DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-16, and 18-19 are pending.
Claims 1, 8, 11, and 18 are amended.
Claims 6-7, 10, 17, and 20 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 4, 2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection to the claims under the nonstatutory double patent, the nonstatutory double patent rejection of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendment.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C 112 rejection of claim 6, claim 6 has been cancelled. The 35 U.S.C 112 rejection of claim 6 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed November 25, 2025, regarding the 102 and 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
Applicant’s arguments regarding original claim 7, applicant argues that Farag and Ko fail to teach "wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the first terminal, second indication information sent by the second terminal, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a delay upper bound for sending the resource set; wherein sending, by the first terminal, the resource set to the second terminal in the target time unit, comprises: sending, by the first terminal, the resource set to the second terminal in a target time unit located before the delay upper bound” as recited in the amended claim 1”. (Remarks, pages 10-12). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Farag teaches receiving, by the first terminal, second indication information sent by the second terminal (Fig. 17 shows the controlled UE (second terminal) sending RSAI trigger (second indication) to the controlling UE (first terminal). requesting RSAI via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE (second indication). [0244] In some embodiments the activation and deactivation commands can be triggered by the controlled UE requesting the RSAI via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE), wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a delay upper bound for sending the resource set ([0245] Some or all of the following configuration fields for a semi-persistent RSAI transmission can be (pre-)configured, included in an activation command, updated by an activation command, or any combination thereof. For another example, a configuration field for a semi-persistent RSAI transmission can be the packet delay budget (PDB) of the transmission from a controlled UE). So the second indication information indicates a PDB. This PDB refers to the delay budget of the transmission for which the controlled UE is requesting the resource set from the first terminal. In paragraph [0097] For resource (re-)selection or re-evaluation in slot n, a UE, such as the UE 116, can determine a set of available single-slot resources, also referred to as SL resources, for transmission within a resource selection window [n+T.sub.1, n+T.sub.2]. Fig. 19 shows an example timing diagram where slot n is where the RSAI is determined. For simplicity, [0275] In FIG. 19, slot n can be a same slot as slot p. Farag also discloses in paragraph [0097] T.sub.2 is determined by the UE such that T.sub.2min≤T.sub.2≤Remaining Packet Delay Budget, as long as T.sub.2min<Remaining Packet Delay Budget, else T.sub.2 is equal to the Remaining Packet Delay Budget. T.sub.2min is a configured by higher layers and depends on the priority of the SL transmission. Referring back to Fig. 19, T.sub.2, (the Remaining Packet Delay Budget) includes T.sub.1, [0097] such that, 0≤T.sub.1≤T.sub.proc,1, where T.sub.proc,1 is a PSSCH processing time (the time it takes the second UE to process the RSAI received from the first UE). Therefore, the Remaining Packet Delay Budget includes the time it takes the second UE to process the RSAI and transmit during the resource selection window. This information is important for the first UE to determine the max delay for sending the RSAI. If the first UE sends this information too late, the second UE will not have enough time to process the information and send a transmission during the resource selection window. Thus, the PDB is a delay upper bound for sending the resource set. Since Farag teaches the Remaining Packet Delay Budget defines the time it takes the second UE to process the RSAI and send a transmission by the end of the resource selection window, Farag teaches the PDB indicates a delay upper bound for sending (by the first terminal) the resource set. And since Farag teaches the second indication includes the PDB, Farag discloses “wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a delay upper bound for sending the resource set”.
KO teaches sending, by the first terminal, the resource to the second terminal in a target time unit located before the delay upper bound (Paragraph [0093] discloses that when setting a PDB (delay upper bound) related to receiving a CSI report (the resource) a first UE performing SL DRX operation may configure the length of time from the time point of requesting the CSI report to a valid SL DRX active time interval remaining in the first UE as PDB (delay upper bound). The first UE ensures the length of the PDB is long enough to overlap with an active time of the first UE so that it can receive the CSI. If the second UE is unable to send the CSI “within the required PDB time” because its DRX active time does not overlap with the first UE’s DRX active time, it will not send the CSI report or it may extend its DRX active time to coincide with the first UE’s DRX active time. Thus, KO discloses the second UE will only send the CSI report if it can send it “within the required PDB time”, or “before the delay upper bound”. Since Farag teaches sending, by the first terminal, the resource set to a second terminal ([0130] In step 704, the UE, such as the UE 116, transmits RSAI.), and KO teaches sending, by the first terminal, the resource to the second terminal in a target time unit located before the delay upper bound, the combination of Farag and Ko teach “sending, by the first terminal, the resource set to the second terminal in a target time unit located before the delay upper bound”.
Since Farag teaches “receiving, by the first terminal, second indication information sent by the second terminal, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a delay upper bound for sending the resource set” and the combination of Farag and KO teaches “sending, by the first terminal, the resource set to the second terminal in a target time unit located before the delay upper bound as recited in the amended claims”, original claim 7 is rejected under Farag in view of KO.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 11 and 18, claims 1, 8, 11 and 18 have been amended to include the limitations of original claim 7 above therefore the response to original claim 7 is also applicable to claims 1, 8, 11 and 18, and thus please refer to the response to original claim 7 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-5, 9, 12-16, and 19, no arguments were presented as to their patentability and therefore the claims remain rejected as indicated in previous office action dated August 28, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,4,5,8,11,12,13,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farag (US 20210337519 A1) in view of KO (US 20230397034 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Farag teaches an information sending method, comprising: determining, by a first terminal, a time range ([0247] In certain embodiments (referred to as Example 4.3), the controlling UE is triggered to transmit RSAI. [0248] The source of the trigger can be the controlled UE (second terminal) requesting the RSAI via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE. [0257] A sufficient subset of the timing parameters depicted in FIG. 18 can be (pre-)configured to determine the time of each window and slot as illustrated in FIG. 18. [0258] Furthermore, the timing parameters can be updated through higher layer signaling, i.e. RRC signaling and/or MAC CE signaling as well as through L1 control signaling, wherein the higher layer signaling and/or the L1 control signaling can be on the Uu interface (i.e. between a UE and a base station/TRP) or sidelink interface (for example from the second terminal). [0264] For example (denoted as Example 5.2.1), the following parameters can be (pre-)configured, updated through higher layer signaling, and/or L1 control signaling (indication information from the second terminal): (i) a slot within a period for transmission of RSAI, i.e. T.sub.m, (ii) the sensing window for RSAI relative to slot m, i.e. T″.sub.proc0 and T″.sub.0, and (iii) the candidate window of RSAI relative to slot m, i.e. T″.sub.1 and T″.sub.2. (The time range can be determined from this information indicated by the second terminal. The time range is the candidate window of RSAI in Fig. 18, which can be determined by [m + T″.sub.1, M + T″.sub.2] (see also Fig. 8)).; determining, by the first terminal, a resource set according to the time range ([0129] In step 704, the UE, such as the UE 116 (the first terminal), determines RSAI. The resource selection assistance information transmitted in slot/subframe n.sub.1 can include candidate resources (e.g. slots/symbols and sub-channels/PRBs) within a candidate resource window [n.sub.1+T.sub.1, n.sub.1+T.sub.2] (time range)); and sending, by the first terminal, the resource set to a second terminal in a target time unit ([0130] In step 704, the UE, such as the UE 116, transmits RSAI. For example, in step 704 UE (e.g. an HEUE) (first terminal) transmits resource selection assistance information in slot/subframe n.sub.1. (target time unit) [0125] A HEUE (first terminal) can provide Resource Selection Assistance Information (RSAI) to other UEs (second terminal) in its vicinity), wherein the resource set is used for assisting the second terminal in resource selection ([0125] An LEUE (second terminal) performs resource selection based on the RSAI), wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the first terminal, second indication information sent by the second terminal, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a delay upper bound for sending the resource set ([0244] In some embodiments the activation and deactivation commands can be triggered by the controlled UE (second terminal) requesting the RSAI (resource set) via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE. [0245] Some or all of the following configuration fields for a semi-persistent RSAI transmission can be (pre-)configured, included in an activation command (triggered by the second terminal that includes second indication information), updated by an activation command, or any combination thereof. For another example, a configuration field for a semi-persistent RSAI transmission can be the packet delay budget (PDB) of the transmission (delay upper bound for sending the resource set) from a controlled UE (second terminal).)
Farag does not teach wherein sending, by the first terminal, the resource set to the second terminal in the target time unit, comprises: sending, by the first terminal, the resource set to the second terminal in a target time unit located before the delay upper bound.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor of reporting SL CSI in NR V2X, wherein sending, by the first terminal, the resource set to the second terminal in the target time unit, comprises: sending, by the first terminal, the resource set to the second terminal in a target time unit located before the delay upper bound ([0094] According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, when setting a PDB (delay upper bound) related to receiving a CSI report from the time point of requesting a CSI report to a second UE performing an SL DRX operation through PC5-RRC, a first UE performing an SL DRX operation may set a PDB (delay upper bound) such that an overlapping time interval exists between the SL DRX active time period of the second UE and the PDB time interval (before the delay upper bound expires), and transmit it to the second UE (The resource set is sent before the delay upper bound expires). At this time, for example, the second UE may transmit the requested CSI (resource set) to the first UE in the overlapping time interval (in a target time unit while the second terminal is active and before the delay upper bound expires).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Farag to include the packet delay budget of Ko. The motivation to do so would have been to efficiently limit the time resource region that the receiving UE (second terminal) can use to perform SL CSI reporting within its own on-duration interval. (Ko; [0110]).
Regarding claim 2, Farag teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, by the first terminal, the time range comprises: determining, by the first terminal, a starting point of the time range ([0257] A sufficient subset of the timing parameters depicted in FIG. 18 can be (pre-)configured to determine the time of each window and slot as illustrated in FIG. 18. [0258] Furthermore, the timing parameters can be updated through higher layer signaling, i.e. RRC signaling and/or MAC CE signaling as well as through L1 control signaling, wherein the higher layer signaling and/or the L1 control signaling can be on the Uu interface (i.e. between a UE and a base station/TRP) or sidelink interface (for example from the second terminal). [0265] For another example (denoted as Example 5.2.2), the following parameters can be (pre-)configured, updated through higher layer signaling, and/or L1 control signaling: (i) a slot within a period for transmission of RSAI, i.e. T.sub.m, (ii) a starting slot, relative to the start of an RSAI period for the candidate window of RSAI, i.e. T.sub.k, (The starting slot is the starting point of the time range (Candidate window or RSAI)).
Regarding claim 4, Farag teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein determining, by the first terminal, the starting point of the time range, comprises: determining, by the first terminal, the starting point of the time range according to indication information of the second terminal ([0280] For example, the trigger message (containing indication information) can provide or determine the slot or offset to the slot of the SL transmission containing the RSAI (In Fig. 18 this would be denoted by slot m). [0257] A sufficient subset of the timing parameters depicted in FIG. 18 can be (pre-)configured to determine the time of each window and slot as illustrated in FIG. 18. [0258] Furthermore, the timing parameters can be updated through higher layer signaling, i.e. RRC signaling and/or MAC CE signaling as well as through L1 control signaling, wherein the higher layer signaling and/or the L1 control signaling can be on the Uu interface (i.e. between a UE and a base station/TRP) or sidelink interface (for example from the second terminal). [0264] For example (denoted as Example 5.2.1), the following parameters can be (pre-)configured, updated through higher layer signaling, and/or L1 control signaling: (i) a slot within a period for transmission of RSAI, i.e. T.sub.m, (ii) the sensing window for RSAI relative to slot m, i.e. T″.sub.proc0 and T″.sub.0, and (iii) the candidate window of RSAI relative to slot m, i.e. T″.sub.1 and T″.sub.2. (The starting point of the time range can be determined by m + T″.sub.1)).
Regarding claim 5, Farag teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein determining, by the first terminal, the starting point of the time range according to the target time unit, comprises: determining, by the first terminal, the target time unit as the starting point of the time range; or, determining, by the first terminal, a first time unit obtained by adding a first offset to the target time unit as the starting point of the time range ([0280] For example, the trigger message (containing indication information) can provide or determine the slot or offset to the slot of the SL transmission containing the RSAI (In Fig. 18 the slot of the SL transmission containing the RSAI is denoted by slot m and the offset is denoted by T″.sub.1). [0257] A sufficient subset of the timing parameters depicted in FIG. 18 can be (pre-)configured to determine the time of each window and slot as illustrated in FIG. 18. [0258] Furthermore, the timing parameters can be updated through higher layer signaling, i.e. RRC signaling and/or MAC CE signaling as well as through L1 control signaling, wherein the higher layer signaling and/or the L1 control signaling can be on the Uu interface (i.e. between a UE and a base station/TRP) or sidelink interface (for example from the second terminal). [0264] For example (denoted as Example 5.2.1), the following parameters can be (pre-)configured, updated through higher layer signaling, and/or L1 control signaling: (i) a slot within a period for transmission of RSAI, i.e. T.sub.m, (ii) the sensing window for RSAI relative to slot m, i.e. T″.sub.proc0 and T″.sub.0, and (iii) the candidate window of RSAI relative to slot m, i.e. T″.sub.1 and T″.sub.2. (The starting point of the time range can be determined by m + T″.sub.1)); wherein the first offset is determined based on a processing time of the first terminal or the second terminal ([0259] Some of the timing parameters can be determined based on a UE capability (based on a processing time of the first terminal or the second terminal). Other parameters that can depend on a UE capability…include, T″.sub.proc0, T′.sub.3, T′.sub.1, T″.sub.1 (first offset)).
Regarding claim 8, Farag teaches an information receiving method, comprising: receiving, by a second terminal, a resource set sent by a first terminal in a target time unit ([0134] In step 902, a UE, such as the UE 116 (second terminal), receives RSAI (contains resource set) monitors and receives RSAI in a slot/subframe n (target time unit)), wherein the resource set is determined by the first terminal within a time range ([0129] In step 704, the UE, such as the UE 116 (first terminal), determines RSAI. The resource selection assistance information transmitted in slot/subframe n.sub.1 can include candidate resources (e.g. slots/symbols and sub-channels/PRBs) (resource set) within a candidate resource window [n.sub.1+T.sub.1, n.sub.1+T.sub.2] (time range)), wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the second terminal, second indication information to the first terminal, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a delay upper bound for sending the resource set ([0244] In some embodiments the activation and deactivation commands can be triggered by the controlled UE (second terminal) requesting the RSAI (resource set) via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE. [0245] Some or all of the following configuration fields for a semi-persistent RSAI transmission can be (pre-)configured, included in an activation command (triggered by the second terminal that includes second indication information), updated by an activation command, or any combination thereof. For another example, a configuration field for a semi-persistent RSAI transmission can be the packet delay budget (PDB) of the transmission (delay upper bound for sending the resource set) from a controlled UE (second terminal).)
Regarding claim 11, Farag teaches a terminal, comprising: a processor ([0058] processor 340); a transceiver ([0055] radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310) connected to the processor (Fig. 3); a memory for storing executable instructions for the processor ([0059] The processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360); wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the executable instructions to: determine a time range ([0247] In certain embodiments (referred to as Example 4.3), the controlling UE (first terminal) is triggered to transmit RSAI. [0248] The source of the trigger can be the controlled UE (second terminal) requesting the RSAI via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE. [0257] A sufficient subset of the timing parameters depicted in FIG. 18 can be (pre-)configured to determine the time of each window and slot as illustrated in FIG. 18. [0258] Furthermore, the timing parameters can be updated through higher layer signaling, i.e. RRC signaling and/or MAC CE signaling as well as through L1 control signaling, wherein the higher layer signaling and/or the L1 control signaling can be on the Uu interface (i.e. between a UE and a base station/TRP) or sidelink interface (for example from the second terminal). [0264] For example (denoted as Example 5.2.1), the following parameters can be (pre-)configured, updated through higher layer signaling, and/or L1 control signaling (indication information from the second terminal): (i) a slot within a period for transmission of RSAI, i.e. T.sub.m, (ii) the sensing window for RSAI relative to slot m, i.e. T″.sub.proc0 and T″.sub.0, and (iii) the candidate window of RSAI relative to slot m, i.e. T″.sub.1 and T″.sub.2. (The time range can be determined from this information. The time range is the candidate window of RSAI in Fig. 18, which can be determined by [m + T″.sub.1, M + T″.sub.2] (see also Fig. 8)); determine a resource set according to the time range ([0129] In step 704, the UE, such as the UE 116 (the first terminal), determines RSAI. The resource selection assistance information transmitted in slot/subframe n.sub.1 can include candidate resources (e.g. slots/symbols and sub-channels/PRBs) within a candidate resource window [n.sub.1+T.sub.1, n.sub.1+T.sub.2] (time range)); and send the resource set to a second terminal in a target time unit ([0130] In step 704, the UE, such as the UE 116, transmits RSAI. For example, in step 704 UE (e.g. an HEUE) (first terminal) transmits resource selection assistance information in slot/subframe n.sub.1. (target time unit) [0125] A HEUE (first terminal) can provide Resource Selection Assistance Information (RSAI) to other UEs (second terminal) in its vicinity), wherein the resource set is used for assisting the second terminal in resource selection ([0125] An LEUE (second terminal) performs resource selection based on the RSAI), wherein the processor is further configured to: receive second indication information sent by the second terminal, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a delay upper bound for sending the resource set ([0244] In some embodiments the activation and deactivation commands can be triggered by the controlled UE (second terminal) requesting the RSAI (resource set) via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE. [0245] Some or all of the following configuration fields for a semi-persistent RSAI transmission can be (pre-)configured, included in an activation command (triggered by the second terminal that includes second indication information), updated by an activation command, or any combination thereof. For another example, a configuration field for a semi-persistent RSAI transmission can be the packet delay budget (PDB) of the transmission (delay upper bound for sending the resource set) from a controlled UE (second terminal).)
Farag does not teach send the resource set to the second terminal in the target time unit located before the delay upper bound.
Ko, in the same field of endeavor of reporting SL CSI in NR V2X, teaches send the resource set to the second terminal in the target time unit located before the delay upper bound ([0094] According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, when setting a PDB (delay upper bound) related to receiving a CSI report from the time point of requesting a CSI report to a second UE performing an SL DRX operation through PC5-RRC, a first UE performing an SL DRX operation may set a PDB (delay upper bound) such that an overlapping time interval exists between the SL DRX active time period of the second UE and the PDB time interval (before the delay upper bound expires), and transmit it to the second UE (The resource set is sent before the delay upper bound expires). At this time, for example, the second UE may transmit the requested CSI (resource set) to the first UE in the overlapping time interval (in a target time unit while the second terminal is active and before the delay upper bound expires).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Farag to include the packet delay budget of Ko. The motivation to do so would have been to efficiently limit the time resource region that the receiving UE (second terminal) can use to perform SL CSI reporting within its own on-duration interval. (Ko; [0110]).
Regarding claim 12, Farag teaches the terminal according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a starting point of the time range ([0257] A sufficient subset of the timing parameters depicted in FIG. 18 can be (pre-)configured to determine the time of each window and slot as illustrated in FIG. 18. [0258] Furthermore, the timing parameters can be updated through higher layer signaling, i.e. RRC signaling and/or MAC CE signaling as well as through L1 control signaling, wherein the higher layer signaling and/or the L1 control signaling can be on the Uu interface (i.e. between a UE and a base station/TRP) or sidelink interface (for example from the second terminal). [0265] For another example (denoted as Example 5.2.2), the following parameters can be (pre-)configured, updated through higher layer signaling, and/or L1 control signaling: (i) a slot within a period for transmission of RSAI, i.e. T.sub.m, (ii) a starting slot, relative to the start of an RSAI period for the candidate window of RSAI, i.e. T.sub.k, (The starting slot is the starting point of the time range (Candidate window or RSAI)).
Regarding claim 13, Farag teaches the terminal according to claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the starting point of the time range according to indication information of the second terminal ([0280] For example, the trigger message (containing indication information) can provide or determine the slot or offset to the slot of the SL transmission containing the RSAI (In Fig. 18 this would be denoted by slot m). [0257] A sufficient subset of the timing parameters depicted in FIG. 18 can be (pre-)configured to determine the time of each window and slot as illustrated in FIG. 18. [0258] Furthermore, the timing parameters can be updated through higher layer signaling, i.e. RRC signaling and/or MAC CE signaling as well as through L1 control signaling, wherein the higher layer signaling and/or the L1 control signaling can be on the Uu interface (i.e. between a UE and a base station/TRP) or sidelink interface (for example from the second terminal). [0264] For example (denoted as Example 5.2.1), the following parameters can be (pre-)configured, updated through higher layer signaling, and/or L1 control signaling: (i) a slot within a period for transmission of RSAI, i.e. T.sub.m, (ii) the sensing window for RSAI relative to slot m, i.e. T″.sub.proc0 and T″.sub.0, and (iii) the candidate window of RSAI relative to slot m, i.e. T″.sub.1 and T″.sub.2. (The starting point of the time range can be determined by m + T″.sub.1)).
Regarding claim 18, Farag teaches a terminal, comprising: a processor([0058] processor 340); a transceiver ([0055] radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310) connected to the processor (Fig. 3); a memory for storing executable instructions for the processor ([0059] The processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360); wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the executable instructions to: receive a resource set sent by a first terminal in a target time unit ([0134] In step 902, a UE, such as the UE 116 (second terminal), receives RSAI (contains resource set) monitors and receives RSAI in a slot/subframe n (target time unit)), wherein the resource set is determined by the first terminal within a time range ([0129] In step 704, the UE, such as the UE 116 (first terminal), determines RSAI. The resource selection assistance information transmitted in slot/subframe n.sub.1 can include candidate resources (e.g. slots/symbols and sub-channels/PRBs) (resource set) within a candidate resource window [n.sub.1+T.sub.1, n.sub.1+T.sub.2] (time range)), wherein the processor is further configured to: send second indication information to the first terminal, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a delay upper bound for sending the resource set ([0244] In some embodiments the activation and deactivation commands can be triggered by the controlled UE (second terminal) requesting the RSAI (resource set) via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE. [0245] Some or all of the following configuration fields for a semi-persistent RSAI transmission can be (pre-)configured, included in an activation command (triggered by the second terminal that includes second indication information), updated by an activation command, or any combination thereof. For another example, a configuration field for a semi-persistent RSAI transmission can be the packet delay budget (PDB) of the transmission (delay upper bound for sending the resource set) from a controlled UE (second terminal).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farag (US 20210337519 A1) in view of KO (US 20230397034 A1); further in view of Basu Mallick (US 20240057207 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Farag teaches the method according to claim 2, but does not teach wherein the first terminal is in an active state at the starting point of the time range.
Basu Mallick, in the same field of endeavor of DRX for sidelink communication, teaches wherein the first terminal is in an active state at the starting point of the time range (Fig. 2, [0088] According to embodiments of a first solution, the UE-A (first terminal) determines “a set of resources” (within a time range) (as defined above) to be signaled to the UE-B (second terminal), considering the common DRX Active time of the DRX Cycle in use between the peer UEs. In some embodiments, the UE-A (first terminal) may perform a resource selection procedure by using a certain window (e.g., a common active period between the UE-A and the UE-B) for estimating the averaged RSRP from the sensing slots for the candidate resource selection by considering the common active period between the UE-A and the UE-B. In other words, the time range of the resource set coincides with the active time of both the first and second terminal. Thus, the first terminal is in an active state at the starting point of the time range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Farag and Ko to include the sidelink resource selection method of Basu Mallick. The motivation to do so would have been to enable inter-UE coordination for efficient sidelink transmission when using sidelink DRX (Basu Mallick; [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farag (US 20210337519 A1) in view of KO (US 20230397034 A1); further in view of Jeong (US 20220167345 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Farag teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the second terminal, first indication information to the first terminal, wherein the first indication information is used for instructing to send the resource set ([0247] In certain embodiments (referred to as Example 4.3), the controlling UE (first terminal) is triggered to transmit RSAI, i.e. aperiodic RSAI transmission. This is illustrated in the example 1700 of the FIG. 17. [0248] The source of the trigger can be the controlled UE (second terminal) requesting the RSAI via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE (contains first indication information)).
Farag does not teach after sending the first indication information, activating, starting or resetting a fifth discontinuous reception (DRX) timer by the second terminal; wherein receiving, by the second terminal, the resource set sent by the first terminal in the target time unit, comprises: receiving, by the second terminal, the resource set sent by the first terminal in a target time unit before the fifth DRX timer expires.
Jeong, in the same field of endeavor of enhanced resource allocation in SL communications, teaches after sending the first indication information, activating, starting or resetting a fifth discontinuous reception (DRX) timer by the second terminal ([0096] Once the SL UE #1 (second terminal) sends a signal (first indication information) at step 721a, the SL UE #1 (second terminal) starts timer T #1 (fifth DRX timer)); wherein receiving, by the second terminal, the resource set sent by the first terminal in the target time unit, comprises: receiving, by the second terminal, the resource set sent by the first terminal in a target time unit before the fifth DRX timer expires (Fig. 7 shows the Inter-UE coordination Information (including resource set) is received by the second terminal before the timer T#1 (fifth DRX timer) expires. [0096] If the inter-UE coordination information (resource set sent by the first terminal) is received before T #1 expiry (before the fifth timer expires), the SL UE #1 (second terminal) may consider the information included in inter-UE coordination information (resource set sent by first terminal) in the final resource selection is step 743, otherwise the SL UE #1 may only consider its own information in the final resource selection in step 743. In Farag, the second terminal did receive the resource set sent by the first terminal in a target time unit because it was able to use the resource set to determine applicability for its own SL resource selection. (Farag; [0134] In step 902, a UE, such as the UE 116, (second terminal) receives RSAI monitors and receives RSAI (resource set sent by first terminal) in a slot/subframe n. In step 904, the UE that received the RSAI determines applicability of RSAI. If RSAI is not applicable, the UE can perform its own sensing and use its own sensing for SL resource selection. If RSAI is applicable, the UE can use the RSAI for SL resource selection.) Therefor, receiving the resource set sent by the first terminal comprises receiving the resource set in a target time unit before the fifth DRX timer expires).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Farag and Ko to include the fifth DRX timer of Jeong. The motivation to do so would have been to provide an efficient inter-UE coordination based resource allocation mechanism (Jeong; [0075]).
Regarding claim 10, Farag teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the second terminal, second indication information to the first terminal, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a delay upper bound for sending the resource set ([0244] In some embodiments the activation and deactivation commands can be triggered by the controlled UE (second terminal) requesting the RSAI (resource set) via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE. [0245] Some or all of the following configuration fields for a semi-persistent RSAI transmission can be (pre-)configured, included in an activation command (triggered by the second terminal that includes second indication information), updated by an activation command, or any combination thereof. For another example, a configuration field for a semi-persistent RSAI transmission can be the packet delay budget (PDB) of the transmission (delay upper bound for sending the resource set) from a controlled UE (second terminal)).
Regarding claim 19, Farag teaches the terminal according to claim 18, wherein the processor is further configured to: send first indication information to the first terminal, wherein the first indication information is used for instructing to send the resource set ([0247] In certain embodiments (referred to as Example 4.3), the controlling UE (first terminal) is triggered to transmit RSAI, i.e. aperiodic RSAI transmission. This is illustrated in the example 1700 of the FIG. 17. [0248] The source of the trigger can be the controlled UE (second terminal) requesting the RSAI via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE (contains first indication information)).
Farag does not teach after sending the first indication information, activate, start or reset a fifth discontinuous reception (DRX) timer; and receive the resource set sent by the first terminal in a target time unit before the fifth DRX timer expires.
Jeong, in the same field of endeavor of enhanced resource allocation in SL communications, teaches after sending the first indication information, activate, start or reset a fifth discontinuous reception (DRX) timer ([0096] Once the SL UE #1 (second terminal) sends a signal (first indication information) at step 721a, the SL UE #1 (second terminal) starts timer T #1 (fifth DRX timer)); and receive the resource set sent by the first terminal in a target time unit before the fifth DRX timer expires (Fig. 7 shows the Inter-UE coordination Information (including resource set) is received by the second terminal before the timer T#1 (fifth DRX timer) expires. [0096] If the inter-UE coordination information (resource set sent by the first terminal) is received before T #1 expiry (before the fifth timer expires), the SL UE #1 (second terminal) may consider the information included in inter-UE coordination information (resource set sent by first terminal) in the final resource selection is step 743, otherwise the SL UE #1 may only consider its own information in the final resource selection in step 743.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Farag and Ko to include the fifth DRX timer of Jeong. The motivation to do so would have been to provide an efficient inter-UE coordination based resource allocation mechanism (Jeong; [0075]).
Regarding claim 20, Farag teaches the terminal according to claim 19, wherein the processor is further configured to: send second indication information to the first terminal, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a delay upper bound for sending the resource set ([0244] In some embodiments the activation and deactivation commands can be triggered by the controlled UE (second terminal) requesting the RSAI (resource set) via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE. [0245] Some or all of the following configuration fields for a semi-persistent RSAI transmission can be (pre-)configured, included in an activation command (triggered by the second terminal that includes second indication information), updated by an activation command, or any combination thereof. For another example, a configuration field for a semi-persistent RSAI transmission can be the packet delay budget (PDB) of the transmission (delay upper bound for sending the resource set) from a controlled UE (second terminal)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farag (US 20210337519 A1) in view of KO (US 20230397034 A1); further in view of Ganesan (US 20230284136 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Farag and Ko teaches the method according to claim 4, but does not teach wherein the first DRX timer comprises a DRX active state timer drx_onDurationTimer.
Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink control information based sensing, teaches wherein the first DRX timer comprises a DRX active state timer drx_onDurationTimer ([0072] In certain embodiments, each sidelink (“SL”) LCH, SL service, SL application, and/or SL destination may be associated with a preconfigured and/or fixed SL-DRX-configuration that is defined as a combination of offset_std_On-duration, On-duration-timer, and periodicity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Farag and Ko to include the DRX timer of Ganesan. The motivation to do so would have been to enable UEs with battery constraints to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner (Ganesan; [0066]).
Regarding claim 14, Farag teaches the terminal according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive first indication information sent by the second terminal, wherein the first indication information is used for instructing to send the resource set ([0247] In certain embodiments (referred to as Example 4.3), the controlling UE (first terminal) is triggered to transmit RSAI, i.e. aperiodic RSAI transmission. This is illustrated in the example 1700 of the FIG. 17. [0248] The source of the trigger can be the controlled UE (second terminal) requesting the RSAI via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE (contains first indication information)).
Farag does not teach and after receiving the first indication information, activate, start or reset a second DRX timer; wherein the terminal is in an active state before the second DRX timer expires.
Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink control information based sensing, teaches and after receiving the first indication information, activate, start or reset a second DRX timer ([104] In such embodiments, an RX UE (first terminal), after receiving a trigger for CSI reporting (first indication information) towards an end of a current on-duration and/or active period may extend the active period by starting the inactivity timer until the transmission of a CSI report based on the configured CSI report latency.); wherein the terminal is in an active state before the second DRX timer expires (According to paragraph [0104] the RX UE (second terminal) is in an active state when it extends the active period by starting the timer. “…after receiving a trigger for CSI reporting (first indication information) towards an end of a current on-duration and/or active period may extend the active period by starting the inactivity timer until the transmission of a CSI report based on the configured CSI report latency.” Thus, the terminal is in an active state before the second DRX timer expires).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Farag and Ko to include the second DRX timer of Ganesan. The motivation to do so would have been to enable UEs with battery constraints to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner. (Ganesan; [0066]).
Regarding claim 15, Farag does not teach the terminal according to claim 14, wherein a timeout time of the second DRX timer is later than the target time unit.
Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink control information based sensing, teaches the terminal according to claim 14, wherein a timeout time of the second DRX timer is later than the target time unit ([0104] In such embodiments, an RX UE, after receiving a trigger for CSI reporting towards an end of a current on-duration and/or active period may extend the active period by starting the inactivity timer until the transmission of a CSI report based on the configured CSI report latency. Since the timer is set until the transmission of a CSI report based on the configured CSI report latency, and the CSI report is sent at the target time unit, the timer does not expire before the CSI report is sent. In other words, the timeout of the DRX timer is later than the target time unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Farag and Ko to include the second DRX timer of Ganesan. The motivation to do so would have been to enable UEs with battery constraints to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner. (Ganesan; [0066]).
Regarding claim 16, Farag teaches the terminal according to claim 11, but does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to: activate, start or reset a third DRX timer according to the target time unit; wherein the terminal is in an active state before the third DRX timer expires.
Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink control information based sensing, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: activate, start or reset a third DRX timer according to the target time unit ([0104] In such embodiments, an RX UE, after receiving a trigger for CSI reporting towards an end of a current on-duration and/or active period may extend the active period by starting the inactivity timer (third DRX timer) until the transmission of a CSI report (which is transmitted at the target time unit thus, according to the target time unit) based on the configured CSI report latency); wherein the terminal is in an active state before the third DRX timer expires (according to paragraph [0104] the RX UE (second terminal) is in an active state when it extends the active period by starting the timer. “…after receiving a trigger for CSI reporting (first indication information) towards an end of a current on-duration and/or active period may extend the active period by starting the inactivity timer until the transmission of a CSI report based on the configured CSI report latency.” Thus, the terminal is in an active state before the third DRX timer expires).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Farag and Ko to include the second DRX timer of Ganesan. The motivation to do so would have been to enable UEs with battery constraints to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner. (Ganesan; [0066]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465