DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on June 13, 2023.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on June 13, 2023 and July 21, 2025 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Claim Objection
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The structure represented by R50 in claim 11 is small and difficult to discern.
Claim 11 has a paragraph number before the claim number.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 15 recites that “LA can be selected from LAi” and then proceeds to define i. However, because the language of the claim is that the ligand can be selected from, it does not appear that it is required to be selected from the defined group and the scope of the claim includes ligands outside of those specifically described and defined, including ligands outside the scope of claim 13, upon which claim 15 is dependent. Therefore, claim 15 appears to fail to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US20220298191A1).
As per claims 1 – 15, Lee teaches:
A compound of Formula Ir(LA)x(LB)y(LC)z wherein ligand LA has a structure of Formula I
(Lee teaches compounds represented by M(L1)n1(L2)n2 where L1 is represented by Formula 2-1
and L2 is represented by Formula 2-2
([0007]). A specific compound taught by Lee is compound 1-8 in Table 12, wherein L2 is represented by
([0162]) and L1 is represented by B344
([0161]). Compound 1-8 reads on the claimed Formula wherein x is 1; y is 2; z is 0 so that LC does not exist; LA is represented by Formula I wherein ring B is a 6 membered heterocyclic ring, X1 to X10 are all C; RB represents two substituents, namely an alkyl and a aryloxy that are fused to form a ring; RC represents two substituents joined to form a fused ring, namely an alkyl and an aryloxy and two other alkyl substituents; RA represents no substitutions; LB is a bidentate ligand which forms a 5-membered chelate ring with Ir. The ligand LA is represented by Formula II
in claim 5 wherein ring D is a 6-membered aromatic ring, namely benzene as required by claim 8; Y is O; RC’ is two alkyl group; RD represents no substitutions. The compound is represented by
in claim 9 wherein YA and YB are O; X11 to X26 is C; RCC represents two alkyl substitutions; RBB represents one aryl substituent; RAA and RDD both represent no substitions. This ligand is represented by
in claim 10. This ligand is selected from LA1(R6)(R1)(R1)(R34) in claim 11. The ligand is represented by LA29 is claim 12
. LB is selected from
in claim 14 wherein K1’ is a direct bond; Y1 to Y8 are C; Ra represents a silyl substituent and Rb represents a hydrogen substituent. The compound is represented by Ir(LA29)(LB271)2
in claim 15.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20220298191A1) as applied to claims 1 – 15 above.
As per claim 16, the only difference between the above compound 1-8 of Lee and claimed compound
are the fluorine substituents on the phenyl ring off of the dibenzofuran group. However, Lee teaches compounds such as ligand B344
, where the phenyl ring contains fluorine substituents. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to similarly substitute the phenyl ring off the dibenzofuran group of compound 1-8 of Lee with fluorine atoms and arrive at the claimed compound.
Lee includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lee being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of excellent luminescent efficiency and long lifespan ([0166]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 17, Lee does not specifically teach a device with teaches:
An organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises the compound ([0039]: “According to another aspect, provided is an organic light-emitting device including a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer including an emission layer located between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer includes at least one organometallic compound represented by Formula 1.”)
Lee teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Lee as Lee demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 18, Lee teaches:
Wherein the organic layer further comprises a host ([0209]: “The emission layer may include a host and a dopant, and the dopant may include the organometallic compound represented by Formula 1 as described herein.”)
Wherein the host comprises at least one chemical moiety selected from the group consisting of… carbazole… (Lee teaches that the host compound can be selected from CBP
([0210]), which includes the claimed carbazole groups.)
As per claim 19, Lee teaches:
Wherein the organic layer further comprises a host ([0209]: “The emission layer may include a host and a dopant, and the dopant may include the organometallic compound represented by Formula 1 as described herein.”)
Wherein the host is selected from the Host group 1
(Lee teaches that the host compound can be selected from
([0210]).
As per claim 20, Lee teaches:
A consumer product comprising an organic light-emitting device ([0230]: “According to another aspect, the organic light-emitting device may be included in an electronic apparatus. Thus, an electronic apparatus including the organic light-emitting device is provided. The electronic apparatus may include, for example, a display, an illumination, a sensor, and the like.”)
The organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer comprises the compound ([0039]: “According to another aspect, provided is an organic light-emitting device including a first electrode, a second electrode, and an organic layer including an emission layer located between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer includes at least one organometallic compound represented by Formula 1.”)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20220235081A1, CN108774266A and US20110204333A1 all teach organometallic compounds that could be used in a rejection against the claims as currently presented.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789