Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on May 8th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 are pending in the application.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 6, 9, and 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wu (US 20220089982 A1) is withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 3-5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wu (US 20220089982 A1) and Shellef (US 20170283959 A1) is withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20220089982 A1).
With regard to claims 1-2, 6, 9, 13-14, 17, and 19, Wu discloses an azeotrope-like composition comprising trans-dichloroethylene and three or more additional components (see Abstract). Wu further discloses 75-85wt% of trans-dichloroethylene (see [0065]), 1-15wt% of 1,1,2,2,3,3,4-heptafluorocyclopentane (see [0079]), 1-5wt% (see [0070], [0072]) of 1-chloro-2,3,3-trifluoro-1-propene (see [0043]). Wu further teaches a composition comprising trans-1,2-dichloroethylene, a second component which recites HCFO-1233yd(Z) (i.e. 1-chloro-2,3,3-trifluoro-1-propene), as one of the selections, a third component which recites 1,1,2,2,3,3,4-heptafluorocyclopentane, and a fourth component selected from methanol, ethanol, isopropanol, and n-hexane (see [0089]-[0093]). Wu further discloses the composition may comprise a surfactant as one of the selections (see [0235]-[0236]).
However, Wu fails to specifically disclose the specific concentrations of the three components disclosed in claim 1 and claim 2.
The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference (75-85wt% of trans-dichloroethylene (see [0065]), 1-15wt% of 1,1,2,2,3,3,4-heptafluorocyclopentane (see [0079]), 1-5wt% (see [0070], [0072]) of 1-chloro-2,3,3-trifluoro-1-propene (see [0043])) because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
With regard to claims 7-8 and 10-12, Wu discloses an azeotrope-like composition comprising trans-dichloroethylene and three or more additional components (see Abstract). Wu further discloses 75-85wt% of trans-dichloroethylene (see [0065]), 1-15wt% of 1,1,2,2,3,3,4-heptafluorocyclopentane (see [0079]), 1-5wt% (see [0070], [0072]) of 1-chloro-2,3,3-trifluoro-1-propene (see [0043]). Wu further discloses the composition may comprise a surfactant (see [0265]-[0236]). Wu further discloses “about 85wt%” of trans-dichloroethylene and further teaches “about” as meaning “plus or minus 10%” (see [0023]), meaning 85wt% may be as much as 93.5wt%.
With regard to claim 15, Wu discloses a means for contacting may be accomplished by spraying or vapor (see [0237]) and further discloses contacting the substrate with the composition and removing the substrate (see Claim 45).
With regard to claim 16, Wu discloses a coupon being placed in the vapor phase of a boiling composition for 60min, removing the coupon, and allowing the coupon to dry and off-gas for 10min (see [0260]).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20220089982 A1), as applied to claim 1-2, 6-16, and 19 above, and in further view of Shellef (US 20170283959 A1).
With regard to claim 3 and claim 5, Wu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Wu fails to disclose a cosolvent selected from one or more of N,N dimethyl 9-decenamide, a mixture of greater than 80wt% polyoxyethylene tridecyl ether phosphate, less than 18wt% alcohol ethoxylate, less than 1wt% phosphoric acid, and less than about 1wt% water, benzyl alcohol, hexylene glycol.
Shellef discloses an azeotrope-like composition comprising trans-1,2-dichloroethylene and an organic compound, an analogous art (see Abstract). Shellef further discloses various known alcohols and solvents may be used at 0.01-5wt%. Shellef further teaches benzyl alcohol as a suitable solvent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the benzyl alcohol at 0.01-5wt% of Shellef in the azeotrope-like composition of Wu as alcohols are known solvents in the art, as disclosed by Shellef.
Further, both Wu and Shellef disclose an azeotrope-like composition comprising trans-1,2-dichloroethylene. Applicant is reminded of In re Kerkhoven, which affirmed that "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose....the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art". In re Kerkhoven, 626 F .2d 846, 850, 205, USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Therefore one having ordinary skill in the art would find the claimed invention obvious as both Wu and Shellef disclose azeotrope-like compositions comprising trans-1,2-dichloroethylene. As stated above, Wu and Shellef disclose azeotrope-like compositions. It would, therefore, have been obvious to combine the benzyl alcohol of Shellef in the azeotrope-like composition of Wu to produce an azeotrope-like composition.
With regard to claim 4, Wu discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Wu fails to disclose 0.1-3wt% of surfactants.
Shellef discloses an azeotrope-like composition comprising trans-1,2-dichloroethylene and an organic compound, an analogous art (see Abstract). Shellef further discloses additives at up to 5wt% and surfactants as a suitable additive (see [0033]). Shellef further discloses additives are typically added in amounts known to one of skill in the art (see [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the surfactant at up to 5wt% of Shellef in the azeotrope-like composition of Wu, as such typical amounts of additives are known to those skilled in the art, as disclosed by Shellef.
Further, both Wu and Shellef disclose an azeotrope-like composition comprising trans-1,2-dichloroethylene. Applicant is reminded of In re Kerkhoven, which affirmed that "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose....the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art". In re Kerkhoven, 626 F .2d 846, 850, 205, USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). Therefore one having ordinary skill in the art would find the claimed invention obvious as both Wu and Shellef disclose azeotrope-like compositions comprising trans-1,2-dichloroethylene. As stated above, Wu and Shellef disclose azeotrope-like compositions. It would, therefore, have been obvious to combine the surfactant of Shellef in the azeotrope-like composition of Wu to produce an azeotrope-like composition.
Claims 1 and 17-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuoka (US 20220073804 A1) in view of Sasanuma (JP 2015067779 A).
With regard to claims 1 and 17-18, Mitsuoka discloses an azeotrope-like composition consisting essentially of from 28 to 41 mass % of (Z)-1-chloro-2,3,3-trifluoropropene and from 59 to 72 mass % of trans-1,2-dichloroethylene (see [0010]).
However, Mitsuoka fails to disclose at least about 1 weight percent of 1,1,2,2,3,3,4-heptafluorocyclopentane.
Sasanuma discloses an azeotrope-like composition, an analogous art (see [0001]). Sasanuma further discloses the composition may comprise 1 to 30% by mass of 1,1,2,2,3,3,4-heptafluorocyclopentane, and 60 to 85% by mass of trans-1,2-dichloroethylene (see [0010]). Sasanuma further discloses 1,1,2,2,3,3,4-heptafluorocyclopentane as having property of dissolving various organic substances and is stable with respect to water and heat (see [0017]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the 1 to 30% by mass of 1,1,2,2,3,3,4-heptafluorocyclopentane of Sasanuma in the azeotrope-like composition of Mitsuoka as 1,1,2,2,3,3,4-heptafluorocyclopentane is able to dissolve various organic substances and is stable with respect to water and heat, as disclosed by Sasanuma.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 8th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the fourth component of the Wu compositions is excluded from the Applicant's claims by the semi-closed language "consisting essentially of." Wu discloses a fourth component which Applicant argues falls outside of the “consisting essentially of” phrasing. However, claim 1 states that the composition may optionally comprise one or both of a surfactant and a cosolvent. The fourth component of Wu is an alcohol. With the addition of optional components, the “consisting essentially of” language expands to a total of five components. Therefore, the alcohol disclosed by Wu, and subsequently Shellef, would be consistent with the instant claims. Applicant is directed toward MPEP 2111.03: “The transitional phrase "consisting essentially of" limits the scope of a claim to the specified materials or steps "and those that do not materially affect the basic and novel characteristic(s)" of the claimed invention. In re Herz, 537 F.2d 549, 551-52, 190 USPQ 461, 463 (CCPA 1976) (emphasis in original)”. Both Wu and Shellef disclose an azeotrope-like composition comprising trans-1,2-dichloroethylene. Therefore, the additional components would not change the compositions.
Further, Applicant has offered no evidence that the additional components of Wu would adversely affect the azeotrope-like properties of the solvent composition.
Applicant further argues that the skilled person is not taught by Wu (or any other prior art of which Applicant is aware) to omit entirely Wu's essential fourth component described in Wu paragraph [0009] while still maintaining azeotropic or azeotropic-like characteristics. Applicant further argues Wu teaches that the fourth ingredient, which is excluded from Applicant's claims, is essential to the composition. However, the phrase “and, optionally, one or both of a surfactant and a cosolvent” increases the total number of claimed components to five.
Applicant further argues that alcohols as well as the other classes of compounds defined in Wu paragraph [0009] are excluded from Applicant's claims by the "consisting essentially of' terminology. As stated above, the phrase “and, optionally, one or both of a surfactant and a cosolvent” increases the total number of claimed components to five. The disclosed alcohol of Wu and the benzyl alcohol of Shellef would, therefore, read on Applicant’s claims.
Applicant further argues that alcohols are excluded from the Applicant’s claims. However, claim 3 discloses benzyl alcohol as a suitable solvent. Therefore, benzyl alcohol must not interfere with the composition’s azeotrope-like properties. Further, Shellef discloses an azeotrope-like composition comprising benzyl alcohol and Wu discloses alcohols as suitable solvents for use in azeotrope-like compositions.
Conclusion
/B.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761