DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner has thoroughly reviewed applicant’s arguments but firmly believes the cited reference to reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitations i.e. that “receiving, based on an N16a interface associated with the intermediate session management function of the first operator and the session management function of the network of the second operator and based on credentials of a subscriber to the network of the second operator indicative of the user device having access to the network of the second operator, information for establishing a session associated with the user device and a data network name of the second operator”. Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument. Examiner respectfully direct the Application to paragraph 0349, 0369, see fig. 19 (SMF and the I-SMF exchanging information via N16a interface) , Ma et al where discloses that the Session management function (SMF): mainly performs functions such as session management, execution of a control policy delivered by a policy control function (PCF), UPF selection, and terminal device (UE) Internet Protocol (IP) address allocation and an N16a interface is an interface between the SMF and the I-SMF, and is used by the I-SMF at the visited location to obtain information about a UPF at the home location from the SMF at the home location. Further, in paragraph 0181, Ma et al discloses that the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In paragraphs 0251-0252, Ma et al discloses that the SMF at the visited location is the I-SMF at the visited location, and the SMF at the home location is the A-SMF at the home location. In this scenario, the A-SMF may send a user policy of the terminal device to the I-SMF, and determine, based on the user policy, that in the roaming scenario, the data flow of the terminal device needs to be offloaded at the visited location, the data flow that accesses the local data network at the home location needs to return to the home location, and the data flow that accesses the Internet is offloaded at the visited location and the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information, DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information and the I-SMF may send the user policy of the terminal device to the A-SMF. In paragraphs 0269-0270, Ma et al discloses that The I-SMF requests to obtain the user policy of the UE from the A-SMF. For example, the I-SMF may request to obtain the user policy of the UE through a PDU session establishment request message. The A-SMF returns the user policy of the UE to the I-SMF. The user policy may include an offloading rule of the ULCL UPF, and indication information indicating that a service flow matching the offloading rule.
Additionally, the examiner has given the claim language its broadest reasonable interpretation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Anticipatory reference need not duplicate, word for word, what is in claims; anticipation can occur when claimed limitation is “inherent” or otherwise implicit in relevant reference (Standard Havens products Incorporated v. Gencor Industries Incorporated, 21 USPQ2d 1321). Applicant always has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, and broad interpreted by the examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969).
Therefore, the previous rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MA et al (20230422016).
Regarding claim 1, Ma et al discloses, a method comprising (abstract, fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29):
receiving, based on a location of a user device I.e., terminal device or UE), an indication of an intermediate session management function (i.e., I-SMF) of a network of a first operator (i.e., visited location), wherein the location is beyond a service area associated with a session management function (i.e., ASMF/SMF) of a network of a second operator (i.e., home location) (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.);
receiving, based on an N16a interface (I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information base on an N16a interface) associated with the intermediate session management function of the first operator and the session management function of the network of the second operator and based on credentials of a subscriber to the network of the second operator indicative of the user device having access to the network of the second operator, information for establishing a session associated with the user device and a data network name (I.e., DNN) of the second operator (¶ 0181-082, 0251-0252, 0269-0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 19, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.); and
sending, based on the information, a packet (¶ 0183, 0186-0187, fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29).
Regarding claims 2, 10, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, further comprising translating an address associated with communications of the N16a interface from a subnet of the network of the first operator to a subnet of the network of the second operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.).
Regarding claims 3, 11, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, further comprising receiving the credentials of the subscriber (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.).
Regarding claims 4, 12, 17, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, further comprising: verifying the credentials of the subscriber; and sending a policy based on the credentials to the intermediate session management function (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.).
Regarding claims 5, 16, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, further comprising: based on the indication, initializing an instance of the intermediate session management function of the first operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.).
Regarding claims 6, 13, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, further comprising: determining, based on a second location of the user device, that the second location is within the service area of the session management function of the second operator; and stopping the instance of the intermediate session management function of the first operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.).
Regarding claims 7, 14, 19, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, further comprising: sending a policy to the user device, wherein the packet traverses the network of the second operator according to the policy (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.).
Regarding claims 8, 15, 20, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, wherein the policy is indicative of a quality of service associated with the session (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0357, 0361, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, configured to transmit a QoS control rule and the like to the UE and when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.).
Regarding claim 9, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, a method comprising (fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29):
receiving a request to access a network of a first operator (¶ 0180-0182);
sending, based on the request, a query to a session management function of a second operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.);
receiving, based on a location of a user device and the query, a response from the session management function of the second operator; initializing, based on the response, an intermediate session management function of the first operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.);
receiving, based on an N16a interface associated with the intermediate session management function of the first operator and the session management function of the network of the second operator, information for establishing a session associated with the user device and a data network name of the second operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.); and
sending, based on the information, a packet (¶ 0183, 0186-0187, fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29).
Regarding claim 18, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, a method comprising (fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29):
receiving a request to access a network of a first operator; sending, based on the request, a query to a session management function of a network of a second operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.);
receiving, based on a location of a user device and the query, a response from the session management function of the network of the second operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.);
receiving, based on an N16a interface associated with an intermediate session management function of the network of the first operator and the session management function of the network of the second operator, information for establishing a session associated with the user device and a data network name of the second operator; determining, based on the information, a policy associated with a user plane function (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.); and
sending, based on the information and the policy, a packet (¶ 0183, 0186-0187, fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123). Therefore, Applicant, in preparing the response, must fully consider the entire disclosure of the cited references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, including the context of the cited passages as taught by the prior art disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643