DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/333,876. Claims 1-7, 9, 11-21 are pending in the application.
The applicant’s amendment filed August 27, 2026 has been entered.
The previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because it appears to contain a typographical error in the term for NH4Cl. Appropriate correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 11-14, 18-21 are allowable over the closest prior art of Kinoshita et al (US 2004/0023118) in view of Johnson et al (US 2012/0132073). The references do not teach or suggest heat treating a biomass feedstock to obtain biochar particles and activating the biochar to obtain activated carbon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) because the terms “a step of using a water steam” and “a step of using an activation agent” are indefinite regarding the term “using.” The claim does not set forth any step involved in the method of using, therefore, it is unclear what method the applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. MPEP § 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Kinoshita et al (US 2004/0023118) in view of Johnson et al (US 2012/0132073).
Kinoshita et al teaches a method of making carbonaceous particles from activated carbon (par. 34-35). The activated carbon is porous (par. 36). The activated carbon is coated with a carbon precursor (par. 35). The carbon precursor coats the surface which implicitly includes the pore surfaces of the activated carbon (par. 35). The activated carbon coated with carbon precursor is heat treated to form a carbonaceous coating on the activated carbon (par. 35). The carbon precursor includes polyphenylene sulfide (par. 35).
Kinoshita et al does not teach the pore volume fraction of the activated carbon.
However, Johnson et al teaches activated carbon having a pore volume of 15-70 % (par. 14).
Kinoshita et al teaches porous activated carbon, but does not teach the pore volume fraction. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by design need to combine the pore volume of Johnson et al with the method of Kinoshita et al in order to obtain activated carbon having a known pore volume fraction.
Regarding claim 17, amorphous carbon (carbonaceous) has a known density of about 2 g/cm3. At a pore volume fraction of 50 %, the resulting density of the porous carbonaceous material would be about 1 g/cm3, which is within the claimed range.
Response to Arguments
The previous grounds of rejection are withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendment. New grounds of rejection are presented above.
Conclusion
The applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Information