi discloses:
a system (¶25, Fig. 4, gaming system comprising clients P1-P5, server system 20, asynchronous communication server system 22, and accounting system 24) comprising:
a processor (¶25, ¶27, server system 20 is implemented on one or several game servers (i.e., computers, which inherently require a processor for performing functions)); and
a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions that, when executed by the processor (25, ¶27, server system 20 is implemented on one or several game servers (i.e., computers, which inherently require a memory storing executable instructions for performing functions such as managing game sessions, communications and managing accounts)), cause the processor to:
maintain a frequent transaction account (¶20, Fig. 2, accounting system 24 creates temporary reservation accounts T1, T2, T3, etc. which are utilized for handling game wagering and is updated during the progress of the game session), and
responsive to an occurrence of a funding event based on a balance of the frequent transaction account reaching a threshold amount of funds (¶20, when temporary reservation account T1 reaches an empty level a fund request is triggered),
cause a transfer of an amount of funds from a cashless wagering account to the frequent transaction account (¶20, game session accounting system 24 transfers an amount of money from the permanent account A1 to the temporary reservation account T1); and
the frequent transaction account interfaces with a component of an online wagering system in place of the cashless wagering account interfacing with the component of the online wagering system (¶20, as long as client P1 participates in the game, game logic G does not communicate with permanent account A1, but rather with the temporary reservation account T1).
However, Jahanshahi does not specifically disclose that:
the amount of funds is based on a plurality of transactions anticipated to occur against the frequent transaction account and subsequent to the transfer; or
the cashless wagering account is a gaming establishment cashless wagering account.
Crevelt teaches:
an interactive gaming system (6:49-65, Fig. 2), wherein an amount of funds is a plurality of transactions anticipated to occur against the frequent transaction account and subsequent to the transfer (9:36-10:14, 11:10-34, once authorized playing credits are automatically transferred from a remote funds repository to a casino account established in the player’s name), a second amount of funds that is greater than the first amount of funds (2:30-49, the preset amount of credits is based on an anticipated amount of credits needed depending on the denomination associated with the gaming machine (i.e., it is anticipated a player will require more funds for a higher denomination machine than a lower denomination machine)), and wherein a cashless wagering account, from which the funds are transferred, is a gaming establishment cashless wagering account (9:36-10:14, 11:10-34, once authorized playing credits are automatically transferred from a remote funds repository to a casino account).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to integrate the anticipatory funding, as taught by Crevelt, into the automatic fund transfer system, as taught by Jahanshahi in order to improve performance of funding gaming device by reducing the wait time client devices require for funding (Jahanshahi, ¶17).
Regarding claim 11, Jahanshahi discloses that which is discussed above, however, does not specifically disclose that:
the plurality of transactions anticipated to occur against the frequent transaction account comprise any of a plurality of anticipated wagers on a plurality of plays of an online game and a plurality of anticipated sporting event wagers.
Crevelt teaches:
an interactive gaming system (6:49-65, Fig. 2), wherein the plurality of transactions anticipated to occur against the frequent transaction account comprise any of a plurality of anticipated wagers on a plurality of plays of an online game (9:20-29, a transaction request for a preset amount of funds for wagering is generated and sent to casino system) and a plurality of anticipated sporting event wagers (2:30-49, the preset amount of credits is based on an anticipated amount of credits needed depending on the denomination associated with the gaming machine (i.e., it is anticipated a player will require more funds for a higher denomination machine than a lower denomination machine), the examiner broadly and reasonably interprets the wagering as taught by Crevelt to be capable of being sporting event wagers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to allow a player to specify an anticipated funding amount, as taught by Crevelt, into the automatic fund transfer system, as taught by Jahanshahi in order to improve performance of funding gaming device by reducing the wait time client devices require for funding (Jahanshahi, ¶17).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claims provide a technical solution to the problem with operation stresses incurred related to account transactions occurring at high frequency and over a short period of time (See Remarks, pgs. 7-8). The examiner must respectfully disagree. The stresses described are a result of the administrative requirement to authorize every wager against a primary account. Relieving this stress by bulk-loading a secondary account is an abstract idea related of financial planning that is merely executed on a generic computer. This funding does not represent an improvement to the computer’s internal capabilities, but rather, a business-driven optimization of fund flow. Because the claims rely on well-understood, routine and conventional computer components to perform theses financial transfers, they fail to provide an inventive concept sufficient to the abstract idea into a patent eligible invention under the Alice/Mayo framework.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, see Remarks, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the newly found prior art reference discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jason Pinheiro/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715