DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 1 the limitation states “…a rear lighting assembly…and a rear light assembly…” There is a lack of antecedent basis for “a rear light assembly..” in the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, “…wherein at least one signal device…another signal device…” lack antecedent basis in the parent claim 11.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claims 2-11 and 13-20 are rejected as indefinite as they depend from a rejected parent claim (See above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beelman (US 9,789,916) in view of Lightner (US 1594464 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Beelman teaches a tank vehicle 10 (Fig 1), comprising:
a main body 26 (Figs 1 and 2 , Col 4 lines 27-30) having a front bulkhead 212 (Fig 11, “ The trailer 11 is generally the same or similar to trailer 10 in construction, except for a front end cover 212 and a rear end cover 222.” Col 9 lines 30-32), a rear bulkhead 221 (Fig 11, Col 5 lines 1-5) opposite to the front bulkhead (Fig 11 shows the front and rear ends of the tank are opposed to one another ), an exterior wall 30,70,80 (Fig 5) [operably engaged with the front bulkhead and the rear bulkhead] (“The rear end cone 221 also slopes down from the top surface 30 and in from the side surfaces 70 and 80 of the barrel portion 26”, Col 5 lines 7-9), and at least one 25 (Fig 5) [interior chamber defined collectively by the front bulkhead, the rear bulkhead, and the exterior wall, the at least one interior chamber being adapted to carry a load] (“The pneumatic tank trailer 10 includes a tank 20 that defines an interior volume 25… The interior volume 25 may be pressurized to facilitate unloading of the dry bulk material.” Col 3 lines 35-40 );
a false bulkhead 222,242 (Fig 11) [removably engaged with the main body 26 (Fig 11) ] (“The rear end cover 222 may be made of aluminum, fiberglass, or other suitable materials. The rear end cover 222 includes an access, such as a hatch, door, or other removable cover that provides access to tanks, hoses, etc. stored in the rear end portion 29 of the trailer 11.” (Emphasis added) Col 10 Lines 33-38), the false bulkhead 222,242 (Fig 11) being [located a distance away from one of the front bulkhead and the rear bulkhead] (Fig 11 shows the false bulkhead 242 being positioned a distance away from the front bulkhead 211 and rear bulkhead 221). Additionally, Beelman teaches an extension wall 222 (Fig 11) operably engaged with the exterior wall 30 (Fig 11, “…also includes the rear end cover 222 that slopes generally down from the top surface 30 of the barrel portion 26…” col 10 lines 8-11) [and extending outwardly away from the rear bulkhead] (Fig 11 shows the extension wall 222 extending away from the rear bulkhead 221), and the extension wall 222 (Fig 11) comprises a first end 232 (Fig 12) engaged with the exterior wall 30 (Fig 11, “…also includes the rear end cover 222 that slopes generally down from the top surface 30 of the barrel portion 26…” col 10 lines 8-11) and [a second end 242 (Fig 11) opposite to the first end and spaced apart from the exterior wall 30 (Fig 11) ] (Fig 11 shows the extension wall 222 with a first end and second end “The rear end cover 222 includes a front portion 232 and a rear portion 242.” Col 10 lines 23-24) wherein the false bulkhead 222,242 (Fig 11) [is configured to operably engage with the extension wall] (“The rear end cover 222 includes a front portion 232 and a rear portion 242.” Col 10 lines 23-25) at a distance away from the rear bulkhead 221 (Fig 11) (Fig 11 shows a gap between the false bulkhead 242 and the rear bulkhead 221) . The extension wall 222 (Figs 11 and 12 ) [comprises an outer surface and inner surface extending between the first end and second ends wherein the inner surface is opposed to the outer surface] (The extension wall 222 is made with a metal alloy which has an inherent thickness to it which would create and inner and outer surface that oppose one another, “…the front end cone 201, and the rear end cone 221 and the barrel portion 26 may be formed from metals and metal alloy materials, such as aluminum, having a thickness of approximately ⅛ inch to ⅜ inch, although the thickness of the material may vary throughout the construction of the tank 20.” Col 9 lines 4-9), [wherein the inner surface and the rear bulkhead 221 (Fig 11) and the false bulkhead 222,242 (Fig 11) collectively define a cavity that extends from the second end of the extension wall to the rear bulkhead for housing the at least one signaling device when the false bulkhead is removed] (Fig 12 shows a cavity that is formed from the rear bulkhead 221 to the false bulkhead 242 that is formed by the outer shell 222, “the rear end cover 222 substantially covers the rear end cone 221…The rear end cover 222 includes a front portion 232 and a rear portion 242.”, Col 10 lines 12 and 24).
Beelman does not teach a rear lighting assembly operably engaged with one of the rear bulkhead and the false bulkhead; wherein the rear light assembly is configured to emit a set of indicator lights through a portion of the false bulkhead and behind the main body to indicate travel of the tank vehicle also wherein the signaling device is located internal to the extension wall.
Lightner teaches a rear lighting assembly 10,12,14 (Figs 1-3, “…a casing or housing 1 of any desired material or shape, carrying a transparent or translucent medium 2 such as ground glass.’ Pg 1 lines 74-77) [operably engaged with one of the rear bulkhead and the false bulkhead] (“Above the horizontal partitions is situated lamps C and D separated by a vertical partition, each lamp lighting one of the symbols, the partition preventing light from that lamp from reaching the opposite symbol. It will thus be seen that by lighting the lamps A the word Stop is flashed and by lighting lamps B the word Turn is illuminated with either a right or left arrow as lamps D or C are included in this latter circuit..” Pg 2 lines 29-40); wherein the rear light assembly 10,12,14 (Figs 1 and 2 ) is configured to emit [a set of indicator lights through a portion of the false bulkhead and behind the main body to indicate travel of the tank vehicle] (“It will thus be seen that by lighting the lamps A the word Stop is flashed and by lighting lamps B the word Turn is illuminated with either a right or left arrow as lamps D or C are included in this latter circuit.” pg 2 lines 35-39, as shown in Figures 1 and 2 the lights shine through the rear bulkhead behind the vehicle). Lightner, teaches the rear lighting assembly comprises at least one signaling device (“It will thus be seen that by lighting the lamps A the word Stop is flashed and by lighting lamps B the word Turn is illuminated with either a right or left arrow as lamps D or C are included in this latter circuit.” pg 2 lines 35-39) [operably engaged with one of the rear bulkhead and the false bulkhead] (Fig 1 of Lightner shows the signaling device is positioned on the rear of a vehicle assembly) ;
wherein the at least one signaling device Lamps A and B (Figs 1 and 2), [is configured to emit the set of indicator lights to indicate the travel of the tank vehicle] (“It will thus be seen that by lighting the lamps A the word Stop is flashed and by lighting lamps B the word Turn is illuminated with either a right or left arrow as lamps D or C are included in this latter circuit.” pg 2 lines 35-39). Additionally Lightner teaches , the rear lighting assembly 10,12,14 and C (Figs 1-3) further comprises: at least another signaling device Lamp D (Fig 1, “Above the horizontal partitions is situated lamps C and D separated by a vertical partition, each lamp lighting one of the symbols, the partition preventing light from that lamp from reaching the opposite symbol.” Pg 2 lines 29-34) [operably engaged with the rear bulkhead] (“A plate 10 is provided having a plurality of openings therein into which are suitably secured lamp sockets 12 provided with electrical connections 13. Lamps 14 are adapted to be insertable within the sockets 12” pg 1 lines 83-92) that is spaced apart from the false bulkhead and [adjacent to the at least one signaling device] (“…lamps C and D separated by a vertical partition…” pg 2 lines 30-31 Fig 1 shows the signal lamps are adjacent to one another); [wherein the at least another signaling device is configured to emit the set of indicator lights to indicate the travel of the tank vehicle] (“It will thus be seen that by lighting the lamps A the word Stop is flashed and by lighting lamps B the word Turn is illuminated with either a right or left arrow as lamps D or C are included in this latter circuit.” Pg 2 lines 34-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the rear lighting assembly of Lightner with the vessel assembly of Beelman (where part of the signaling device is located internal to the extension wall and installed on the rear bulkhead and a part of the signaling device is installed on the false bulkhead) with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for full lighting visibility on the rear of the vehicle so that a vehicle behind the tanker has full visibility of the lighting signals. By including the signaling devices of Lightner on both the false bulkhead and rear bulkhead, the light can dissipate through the rear of the tank and clearly signal to a vehicle behind the tanker while either the false bulkhead or rear bulkhead is exposed.
Regarding Claim 2, Beelman and Lightner fully teach the rear lighting assembly further comprises:
at least one signaling device operably engaged with one of the rear bulkhead and the false bulkhead;
wherein the at least one signaling device is configured to emit the set of indicator lights to indicate the travel of the tank vehicle (See modification of Beelman in view of Lightner in claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 3, Beelman and Lightner fully teach [a first material forming the rear bulkhead] (“the front end cone 201, and the rear end cone 221 and the barrel portion 26 may be formed from metals and metal alloy materials, such as aluminum, having a thickness of approximately ⅛ inch to ⅜ inch, although the thickness of the material may vary throughout the construction” Col 9 lines 4-10); and a second material forming the false bulkhead 222,242 (Fig 11, “The rear end cover 222 may be made of aluminum, fiberglass, or other suitable materials.” Col 10 lines 33-35) and [is different than the first material] (The vessel can be a (non-aluminum) metal alloy while the false bulkhead can be fiberglass or aluminum) ; the first material (metal alloy) is [configured to reflect each indicator light of the set of indicator lights] (It is well known in the art that metal alloys have a reflective appearance that would reflect lighting that interacts with it).
Beelman does not explicitly teach the second material is configured to transmit each indicator light of the set of indicator lights.
Lightner teaches a second material 2 (Fig 2, “…housing 1 of any desired material or shape, carrying a transparent or translucent medium 2” Pg 1 lines 75-77) [is configured to transmit each indicator light of the set of indicator lights] (A translucent material would allow light to pass through and illuminate the material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the translucent material of Lightner with the false bulkhead material of Beelman with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for full lighting visibility on the rear of the vehicle via a translucent material so that a vehicle behind the tanker has full visibility of the lighting signals while the vehicle is in operation . By including the translucent material of Lightner to be installed on a false bulkhead of Beelman, the light can dissipate through the rear of the tank and clearly signal to a vehicle behind the tanker.
Regarding claim 4, Beelman and Lightner fully teach an extension wall operably engaged with the exterior wall and extending outwardly away from the rear bulkhead; wherein the at least one signaling device is located internal to the extension wall (See modification of Beelman in view of Lightner in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Beelman and Lightner fully teach the extension wall comprises:
a first end operably engaged with the exterior wall; a second end opposite to the first end and spaced apart from the exterior wall; wherein the false bulkhead is configured to operably engage with the extension wall at a distance away from the rear bulkhead (See modification of Beelman in view of Lightner in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Beelman and Lightner fully teach the extension wall further comprises:
an outer surface extending between the first end and the second end; and
an inner surface extending between the first end and the second end that is opposite to the outer surface and in communication with the rear bulkhead;
wherein the inner surface and the rear bulkhead collectively define a cavity that extends from the second end of the extension wall to the rear bulkhead for housing the at least one signaling device when the false bulkhead is removed (See modification of Beelman in view of Lightner in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 7, Beelman and Lightner fully teach the extension wall further comprises:
an outer surface extending between the first end and the second end; and
an inner surface extending between the first end and the second end that is opposite to the outer surface and in communication with the rear bulkhead;
wherein the inner surface, the rear bulkhead, and the false bulkhead collectively define an exterior chamber for housing the at least one signaling device (See modification of Beelman in view of Lightner in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 8, Beelman and Lightner fully teach the rear lighting assembly further comprises: at least another signaling device operably engaged with the rear bulkhead that is spaced apart from the false bulkhead and adjacent to the at least one signaling device; wherein the at least another signaling device is configured to emit the set of indicator lights to indicate the travel of the tank vehicle (See modification of Beelman in view of Lightner in claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 19, Beelman teaches a false bulkhead 222,242 (Fig 11).
Beelman does not explicitly teach graphics are provided on the false bulkhead.
Lightner teaches [graphics provided on the false bulkhead] (Fig 1, “a stencil 4 having a series of letters 5, symbols 6, and aperture 7 therein. Suitably mounted upon the stencil are partitions 8 dividing the letters 5 and symbols 6 into certain groups.” Pg 1 lines 78-82); wherein the [graphics are configured to be illuminated by the set of indicator lights emitted against the false bulkhead by the rear lighting assembly] (Fig 1, “It will thus be seen that by lighting the lamps A the word Stop is flashed and by lighting lamps B the word Turn is illuminated with either a right or left arrow as lamps D or C are included in this latter circuit.” Pg 2 lines 34-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the graphics and lighting assembly of Lightner with the false bulkhead material of Beelman with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for full lighting visibility on the rear of the vehicle via the graphics and lighting sources so that a vehicle behind the tanker has full visibility of the lighting signals while the vehicle is in operation . By including the graphics of Lightner to be installed on a false bulkhead of Beelman, the light can illuminate the graphics for clear visibility for the drivers behind the tanker vehicle.
Regarding Claim 20, Beelman teaches a tank vehicle 10 (Fig 1), comprising:
a main body 26 (Figs 1 and 2 , Col 4 lines 27-30) having a front bulkhead 211 (Fig 1, “ A front of the tank 20 includes a front end cone 201. The front end cone 201 is integral with the barrel portion 26 of the tank 20. The front end cover 211 blends into the front end cone 201.” Col 4 lines 5-9), a rear bulkhead 221 (Fig 1, Col 5 lines 1-5) opposite to the front bulkhead (Fig 2 shows the front and rear ends of the tank are opposed to one another ), an exterior wall 30,70,80 (Fig 5) [operably engaged with the front bulkhead and the rear bulkhead] (“The rear end cone 221 also slopes down from the top surface 30 and in from the side surfaces 70 and 80 of the barrel portion 26”, Col 5 lines 7-9), and at least one 25 (Fig 5) [interior chamber defined collectively by the front bulkhead, the rear bulkhead, and the exterior wall, the at least one interior chamber being adapted to carry a load] (“The pneumatic tank trailer 10 includes a tank 20 that defines an interior volume 25… The interior volume 25 may be pressurized to facilitate unloading of the dry bulk material.” Col 3 lines 35-40 );
a false bulkhead 222,242 (Fig 11) [removably engaged with the main body 26 (Fig 11) ] (“The rear end cover 222 may be made of aluminum, fiberglass, or other suitable materials. The rear end cover 222 includes an access, such as a hatch, door, or other removable cover that provides access to tanks, hoses, etc. stored in the rear end portion 29 of the trailer 11.” (Emphasis added) Col 10 Lines 33-38), the false bulkhead 222,242 (Fig 11) being [located a distance away from one of the front bulkhead and the rear bulkhead] (Fig 11 shows the false bulkhead 242 being positioned a distance away from the front bulkhead 211 and rear bulkhead 221), and, [a first material forming the rear bulkhead] (“the front end cone 201, and the rear end cone 221 and the barrel portion 26 may be formed from metals and metal alloy materials, such as aluminum, having a thickness of approximately ⅛ inch to ⅜ inch, although the thickness of the material may vary throughout the construction” Col 9 lines 4-10); and a second material forming the false bulkhead 222,242 (Fig 11, “The rear end cover 222 may be made of aluminum, fiberglass, or other suitable materials.” Col 10 lines 33-35) and [is different than the first material] (The vessel can be a (non-aluminum) metal alloy while the false bulkhead can be fiberglass or aluminum) ; the first material (metal alloy) is [configured to reflect each indicator light of the set of indicator lights] (It is well known in the art that metal alloys have a reflective appearance that would reflect lighting that interacts with it).
Beelman does not explicitly teach the second material is configured to transmit each indicator light of the set of indicator lights.
Lightner teaches a rear lighting assembly 10,12,14 and C (Figs 1-3, “…a casing or housing 1 of any desired material or shape, carrying a transparent or translucent medium 2 such as ground glass.’ Pg 1 lines 74-77) [operably engaged with one of the rear bulkhead and the false bulkhead] (“Above the horizontal partitions is situated lamps C and D separated by a vertical partition, each lamp lighting one of the symbols, the partition preventing light from that lamp from reaching the opposite symbol. It will thus be seen that by lighting the lamps A the word Stop is flashed and by lighting lamps B the word Turn is illuminated with either a right or left arrow as lamps D or C are included in this latter circuit..” Pg 2 lines 29-40); and a second material 2 (Fig 2, “…housing 1 of any desired material or shape, carrying a transparent or translucent medium 2” Pg 1 lines 75-77) [is configured to transmit each indicator light of the set of indicator lights] (A translucent material would allow light to pass through and illuminate the material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the rear lighting assembly of Lightner with the vessel assembly of Beelman with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for full lighting visibility on the rear of the vehicle so that a vehicle behind the tanker has full visibility of the lighting signals. By including the lighting assembly of Lightner, the light can dissipate through the rear of the tank and clearly signal to a vehicle behind the tanker.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beelman (US 9,789,916) and Lightner (US 1594464 A), in further view of Neal (US 20170253170 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Beelman and Lightner teach a tank vehicle of claim 8.
Beelman and Lightner do not teach a divider operably engaged with the rear bulkhead and spaced apart from the false bulkhead;
wherein the divider separates the at least one signaling device and the at least another signaling device from one another.
Neal (US 20170253170 A1) teaches a divider 13 (Fig 1, para 0022) that separates a grouping of lights 14 (Fig 1, “In the illustrated embodiment, the groupings of lights 14 are separated by a horizontal divider 13 and a vertical divider 18, defining an upper left portion 16, a lower left portion 17, an upper right portion 19, and a lower right portion 20. A grouping of lights 14 is disposed within each of the four portions, providing for an even distribution of light.” para 0022), the divider separates the lights 14 (Fig 1) into four groups 16,17,19 and 20 (Fig 1, para 0022) away from one another. Neal additionally teaches the divider 13 (Fig 1) [having a first end and a second end opposite the first end with a first and second side wall extending between the first end and second end and the side walls face in opposite directions] (See Annotated Neal Fig 1 below).
Annotated Neal Figure 1 above showing the divider having a first and second end with a first and second wall extending between the first and second ends of the divider 13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the divider of Neal with the vessel assembly of Beelman and Lightner with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a more focused output of each signal light and prevent bleeding into the other signal area. Additionally, the divider would provide additional structural support to the false bulkhead and rear bulkhead. By installing a divider on the rear bulkhead, the light of each signal can be more focused and is less likely to bleed into the other signal of the tanker truck so that the light output is more clearly defined to a vehicle driving behind the truck.
Regarding claim 10, Beelman, Lightner and Neal fully teach a first material Beelman-(“the front end cone 201, and the rear end cone 221 and the barrel portion 26 may be formed from metals and metal alloy materials, such as aluminum, having a thickness of approximately ⅛ inch to ⅜ inch, although the thickness of the material may vary throughout the construction” Col 9 lines 4-10); forming each of the rear bulkhead Beelman-221 (Fig 11, Col 5 lines 1-5), the extension wall Beelman-222 (Fig 11), and the divider Neal-13 (Fig 1); and
and a second material forming the false bulkhead 222,242 (Fig 11, “The rear end cover 222 may be made of aluminum, fiberglass, or other suitable materials.” Col 10 lines 33-35) and [is different than the first material] (The vessel can be a (non-aluminum) metal alloy while the false bulkhead can be fiberglass or aluminum) ; the first material (metal alloy) is [configured to reflect each indicator light of the set of indicator lights] (It is well known in the art that metal alloys have a reflective appearance that would reflect lighting that interacts with it).
Regarding claim 11, Beelman, Lightner and Neal fully teach the divider comprises:
a first end operably engaged with the rear bulkhead and a second end opposite to the first end and spaced apart from the rear bulkhead;
a first side wall extending between the first end and the second end that faces towards a first portion of the inner surface of the extension wall; and
a second side wall extending between the first end and the second end that faces towards a second portion of the inner surface of the extension wall;
wherein the first side wall and the second side wall face in opposing directions. (See modification of Beelman and Lightner in view of Neal in claim 9 above).
Regarding claim 12, Beelman, Lightner and Neal fully teach a first compartment collectively defined by the rear bulkhead Beelman-221 (Fig 11, Col 5 lines 1-5), the inner surface of the extension wall Beelman-222 (Fig 11), and the first side wall of the divider Neal-13 (See annotated Neal Fig 1 above for the first wall); and a second compartment collectively defined by the rear bulkhead Beelman-221 (Fig 11, Col 5 lines 1-5), the inner surface of the extension wall Beelman-222 (Fig 11), and the second side wall of the divider Neal-13 (See annotated Neal Fig 1 above for the second wall); wherein the at least one signal device Lightner-Lamps A and B (Figs 1 and 2), [is located inside of the first compartment and the at least another signal device is located inside of the second compartment] (Lamps A and B are separated from one another in different compartments, “Another partition extends between the horizontal partitions and also between the horizontal partitions and also between the S and the T thereby cutting off the light from the letter S when the lamps B are lighted.”, Pg 2 lines 18-21)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The prior art of record fails to teach a tank vehicle having all limitations claimed, particularly as follows:
Claim 13: a set of first auxiliary signaling devices operably engaged with at least one of the extension wall and the first side wall of the divider; wherein the set of first auxiliary signaling devices is positioned inside of the first compartment with the at least one signaling device.
Claim 15 : a mounting wall extending inwardly from the inner surface of the extension wall.
Since the prior art (e.g. Cannon (US 2017/0253168) teaches a rear tank head that lack said features, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter.
For illustration purposes, Fig 3B of the examined disclosure shows the divider, which is different than the false and rear bulkheads taught by the prior art of record (Figs. 11 and 12 of Beelman, and Fig 5 of Cannon).
Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Claims 14 and 16-18 would be allowable as depending from a claim identified to include allowable subject matter (see above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cannon (US 2017/0253168) teaches a cargo tank assembly with a cabinet to provide ground level access to the tank.
Mino (US 20120048847 A1) teaches a flexible apparatus for carrying bulk material via a trailer and container.
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611