DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-16, and 18-19 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 2-6, filed May 21, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art.
Regarding claims 8, 11 and 18, claims 8, 11 and 18 recite similar limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 8, 11 and 18, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-5, 9, 12-16, and 19, no arguments were presented as to their patentability and therefore the claims remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,4,5,8,11,12,13,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui (US 20220346065 A1) in view of Farag (US 20210337519 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hu teaches an information sending method, comprising:
determining, by a first terminal (fig. 29, 2nd wireless device), a time range (Fig. 29; [0331] The first wireless device may transmit a first message to the second wireless device indicating a time for the second wireless device. The second wireless (first terminal) device may determine a time duration (time range) for selecting a second set of resources based on the time.);
determining, by the first terminal, a resource set according to the time range (Fig. 29; [0342] The second wireless device may select a second set of resources based on the time duration.); and
sending, by the first terminal, the resource set to a second terminal (Fig. 29; 1st wireless device) (Fig. 29; [0342] The second wireless device may transmit a second message indicating the second set of resources to the first wireless device.)
wherein the resource set is used for assisting the second terminal in resource selection (Fig. 29; [0318] The second wireless device may send, to the first wireless device, a coordination/assistance information comprising the second set of resources. The first wireless device may update the first set of resources based on the coordination/assistance information for reducing the hidden node problem and/or the half-duplex problem at the desired receiver.),
wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the first terminal, second indication information sent by the second terminal, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a delay upper bound for sending the resource set (Fig. 24; [0320] In an example, the request message may indicate a priority value and/or a PDB of the one or more sidelink transmissions. The second wireless device may determine an end time of the time duration based on the priority value and/or the PDB. In an example, the end time may be a slot (n+PDB).).
wherein sending, by the first terminal, the resource set to the second terminal in the target time unit, comprises: sending, by the first terminal, the resource set to the second terminal in a target time unit located before the delay upper bound ([0320] Embodiments of the present disclosure enables the first wireless device to indicate a slot in the request message. In an example, the slot may be a slot n for triggering of the first resource selection procedure at the first wireless device. In an example, the request message may indicate a priority value and/or a PDB (delay upper bound) of the one or more sidelink transmissions. The second wireless device may determine an end time of the time duration based on the priority value and/or the PDB. In an example, the end time may be a slot (n+PDB). The second wireless device may send the coordination/assistance information comprising the second set of resources before the slot (in other words, before slot n). Since slot n is before the PDB, the second wireless device sends the set of resources before the delay upper bound.)
Hui does not explicitly teach the resource set is sent in a target time unit.
Farag, in the same field of endeavor of assisted sensing for sidelink resource selection teaches the resource set is sent in a target time unit ([0130] In step 704, the UE, such as the UE 116, transmits RSAI. For example, in step 704 UE (e.g. an HEUE) transmits resource selection assistance information in slot/subframe n.sub.1 (target time unit)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selection window determination methods of Hui to include the methods for assisted sensing for sidelink resource selection of Farag. The motivation to do so would have been to provide resource allocation enhancements that reduce power consumption, using LTE sidelink random resource selection and partial sensing as baseline with potential enhancements (Farag; [0115]).
Regarding claim 2, Hui teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, by the first terminal, the time range comprises: determining, by the first terminal, a starting point of the time range ([0331] FIG. 30 illustrates examples of indicating a time by a first wireless device and an estimation of the time by a second wireless device. [0332] In an example, the time may be time n (e.g., a slot with an index n). [0333] Based on the time n, the second wireless device may determine that the time duration (e.g., the second selection window) starts from time (n+T1′), where 0<T1′≤T.sub.proc,1 is up to implementation of the second wireless device.).
Regarding claim 4, Hui teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein determining, by the first terminal, the starting point of the time range, comprises: determining, by the first terminal, the starting point of the time range according to indication information of the second terminal ([0320] Embodiments of the present disclosure enables the first wireless device (second terminal) to indicate a slot in the request message. In an example, the slot may be a slot n for triggering of the first resource selection procedure at the first wireless device. [0333] Based on the time n, the second wireless device may determine that the time duration (e.g., the second selection window) starts from time (n+T1′), where 0<T1′≤T.sub.proc,1 is up to implementation of the second wireless device.).
Regarding claim 5, Hui teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein determining, by the first terminal, the starting point of the time range according to the target time unit, comprises: determining, by the first terminal, the target time unit as the starting point of the time range; or, determining, by the first terminal, a first time unit obtained by adding a first offset to the target time unit as the starting point of the time range ([0320] Embodiments of the present disclosure enables the first wireless device to indicate a slot in the request message. In an example, the slot may be a slot n (target time unit) for triggering of the first resource selection procedure at the first wireless device. In an example, the start time may be a slot (n+T1′), where 0<T1′≤T.sub.proc,1 is up to the second wireless device. In an example, the start time may be a slot (n+T.sub.proc,1) indicating the maximum allowable processing latency for completing a resource selection procedure being triggered at the time n.)
Regarding claim 8, Hui teaches an information receiving method, comprising:
receiving, by a second terminal, a resource set sent by a first terminal (Fig. 29; [0342] The second wireless device may transmit a second message indicating the second set of resources to the first wireless device.),
wherein the resource set is determined by the first terminal within a time range (Fig. 29; [0342] The second wireless device may select a second set of resources based on the time duration),
wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the second terminal, second indication information to the first terminal, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a delay upper bound for sending the resource set (Fig. 24; [0320] In an example, the request message may indicate a priority value and/or a PDB of the one or more sidelink transmissions. The second wireless device may determine an end time of the time duration based on the priority value and/or the PDB. In an example, the end time may be a slot (n+PDB).)
Hui does not explicitly teach the resource set is received in a target time unit.
Farag, in the same field of endeavor of assisted sensing for sidelink resource selection teaches the resource set is sent in a target time unit ([0130] In step 704, the UE, such as the UE 116, transmits RSAI. For example, in step 704 UE (e.g. an HEUE) transmits resource selection assistance information in slot/subframe n.sub.1 (target time unit)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selection window determination methods of Hui to include the methods for assisted sensing for sidelink resource selection of Farag. The motivation to do so would have been to provide resource allocation enhancements that reduce power consumption, using LTE sidelink random resource selection and partial sensing as baseline with potential enhancements (Farag; [0115]).
Regarding claim 11, Hui teaches a terminal, comprising: a processor (Fig. 15 processing system 1518); a transceiver (Fig. 15 TX and RX processing systems 1520 and 1522) connected to the processor; a memory for storing executable instructions for the processor (Fig. 15 memory 1524); wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the executable instructions to:
determine a time range (Fig. 29; [0331] The first wireless device (second terminal) may transmit a first message to the second wireless device (first terminal) indicating a time for the second wireless device. The second wireless (first terminal) device may determine a time duration (time range) for selecting a second set of resources based on the time.);
determine a resource set according to the time range (Fig. 29; [0342] The second wireless device may select a second set of resources based on the time duration.); and
send the resource set to a second terminal (Fig. 29; 1st wireless device) (Fig. 29; [0342] The second wireless device may transmit a second message indicating the second set of resources to the first wireless device.),
wherein the resource set is used for assisting the second terminal in resource selection (Fig. 29; [0318] The second wireless device may send, to the first wireless device, a coordination/assistance information comprising the second set of resources. The first wireless device may update the first set of resources based on the coordination/assistance information for reducing the hidden node problem and/or the half-duplex problem at the desired receiver.),
wherein the processor is further configured to: receive second indication information sent by the second terminal, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a delay upper bound for sending the resource set (Fig. 24; [0320] In an example, the request message may indicate a priority value and/or a PDB of the one or more sidelink transmissions. The second wireless device may determine an end time of the time duration based on the priority value and/or the PDB. In an example, the end time may be a slot (n+PDB).), and
send the resource set to the second terminal in a target time unit located before the delay upper bound ([0320] Embodiments of the present disclosure enables the first wireless device to indicate a slot in the request message. In an example, the slot may be a slot n for triggering of the first resource selection procedure at the first wireless device. In an example, the request message may indicate a priority value and/or a PDB (delay upper bound) of the one or more sidelink transmissions. The second wireless device may determine an end time of the time duration based on the priority value and/or the PDB. In an example, the end time may be a slot (n+PDB). The second wireless device may send the coordination/assistance information comprising the second set of resources before the slot (in other words, before slot n). Since slot n is before the PDB, the second wireless device sends the set of resources before the delay upper bound.)
Hui does not explicitly teach the resource set is sent in a target time unit.
Farag, in the same field of endeavor of assisted sensing for sidelink resource selection teaches the resource set is sent in a target time unit ([0130] In step 704, the UE, such as the UE 116, transmits RSAI. For example, in step 704 UE (e.g. an HEUE) transmits resource selection assistance information in slot/subframe n.sub.1 (target time unit)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selection window determination methods of Hui to include the methods for assisted sensing for sidelink resource selection of Farag. The motivation to do so would have been to provide resource allocation enhancements that reduce power consumption, using LTE sidelink random resource selection and partial sensing as baseline with potential enhancements (Farag; [0115]).
Regarding claim 12, Hui teaches the terminal according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a starting point of the time range ([0331] FIG. 30 illustrates examples of indicating a time by a first wireless device and an estimation of the time by a second wireless device. [0332] In an example, the time may be time n (e.g., a slot with an index n). [0333] Based on the time n, the second wireless device may determine that the time duration (e.g., the second selection window) starts from time (n+T1′), where 0<T1′≤T.sub.proc,1 is up to implementation of the second wireless device.).
Regarding claim 13, Hui teaches the terminal according to claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine the starting point of the time range according to indication information of the second terminal ([0320] Embodiments of the present disclosure enables the first wireless device (second terminal) to indicate a slot in the request message. In an example, the slot may be a slot n for triggering of the first resource selection procedure at the first wireless device. [0333] Based on the time n, the second wireless device may determine that the time duration (e.g., the second selection window) starts from time (n+T1′), where 0<T1′≤T.sub.proc,1 is up to implementation of the second wireless device.).
Regarding claim 18, Hui teaches a terminal, comprising: a processor (Fig. 15 processing system 1518); a transceiver (Fig. 15 TX and RX processing systems 1520 and 1522) connected to the processor; a memory for storing executable instructions for the processor (Fig. 15 memory 1524); wherein the processor is configured to load and execute the executable instructions to:
receive a resource set sent by a first terminal in a (Fig. 29; [0342] The second wireless device may select a second set of resources based on the time duration.),
wherein the resource set is determined by the first terminal within a time range (Fig. 29; [0342] The second wireless device may select a second set of resources based on the time duration.),
wherein the processor is further configured to: send second indication information to the first terminal, wherein the second indication information is used for indicating a delay upper bound for sending the resource set (Fig. 24; [0320] In an example, the request message may indicate a priority value and/or a PDB of the one or more sidelink transmissions. The second wireless device may determine an end time of the time duration based on the priority value and/or the PDB. In an example, the end time may be a slot (n+PDB).).
Hui does not explicitly teach the resource set is received in a target time unit.
Farag, in the same field of endeavor of assisted sensing for sidelink resource selection teaches the resource set is sent in a target time unit ([0130] In step 704, the UE, such as the UE 116, transmits RSAI. For example, in step 704 UE (e.g. an HEUE) transmits resource selection assistance information in slot/subframe n.sub.1 (target time unit)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selection window determination methods of Hui to include the methods for assisted sensing for sidelink resource selection of Farag. The motivation to do so would have been to provide resource allocation enhancements that reduce power consumption, using LTE sidelink random resource selection and partial sensing as baseline with potential enhancements (Farag; [0115]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui in view of Farag; further in view of Basu Mallick (US 20240057207 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Hui in view of Farag teaches the method according to claim 2, but does not teach wherein the first terminal is in an active state at the starting point of the time range.
Basu Mallick, in the same field of endeavor of DRX for sidelink communication, teaches wherein the first terminal is in an active state at the starting point of the time range (Fig. 2, [0088] According to embodiments of a first solution, the UE-A (first terminal) determines “a set of resources” (within a time range) (as defined above) to be signaled to the UE-B (second terminal), considering the common DRX Active time of the DRX Cycle in use between the peer UEs. In some embodiments, the UE-A (first terminal) may perform a resource selection procedure by using a certain window (e.g., a common active period between the UE-A and the UE-B) for estimating the averaged RSRP from the sensing slots for the candidate resource selection by considering the common active period between the UE-A and the UE-B. In other words, the time range of the resource set coincides with the active time of both the first and second terminal. Thus, the first terminal is in an active state at the starting point of the time range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Hui in view of Farag to include the sidelink resource selection method of Basu Mallick. The motivation to do so would have been to enable inter-UE coordination for efficient sidelink transmission when using sidelink DRX (Basu Mallick; [0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui in view of Farag; further in view of Jeong (US 20220167345 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Hui in view of Farag teaches the method according to claim 8, and Farag teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the second terminal, first indication information to the first terminal, wherein the first indication information is used for instructing to send the resource set ([0247] In certain embodiments (referred to as Example 4.3), the controlling UE (first terminal) is triggered to transmit RSAI, i.e. aperiodic RSAI transmission. This is illustrated in the example 1700 of the FIG. 17. [0248] The source of the trigger can be the controlled UE (second terminal) requesting the RSAI via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE (contains first indication information)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selection window determination methods of Hui to include the methods for assisted sensing for sidelink resource selection of Farag. The motivation to do so would have been to provide resource allocation enhancements that reduce power consumption, using LTE sidelink random resource selection and partial sensing as baseline with potential enhancements (Farag; [0115]).
Farag does not teach after sending the first indication information, activating, starting or resetting a fifth discontinuous reception (DRX) timer by the second terminal; wherein receiving, by the second terminal, the resource set sent by the first terminal in the target time unit, comprises: receiving, by the second terminal, the resource set sent by the first terminal in a target time unit before the fifth DRX timer expires.
Jeong, in the same field of endeavor of enhanced resource allocation in SL communications, teaches after sending the first indication information, activating, starting or resetting a fifth discontinuous reception (DRX) timer by the second terminal ([0096] Once the SL UE #1 (second terminal) sends a signal (first indication information) at step 721a, the SL UE #1 (second terminal) starts timer T #1 (fifth DRX timer)); wherein receiving, by the second terminal, the resource set sent by the first terminal in the target time unit, comprises: receiving, by the second terminal, the resource set sent by the first terminal in a target time unit before the fifth DRX timer expires (Fig. 7 shows the Inter-UE coordination Information (including resource set) is received by the second terminal before the timer T#1 (fifth DRX timer) expires. [0096] If the inter-UE coordination information (resource set sent by the first terminal) is received before T #1 expiry (before the fifth timer expires), the SL UE #1 (second terminal) may consider the information included in inter-UE coordination information (resource set sent by first terminal) in the final resource selection is step 743, otherwise the SL UE #1 may only consider its own information in the final resource selection in step 743. In Farag, the second terminal did receive the resource set sent by the first terminal in a target time unit because it was able to use the resource set to determine applicability for its own SL resource selection. (Farag; [0134] In step 902, a UE, such as the UE 116, (second terminal) receives RSAI monitors and receives RSAI (resource set sent by first terminal) in a slot/subframe n. In step 904, the UE that received the RSAI determines applicability of RSAI. If RSAI is not applicable, the UE can perform its own sensing and use its own sensing for SL resource selection. If RSAI is applicable, the UE can use the RSAI for SL resource selection.) Therefor, receiving the resource set sent by the first terminal comprises receiving the resource set in a target time unit before the fifth DRX timer expires).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Hui in view of Farag to include the fifth DRX timer of Jeong. The motivation to do so would have been to provide an efficient inter-UE coordination based resource allocation mechanism (Jeong; [0075]).
Regarding claim 19, Hui in view of Farag teaches the terminal according to claim 18, and Farag teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: send first indication information to the first terminal, wherein the first indication information is used for instructing to send the resource set ([0247] In certain embodiments (referred to as Example 4.3), the controlling UE (first terminal) is triggered to transmit RSAI, i.e. aperiodic RSAI transmission. This is illustrated in the example 1700 of the FIG. 17. [0248] The source of the trigger can be the controlled UE (second terminal) requesting the RSAI via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE (contains first indication information)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selection window determination methods of Hui to include the methods for assisted sensing for sidelink resource selection of Farag. The motivation to do so would have been to provide resource allocation enhancements that reduce power consumption, using LTE sidelink random resource selection and partial sensing as baseline with potential enhancements (Farag; [0115]).
Farag does not teach after sending the first indication information, activate, start or reset a fifth discontinuous reception (DRX) timer; and receive the resource set sent by the first terminal in a target time unit before the fifth DRX timer expires.
Jeong, in the same field of endeavor of enhanced resource allocation in SL communications, teaches after sending the first indication information, activate, start or reset a fifth discontinuous reception (DRX) timer ([0096] Once the SL UE #1 (second terminal) sends a signal (first indication information) at step 721a, the SL UE #1 (second terminal) starts timer T #1 (fifth DRX timer)); and receive the resource set sent by the first terminal in a target time unit before the fifth DRX timer expires (Fig. 7 shows the Inter-UE coordination Information (including resource set) is received by the second terminal before the timer T#1 (fifth DRX timer) expires. [0096] If the inter-UE coordination information (resource set sent by the first terminal) is received before T #1 expiry (before the fifth timer expires), the SL UE #1 (second terminal) may consider the information included in inter-UE coordination information (resource set sent by first terminal) in the final resource selection is step 743, otherwise the SL UE #1 may only consider its own information in the final resource selection in step 743.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Hui in view of Farag to include the fifth DRX timer of Jeong. The motivation to do so would have been to provide an efficient inter-UE coordination based resource allocation mechanism (Jeong; [0075]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui in view of Farag; further in view of Ganesan (US 20230284136 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Hui in view of Farag teaches the terminal according to claim 11, and Farag teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive first indication information sent by the second terminal, wherein the first indication information is used for instructing to send the resource set ([0247] In certain embodiments (referred to as Example 4.3), the controlling UE (first terminal) is triggered to transmit RSAI, i.e. aperiodic RSAI transmission. This is illustrated in the example 1700 of the FIG. 17. [0248] The source of the trigger can be the controlled UE (second terminal) requesting the RSAI via PC5 (sidelink) MAC CE (contains first indication information)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the selection window determination methods of Hui to include the methods for assisted sensing for sidelink resource selection of Farag. The motivation to do so would have been to provide resource allocation enhancements that reduce power consumption, using LTE sidelink random resource selection and partial sensing as baseline with potential enhancements (Farag; [0115]).
Farag does not teach and after receiving the first indication information, activate, start or reset a second DRX timer; wherein the terminal is in an active state before the second DRX timer expires.
Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink control information based sensing, teaches and after receiving the first indication information, activate, start or reset a second DRX timer ([104] In such embodiments, an RX UE (first terminal), after receiving a trigger for CSI reporting (first indication information) towards an end of a current on-duration and/or active period may extend the active period by starting the inactivity timer until the transmission of a CSI report based on the configured CSI report latency.); wherein the terminal is in an active state before the second DRX timer expires (According to paragraph [0104] the RX UE (second terminal) is in an active state when it extends the active period by starting the timer. “…after receiving a trigger for CSI reporting (first indication information) towards an end of a current on-duration and/or active period may extend the active period by starting the inactivity timer until the transmission of a CSI report based on the configured CSI report latency.” Thus, the terminal is in an active state before the second DRX timer expires).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Hui in view of Farag to include the second DRX timer of Ganesan. The motivation to do so would have been to enable UEs with battery constraints to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner. (Ganesan; [0066]).
Regarding claim 15, Hui in view of Farag do not teach wherein a timeout time of the second DRX timer is later than the target time unit.
Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink control information based sensing, teaches wherein a timeout time of the second DRX timer is later than the target time unit ([0104] In such embodiments, an RX UE, after receiving a trigger for CSI reporting towards an end of a current on-duration and/or active period may extend the active period by starting the inactivity timer until the transmission of a CSI report based on the configured CSI report latency. Since the timer is set until the transmission of a CSI report based on the configured CSI report latency, and the CSI report is sent at the target time unit, the timer does not expire before the CSI report is sent. In other words, the timeout of the DRX timer is later than the target time unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Hui in view of Farag to include the second DRX timer of Ganesan. The motivation to do so would have been to enable UEs with battery constraints to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner. (Ganesan; [0066]).
Regarding claim 16, Hui in view of Farag teaches the terminal according to claim 11, but does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to: activate, start or reset a third DRX timer according to the target time unit; wherein the terminal is in an active state before the third DRX timer expires.
Ganesan, in the same field of endeavor of sidelink control information based sensing, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: activate, start or reset a third DRX timer according to the target time unit ([0104] In such embodiments, an RX UE, after receiving a trigger for CSI reporting towards an end of a current on-duration and/or active period may extend the active period by starting the inactivity timer (third DRX timer) until the transmission of a CSI report (which is transmitted at the target time unit thus, according to the target time unit) based on the configured CSI report latency); wherein the terminal is in an active state before the third DRX timer expires (according to paragraph [0104] the RX UE (second terminal) is in an active state when it extends the active period by starting the timer. “…after receiving a trigger for CSI reporting (first indication information) towards an end of a current on-duration and/or active period may extend the active period by starting the inactivity timer until the transmission of a CSI report based on the configured CSI report latency.” Thus, the terminal is in an active state before the third DRX timer expires).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sidelink resource selection methods of Hui in view of Farag to include the second DRX timer of Ganesan. The motivation to do so would have been to enable UEs with battery constraints to perform sidelink operations in a power efficient manner. (Ganesan; [0066]).
Conclusion
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465