DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgments
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 6/29/26. In the reply, the applicant amended claims 9,13,20,23-24. Claims 9-28 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/29/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b). Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
7. Claims 9-13, 16, 20-22, 24-28 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mayse et al. (US 8,088,127) (“Mayse”) in view of Stein et al. (US 8,975,233) (“Stein”).
(claims 9,20,24) The disclosure of Mayse reads over all of Applicant’s claims except as specifically combinable with Stein as will be addressed. Mayse discloses that the embodiments disclosed can be combined to provide further embodiments C30L37-65 and discloses that the treatment system 198 can be used in the vascular system (within blood vessels) C30L1-15.
Thus, Mayse discloses: A method of treating a target tissue, the method including: advancing an ablation system through a target vessel until a distal end of the ablation system lies near the target tissue, the ablation system including injection needles 625, the ablation system designed to allow injection of ablative fluid through the injection needles C14L62-C15L17; (Fig. 10B).
Mayse does not directly disclose centering the ablation system with respect to the target vessel by expanding an expandable structure (balloon) near the distal end of the ablation system. Stein, in the analogous art, teaches a similar delivery system having an expandable structure in addition to the two needles and a guiding catheter (Fig. 3G, for example). The expandable structure is expanded to center the ablation system with respect the target vessel (Fig. 3G) C8L8-13; after advancing the balloon toward the lumen wall the injection needles are advanced circumferentially outward at least partially through a wall of the target vessel and into the target tissue to inject ablative fluid into the target tissue through the injection needles C8L50-C9L15. The penetration of the injection needles of Stein are limited to the same, fixed distance (C3L10-40; “precise control of tissue depth”, “depth…is important…”, …”device may allow for perfusion…and may also be utilized to provide a stop or indexing mechanism…to provide the user with a predetermined length of treatment…”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the device of Mayse to include an expandable structure to center the ablation system with respect to the target vessel (a manually expanding mechanical structure) to offer greater control over the system; control of linear and circumferential spacing (diameter-increasing structure) and control of depth (Stein C3L10-40).
With respect to the amended claim language of claim 20: Stein further teaches an inner tube 1410 and at least a portion of the balloon 1430 and the inner tube of the system are distal to all of the injection needles 1420, Fig. 5B.
Claim 24 also adds the element of a guidewire which is disclosed in the primary reference Mayse, C30L14-36
Claims 10,21: the ablative fluid of Mayse comprises alcohol, C14L62-C15L17
Claims 11,22: the ablation system comprises three (at least two) injection needles, 625, Fig. 10B
Claim 12: from Stein, above, the expandable structure 1330 is near the distal end of the ablation system (Fig. 3G)
Claim 13: the expandable structure 1330 of Stein is capable of ensuring that the injection needles will be engaged circumferentially around the target vessel, Fig. 3G
Claim 16: the balloon of Stein is capable of being inflated to be slightly less than a diameter of the target vessel because the balloon is delivered in a deflated position (C7L61-64) it can be inflated as desired (claim 26—inflated with saline is well known in the art)
Claim 25: balloon is deflated (Stein C7L61-62 balloon is delivered and thus also removed in deflated configuration C8L8-13)
Claim 27: Stein, nerve denervation may be used to manage hypertension C1L32
Claim 28: the injection needles of Stein penetrate a fixed distance C13L40-49
Again, this combination with Mayse is to offer greater control over the system (control of depth—Stein C3L11-40).
8. Claims 14-15, 17-19, 23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mayse in view of Stein.
The combination of Mayse/Stein teaches the invention as substantially claimed. However, the specifics of the shape and composition of the balloon itself is not taught. Such a modification to have conical, cylindrical balloon and low-pressure elastic balloon, non-compliant or semi-compliant balloon would all perform equally well in the combination. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the balloon of Stein to any shape and composition because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentable distinguish over Mayse/Stein.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments (amended claim language) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner addresses applicant’s amended claim language of the independent claims, above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEANNA K HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783