DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 11-16, 19, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haruguchi et al.(US 2019/0041515 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Haruguchi teaches
A LiDAR system including: (In addition to the configuration of distance measurement device 1 described in the first exemplary embodiment, various modifications can be made. (paragraph 0112))
a laser positioned to transmit an outgoing light beam; (it may be configured as shown in FIG. 6 that laser light emitted from laser light source 31 (paragraph 0113 and Fig. 6))
an optical periscope including: a first mirror positioned to receive the outgoing light beam from the laser; (laser light emitted from laser light source 31 is reflected by mirror 36b (paragraph 0114 and Fig. 6))
a second mirror positioned to receive a reflected light beam from the first mirror and to redirect the reflected light beam onto a target, the second mirror having a cross- sectional area sized and shaped to substantially match a cross-sectional area of the reflected light beam; (A configuration of beam splitter 33 is changed to the configuration shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B. That is, as shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B, reflection film 33d is formed on an incident area of laser light (projection light) on a surface of beam splitter 33 on a positive side of the Z axis, and the reflection film is not formed on other areas. (paragraph 0114 and Fig. 6, 7A, 7B) The beam splitter is the second mirror. It can be seen in Fig. 6 the second mirror has an area to receive the cross-sectional area of the reflected light beam.)
and a detector that detects return light reflected off of the target. (reflected light from a distance measurement area is transmitted through beam splitter 33 to be guided to photodetector 38. (paragraph 0113 and Fig. 6))
Regarding claim 2, Haruguchi teaches
The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the second mirror is a reflective patch on a transparent substrate. (reflection film 33d is formed on an incident area of laser light (projection light) on a surface of beam splitter 33 (paragraph 0114 and Fig. 6, 7A, 7B))
Regarding claim 4, Haruguchi teaches
The LiDAR system of claim 2, wherein the transparent substrate includes a band-pass optical filter that (i) transmits light over a pass-band wavelength range that includes a wavelength of light emitted by the laser and (ii) blocks light outside of the pass- band wavelength range. (Filter 37 is configured to transmit light of a wavelength band of laser light emitted from laser light source 31 and to block light of other wavelength bands. (paragraph 0095 and Fig. 6) This filter could be combined with the transparent substrate for an integration of parts)
Regarding claim 5, Haruguchi teaches
The LiDAR system of claim 2, where the return light travels in a direction antiparallel to the outgoing light beam. (Fig. 6 shows the return light and outgoing light traveling in an antiparallel direction (Fig. 6))
Regarding claim 6, Haruguchi teaches
The LiDAR system of claim 2, wherein the return light passes through the transparent substrate in route to the detector. (Moreover, beam splitter 33 separates an optical path of projection light emitted from laser light source 31 (light source) from an optical path of reflected light reflected by a distance measurement area. Consequently, if imaging lens 35 (lens part) is disposed in a common optical path, reflected light from the distance measurement area can be smoothly guided to photodetector 38. (paragraph 0106 and Fig. 6) Fig. 6 shows the return light passing through the transparent substrate to the detector)
Regarding claim 7, Haruguchi teaches
The LiDAR system of claim 1, wherein the second mirror prevents a portion of the return light from reaching the detector. (With reference to FIG. 4B, reflected light entering beam splitter 33 is reflected by reflection film 33b in a negative direction of the X axis. (paragraph 0093 and Fig. 4B))
Regarding claim 11, Haruguchi teaches
A method for improving signal quality in a LiDAR system, the method comprising: (In addition to the configuration of distance measurement device 1 described in the first exemplary embodiment, various modifications can be made. (paragraph 0112))
directing an outgoing light beam onto a first mirror of an optical periscope; (laser light emitted from laser light source 31 is reflected by mirror 36b (paragraph 0114 and Fig. 6))
redirecting, by a second mirror or the optical periscope, a reflected light beam received from the first mirror onto a target, the second mirror having a cross-sectional area sized and shaped to substantially match a cross-sectional area of the reflected light beam; (A configuration of beam splitter 33 is changed to the configuration shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B. That is, as shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B, reflection film 33d is formed on an incident area of laser light (projection light) on a surface of beam splitter 33 on a positive side of the Z axis, and the reflection film is not formed on other areas. (paragraph 0114 and Fig. 6, 7A, 7B) The beam splitter is the second mirror. It can be seen in Fig. 6 the second mirror has an area to receive the cross-sectional area of the reflected light beam.)
and detecting, by a detector, return light reflected off the target. (reflected light from a distance measurement area is transmitted through beam splitter 33 to be guided to photodetector 38. (paragraph 0113 and Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 12, Haruguchi teaches
The method of claim 11, wherein the second mirror is a reflective patch on a transparent substrate. (reflection film 33d is formed on an incident area of laser light (projection light) on a surface of beam splitter 33 (paragraph 0114 and Fig. 6, 7A, 7B))
Regarding claim 13, Haruguchi teaches
The method of claim 12, wherein the transparent substrate includes a coating that is anti-reflective to a wavelength of the outgoing light beam. (In some specific implementations, to increase reflection efficiency of the reflective surface, a high-reflective coating may be disposed on the reflective surface. (paragraph 0019))
Regarding claim 14, Haruguchi teaches
The method of claim 13, wherein the return light travels in a direction antiparallel to the outgoing light beam. (Fig. 6 shows the return light and outgoing light traveling in an antiparallel direction (Fig. 6))
Regarding claim 15, Haruguchi teaches
The method of claim 12, wherein the return light passes through the transparent substrate in route to the detector. (Moreover, beam splitter 33 separates an optical path of projection light emitted from laser light source 31 (light source) from an optical path of reflected light reflected by a distance measurement area. Consequently, if imaging lens 35 (lens part) is disposed in a common optical path, reflected light from the distance measurement area can be smoothly guided to photodetector 38. (paragraph 0106 and Fig. 6) Fig. 6 shows the return light passing through the transparent substrate to the detector)
Regarding claim 16, Haruguchi teaches
The method of claim 12, wherein the second mirror prevents a portion of the return light from reaching the detector. (With reference to FIG. 4B, reflected light entering beam splitter 33 is reflected by reflection film 33b in a negative direction of the X axis. (paragraph 0093 and Fig. 4B))
Regarding claim 19, Haruguchi teaches
A method for assembling a LiDAR device, the method comprising: (In addition to the configuration of distance measurement device 1 described in the first exemplary embodiment, various modifications can be made. (paragraph 0112))
forming, on a transparent substrate, a reflective area having a cross-sectional profile substantially matching a cross-sectional profile of a light beam emitted from a laser; (A configuration of beam splitter 33 is changed to the configuration shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B. That is, as shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B, reflection film 33d is formed on an incident area of laser light (projection light) on a surface of beam splitter 33 on a positive side of the Z axis, and the reflection film is not formed on other areas. (paragraph 0114 and Fig. 6, 7A, 7BIt can be seen in Fig. 6 the second mirror has an area to receive the cross-sectional area of the reflected light beam.)
assembling an optical periscope relative to the laser, the optical periscope including a first mirror positioned to receive an outgoing light beam emitted from the laser and further including the reflective area positioned to redirect a light beam reflected from the first mirror onto a target; (laser light emitted from laser light source 31 is reflected by mirror 36b (paragraph 0114 and Fig. 6))
and positioning a detector to receive return light reflected off of the target. (reflected light from a distance measurement area is transmitted through beam splitter 33 to be guided to photodetector 38. (paragraph 0113 and Fig. 6))
Regarding claim 22, Haruguchi teaches
The method of claim 19, wherein the return light passes through the transparent substrate in route to the detector the return light and travels in a direction antiparallel to a direction of the outgoing light beam. (Moreover, beam splitter 33 separates an optical path of projection light emitted from laser light source 31 (light source) from an optical path of reflected light reflected by a distance measurement area. Consequently, if imaging lens 35 (lens part) is disposed in a common optical path, reflected light from the distance measurement area can be smoothly guided to photodetector 38. (paragraph 0106 and Fig. 6) Fig. 6 shows the return light passing through the transparent substrate to the detector. Fig. 6 shows the return light and outgoing light traveling in an antiparallel direction.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruguchi et al. (US 2019/0041515 A1) in view of Lei et al. (WO/2021/081946 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Haruguchi teaches all of the elements of claim 2 as previously stated, however Haruguchi fails to teach wherein the transparent substrate includes a coating that is anti-reflective to light emitted by the laser.
In the same field of endeavor, Lei teaches wherein the transparent substrate includes a coating that is anti-reflective to light emitted by the laser. (In some specific embodiments, in order to increase the reflection efficiency of the reflecting surface, a reflection-increasing film layer may be provided on the reflecting surface. In addition, in some embodiments, in order to reduce the obstruction of the light beam by the reflecting surface, a polarizing film layer may be provided on the reflecting surface, so that the polarized light can be selectively blocked or transmitted, and the light beam can also be efficiently reflected. (page 3))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transparent substrate includes a coating that is anti-reflective to light emitted by the laser of Lei into the invention of Haruguchi. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose optical lidar systems. The combination of Haruguchi and Lei would be to provide an improvement to light reflection.
Regarding claim 21, Haruguchi teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Haruguchi fails to teach coating the transparent substrate with a coating that is anti-reflective to a wavelength of light emitted by the laser.
In the same field of endeavor, Lei teaches further comprising: coating the transparent substrate with a coating that is anti-reflective to a wavelength of light emitted by the laser. (In some specific embodiments, in order to increase the reflection efficiency of the reflecting surface, a reflection-increasing film layer may be provided on the reflecting surface. In addition, in some embodiments, in order to reduce the obstruction of the light beam by the reflecting surface, a polarizing film layer may be provided on the reflecting surface, so that the polarized light can be selectively blocked or transmitted, and the light beam can also be efficiently reflected. (page 3))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the disclosed in Lei into the invention of Haruguchi. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose optical lidar systems. The combination of Haruguchi and Lei would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an improvement to light reflection.
Claim(s) 8-10, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haruguchi et al.(US 2019/0041515 A1) in view of Sirigu et al. (US 2020/0408948 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Haruguchi teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Haruguchi fails to teach wherein the laser and the first mirror are aligned along a first axis and the detector and the target are aligned along a second axis, the second axis being parallel to the first axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Sirigu teaches wherein the laser and the first mirror are aligned along a first axis and the detector and the target are aligned along a second axis, the second axis being parallel to the first axis. (Fig. 2A shows the emitter (laser) and optical component (first mirror) aligned on an axis and the target and receiver (detector) aligned on a second axis which is parallel to the first. (Fig. 2A))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sirigu into the invention of Haruguchi. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose optical lidar systems. The combination of Haruguchi and Sirigu would be to use less components in the system.
Regarding claim 9, Haruguchi fails to teach further comprising collection optics positioned to intersect the second axis between the second mirror and the detector. Sirigu teaches further comprising collection optics positioned to intersect the second axis between the second mirror and the detector, the return light passing through the collection optics in route to the detector. (However, to focus reflected optical signals 428r onto the optical receiver 406, a lens 430 may be disposed prior to the optical receiver 406. (paragraph 0048 and Fig. 4B))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sirigu into the invention of Haruguchi. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose optical lidar systems. The combination of Haruguchi and Sirigu would be to maximize light collection.
Regarding claim 10, Haruguchi teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Haruguchi fails to teach wherein the optical periscope further includes an aperture located between the first and second mirrors, wherein the aperture is positioned to receive the reflected light beam from the first mirror, and the aperture is sized to block a predefined portion of the light from edges of the reflected light beam.
In the same field of endeavor, Sirigu teaches wherein the optical periscope further includes an aperture located between the first and second mirrors, wherein the aperture is positioned to receive the reflected light beam from the first mirror, and the aperture is sized to block a predefined portion of the light from edges of the reflected light beam. (In an embodiment, the focal plane 214 may include a structure 217 that serves as a diaphragm or opening (e.g., iris) within which the focal point 216 is formed. In an embodiment, the focal point 216 may be larger than the opening of the structure 217, thereby enabling shaping of the virtual light source. (paragraph 0025 and Fig. 2A))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sirigu into the invention of Haruguchi. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose optical lidar systems. The combination of Haruguchi and Sirigu would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to shape the light being emitted by the light source.
Regarding claim 17, Haruguchi teaches all of the elements of claim 12 as previously stated, however Haruguchi fails to teach wherein a laser and the first mirror are aligned along a first axis and the detector and the target are aligned along a second axis, the second axis being parallel to the first axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Sirigu teaches wherein a laser and the first mirror are aligned along a first axis and the detector and the target are aligned along a second axis, the second axis being parallel to the first axis. (Fig. 2A shows the emitter (laser) and optical component (first mirror) aligned on an axis and the target and receiver (detector) aligned on a second axis which is parallel to the first. (Fig. 2A))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sirigu into the invention of Haruguchi. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose optical lidar systems. The combination of Haruguchi and Sirigu would be to use less components in the system.
Regarding claim 18, Haruguchi fails to teach wherein the return light passes through collection optics positioned to intersect the second axis between the second mirror and the detector. Sirigu teaches wherein the return light passes through collection optics positioned to intersect the second axis between the second mirror and the detector. (However, to focus reflected optical signals 428r onto the optical receiver 406, a lens 430 may be disposed prior to the optical receiver 406. (paragraph 0048 and Fig. 4B))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sirigu into the invention of Haruguchi. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose optical lidar systems. The combination of Haruguchi and Sirigu would be to maximize light collection.
Regarding claim 20, Haruguchi teaches all of the elements of claim 19 as previously stated, however Haruguchi fails to teach wherein the laser and the first mirror are aligned along a first axis and the detector and the target are aligned along a second axis, the second axis being parallel to the first axis.
In the same field of endeavor, Sirigu teaches wherein the laser and the first mirror are aligned along a first axis and the detector and the target are aligned along a second axis, the second axis being parallel to the first axis. (Fig. 2A shows the emitter (laser) and optical component (first mirror) aligned on an axis and the target and receiver (detector) aligned on a second axis which is parallel to the first. (Fig. 2A))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sirigu into the invention of Haruguchi. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose optical lidar systems. The combination of Haruguchi and Sirigu would be to use less components in the system.
Conclusion
/ETHAN JAKOB SLAUGHTER/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648