DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is responsive to the applicant’s filling an RCE on 07/07/2026.
The application has claims 1-10 present. Claim 1 has been amended. All the claims present have been examined.
Previous rejections under 35 USC § 103 have been withdrawn as necessitated by the claim amendments.
This action is made Non-Final.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention. The claims & only the claims form the metes & bounds of the invention. Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. Unclaimed limitations appearing in the specification are not read into the claim. Prior art was referenced using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning. Examiner's Notes are provided with the cited references to assist the applicant to better understand how the examiner interprets the applied prior art. Such comments are entirely consistent with the intent & spirit of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (US 6665579), in view of Green (US 20070236354), in view of Suzuki et al. (JP2004090158A) (English translation).
In regards to claims 1 and 10, Sasaki teaches a machine tool (see fig. 8) comprising: a spindle capable of rotating a bar workpiece around its axis (see FIG. 8 main spindle 112); a cutter mounted on a tool post and capable of cutting the workpiece at a surface perpendicular to the axis and comprising a cut-off tool (see FIG. 8 and at least Col 9 lines 12-19: cutting tool T. “Not only a dedicated positioning tool but also a tool used for other use such as a cutting-off tool or a cutting tool”. Also on col. 6, line 65 – col. 7, line 11; col. 7, lines 45-55: teaches the cutting-off tool and using its dimensions for certain calculations); a sensor capable of detecting whether the workpiece exist in an area where the cutter is located to cut the workpiece (see FIG. 8 and at least Col. 7: line 56 – Col. 8, line 4; Col 10 lines 62-65: a sensor for detecting object. The sensor detects the tip of the bar W, which knows exactly where to position it for cutting); the cutter comprising a cut-off tool and the sensor comprising a sensor capable of detecting whether the workpiece exists in the area where the cut-off tool is located to cut the workpiece (see FIG. 8, abstract and at least Col 6 line 50 to Col 7 line 11, Col 7 lines 45-55; Col 10 lines 62 to Col 11 line 37: teaches the process the system does using a sensor for detecting object and after the detecting proceeds to do a cutting process).
Sasaki teaches that after sensing the object sending a signal to the controller to continue with the cutting/machining process (see at least Col 11 lines 1-28), however, it doesn’t specifically teach a controller adapted to execute an abnormality detection process prior to a top cut process of the workpiece, wherein the abnormality detection process comprises an abnormality determination process capable of determining that the workpiece does not exist in the area according to a detection value of the sensor and thereby determining that the machine tool is not ready for the top cut process.
Green teaches a controller adapted to execute an abnormality detection process prior to a top cut process of the workpiece, wherein the abnormality detection process comprises an abnormality determination process capable of determining that the workpiece does not exist in the area according to a detection value of the sensor and thereby determining that the machine tool is not ready for the top cut process (see para 23 and 25-26: teaches using sensor data to communicate with a computing device. Makes a determination if an object is or is not at the correct location. When the object is not at the required location as provided by the sensor data, the system provides a notification of error (interpreted as the abnormality), and prevents the process to continue until the error is corrected).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings of Green which allows monitoring and determining location of an object at required location with the teachings of Sasaki, since it enhances the system in order to ensure proper operation performed on an automated process (see para 26).
Sasaki does specifically teach the tool post capable of being displaced in a direction which is horizontal and perpendicular to the direction of the axis containing the axis of the workpiece inserted into the spindle; a sensor mounted on the tool post.
Suzuki teaches the tool post capable of being displaced in a direction which is horizontal and perpendicular to the direction of the axis containing the axis of the workpiece inserted into the spindle; a sensor mounted on the tool post (see FIG. 9 and at least para 5: teaches a cutting machine with a tool post that moves direction which is horizontal and perpendicular to the workpiece axis and sensing means attached to the post tool. On [para 5] “automatic lathe using Figure 9, a parting tool 72 for parting operations is attached to the tool post 71, and a breakage detection device 80 is provided on the side of the parting tool 72. A guide bush 73 for holding the bar material is provided at the rear position of the parting tool 72. The damage detection device 80 includes a bracket 81 fixed to the surface of the tool post 71. A through hole is formed in the bracket 81, and the detection rod 82 is inserted into this through hole. A flange 83 is formed at the center of the detection rod 82 in the height direction, and a spring 84 that biases it in the expansion direction is interposed between the bracket 81 and the flange 83. Furthermore, a proximity sensor 85 is provided near the detection rod 82 on the bracket 81, and a detection coma 86 is attached to the upper end of the detection rod 82, positioned slightly above the proximity sensor 85”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings of these configuration taught by Suzuki, since both systems are in the same field of endeavor and by doing so it provides means to enhance many more cutting system including those with a configuration like Suzuki by implementing the detection process taught by Sasaki and thus improving the monitoring, maintenance and operation of those cutting machines/systems.
In regards to claim 2, Sasaki teaches that it can displace the workpiece as part of the cutting process so as to place the workpiece at a specific length where the part is going to be worked on (see at least in Col. 6, lines 39-41: the headstock 113 is movable in the Z axis direction and moves forward/backward in accordance with an instruction of the NC apparatus 115; Col. 9, line 65 to Col. 10, line 4: the headstock 113 is moved forward by a predetermined amount so that the length of the bar W projected from the guide bush 116 becomes, equal to a preset value; and col. 11, lines 23 to 26: at the time of discarding the bar W as a remainder, the feeder 123 is moved backward until the optoelectronic sensor 119 detects the tip of the bar W). However, Sasaki doesn’t specifically teach wherein the controller is adapted to execute a retry process in the event that the abnormality detection process reveals occurrence of abnormality, the retry process comprising a process of displacing the workpiece in a predetermined direction by a predetermined amount and the predetermined direction being a direction that the workpiece approaches the area where the cutter is located to cut the workpiece, and the abnormality detection process further comprises another abnormality determination process capable of determining whether the workpiece exists in the area after the retry process according to a detection value of the sensor.
Green teaches wherein the controller is adapted to execute a retry process in the event that the abnormality detection process reveals occurrence of abnormality, the retry process comprising a process of displacing the workpiece in a predetermined direction by a predetermined amount and the predetermined direction being a direction that the workpiece approaches the area where the cutter is located to cut the workpiece, and the abnormality detection process further comprises another abnormality determination process capable of determining whether the workpiece exists in the area after the retry process according to a detection value of the sensor (see para 23 and 25-26: teaches using sensor data to communicate with a computing device. Makes a determination if an object is or is not at the correct location. When the object is not at the required location as provided by the sensor data, the system provides a notification of error (interpreted as the abnormality), and prevents the process to continue until the error is corrected. Additionally teaches on para 25 “the process may continue with a determination of whether the identification and location of the ply detected at 54 is correct, again, as indicated at 56”… “the operator may remove and replace and/or reorient the ply, and the process may continue with a determination of whether the identification and location of the ply detected at 54 is correct, again, as indicated at 56.” Green teaches reorient or replace the part, thus retrying the process after the correct workpiece has been correctly placed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings of Green which allows monitoring and determining location of an object at required location, provided abnormality notification and retry with the teachings of Sasaki, since by incorporating these steps, it enhances the system in order to ensure proper operation is performed on during the process (see para 26).
In regards to claim 4, Sasaki doesn’t specifically teach wherein the controller is adapted to execute a displacement amount setting process, the displacement amount setting process comprising a process of receiving a user instruction of a displacement amount of the workpiece through an interface, and a process of displacing the workpiece by the displacement amount received in the displacement amount setting process.
Sasaki does teaches entering setting data associated to a workpiece and the machine in order for the machine to properly work on the piece. The setting information includes length data, which is used in the computations the machine does in order to properly process and accomplish the machining process which would include the detecting steps using the sensor (see Col 6 line 50 to Col 7 line 11).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings of Sasaki, since it enhances the system in order to displace the workpiece until it will be detected by the sensor on the proper location in order to accurately position it prior to executing the cut off operation.
Sasaki doesn’t specifically mention a retry process.
Green teaches a retry process (see para 23 and 25-26: teaches using sensor data to communicate with a computing device. Makes a determination if an object is or is not at the correct location. When the object is not at the required location as provided by the sensor data, the system provides a notification of error (interpreted as the abnormality), and prevents the process to continue until the error is corrected. Further para 25 teaches “the operator may remove and replace and/or reorient the ply, and the process may continue with a determination of whether the identification and location of the ply detected at 54 is correct, again, as indicated at 56.” Green teaches reorient or replace the part, thus retrying the process).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings of Green which allows monitoring and determining location of an object at required location with the teachings of Sasaki, since it enhances the system in order to ensure proper operation performed on an automated process (see para 26).
In regards to claim 5, Sasaki doesn’t specifically teach wherein the controller is adapted to execute an abnormality measures process in the event that the abnormality detection process reveals occurrence of abnormality after the retry process, the abnormality measures process comprising a process of outputting an alarm and shutting off a working machine comprising the cutter and the spindle.
Green teaches wherein the controller is adapted to execute an abnormality measures process in the event that the abnormality detection process reveals occurrence of abnormality after the retry process, the abnormality measures process comprising a process of outputting an alarm and shutting off a working machine comprising the cutter and the spindle (see para 23 and 25-26: teaches using sensor data to communicate with a computing device. Makes a determination if an object is or is not at the correct location. When the object is not at the required location as provided by the sensor data, the system provides a notification of error (interpreted as the abnormality), and prevents the process to continue until the error is corrected).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings of Green which allows monitoring and determining location of an object at required location and halt the process until its corrected with the teachings of Sasaki, since it enhances the system in order to ensure proper operation performed on an automated process (see para 26) and further avoid waste of materials by taking the error measures.
In regards to claim 7, Sasaki teaches the controller comprising an executing apparatus and a storage apparatus and wherein the controller is adapted to receive a machining program input by a user through an interface (see abstract and at least Col 6 line 50 to Col 7 line 11: setting entered by user), the storage apparatus storing a plurality of code data and the machining program being a selective combination of the code data to instruct the executing apparatus to control a working machine comprising the cutter and the spindle, and the code data comprises a code for instructing the executing apparatus to execute the abnormality detection process (see FIG. 8, abstract and at least Col 6 line 50 to Col 7 line 11: setting entered by user. At least Col 10 lines 62 to Col 11 line 37: teaches the process the system does using a sensor for detecting object).
In regards to claim 8, Sasaki teaches the sensor comprising a detector capable of outputting a signal according to the detection value when the detector is displaced into the area where the cutter is located to cut the workpiece (see FIG. 8 and at least Col 10 lines 62-65: a sensor for detecting object).
In regards to claim 9, Sasaki teaches the sensor comprising a non-contact sensor capable of detecting whether the workpiece object existing in the area where the cutter is located to cut the workpiece (see FIG. 8 and at least Col 10 lines 62-65: a sensor for detecting object. Col 7 lines 45-55: teaches the process the system does using a sensor for detecting object and after the detecting proceeds to do a cutting process).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki, Green and Suzuki as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Manmohan et al. (US 8413144).
In regards to claim 3, Sasaki doesn’t specifically teach wherein the controller is adapted to execute a number of retries setting process, the number of retries setting process comprising a process of receiving a user instruction of the number of retries through an interface and the number of retries being an upper limit of the number of retries of the abnormal detection process and the retry process, and the controller is adapted to repeat the retry process within the upper limit until the abnormality detection process reveals no occurrence of abnormality.
Manmohan teaches wherein the controller is adapted to execute a number of retries setting process, the number of retries setting process comprising a process of receiving a user instruction of the number of retries through an interface and the number of retries being an upper limit of the number of retries of the abnormal detection process and the retry process, and the controller is adapted to repeat the retry process within the upper limit until the abnormality detection process reveals no occurrence of abnormality (see at least Col. 8 lines 33-44: teaches providing an interface which allows to set a number of retry attempts for a process in order to try to accomplish the process).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings of Manmohan which allows setting values for retry attempts with the teachings of Sasaki, since it enhances the system in order to improve the possibility for the system to proceed with the process by re-attempting the step.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki, Green and Suzuki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Collins (EP 1560091) as provided by the IDS.
In regards to claim 6, Sasaki doesn’t specifically teach wherein the controller is adapted to execute a cut-off tool breakage detection process after a cut-off process to determine that the sensor detects the workpiece exists in the area and thereby determine that the cut-off tool is broken.
Collins teaches wherein the controller is adapted to execute a cut-off tool breakage detection process after a cut-off process to determine that the sensor detects the workpiece exists in the area and thereby determine that the cut-off tool is broken (see at least para 18, 19 and 23: detecting tool breakage and based on the determination stopping the process).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these teachings of Collins for tool breakage detection with the teachings of Sasaki, since it enhances the system by preventing workpieces to come out wrong and preventing further damage to the machine (see para 18).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wilson-Langman et al. (US 20050061547): teaches object detecting means that can be incorporated with other cutting tool sensors data to enhance data collection associated to the cutting tool.
/MARIO M VELEZ-LOPEZ/
Examiner, Art Unit 2118
/SCOTT T BADERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2118