DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-7 in the reply filed on February 24, 2026 is acknowledged. Group II, Claims 8-12 have been withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract contains 191 words, and therefore, is too long. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: warm fluid supply unit which is configured to allow a warm fluid for warming the heat exchange unit to be supplied to the heat exchange unit, a control device is configured to control an operation of the plurality of control valves, heating unit which is configured to heat the absorption liquid as the warm fluid stored at the lower portion in the regeneration tower, first flow rate adjustment unit which is configured to gradually increase a flow rate of the absorption liquid flowing through the rich liquid line between the first connection line and the second connection line and second adjustment unit which is configured to gradually increase a flow rate of the absorption liquid flowing through the lean liquid line between the first connection line and the second connection line in claims 1 and 4-7.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Paragraphs [0025]-[0026] of instant specification discloses that: “The warm fluid supply unit 16 can supply a warm fluid Lh for heating the heat exchange unit 15 to the heat exchange unit 15. The warm fluid supply unit 16 includes a vessel 37, a heating unit 38, and a circulation line 39. The vessel 37 is a container that stores the warm fluid Lh. The heating unit 38 heats the warm fluid Lh. The heating unit 38 of this embodiment is attached to the vessel 37 and heats the warm fluid Lh in the vessel 37 to a predetermined temperature (for example, 30°C or higher). The circulation line 39 supplies the warm fluid Lh to the heat exchange unit 15 and returns the warm fluid Lh supplied to the heat exchange unit 15 to the vessel 37. The circulation line 39 of this embodiment includes a warm fluid supply line 41 and a warm fluid return line 42. The warm fluid supply line 41 supplies the warm fluid Lh from the vessel37 to the heat exchange unit 15. The warm fluid supply line 41 includes a main supply pipe 43, a warm fluid supply pump 44, a first supply pipe 45, a second supply pipe 46, a fifth valve 47, and a sixth valve 48.”
Paragraph [0071] of instant specification discloses that: “…[T]he first flow rate adjustment unit 83 includes a first flow rate adjustment pipe 95 and a first flow rate adjustment valve 96. The first flow rate adjustment pipe 95 forms a flow path which bypasses the first valve 128. The first flow rate adjustment valve 96 can gradually increase the opening degree from at least the closed state. That is, the first flow rate adjustment unit 83 can gradually increase the flow rate of the absorption liquid flowing through the rich liquid supply pipe 126 between the first connection line 81 and the second connection line 82 when the first valve 128 is closed.”
Paragraph [0072] of instant specification discloses that: “…[T]he second flow rate adjustment unit 84 includes a second flow rate adjustment pipe 97 and a second flow rate adjustment valve 98. The second flow rate adjustment pipe 97 forms a flow path which bypasses the third valve 133. The second flow rate adjustment valve 98 can gradually increase the opening degree from at least the closed state. That is, the second flow rate adjustment unit 84 can gradually increase the flow rate of the absorption liquid flowing through the lean liquid supply pipe 131 between the first connection line 81 and the second connection line 82 when the third valve 133 is closed.”
Paragraph [0073] of instant specification discloses that: “The control device 118 can control the operation of the first valve 128, the third valve 133, the eleventh valve 89, the first connection valve 92, the second connection valve 94, the first flow rate adjustment valve 96, and the second flow rate adjustment valve 98 which are a plurality of control valves. The control device 118 can also switch the operation and stop of the warm fluid supply pump 144. The control device 118 can also control the operation of the heating unit 138. As shown in FIG. 2, the control device 118 of the second embodiment is also the computer including the central processing unit (CPU) 61, the read only memory (ROM) 62, the random access memory(RAM) 63, the storage 64, and the signal transmission/reception module 65.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites: “The carbon dioxide recovery system according to claim 2, further comprising: a plurality of control valves which are configured to be switchable between a first state in which the warm fluid is supplied to the heat exchange unit to warm the heat exchange unit and a second state in which the absorption liquid is supplied to the heat exchange unit to exchange heat therein; and a control device which is configured to control an operation of the plurality of control valve.” This limitation is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what applicant refers to. It is unclear which absorption liquid applicant is referring to. Is applicant referring to the lean liquid corresponding to the absorption liquid having discharged the carbon dioxide or is it the rich liquid corresponding to the absorption liquid having absorbed the carbon dioxide of the carbon dioxide containing gas?
Claim 5 recites: “The carbon dioxide recovery system according to claim 1, wherein the warm fluid supply unit includes the regeneration tower which is configured to allow the absorption liquid as the warm fluid to be stored at a lower portion therein, a heating unit which is configured to heat the absorption liquid as the warm fluid stored at the lower portion in the regeneration tower, and a first connection line which is configured to allow the lean liquid line on the side closer to the absorption tower than the heat exchange unit to communicate with the rich liquid line.” This limitation is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what applicant refers to. It is unclear which absorption liquid applicant is referring to. Is applicant referring to the lean liquid corresponding to the absorption liquid having discharged the carbon dioxide or is it the rich liquid corresponding to the absorption liquid having absorbed the carbon dioxide of the carbon dioxide containing gas?
Claim 6 recites: “The carbon dioxide recovery system according to claim 5, further comprising: a second connection line which is configured to allow the rich liquid line on the side closer to the absorption tower than the first connection line to communicate with the lean liquid line on the side closer to the absorption tower than the first connection line; a first flow rate adjustment unit which is configured to gradually increase a flow rate of the absorption liquid flowing through the rich liquid line between the first connection line and the second connection line; and a second flow rate adjustment unit which is configured to gradually increase a flow rate of the absorption liquid flowing through the lean liquid line between the first connection line and the second connection line.”
This limitation is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what applicant refers to. It is unclear which absorption liquid applicant is referring to. Is applicant referring to the lean liquid corresponding to the absorption liquid having discharged the carbon dioxide or is it the rich liquid corresponding to the absorption liquid having absorbed the carbon dioxide of the carbon dioxide containing gas?
Claim 7 recites: “The carbon dioxide recovery system according to claim 6, further comprising: a plurality of control valves which are installed on the rich liquid line, the lean liquid line, the first connection line, and the second connection line and are configured to be switchable between a first state in which the absorption liquid of the regeneration tower is allowed to flow from the lean liquid line into the rich liquid line through the first connection line as the warm fluid and is returned to the regeneration tower and a second state in which the rich liquid is supplied from the absorption tower to the regeneration tower by the rich liquid line and the lean liquid is supplied from the regeneration tower to the absorption tower by the lean liquid line; and a control device which is configured to control the plurality of control valves, the first flow rate adjustment unit, and the second flow rate adjustment unit.” This limitation is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what applicant refers to. It is unclear which absorption liquid applicant is referring to. Is applicant referring to the lean liquid corresponding to the absorption liquid having discharged the carbon dioxide or is it the rich liquid corresponding to the absorption liquid having absorbed the carbon dioxide of the carbon dioxide containing gas?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Mori et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0112855, hereinafter Mori).
In regards to Claim 1, Mori discloses a carbon dioxide recovery system comprising:
an absorption tower (#A1) which is configured to allow a carbon dioxide containing gas containing carbon dioxide to contact an absorption liquid (MDEA) capable of absorbing the carbon dioxide and produce a rich liquid (acid gas-rich MDEA) corresponding to the absorption liquid having absorbed the carbon dioxide of the carbon dioxide containing gas (see figure 3 and paragraphs [0121]-[0122] and [0140]);
a regeneration tower (#A2) which is configured to heat the rich liquid (acid gas-rich MDEA) to discharge the carbon dioxide from the rich liquid and produce a lean liquid (lean MDEA stream) corresponding to the absorption liquid having discharged the carbon dioxide (see figure 3 and paragraph [0140]);
a rich liquid line (#11, #12, #51) which is formed to guide the rich liquid from the absorption tower (#A1) to the regeneration tower (#A2) therethrough (see figure 3 and paragraphs [0122]-[0123] and [0140]);
a lean liquid line (#81, #41, #42, #43) which is formed to guide the lean liquid from the regeneration tower (#A2) to the absorption tower (#A1) therethrough (see figure 3 and paragraphs [0141]-[0142]);
a heat exchange unit (#E1) which is configured to exchange the temperature of the lean liquid flowing through the lean liquid line (#81, #41, #42, #43) with the absorption liquid having a temperature different from the lean liquid flowing through the lean liquid line (see figure 3 and paragraphs [0140]-[0142]); and
a warm fluid supply unit (#F1) which is configured to allow a warm fluid (#31) for warming the heat exchange unit to be supplied to the heat exchange unit (#E1) (see figure 3 and paragraphs [0122]-[0123] and [0142]).
In regards to Claim 2, Mori discloses wherein the warm fluid supply unit (#F1) includes a vessel (separation drum) which is configured to allow the warm fluid (#31) to be stored therein, a heating unit which is configured to heat the warm fluid (#E1 also warms the warm fluid #31 within the separation drum #F1), and a circulation line (#32, #33, #34, #12) which is formed to supply the warm fluid (#31) stored in the vessel to the heat exchange unit (#E1) and return the warm fluid (#31) supplied to the heat exchange unit (#E1) to the vessel (#F1) (see figure 3 and paragraphs [0122]-[0123]).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Maeda et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0364549, with a PCT publication date of March 10, 2023, hereinafter Maeda).
In regards to Claim 1, Maeda discloses carbon dioxide recovery system comprising:
an absorption tower (#12) which is configured to allow a carbon dioxide containing gas containing carbon dioxide to contact an absorption liquid (amine-based absorbent) capable of absorbing the carbon dioxide and produce a rich liquid (rich liquid) corresponding to the absorption liquid having absorbed the carbon dioxide of the carbon dioxide containing gas (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0018]-[0019]);
a regeneration tower (#14) which is configured to heat the rich liquid to discharge the carbon dioxide from the rich liquid and produce a lean liquid (lean liquid) corresponding to the absorption liquid having discharged the carbon dioxide (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0018]-[0019]);
a rich liquid line (#21) which is formed to guide the rich liquid from the absorption tower (#12) to the regeneration tower (#12) therethrough (see figure 1 and paragraph [0018]);
a lean liquid line (#22) which is formed to guide the lean liquid from the regeneration tower (#14) to the absorption tower (#12) therethrough (see figure 1 and paragraph [0019]);
a heat exchange unit (#18) which is configured to exchange the temperature of the lean liquid flowing through the lean liquid line (#22) with the absorption liquid having a temperature different from the lean liquid flowing through the lean liquid line (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0018] and [0032]); and
a warm fluid supply unit (releaser #14 further includes a release side tank #14a) which is configured to allow a warm fluid (fluid containing an acidic compound released from the absorbent) for warming the heat exchange unit to be supplied to the heat exchange unit (18) (see figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs [0028] and [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori in view of Saito et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0086811, hereinafter Saito).
In regards to Claim 3, Mori discloses the carbon dioxide recovery system as recited in claim 2, but fails to disclose further comprising a heat exchange unit bypass line which is formed to bypass the absorption liquid so that the absorption liquid does not flow into the heat exchanger.
However, Saito teaches a carbon dioxide recovering apparatus comprising an absorption tower (#101) which is configured to allow a carbon dioxide containing gas containing carbon dioxide to contact an absorption liquid capable of absorbing the carbon dioxide and produce a rich liquid (rich solution) corresponding to the absorption liquid having absorbed the carbon dioxide of the carbon dioxide containing gas (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0013]-[0017]), a regeneration tower (#102A) which is configured to heat the rich liquid (rich solution) to discharge the carbon dioxide from the rich liquid and produce a lean liquid (lean solution) corresponding to the absorption liquid having discharged the carbon dioxide (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0013] and [0018]), a rich liquid line (#301, #302, #320) which is formed to guide the rich liquid from the absorption tower (#101) to the regeneration tower (#102a) therethrough (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0013] and [0018]), a lean liquid line (#316, #318, #319) which is formed to guide the lean liquid from the regeneration tower (#102a) to the absorption tower (#101) therethrough (see figure 1 and paragraph [0023]), a heat exchange unit (#103) which is configured to exchange the temperature of the lean liquid flowing through the lean liquid line (#316, #318, #319) with the absorption liquid having a temperature different from the lean liquid flowing through the lean liquid line (see figure 1 and paragraph [0023]), and a heat exchange unit bypass line (#303) which is formed to bypass the absorption liquid so that the absorption liquid does not flow into the heat exchange unit (#103) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0018]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the carbon dioxide recovery system as disclosed by Mori by further including a heat exchange unit bypass line formed to bypass the absorption liquid so that the absorption liquid does not flow into the heat exchange unit, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Saito teaches a carbon dioxide recovering apparatus comprising an absorption tower configured to allow a carbon dioxide containing gas containing carbon dioxide to contact an absorption liquid capable of absorbing the carbon dioxide and produce a rich liquid corresponding to the absorption liquid having absorbed the carbon dioxide of the carbon dioxide containing gas, a regeneration tower configured to heat the rich liquid to discharge the carbon dioxide from the rich liquid and produce a lean liquid corresponding to the absorption liquid having discharged the carbon dioxide, a rich liquid line formed to guide the rich liquid from the absorption tower to the regeneration tower therethrough, a lean liquid line formed to guide the lean liquid from the regeneration tower to the absorption tower therethrough, a heat exchange unit configured to exchange the temperature of the lean liquid flowing through the lean liquid line with the absorption liquid having a temperature different from the lean liquid flowing through the lean liquid line, and a heat exchange unit bypass line which is formed to bypass the absorption liquid so that the absorption liquid does not flow into the heat exchange unit, thereby improving the overall CO2 separation process within the regenerator (see figure 1 and paragraph [0018]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda, in view of Mori.
In regards to Claim 5, Maeda discloses the carbon dioxide recovery system as recited in claim 1. Maeda further discloses wherein the warm fluid supply unit (release side tank #14a) includes the regeneration tower (#14) which is configured to allow the absorption liquid as the warm fluid to be stored at a lower portion therein, a heating unit (#30) which is configured to heat the absorption liquid as the warm fluid stored at the lower portion of the regeneration tower (#14) (see figure 4 and paragraphs [0050], [0052] and [0054]-[0055]). Maeda fails to disclose a first connection line which is configured to allow the lean liquid line on the side closer to the absorption tower than the heat exchange unit to communicate with the rich liquid line.
However, Mori teaches a carbon dioxide recovery system comprising an absorption tower (#A1) which is configured to allow a carbon dioxide containing gas containing carbon dioxide to contact an absorption liquid (MDEA) capable of absorbing the carbon dioxide and produce a rich liquid (acid gas-rich MDEA) corresponding to the absorption liquid having absorbed the carbon dioxide of the carbon dioxide containing gas (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0121]-[0122]); a regeneration tower (#F1) which is configured to heat the rich liquid (acid gas-rich MDEA) to discharge the carbon dioxide from the rich liquid and produce a lean liquid (lean MDEA stream) corresponding to the absorption liquid having discharged the carbon dioxide (see figure 2 and paragraph [0121]-[0122]); a rich liquid line (#11, #12) which is formed to guide the rich liquid from the absorption tower (#A1) to the regeneration tower (#A2) therethrough (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0122]-[0123]); a lean liquid line (#41, #42, #43) which is formed to guide the lean liquid from the regeneration tower (#A2) to the absorption tower (#A1) therethrough (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0121]-[0122]); a heat exchange unit (#E1) which is configured to exchange the temperature of the lean liquid flowing through the lean liquid line (#41, #42, #43) with the absorption liquid having a temperature different from the lean liquid flowing through the lean liquid line (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0121]-[0122]); a warm fluid supply unit (#F1) which is configured to allow a warm fluid (#31) for warming the heat exchange unit to be supplied to the heat exchange unit (#E1) (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0122]-[0123]), wherein the warm fluid supply unit (#F1) includes the regeneration tower (#F1) is used for regenerator of the absorbent) (see paragraph [0121]), and includes a first connection line (#34) configured to allow the lean liquid on the side closer to the absorption tower (#A1) than the heat exchange unit (#E1) to communicate with the rich liquid line (#12) (see figure 2 and paragraph [0123]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the carbon dioxide recovery system as disclosed by Maeda by further having a first connection line configured to allow the lean liquid on the side closer to the absorption tower than the heat exchange unit to communicate with the rich liquid line, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Mori teaches a carbon dioxide recovery system comprising an absorption tower configured to allow a carbon dioxide containing gas containing carbon dioxide to contact an absorption liquid capable of absorbing the carbon dioxide and produce a rich liquid corresponding to the absorption liquid having absorbed the carbon dioxide of the carbon dioxide containing gas a regeneration tower configured to heat the rich liquid to discharge the carbon dioxide from the rich liquid and produce a lean liquid corresponding to the absorption liquid having discharged the carbon dioxide, a rich liquid line formed to guide the rich liquid from the absorption tower to the regeneration tower therethrough, a lean liquid line formed to guide the lean liquid from the regeneration tower to the absorption tower therethrough, a heat exchange unit configured to exchange the temperature of the lean liquid flowing through the lean liquid line with the absorption liquid having a temperature different from the lean liquid flowing through the lean liquid line, a warm fluid supply unit configured to allow a warm fluid for warming the heat exchange unit to be supplied to the heat exchange unit, wherein the warm fluid supply unit includes the regeneration tower is used for regenerator of the absorbent, and a first connection line configured to allow the lean liquid on the side closer to the absorption tower (#A1) than the heat exchange unit to communicate with the rich liquid line, thereby improving the overall CO2 separation process within the system (see figure 2 and paragraph [0123]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda in view of Udatsu et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2013/0343976, hereinafter Udatsu).
In regards to Claim 6, Maeda discloses the carbon dioxide recovery system as recited in claim 5, but fails to disclose a second connection line which is configured to allow the rich liquid line on the side closer to the absorption tower than the first connection line to communicate with the lean liquid line on the side closer to the absorption tower than the first connection line; a first flow rate adjustment unit which is configured to gradually increase a flow rate of the absorption liquid flowing through the rich liquid line between the first connection line and the second connection line; and a second flow rate adjustment unit which is configured to gradually increase a flow rate of the absorption liquid flowing through the lean liquid line between the first connection line and the second connection line.
However, Udatsu teaches a carbon dioxide recovery device comprising an absorption tower (#101) configured to cause carbon dioxide-containing gas (#111) to come in contact with absorbing solution and to generate a rich solution absorbing the carbon dioxide, a regeneration tower (#102) configured to heat the rich solution, to disperse steam containing the carbon dioxide, and to generate a lean solution from which the carbon dioxide is removed, a rich liquid line (#301) to guide the rich liquid from the absorption tower (#101) to the regeneration tower (#102) therethrough, a lean liquid line (#319) to guide the lean solution from the regeneration tower (#102) to the absorption tower (#101), a heat exchanging device (#103) configured to exchange heat between the lean solution and the rich solution, to supply the rich solution after the heat exchange to the regeneration tower, and to supply the lean solution after the heat exchange to the absorption tower, a warm fluid supply unit configured to allow a warm fluid for warming the heat exchange unit to be supplied to the heat exchange unit (#103) which includes the regeneration tower (#102) which is configured to allow the absorption liquid as the warm fluid to be stored a lower portion therein, a heating unit (#108) configured to heat the absorption liquid as the warm fluid stored at the lower portion in the regeneration tower (#102), a first connection line (#303) to allow the lean liquid line (#319) on the side closer to the absorption tower (#101) than the heat exchange unit (#103) to communicate with the rich liquid line (#301), a second connection line (#302) configured to allow the rich liquid line (#301) on the side closer to the absorption tower (#101) than the first connection line (#303) to communicate with the lean liquid line on the side closer to the absorption lower than the first connection line (#303), a first flow rate adjustment unit (#107, #120) which is configured to gradually increase a flow rate of the absorption liquid flowing through the rich liquid line (#301) between the first connection line (#303) and the second connection line (#302), and a second flow rate adjustment unit (#107, #120) which is configured to gradually increase a flow rate of the absorption liquid flowing through the lean liquid line (#319) between the first connection line (#303) and the second connection line (#302) (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0013], [0023], [0026] and [0036]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the carbon dioxide recovery system as disclosed by Maeda by further including a second connection line which is configured to allow the rich liquid line on the side closer to the absorption tower than the first connection line to communicate with the lean liquid line on the side closer to the absorption tower than the first connection line, a first flow rate adjustment unit which is configured to gradually increase a flow rate of the absorption liquid flowing through the rich liquid line between the first connection line and the second connection line, and a second flow rate adjustment unit which is configured to gradually increase a flow rate of the absorption liquid flowing through the lean liquid line between the first connection line and the second connection line, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Udatsu teaches a carbon dioxide recovery system that includes a diversion device, i.e. first and second flow rate adjustment unit, that adjusts the flow rate of absorption liquid flowing through the rich liquid line and lean liquid line between first and second connection lines, respectively, which may effectively prevent rapid heat generation in the absorbing solution due to the carbon dioxide absorption reaction in the absorption tower while enhancing the recovery efficiency of carbon dioxide (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0026], [0029]-[0036] and [0060]).
Examiner’s Comments
In regards to Claims 4 and 7, no art rejection has been made for this claim. These has only been rejected under 35 USC § 112(b), as explained in the above office action.
In regards to Claim 4, Maeda et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2023/ 0364549)- which is considered the closest prior art of record, discloses carbon dioxide recovery system comprising:
an absorption tower (#12) which is configured to allow a carbon dioxide containing gas containing carbon dioxide to contact an absorption liquid (amine-based absorbent) capable of absorbing the carbon dioxide and produce a rich liquid (rich liquid) corresponding to the absorption liquid having absorbed the carbon dioxide of the carbon dioxide containing gas (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0018]-[0019]);
a regeneration tower (#14) which is configured to heat the rich liquid to discharge the carbon dioxide from the rich liquid and produce a lean liquid (lean liquid) corresponding to the absorption liquid having discharged the carbon dioxide (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0018]-[0019]);
a rich liquid line (#21) which is formed to guide the rich liquid from the absorption tower (#12) to the regeneration tower (#12) therethrough (see figure 1 and paragraph [0018]);
a lean liquid line (#22) which is formed to guide the lean liquid from the regeneration tower (#14) to the absorption tower (#12) therethrough (see figure 1 and paragraph [0019]);
a heat exchange unit (#18) which is configured to exchange the temperature of the lean liquid flowing through the lean liquid line (#22) with the absorption liquid having a temperature different from the lean liquid flowing through the lean liquid line (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0018] and [0032]); and
a warm fluid supply unit (releaser #14 further includes a release side tank #14a) which is configured to allow a warm fluid (fluid containing an acidic compound released from the absorbent) for warming the heat exchange unit to be supplied to the heat exchange unit (18) (see figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs [0028] and [0032]).
The differences between Maeda and the instant invention is that Maeda fails to disclose a plurality of control valves which are configured to be switchable between a first state in which the warm fluid is supplied to the heat exchange unit to warm the heat exchange unit and a second state in which the absorption liquid is supplied to the heat exchange unit to exchange heat therein; and a control device which is configured to control an operation of the plurality of control valves.
In regards to Claim 7, Udatsu et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2013/0343976)- which is considered the closest prior art of record, discloses a carbon dioxide recovery device comprising an absorption tower (#101) configured to cause carbon dioxide-containing gas (#111) to come in contact with absorbing solution and to generate a rich solution absorbing the carbon dioxide, a regeneration tower (#102) configured to heat the rich solution, to disperse steam containing the carbon dioxide, and to generate a lean solution from which the carbon dioxide is removed, a rich liquid line (#301) to guide the rich liquid from the absorption tower (#101) to the regeneration tower (#102) therethrough, a lean liquid line (#319) to guide the lean solution from the regeneration tower (#102) to the absorption tower (#101), a heat exchanging device (#103) configured to exchange heat between the lean solution and the rich solution, to supply the rich solution after the heat exchange to the regeneration tower, and to supply the lean solution after the heat exchange to the absorption tower, a warm fluid supply unit configured to allow a warm fluid for warming the heat exchange unit to be supplied to the heat exchange unit (#103) which includes the regeneration tower (#102) which is configured to allow the absorption liquid as the warm fluid to be stored a lower portion therein, a heating unit (#108) configured to heat the absorption liquid as the warm fluid stored at the lower portion in the regeneration tower (#102), a first connection line (#303) to allow the lean liquid line (#319) on the side closer to the absorption tower (#101) than the heat exchange unit (#103) to communicate with the rich liquid line (#301), a second connection line (#302) configured to allow the rich liquid line (#301) on the side closer to the absorption tower (#101) than the first connection line (#303) to communicate with the lean liquid line on the side closer to the absorption lower than the first connection line (#303), a first flow rate adjustment unit (#107, #120) which is configured to gradually increase a flow rate of the absorption liquid flowing through the rich liquid line (#301) between the first connection line (#303) and the second connection line (#302), and a second flow rate adjustment unit (#107, #120) which is configured to gradually increase a flow rate of the absorption liquid flowing through the lean liquid line (#319) between the first connection line (#303) and the second connection line (#302) (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0013], [0023], [0026] and [0036]).
The differences between Udatsu and the instant invention is that Udatsu fails to disclose a plurality of control valves which are installed on the rich liquid line, the lean liquid line, the first connection line, and the second connection line and are configured to be switchable between a first state in which the absorption liquid of the regeneration tower is allowed to flow from the lean liquid line into the rich liquid line through the first connection line as the warm fluid and is returned to the regeneration tower and a second state in which the rich liquid is supplied from the absorption tower to the regeneration tower by the rich liquid line and the lean liquid is supplied from the regeneration tower to the absorption tower by the lean liquid line; and a control device which is configured to control the plurality of control valves, the first flow rate adjustment unit, and the second flow rate adjustment unit.
Conclusion
/JELITZA M PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774