DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on January 20, 2026 has been entered. No claims have been amended. Claim 16 has been cancelled. Claim 21 has been added. Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are now pending in this application, with claims 1, 11, and 21 being independent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 21 is allowed because the closest prior art either alone or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious, the claimed limitations of “a structural patch overlying the base and fixing the locking mount relative to the B side interior surface of the vehicle exterior body panel; and a vibration exciter secured to the collar such that the vibration exciter is retained to the vehicle exterior body panel by the locking mount and is arranged to maintain positive contact with the vehicle exterior body panel” in combination with all other limitations in the claims as defined by Applicant.
The prior art discloses a vehicle exterior body panel including a class exterior surface and an interior surface but does not teach or suggest a structural patch overlying the base and fixing the locking mount relative to the B side interior surface of the vehicle exterior body panel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Defavari et al. (US Patent Application, Pub. No.: US 2020/0386655 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 11, Defavari discloses a vehicle assembly (See pg. 1, paragraph [0013]), comprising: a mounting system including a locking mount and a structural patch; and a vehicle component mounted to the locking mount (See pg. 1-2, paragraph [0014] and pg. 2, paragraph [0020] [0021]).
In regards to claim 2, Defavari discloses the vehicle assembly, wherein the mounting system is secured to an interior surface of a vehicle body panel (See pg. 2, paragraph [0020]).
In regards to claims 3 and 12, Defavari discloses the vehicle assembly, wherein the vehicle body panel is an outer panel of a front fender or a rear quarter panel (See pg. 3-4, paragraph [0043]).
In regards to claims 4 and 13, Defavari discloses the vehicle assembly, wherein the vehicle component is an exciter (See pg. 2, paragraph [0021]).
In regards to claims 5 and 17, Defavari discloses the vehicle assembly, wherein the locking mount includes a base and a collar that protrudes outwardly from the base (See pg. 2, paragraph [0022]).
In regards to claims 6 and 18, Defavari discloses the vehicle assembly, wherein the vehicle component includes a mounting base having a mating flange that is configured to engage a cam tab of the collar (See pg. 4, paragraph [0045]).
In regards to claims 7 and 19, Defavari discloses the vehicle assembly, wherein the vehicle component includes a mounting base having a mounting flange that includes a lip that is configured to engage a flexible prong of the collar (See pg. 4, paragraph [0045]).
In regards to claim 8, Defavari discloses the vehicle assembly, wherein the base is embedded within the structural patch (See pg. 2, paragraph [0020] [0021]).
In regards to claims 9 and 20, Defavari discloses the vehicle assembly, wherein the structural patch is a mastic patch or an adhesive patch (See pg. 2, paragraph [0021]).
In regards to claims 10 and 15, Defavari discloses the vehicle assembly, comprising an adhesive applied to a base of the locking mount (See pg. 2, paragraph [0021]).
In regards to claim 14, Defavari discloses the vehicle assembly, wherein a base of the locking mount is trapped between the structural patch and the interior surface of the vehicle body panel (See pg. 2, paragraph [0020] [0021]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Defavari does not disclose a vehicle assembly, comprising: a mounting system including a locking mount and a structural patch; and a vehicle component mounted to the locking mount, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Defavari does disclose a vehicle assembly (See pg. 1, paragraph [0013]), comprising: a mounting system including a locking mount and a structural patch; and a vehicle component mounted to the locking mount (See pg. 1-2, paragraph [0014] and pg. 2, paragraph [0020] [0021]). Furthermore, Defavari discloses a base of the locking mount is trapped between the structural patch and the interior surface of the vehicle body panel (See pg. 2, paragraph [0020] [0021]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THJUAN K ADDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693