DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Remarks/Arguments filed on January 21st, 2026, have been carefully considered.
Claims 1-20 have been amended.
No claims have been added or canceled.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the instant application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. [US7,958,304] in view of Ellard et al. [US8,825,938]. Goel teaches dynamically adapting the fault tolerance and performance characteristics of a RAID-based storage system by merging and splitting RAID groups. Ellard teaches use of write allocation decisions to achieve desired levels of wear across a set of redundant solid-state memory devices.
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, Goel teaches a method comprising:
detecting a change of failure characteristics for a storage device within a storage system [Goel column 3, lines 13-21 “…The dynamic reconfiguration of RAID groups is performed to adapt the RAID groups to changes in data and system characteristics. The dynamic reconfiguration includes merging and splitting RAID groups without incurring system downtime. Merging or splitting RAID groups changes fault tolerance and performance characteristics of the RAID groups, and, therefore, adapts the RAID groups to the changes in data and system characteristics…”]; and
in response to the detection, changing a number of copies of metadata stored in different physical storage units within the storage device [Goel column 8, lines 4-8 “…two RAID-4 groups may be merged to form a RAID-TP group (referring to "RAID Triple Protection," which offers triple disk failure protection). In this scenario, adding a new parity disk becomes necessary, as every merged stripe needs three parity blocks…”(The examiner has determined that parity reads on the applicant’s use of the word metadata for recovery means.)],
wherein the metadata is used to recover data from within the storage system [Goel column 1, lines 42-45 “…RAID-DP adds a second parity disk to each RAID group in order to provide data protection against the failure of two disks in the same RAID group…”], and
Goel fails to explicitly teach wherein at least two copies of the metadata are stored within the storage device.
However, Ellard does teach wherein at least two copies of the metadata are stored within the storage device [Ellard column 6, lines 16-29 “…computes the fingerprint of the data block (using, e.g., a hash function, CRC, etc.). The storage manager 21 then identifies the SSMs 7 to which the data block is to be written at 303. As noted above, in one embodiment an attempt is made to write the data block to all of the SSMs 7. In other embodiments, as described further below, an attempt is made to write the data block to more than one, but not all, of the SSMs 7, in order to accomplish wear skewing. The storage manager 21 then attempts at 304 to write the data block and its fingerprint to each of the SSMs that were identified at 303. Next, the storage manager 21 determines whether at least a quorum of the SSMs report that they have written the data block successfully 305…”].
Goel and Ellard are analogous arts in that they both deal with improving data protection with storage systems.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Goel’s detection of failure characteristics with Ellard’s storing of metadata to multiple flash memory modules for the benefit of reducing the likelihood of concurrent memory device failure and thus improve the storage lifetime [Ellard column 2, lines 55-57 “…the techniques introduced here also include a way to reduce the likelihood that substantially concurrent failures of two or more solid-state memory devices will occur…”].
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18, as per claim 1, Goel teaches a degree of redundancy defines a number of copies of the metadata stored in the storage system [Goel column 3, lines 25-27 “…The term "fault tolerance level" herein refers to the number of parity disks used by a RAID group, as well as the data-to-parity ratio in the RAID group…”].
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19, as per claim 1, Ellard teaches a number of copies is fewer than a number of storage devices in the storage system [Ellard column 5, lines 36-38 “…to accomplish wear skewing, the data item and fingerprint are written to some, but not all, of the SSMs 7…”].
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 20, as per claim 1, Goel teaches the failure characteristics comprise a failure rate for a plurality of storage devices [Goel column 1, lines 37 – column 2, line 2 “…high mean-time-to-failure (MTTF) and high bit error rate…a system administrator may determine the fault tolerance level based on the mean-time-to-data-loss (MTTDL) requirement in the system specification… the data-to-parity ratio needs to be rebalanced to ensure that the Mean Time to Data Loss (MTTDL) is within acceptable bounds…”].
Regarding claims 6 and 14, as per claim 1, Goel teaches the failure characteristics comprise a Redundant Array of Independent Disks (RAID) configuration for the storage system [Goel column 1, lines 40-45 “…The widespread acceptance of the SATA drives has resulted in the development and use of double-parity RAID (RAID-DP). RAID-DP adds a second parity disk to each RAID group in order to provide data protection against the failure of two disks in the same RAID group…”].
Regarding claims 7 and 15, as per claim 1, Both Goel and Ellard teach determining a degree of redundancy for the metadata comprises determining the degree of redundancy for the metadata based on a metadata type of the metadata [Goel column 12, lines 31-35 “…the first RAID I/O operation corresponds to stripes 3 and 4, which belong to the merged RAID-DP stripe group 810. I/O processing for this stripe group involves the computation of both the row (R) parity and the diagonal (D) parity, as defined by the RAID-DP protocol…”(Where the examiner has determined the row parity or the diagonal parity reads on the type of metadata)] and [Ellard column 5, lines 27-30 “…The fingerprint can be, for example, a cryptographic hash of the data represented by the item, although a simpler method, such as cyclic redundancy check (CRC), may be sufficient….”]..
Regarding claims 8 and 16, as per claim 1, Goel teaches wherein changing a number of copies of the metadata stored in different physical storage units within the storage device [Goel column 10, lines 7-8 “…if a RAID group is upgraded from RAID-4 to RAID-DP by simply adding an extra parity drive to the RAID group…”] comprises storing, in different dies within the storage device, additional copies of the metadata on different dies [Ellard column 6, lines 20-29 “…the storage manager 21 then identifies the SSMs 7 to which the data block is to be written at 303. As noted above, in one embodiment an attempt is made to write the data block to all of the SSMs 7. In other embodiments, as described further below, an attempt is made to write the data block to more than one, but not all, of the SSMs 7, in order to accomplish wear skewing. The storage manager 21 then attempts at 304 to write the data block and its fingerprint to each of the SSMs that were identified at 303. Next, the storage manager 21 determines whether at least a quorum of the SSMs report that they have written the data block successfully 305…” and lines 47-52 “...It should also be noted that the system can be designed to tolerate the loss of more than one flash memory device. For example, instead of simple mirroring, a redundancy scheme such as RAID-DP, RAID-TP, or any other arbitrary coding scheme that enables arbitrary numbers of failures to be tolerated, could be used…”(The examiner has determined there is at least one embodiment where a flash memory device can be a single memory die and as such reads on the claims.)].
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. [US7,958,304] in view of Ellard et al. [US8,825,938] further in view of Matosevich et al. [US2021/0373796]. Goel teaches dynamically adapting the fault tolerance and performance characteristics of a RAID-based storage system by merging and splitting RAID groups. Ellard teaches use of write allocation decisions to achieve desired levels of wear across a set of redundant solid-state memory devices. Matosevich teaches balancing resiliency and performance by selective use of degraded writes and spare capacity in storage system.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Goel and Ellard fail to explicitly teach the failure characteristics comprise an estimated rebuild time.
However, Matosevich does teach the failure characteristics comprise an estimated rebuild time [Matosevich paragraph 0073, most lines “…mean time to repair (MTTR), etc…”]
Goel, Ellard, and Matosevich are analogous arts in that they all deal with improving data protection with storage systems.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Goel and Ellard with Matosevich’s repair time for the benefit of increasing the user I/O performance by throttling the rebuild process in a RAID system [Matosevich paragraph 0050, last lines “…Applying rebuild throttling will increase the time it takes to complete a rebuild operation and keep the RAID system in a degraded mode of operation, while reducing the impact on user I/O performance…”].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 17 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/ERIC CARDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139