DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123). Therefore, Applicant, in preparing the response, must fully consider the entire disclosure of the cited references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, including the context of the cited passages as taught by the prior art disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MA et al (20230422016) in view of Kim et al (20220217553).
Regarding claim 1, Ma et al discloses, a method comprising (abstract, fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29):
receiving, based on a location of a user device I.e., terminal device or UE), an indication of an intermediate session management function (i.e., I-SMF) of a network of a first operator (i.e., visited location), wherein the location is beyond a service area associated with a session management function (i.e., ASMF/SMF) of a network of a second operator (i.e., home location) (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.);
receiving, based on an N16a interface (I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information base on an N16a interface) associated with the intermediate session management function of the first operator and the session management function of the network of the second operator and based on credentials of a subscriber to the network of the second operator indicative of the user device having access to the network of the second operator, information for establishing a session associated with the user device and a data network name (I.e., DNN) of the second operator (¶ 0181-082, 0251-0252, 0269-0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 19, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.); and
sending, based on the information, a packet (¶ 0183, 0186-0187, fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29).
Ma et al does not specifically disclose causing, based on the information, a packet to route via the network of the first operator to the network of the second operator.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim et al discloses, causing, based on the information, a packet to route via the network of the first operator to the network of the second operator (¶ 0329-333, 376-0381) and Kim et al also discloses, receiving, based on the intermediate session management function establishing communications with the session management function via an interface and based on credentials configured to provide the user device having access to the network of the second operator, information for establishing a session associated with the user device and the network of the second operator (¶ 0329-333, 376-0381). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Ma et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to work is aimed at an optimized packet-based system that minimizes transmission delay with improved data transmission capability. Capacity and coverage of mobile broadband access is improved as taught by Kim et al.
Regarding claims 2, 10, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, further comprising translating an address associated with communications of the N16a interface from a subnet of the network of the first operator to a subnet of the network of the second operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.).
Regarding claims 3, 11, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, further comprising receiving the credentials of the subscriber (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.).
Regarding claims 4, 12, 17, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, further comprising: verifying the credentials of the subscriber; and sending a policy based on the credentials to the intermediate session management function (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.).
Regarding claims 5, 16, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, further comprising: based on the indication, initializing an instance of the intermediate session management function of the first operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.).
Regarding claims 6, 13, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, further comprising: determining, based on a second location of the user device, that the second location is within the service area of the session management function of the second operator; and stopping the instance of the intermediate session management function of the first operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.).
Regarding claims 7, 14, 19, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, further comprising: sending a policy to the user device, wherein the packet traverses the network of the second operator according to the policy (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.).
Regarding claims 8, 15, 20, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, wherein the policy is indicative of a quality of service associated with the session (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0357, 0361, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, configured to transmit a QoS control rule and the like to the UE and when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.).
Regarding claim 9, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, a method comprising (fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29):
receiving a request to access a network of a first operator (¶ 0180-0182);
sending, based on the request, a query to a session management function of a second operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.);
receiving, based on a location of a user device and the query, a response from the session management function of the second operator; initializing, based on the response, an intermediate session management function of the first operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.);
receiving, based on an N16a interface associated with the intermediate session management function of the first operator and the session management function of the network of the second operator, information for establishing a session associated with the user device and a data network name of the second operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.); and
sending, based on the information, a packet (¶ 0183, 0186-0187, fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29).
Ma et al does not specifically disclose causing, based on the information, a packet to route via the network of the first operator to the network of the second operator.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim et al discloses, causing, based on the information, a packet to route via the network of the first operator to the network of the second operator (¶ 0329-333, 376-0381) and Kim et al also discloses, receiving, based on the intermediate session management function establishing communications with the session management function via an interface and based on credentials configured to provide the user device having access to the network of the second operator, information for establishing a session associated with the user device and the network of the second operator (¶ 0329-333, 376-0381). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Ma et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to work is aimed at an optimized packet-based system that minimizes transmission delay with improved data transmission capability. Capacity and coverage of mobile broadband access is improved as taught by Kim et al.
Regarding claim 18, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al discloses, a method comprising (fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29):
receiving a request to access a network of a first operator; sending, based on the request, a query to a session management function of a network of a second operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.);
receiving, based on a location of a user device and the query, a response from the session management function of the network of the second operator (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.);
receiving, based on an N16a interface associated with an intermediate session management function of the network of the first operator and the session management function of the network of the second operator, information for establishing a session associated with the user device and a data network name of the second operator; determining, based on the information, a policy associated with a user plane function (¶ 0181-082, 0252, 0270, 0440, etc. fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29, when a terminal device moves from a home location to a visited location, an AMF may determine that a location of the terminal device leaves a service area of an A-SMF. In step 702, the AMF may select and insert the I-SMF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. Further, the AMF may further send an address of the A-SMF to the I-SMF and receive a response from the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF and the A-SMF exchange information. In step 703, the A-SMF may determine, based on a user policy of the terminal device that is previously received from a PCF, that a data flow of the terminal device needs to return to the home location and be offloaded in a roaming scenario. That is, an N9 interface of an I-UPF at the visited location needs to dock with a ULCL UPF at the home location. In step 704, the I-SMF may send a request for obtaining a peer address of an uplink tunnel of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. In step 705, in response to the request of the I-SMF, the A-SMF may send an address of the ULCL UPF to the I-SMF, so that the I-SMF sends the address of the ULCL UPF to the I-UPF. In step 706, the I-SMF may select and insert the I-UPF at the visited location based on a DNN subscribed to by the terminal device, a DNAI, a location, or other information. In step 707, the I-SMF may send an address of the I-UPF to the A-SMF. Step 707 is optional. For example, if step 706 is performed before step 704, the I-SMF may alternatively carry the address of the I-UPF in the request for obtaining the peer address of the uplink tunnel of the I-UPF.); and
sending, based on the information and the policy, a packet (¶ 0183, 0186-0187, fig. 7-8, 13-14, 22, 24-29).
Ma et al does not specifically disclose causing, based on the information, a packet to route via the network of the first operator to the network of the second operator.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim et al discloses, causing, based on the information, a packet to route via the network of the first operator to the network of the second operator (¶ 0329-333, 376-0381) and Kim et al also discloses, receiving, based on the intermediate session management function establishing communications with the session management function via an interface and based on credentials configured to provide the user device having access to the network of the second operator, information for establishing a session associated with the user device and the network of the second operator (¶ 0329-333, 376-0381). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Ma et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to work is aimed at an optimized packet-based system that minimizes transmission delay with improved data transmission capability. Capacity and coverage of mobile broadband access is improved as taught by Kim et al.
Claim(s) 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MA et al (20230422016) in view of Kim et al (20220217553) and Chen et al (12445825).
Regarding claims 21-23, Ma et al discloses in claim 1 further, Ma et al and Kim et al do not specifically disclose wherein the intermedia session management function is configured to terminate the session based on the session management function.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen et al discloses, wherein the intermedia session management function is configured to terminate the session based on the session management function (¶ 0302-0303). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Ma et al and Kim et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to communication method improves the overall communication efficiency of the network, reduces network address resources to simplify the complexity of network planning and deployment, reduces the number of nodes in the network to reduce the workload of the operation and maintenance of the network, and reduces signal ling between the nodes in the network to reduce the traffic load of the network as taught by Chen et al.
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643