NDETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, at least “a plurality of photo- optical gate sensors”, “a printed circuit board”, “an embedded circuit device connected to the photo-optical gate sensors via the printed circuit board”, and/or “an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, or combination thereof, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because they fail to indicate or include any reference numerals corresponding to claimed and/or disclosed corresponding features in the instant Specification.
Specification
The use of the term Bluetooth, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/065,278. This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 first
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 and 8 positively recite (a) a non-transitory “computer-readable medium” configured to store “instructions” and (b) a processor configured to execute “instructions”. Although the claims as filed recite these limitations, the Specification is entirely devoid of any mention of or details corresponding to either a “computer-readable medium” or “instructions”. The instant Specification does not appear to describe any particular details of the “computer-readable medium” or “instructions” and conversely notes generic computer use. The lack of sufficient disclosed corresponding specificity of details regarding the claimed “computer-readable medium” or “instructions” demonstrates a lack of possession. Thus, written description if lacking for claims 1 and 8. Depending claims 2-7 and 9-11 inherit and do not remedy the deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 second
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 8 positively recite (a) a non-transitory “computer-readable medium” configured to store “instructions” and (b) a processor configured to execute “instructions”. Given the lack of corresponding disclosure and resultant black-box regarding what may or may not constitute to either a “computer-readable medium” or “instructions”, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the scope of the invention rendering the claim indefinite because the scope of the claim is indeterminate. Depending claims 2-7 and 9-11 inherit and do not remedy the deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Alberts et al (US 2016/0302710 A1, hereinafter Alberts).
For claim 1, Alberts discloses a system for assessing movement (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), the system comprising: a peg board device (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]) comprising a plurality of apertures on a top surface (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), a plurality of photo- optical gate sensors within the plurality of apertures (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), a printed circuit board (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), and an embedded circuit device (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]) connected to the photo-optical gate sensors via the printed circuit board (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]); and a computing device (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), comprising a touchscreen interface (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), a non-transitory computer- readable medium configured to store instructions (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]); and a processor configured to execute instructions (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]).
For claim 2, Alberts discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the top surface comprises a recessed area (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]).
For claim 3, Alberts discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the recessed area is configured to receive one or more pegs (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]).
For claim 4, Alberts discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the peg board device is configured for a patient to perform a manual dexterity task (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]).
For claim 5, Alberts discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the manual dexterity task is a nine-hole peg test (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]).
For claim 6, Alberts discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the peg board device further comprises a plurality of pegs (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]).
For claim 7, Alberts discloses the system of claim 6, wherein one of more of the plurality of pegs is provided with an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, or combination thereof (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]).
For claim 8, Alberts discloses a method of treating a patient for a movement or cognitive disorder (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), the method comprising: administering a manual dexterity task with a peg board device to a patient (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), the peg board device comprising a plurality of apertures on a top surface (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), a plurality of pegs (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), a plurality of photo- optical gate sensors within the plurality of apertures (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), a printed circuit board (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), and an embedded circuit device (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]) connected to the photo-optical gate sensors via the printed circuit board (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]); and a computing device (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]) comprising a touchscreen interface (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), a non-transitory computer- readable medium to store instructions (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), and a processor configured to execute instructions(Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]); and instructing the patient to insert the plurality of pegs one at a time into the plurality of apertures (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]), and to remove such pegs one at a time from the plurality of apertures (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]).
For claim 9, Alberts discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the computing device is configured to provide video instructions for the patient to perform the manual dexterity task with the peg board device (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]).
For claim 10, Alberts discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising instructing the patient to performs a dual task including the manual dexterity task (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]).
For claim 11, Alberts discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the dual task is a balance task (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132 & 0144]).
For claim 12, Alberts discloses a device comprising: a top surface, a bottom surface, and a plurality of sides, the top surface comprising a plurality of apertures (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]) and a recessed area (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]); a plurality of pegs (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]); and a rechargeable battery (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]).
For claim 13, Alberts discloses the device of claim 12, wherein one or more of the plurality of pegs is provided with an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, or combination thereof (Fig 3-5 & 24-33, [0055-0077 & 0099-0132]).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for characterizing movement assessment and/or neurological disorder and including means for treatment and/or rehabilitation thereof, with particular attention directed to computerized administration of a nine-hole peg test.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791