Claims 1-3,5,6,9,10,15-19,21-25,27,29, 31 and 32 are pending. Claims 4,7,8,,11-14,20,26,28 and 30 are cancelled. Claims 9,10,15-19,21,22,25,27,29,31 and 32 have been amended. Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1—3,5,6,9,10,15-19 and 21 in the reply filed on April 24, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 22-25,27,29,31 and 32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3,5,9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abe (JP 2004277484A).
Abe teaches resin compositions comprising polyamidoamine based curing agents containing a aliphatic polyamine such as a polyethylene (m≥1) polyamine (plurality of amine groups) with a carboxylic acid such as a dimer acid (dicarboxylic acid) and combining with a polyepoxy compound such as bisphenol A type epoxy resin. Accordingly the teachings of Abe are sufficient to anticipate the material limitations of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,10,15-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (JP 2010126832).
Inoue teaches a fiber sizing agent comprising an epoxy resin (page 3, paragraph 2 and 4) and a carboxylate salt of an amine wherein the carboxylate salt is derived from polycarboxylic acids such as glutaric or adipic acid or a monocarboxylic acids such as formic, acetic, propionic acids and the amine is a primary amine or secondary amine (page 5, next to last paragraph; page 6, paragraphs 6-8). Inoue teaches dialkyl salts (dilaurylamine or dioctylamine salts; n≥2), alkyl substituted amines salts (octadecylethylamine salt) and unsubstituted alkylamine salts (laurylpropylamine salts, laurylamine monoamine salts) (page 6, paragraph 7-8). Inoue teaches these compounds have applicant’s m=0 and X absent as no PPO pr PEO are present. Inoue teaches a weight ratio of epoxy resin of molecular weight 1000-5000 (page 3, paragraph 4) to amine, for example laurylpropylamine acetate of MW 242.44 g/mol (page 6, paragraph 8) is 0.1/99.9 to 50/50 (page 8, paragraph 1). For a 50:50 weight ratio of epoxy resin: laurylpropylamine acetate the molar ratio is 0.05mol epoxy:0.20 mol laurylpropylamine acetate or 1:4.
Inoue does not teach all the claimed limitations in a single embodiment but one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made could arrive at the claimed invention by selecting from the teachings of Inoue.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select the claimed epoxy resins and carboxylate salts of primary and secondary amines at the claimed ratios from the teachings of Inoue as Inoue teaches these compounds when combined provide fiber sizing agents that facilitate impregnation of matrix resins into the space between fiber bundles and improve the shape stability of the fiber bundle in a composite. Selecting known components at known mixing ratios to produce compositions for the same sizing benefit is obvious through routine experimentation.
Claims 1,3,6,10,15,16,18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US 2017/0029557).
Inoue teaches sixing agents for fibers (paragraph 0001, 0298, 0314) comprising epoxy-amine adducts of acetate salts (paragraph 0604-0610, 0429; applicants formula n=0, m=0, Q plurality of amino groups, X absent) combined with epoxy resins for crosslinking (paragraph 0298, 0627). Inoue teaches epoxy amine ratios of 0.05 to 1 (paragraph 0024).
Inoue does not teach all the claimed limitations in a single example but one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made could arrive at the claimed invention by selecting from the teachings of Inoue.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the epoxy:amine adducts of Inoue with epoxy resins as Inoue teaches epoxy-amine adducts of acetate salts are effective sizing agents and can be used in combination with epoxy resins to provide crosslinking to the epoxy resins.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, these claims if written in independent form would still make R an optional component as n can be zero.
Claims 1,3,6,10,15,16,18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US 2017/0029557) in view of Sakane (US 2016/0369087).
Inoue ‘557 is relied upon as set forth above.
Inoue ‘557 does not specify epoxy resins.
Sakane teaches similar epoxy-amine adducts are effectively blended with epoxy resins in amounts of 0.1-99.9% epoxy-amine adduct to total resin or 0.1-200 parts by weight to 100 parts by weight of the resin (paragraph 0109-0113). Sakane teaches preparing fiber sizing agents from the resins (paragraph 0036). Sakane teaches epoxy amine ratios of 0.05 to 1 (paragraph 0090).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the sizing compositions of Inoue ‘557 by incorporating the epoxy resins at the claimed ratios as Sakane teaches similar epoxy-amine adducts are combined with epoxy resins at broad weight ratios of 0.1-99.9% epoxy-amine adduct to total resin, leaving 99.9-0.1% for the epoxy resin which would allow for the claimed epoxy:amine molar ratio of 10:1 to 1:10. Sakane and Inoue also teach epoxy amine ratios of 0.05 to 1 in the epoxy:amine adduct itself. Using the same combination of epoxy resins and epoxy-amine adducts in the same ratios to prepare compositions for the same sizing of fiber utility is obvious.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, these claims if written in independent form would still make R an optional component as n can be zero.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3,5,6,9,10,15-19 and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3,5,9,10,11,,15,1-19 of copending Application No. 19/346821 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application contains the same combination of epoxy resins with the same carboxylate salts of amine and selection of the concentrations of the copending application permit one of ordinary skill to arrive at the claimed molar ratio of epoxy:amine. It would be obvious to arrive at this ratio through routine experimentation as the same compounds combined are being used for the same purpose of a sizing agent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/AMINA S KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761