Claims 1-20 are pending.
Amendments dated 10/13/2025 is/are entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection with new reference(s) that is/are not specifically challenged in the argument with regard to the new limitation of “in response to receiving a wireless local area network message from the user equipment indicating that the cellular radio service is available to the user equipment, the access point recording a signal level of the wireless local area network message; andin response to detecting, in connection with communication with another user equipment that is associated with the access point, a same signal level as the signal level of the wireless local area network message, the access point signaling the another user equipment to access the cellular radio service”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2017/0026884) in view of Yu - EP 2642785 and in further view of Olson (WO 2008016778).
As to claim 1:
Singh discloses:
A method (Abstract, Fig. 1, system comprising cellular BS 150, and access point 125, for communication with MS 100s. ¶0048, switching between cellular and WLAN is controlled by the network using network-initiated commands) comprising:
monitoring radio performance between an access point of a wireless local area network and a user equipment in a wireless local area network; (See at least ¶0059, 0060, “MS may be currently serviced by a BS or an AP,”, “ Similarly, if the MS is currently connected to the AP, (…) the threshold values may be provided via the AP, ” - The disclosed method applies to both directions, i.e. (A) transition from cellular to WLAN as well as (B) MS currently serviced by AP and to be transitioned to be serviced by cellular BS (which explicitly noted by Singh in ¶0061, “ it will be assumed the MS is serviced by a BS rather than an AP, but the method may be modified for the opposite case as well. For example, while the communications discussed in FIG. 7 relate to communications between the MS and the BS, they may be between the MS and the AP. Alternatively, the communications may still be between the MS and the BS, but the MS may be connected to the AP instead of the BS ”. ¶0067, 0069, 0070, radio performance indicators of the currently link is evaluated by the current network access point the MS is currently under. In the context of the claim, the AP is monitoring radio performance via performance indicators obtained of the WLAN link with the MS)
and in response to detecting that the radio performance is below a predetermined threshold, the access point signaling the user equipment to scan for and access a cellular radio service. (¶0069, 0070, based on the performance indicator relative to a threshold, signaling the MS to start a transition to another network, i.e. in this case to a cellular radio network since the MS is currently to be serviced by WLAN. ¶0052, “the MS may perform measurements to find the relevant APs and may trigger an indication when an event occurs, reporting the measurement to the RAN. The RAN may evaluate if bearers should be moved to the AP and issue a traffic steering command to the MS. Accordingly, the MS may steer some or all the traffic to the AP based on the command”. ¶0049, “AP radio quality becomes worse than threshold 1 and BS radio quality becomes better than threshold 2—traffic steering from WLAN”)
Singh discloses the AP signaling the MS to start the transition operation the MS to be serviced by (i.e. gain access to) a cellular network, however does not explicitly disclose such operation includes the scanning for a cellular in response to such an alert signal from the network when the performance threshold is under said threshold.
Yu, in a related field of transition between two different networks, discloses in at least ¶0038, 0039, ¶0132, that in response to a signal quality is below a threshold, the network to signal the UE to perform cell probing (i.e. scanning cells) before the handover.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the system of Singh, the AP side’s signaling include instruction to perform cell probing when the signal quality is below the threshold. This implementation is within contemplation of one of ordinary skill in the art because the MS in Singh’s system would need to know which options of cells in the vicinity to transition traffics to, thus implying a mechanism to detect such neighbor cells. Yu’s cell probing would aptly fit such mechanism, to advantageously ascertain handover options for the MS. It would be natural such a handover is necessitated when communication degrades below a threshold.
Singh and Yu both disclose network transferring (handover) based on radio network condition, however is/are silent on “in response to receiving a wireless local area network message from the user equipment indicating that the cellular radio service is available to the user equipment, the access point recording a signal level of the wireless local area network message; and in response to detecting, in connection with communication with another user equipment that is associated with the access point, a same signal level as the signal level of the wireless local area network message, the access point signaling the another user equipment to access the cellular radio service”
Olson, in a related field of facilitating handover based on signal quality, discloses a system/method in which, in at least ¶0054-0057, and 0072, the network side collects historical radio network fingerprint data over an extended period of time (radio network fingerprint data is a set of measurement reports, each entry is mapped to a corresponding location, which acts as an indicator of network condition at said location, for example a location with measurements indicating handover is necessary) recorded from mobile devices for the detected coverages of the network APs.
The fingerprint data collection is then used to predict/determine handover trigger for the particular location a future mobile device is in, which is described in further ¶0111-0114, wherein upon detecting a mobile device with fingerprint matches one of the historical recorded fingerprint (i.e. the mobile device has approached the fingerprint where handover is to be occurred historically), the network is configured to initiate signaling to facilitate handover to move the mobile device to a new network with better coverage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the feature of radio fingerprint-based handover to the system of Singh and Yu. This implementation advantageously provides a timely as to provide sufficient time to enable the system to set up the call on a new interface prior to the old interface becoming unusable. The result of this evaluation can then be made available for a higher level mobility functions that determine on which RAT interface communication should take place (Olson, ¶0005).
As to claim 11:
Singh discloses:
A device comprising: an interface configured to enable network communications; a memory; and one or more processors (¶0031, 0024) coupled to the interface and the memory, and configured to:
monitoring radio performance between an access point of a wireless local area network and a user equipment in a wireless local area network; (See at least ¶0059, 0060, “MS may be currently serviced by a BS or an AP,”, “ Similarly, if the MS is currently connected to the AP, (…) the threshold values may be provided via the AP, ” - The disclosed method applies to both directions, i.e. (A) transition from cellular to WLAN as well as (B) MS currently serviced by AP and to be transitioned to be serviced by cellular BS (which explicitly noted by Singh in ¶0061, “ it will be assumed the MS is serviced by a BS rather than an AP, but the method may be modified for the opposite case as well. For example, while the communications discussed in FIG. 7 relate to communications between the MS and the BS, they may be between the MS and the AP. Alternatively, the communications may still be between the MS and the BS, but the MS may be connected to the AP instead of the BS ”. ¶0067, 0069, 0070, radio performance indicators of the currently link is evaluated by the current network access point the MS is currently under. In the context of the claim, the AP is monitoring radio performance via performance indicators obtained of the WLAN link with the MS)
and in response to detecting that the radio performance is below a predetermined threshold, cause the access point to signal the user equipment to scan for and access a cellular radio service. (¶0069, 0070, based on the performance indicator relative to a threshold, signaling the MS to start a transition to another network, i.e. in this case to a cellular radio network since the MS is currently to be serviced by WLAN. ¶0052, “the MS may perform measurements to find the relevant APs and may trigger an indication when an event occurs, reporting the measurement to the RAN. The RAN may evaluate if bearers should be moved to the AP and issue a traffic steering command to the MS. Accordingly, the MS may steer some or all the traffic to the AP based on the command”. ¶0049, “AP radio quality becomes worse than threshold 1 and BS radio quality becomes better than threshold 2—traffic steering from WLAN”)
Singh discloses the AP signaling the MS to start the transition operation the MS to be serviced by (i.e. gain access to) a cellular network, however does not explicitly disclose such operation includes the scanning for a cellular in response to an alert signal from the network as the performance threshold is under said threshold.
Yu, in a related field of transition between two different networks, discloses in at least ¶0038, 0039, ¶0132, that in response to a signal quality is below a threshold, the network is to signal the UE to perform cell probing (i.e. scanning cells) before the handover.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the system of Singh, the AP side’s signaling include instruction to perform cell probing when the signal quality is below the threshold. This implementation is within contemplation of one of ordinary skill in the art because the MS in Singh’s system would need to know which options of cells in the vicinity to transition traffics to, thus implying a mechanism to detect such neighbor cells. Yu’s cell probing would aptly fit such mechanism, to advantageously ascertain handover options for the MS. It would be natural such a handover is necessitated when communication degrades below a threshold.
Singh and Yu both disclose network transferring (handover) based on radio network condition, however is/are silent on “in response to receiving a wireless local area network message from the user equipment indicating that the cellular radio service is available to the user equipment, the access point recording a signal level of the wireless local area network message; and in response to detecting, in connection with communication with another user equipment that is associated with the access point, a same signal level as the signal level of the wireless local area network message, the access point signaling the another user equipment to access the cellular radio service”
Olson, in a related field of facilitating handover based on signal quality, discloses a system/method in which, in at least ¶0054-0057, and 0072, the network side collects historical radio network fingerprint data over an extended period of time (radio network fingerprint data is a set of measurement reports, each entry is mapped to a corresponding location, which acts as an indicator of network condition at said location, for example a location with measurements indicating handover is necessary) recorded from mobile devices for the detected coverages of the network APs.
The fingerprint data collection is then used to predict/determine handover trigger for the particular location a future mobile device is in, which is described in further ¶0111-0114, wherein upon detecting a mobile device with fingerprint matches one of the historical recorded fingerprint (i.e. the mobile device has approached the fingerprint where handover is to be occurred historically), the network is configured to initiate signaling to facilitate handover to move the mobile device to a new network with better coverage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the feature of radio fingerprint-based handover to the system of Singh and Yu. This implementation advantageously provides a timely as to provide sufficient time to enable the system to set up the call on a new interface prior to the old interface becoming unusable. The result of this evaluation can then be made available for a higher level mobility functions that determine on which RAT interface communication should take place (Olson, ¶0005).
Claim 18 is directed to one or more non-transitory CRM encoded with instruction to cause n processor to perform the method steps similar claims 1 and/or 11, and thus is rejected by the same reasonings.
As to claims 2, 12, 19:
Singh in view of Yu and Olson discloses all limitations of claim 1/11/18, further comprising causing the user equipment to progressively moving traffic from the wireless local area network to the cellular radio service. (Singh, ¶0070, current and future data to be switch to the new network, i.e. progressively, current and future data are moved to the new network over time (i.e. from present to future). Also in another embodiment, only a portion is transitioned currently based on requirement QoS)
As to claims 4, 14:
Singh in view of Yu and Olson discloses all limitations of claim 2/12, further comprising progressively moving the traffic from the wireless local area network to the cellular radio service based on sensitivity of the traffic. (Singh, ¶0070, QoS requirement of an application data (voice/video) is based on to determine whether said data to be moved or remain with the current network)
As to claims 5, 15:
Singh in view of Yu and Olson discloses all limitations of claim 1/11, wherein the radio performance is a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI). (Singh, ¶0054, 0055, RSSI)
As to claims 7/17:
Singh in view of Yu and Olson discloses all limitations of claim 1, wherein a location at which the predetermined threshold is met corresponds to a wireless local area network usability boundary, beyond which bandwidth of a channel of the wireless local area network decreases. (Singh, ¶0054, SNR and RSNI. SNR decreases leading to bandwidth reduction. Naturally, SNR can decrease relative to the distance of MS moving away from the AP. Thus when SNR falls below a threshold, i.e. when the MS is furthest away enough from the AP to cause the SNR to fall under the threshold, that location is considered the boundary location defining a usable quality from the cell’s center)
As to claim 9:
Singh in view of Yu and Olson discloses all limitations of claim 1, wherein the cellular radio service and wireless local area network are operated by a same enterprise. (Singh, ¶0044, “the access points may be managed by a service provider or operator of the base stations,”)
Claim(s) 3, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2017/0026884) in view of Yu - EP 2642785 and in further view of Olson (WO 2008016778) and in further view of Haverinen et al. (US 2007/0047490) .
As to claims 3, 13, 20:
Singh in view of Yu and Olson discloses all limitations of claim 2/12/18, however is silent on comprising moving all traffic from the wireless local area network to the cellular radio service prior to losing connectivity to the wireless local area network.
Haverinen, in a related field of handover, discloses in ¶0016-0017, that when a user device 10 is moving from a first network to a second network, a current ongoing communication must be transition/transferred from old network to the new network before termination of connection with the previous network (AP1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the system of Singh/Yu to implement moving all traffic from the wireless local area network to the cellular radio service prior to losing connectivity to the wireless local area network. Given Singh is concerned with moving traffic to the new network, doing so prior to losing connectivity of the old network will ensure avoidance of interruption or breaks in voice communications (¶0016).
Claim(s) 6, 8, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2017/0026884) in view of Yu - EP 2642785 and in further view of Olson (WO 2008016778) and in further view of Yu Rongdao (US 2018/0124649).
As to claims 6, 16:
Singh in view of Yu and Olson discloses all limitations of claim 1/11, however does not explicitly disclose the cellular radio service is a fifth generation (5G) cellular radio service.
Yu Rongdao, in a related field of handover, discloses system/method for handover wherein the context/protocol of the network environment of the system includes a 5G cellular network (¶078, 0077, 5G)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the system of Singh/Yu includes a 5G cellular network. Given ¶0031-0032 of Singh discusses the cellular network can be of implementation, protocol in a inclusive spirit, the implementation in context of a 5G network would reap benefit of modern state of the art improvements intrinsic to 5G, such as dual connectivity/mak-before-break handover and multi-RAT integrations.
As to claim 8:
Singh in view of Yu and Olson discloses all limitations of claim 1, however does not explicitly disclose requesting grant-free access to the cellular radio service.
Yu Rongdao, in a related field of handover, discloses system/method for handover wherein requesting grant-free access to the cellular radio service (Abstract, ¶0031, 0035 request for grant-free access)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the system of Singh/Yu includes a requesting grant-free access to the cellular radio service. This implementation advantageously allow for scheduling-free ease of access to a new network while allowing for level of control via a request/reject mechanism based on new network’s condition, thus avoiding overburdening the network (¶0141, 0005 of Yu Rongdao).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2017/0026884) in view of Yu - EP 2642785 and in further view of Olson (WO 2008016778) and in further view of Meylan et al. (US 2013/0242897).
As to claim 10:
Singh in view of Yu and Olson discloses all limitations of claim 1, however does not explicitly disclose a same Internet Protocol address is used for communicating traffic over each of the wireless local area network and the cellular radio service.
Meylan, in a related field of handover, discloses system/method for interworking between cellular network and WLAN for a roaming mobile device 600, wherein the WLAN carrier uses the same IP address as the cellular carrier (¶0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the system of Singh/Yu includes same Internet Protocol address is used for communicating traffic over each of the wireless local area network and the cellular radio service. This implementation advantageously allow for removing the necessity of asking the DHCP for a different IP address, i.e. reduces signal overhead as well as usage of IP address pool (¶0081 of Meylan).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUAN M HUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645