Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. 2007/0032237 to Chang in view of Pub. 2014/0185475 to Ji.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Chang teaches a method of operating a wireless access node to steer a wireless user device to a Radio Access Technology (RAT) type, the method comprising:
wirelessly receiving a measurement report from a wireless user device that comprises a first measured signal strength for a first RAT type and a second measured signal strength for a second RAT type; (see Figs. 5 to 7, steps 501, 503, 709, 711 as described in sections [0093]-[0095] and [0112]-[0114], which teach that a handoff controller receives the mobile station MS signal strength measurements from the two different RATs);
applying a calibration factor to the second measured signal strength to normalize the second measured signal strength with the first measured signal strength; (see steps 507, 509 and 713 as in sections [0096]-[0097] and [0113], which teach the handoff controller compensating the different network signal strengths);
comparing the normalized second measured signal strength to the first measured signal strength (see steps 515 and 715 in sections [0099] and [0113], which teach the handoff controller comparing the different network signal strengths); and
wirelessly transferring an attachment instruction to the wireless user device to attach the to the first RAT type or the second RAT type based on the comparison (see step 717 in Fig. 7 in section [0114], which teaches transmitting a handoff command instruction (recited “attachment instruction”) to the MS based on the result of the comparison).
Regarding the feature “wherein a first sampling rate for the first measured signal strength is different than a second sampling rate for the second measured signal strength”, although section [0132] of Chang teaches the “MS measuring the signal strength of the BSs in predetermined intervals”, Ji is added.
In an analogous art, Ji teaches a user equipment UE, which measures signals strengths of the current cell and neighboring cells. As mentioned in sections [0044] to [0047], the current and neighbor cells may be of different RATs (listed in these sections). Section [0086] explicitly mentions that the frequency or rate at which signal strength measurements are performed may be changed, “For example,…neighboring cells could be evaluated for signal strength, SNR, etc., in order to determine a scaling factor (e.g., a rate at which cell measurements are performed/a proportion of DRX cycles in which to perform cell measurements) for future measurements of those cells (e.g., individually and/or according to cell groupings). See also section [0115].
Therefore, as both Chang and Ji teach measuring signal strengths of different RATs, and as Ji explicitly teaches that the “sampling rates of the first and second cell and/or RATs are different”, it would have been obvious to modify the sampling intervals of Chang in the manner taught by Ji, for any number of reasons, such as reducing sampling when values seem constant, or reducing rates for unprioritized cells.
Claims 2, 4, 9, 11, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. 2010/0054179 to Meyer.
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16 which recite “wherein applying the calibration factor to the second measured signal strength comprises modifying the second measured signal strength based on the difference between the first sampling rate and the second sampling rate to generate the normalized second measured signal strength”, as Chang and Ji do not teach this feature, Meyer is added.
In an analogous art, Meyer teaches a user equipment UE which measures signals strengths of access points in a handover process (see Fig. 3). As shown in the formula of Fig. 7 and as described in section [0054], the age of a signal strength (RSSI) measurement is multiplied by an age factor. As the age of the measurement indicates the rate at which the signal is measured (high age indicate lower rate of measurement), the teachings of Meyer may be interpreted to read on the features of claim 2.
Therefore, as Chang/Ji teach and Meyer teach measuring and compensating of signal strengths of different RATs, and as Meyer teaches that the “compensation is due to the different sampling rates (ages) of the measurements”, it would have been obvious to modify the compensating factors of Chang/Ji in the manner taught by Meyer, for the reasons as in Meyer, which are that the age and/or frequency of measuring signal strengths must be accounted for.
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18 which recite “wherein wirelessly transferring an attachment instruction to the wireless user device to attach to the first RAT type or the second RAT type based on the comparison comprises: wirelessly transferring the attachment instruction that directs the wireless user device to attach to the first RAT type when the first measured signal strength exceeds the normalized second measured signal strength; and wirelessly transferring the attachment instruction that directs the wireless user device to attach to the second RAT type when the normalized second measured signal strength exceeds the first measured signal strength”, see the handoff controller in Figs. 5-7 of Chang which select the first or second network based on their compensated values of signal strength (where Chang implicitly would select the highest compensated signal strength value), where Meyer explicitly teaches selecting the highest signal strength value.
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Meyer and U.S. Pub. 2025/0203399 to Cheema.
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17 which recite “further comprising accessing a calibration factor table to determine the calibration factor based on the difference between the first sampling rate and the second sampling rate”, Meyer and Cheema are added.
As described above, Meyer teaches adjusting a calibration factor based on signal measuring rate/age, however, Meyer uses a formula and not a stored table. In an analogous art, Cheema teaches a signal strength compensation table, where the compensation models are also based on ages (see section [0118]).
Therefore, as Chang/Ji teach and Meyer/Cheema teach measuring and compensating of signal strengths of different RATs, as Meyer teaches that the “compensation is due to the different sampling rates (ages) of the measurements” and Cheema teaches the use of tables, it would have been obvious to modify the compensating factors of Chang/Ji in the manner taught by Meyer and Cheema, for the reasons as in both Meyer and Cheema, which are that the age and/or frequency of measuring signal strengths must be accounted for.
Claims 5, 7, 12, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. 2020/0314704 to Abdel Shahid.
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19 which recite “wherein: receiving the first measurement report and the second measurement report from the wireless user device comprises receiving a B2 measurement report that comprises the first measured signal strength and the second measured signal strength; and comparing the normalized second measured signal strength to the first measured signal strength comprises comparing the first measured signal strength and the normalized second measured signal strength to a B2 handover threshold”, although Chang teaches the features of receiving the measurement report which contains the first and second signal values and comparing the normalized second signal to the first signal (to determine handoff), as Chang does not explicitly teach a “B2” measurement report, Abdel Shahid is added.
In an analogous art, Abdel Shahid teaches a user equipment UE which has dual access to different RATs (see Fig. 3). As described in section [0135], Abdel Shahid teaches that the B2 signal reports from the UE indicate that the first RAT signal strength is below the threshold and the second RAT signal strength is above the threshold, so a handoff to the second RAT is instigated.
Therefore, as both Chang and Abdel Shahid teach UEs sending measurement reports of signal strengths of different RATs, and as Abdel Shahid explicitly teaches that the report is a B2 report, it would have been obvious to modify the report and handover process of Chang to use a B2 report, as the B2 scenario is a conventionally known situation of conditions that exist when UE transitions between RATs.
Regarding claims 7 and 14 which recite “wherein the first RAT type comprises Long Term Evolution (LTE) and the second RAT type comprises Fifth Generation New Radio (SGNR)”, see section [0002] of Abdel Shahid, which teaches that the RATs used include LTE and 5GNR, as recited.
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claims 1,8 and 15 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. 2014/0274095 to Saito.
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 16 which recite “wherein: receiving the first measurement report and the second measurement report from the wireless user device comprises receiving a B1 measurement report that comprises the first measured signal strength and the second measured signal strength; and comparing the normalized second measured signal strength to the first measured signal strength comprises comparing the normalized second measured signal strength to a B1 addition threshold”, as Chang does not explicitly teach a “B1” measurement report, Saito is added.
In an analogous art, Saito teaches a user equipment UE which has dual access to different RATs and performs handoffs based on detected signal strength. See Figs. 9A and 9B, which show the B1 inter RAT handover threshold. As described in section [0087], Saito teaches that the B1 signal reports from the UE are used to determine that the first RAT signal strength is below the threshold and the second RAT signal strength is above the threshold, so a handoff to the second RAT is instigated.
Therefore, as both Chang and Saito teach UEs sending measurement reports of signal strengths of different RATs, and as Saito explicitly teaches that the report is a B1 report, it would have been obvious to modify the report and handover process of Chang to use a B1 report, as the B1 scenario is a conventionally known situation of conditions that exist when UE transitions between RATs.
/STEVEN S KELLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646