DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 11-20 in the reply filed on 9/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/24/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/13/2023 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 10-15 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flocchini (U.S Patent 4,498,419).
Regarding claim 10, Flocchini teaches a method for selectively conducting at least a first fluid and a second fluid using a safety valve (valve A, figs 1-3) (abstract) having at least a first port (20), a second port (bottom of valve A, outflow conduit 24), and a third port (32/36), the method comprising: with a piston (valve head member 44) in a first position (fig 5; col 4 lines 53-58), conducting the first fluid between the first port and the second port (claim 1 and col 4 lines 53-58); and with the piston in a second position (fig 6; col 4 line 65 – col 5 line 5 and col 5 lines 29-42), conducting the second fluid between the third port and the first port (claim 1, col 4 line 65 – col 5 line 5 and col 5 lines 29-42).
Regarding claim 11, Flocchini teaches further comprising moving the piston to the first position in response to a force provided by a spring (70) (fig 4; col 4 lines 29-43).
Regarding claim 12, Flocchini teaches further comprising moving the piston to the second position in response to applying compressed air (col 4 line 65 – col 5 line 28).
Regarding claim 13, Flocchini teaches with the piston in the first position (fig 5; claim 1 and col 4 lines 53-58), preventing the second fluid from passing between the third port and the first port (claim 1 and col 4 lines 53-58).
Regarding claim 14, Flocchini teaches with the piston in the second position (fig 6; claim 1, col 4 line 65 – col 5 line 5 and col 5 lines 29-42), preventing the first fluid from passing between the first port and the second port (claim 1, col 4 line 65 – col 5 line 5 and col 5 lines 29-42).
Regarding claim 15, Flocchini teaches wherein preventing the first fluid from passing between the first port and the second port is carried out by a first seal (42A) and a second seal (42B) spaced apart from each other (col 3 lines 61-68 and col 5 lines 6-28), and wherein the method further comprises venting a region within the safety valve between the first seal and the second seal to an environment of the safety valve (col 5 lines 6-28).
Regarding claim 20, Flocchini teaches further comprising: receiving, by the first port, the first fluid from a milker unit (80) (col 3 lines 49-56); providing, by the second port, the first fluid to a milk collecting tank (30) (col 3 lines 57-60); receiving, by the third port (36), the second fluid from a backflush supply (81) (col 5 lines 43-55); and providing, by the first port (20/37), the second fluid to the milker unit (col 5 lines 43-55).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record is Flocchini (U.S Patent 4,498,419).
17. Flocchini teaches the limitations of claim 1 and wherein the safety valve further includes a fourth port and a fifth port as recited in claim 16. However, Flocchini fails to teach wherein the method further comprises: with a second piston in a first position, enabling a third fluid to pass between the fourth port and the fifth port; and with the second piston in a second position, disabling the third fluid from passing between the fourth port and the fifth port as recited in claim 16.
Conclusion
/P.P/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714