DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on December 17, 2025 for the application filed June 13, 2023. Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 in lines 7-8 recites “receive, prior to expiration of a barred cell timer that is associated with a barred cell”, and in lines 12-13 recites “refrain from transmitting the signal metric based at least in part on a state of the barred cell timer.” Claim 6 in lines 7-8 recites “receive an indication of a forbidden tracking area code (TAC); receive a measurement configuration that indicates to measure”, and in lines 12-13 recites “refrain from transmitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell.“ Claim 16 in line 3 recites “receiving, prior to expiration of a barred cell timer that is associated with a barred cell”, and lines 8-9 recites “selectively refraining from transmitting the signal metric based at least in part on a state of the barred cell timer.” Claim 21 in lines 3-4 recites “receiving an indication of a forbidden tracking area code (TAC); receiving a measurement configuration that indicates to measure”, and line 8 recites “refraining from transmitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell”. It is unclear as to where the user equipment is receiving from or transmitting to. As a result, the scope of the claim is unclear.
Dependent claims 2-5, 7-15, 17-20, and 22-30 are rejected based on their dependencies on the independent claims 1, 6, 16, and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal (US2024/0121700A1) in view of Liu et al. (US2025/0063447A1), Polaganga (US2024/0298226A1), Jung et al. (US2015/0201343A1), and Sfar (US2015/0296444A1).
Regarding claim 1, Agiwal teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (Paragraph [0021]: In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system is provided. The UE includes a transceiver, at least one memory storing instructions for cell barring, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions.)
receive, prior to expiration of a barred cell timer that is associated with a barred cell, a measurement configuration that indicates to measure a frequency that is associated with the barred cell (Paragraph [0120]: Referring to FIG. 3 , in operation 310, the UE 100 acquires master information block (MIB) from the Network 200. MIB may include information that are needed to acquire System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1). Paragraph [0121]: In operation 320, UE 100 acquires SIB1. The UE 100 may acquire SIB1 based on MIB. Paragraph [0124]: system information block type 1 carries cell indemnity, tracking area code, cell barring information. Paragraph [0130]: NR supports barring cell(s) for a pre-defined time. If a cell is barred, UE excludes that cell as a candidate for cell selection/reselection for a pre-defined time (i.e. 300 seconds). In NR one or more cell(s) can be barred when certain criteria is met, as explained below: Paragraph [0131]: UE acquires MIB from a cell. In the acquired MIB if parameter cellBarred is set to ‘Barred’ and parameter intraFreqReselection is set to ‘notAllowed’, UE bars this cell and all cells on frequency (or carrier) of this cell for 300 seconds. The UE shall exclude this cell and the cells on this cell's frequency as a candidate for cell selection/reselection for 300 seconds. Paragraph [0132]: UE acquires MIB from a cell. In the acquired MIB if parameter cellBarred is set to ‘Barred’ and parameter intraFreqReselection is set to ‘allowed’, UE bars this cell for 300 seconds. The UE shall exclude this cell as a candidate for cell selection/reselection for 300 seconds.)
Agiwal does not explicitly teach to receive a measurement configuration that indicates to measure a frequency that is associated with the barred cell.
However, Liu teaches to receive a measurement configuration that indicates to measure a frequency that is associated with the barred cell (Paragraph [0017]: The method includes receiving, from a base station, a master information block (MIB) of a serving cell, wherein the serving cell is determined as a barred cell; determining, whether a subcarrier spacing (SCS) provided by a first RRC parameter in the MIB corresponds to 15 kHz. Paragraph [0018]: and determining whether intra-frequency cell reselection on a same frequency as the barred cell or not by the UE. Paragraph [0198]: The parameter intraFreqReselection is used control cell selection/reselection to intra-frequency cells when the highest ranked cell is barred, or treated as barred by the UE. That is, the bases station may allow the UE whether to perform intra-frequency cell reselection on the same frequency as the barred cell, i.e. whether to perform cell reselection to other cells on the same frequency as the barred (highest ranked) cell. The UE may apply the parameter intraFreqReselection for intra-frequency cell reselection if the parameter cellBarred is set to ‘barred’.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive a measurement configuration that indicates to measure a frequency that is associated with the barred cell, as taught by Liu in the system of Agiwal, so that determining cell barring and frequency selection can improve communication flexibility and efficiency (Liu: Paragraphs [0004], [0017], [0018], [0198]).
The combination of Agiwal and Liu does not explicitly teach to compute that a signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell satisfies a quality threshold.
However, Polaganga teaches to compute that a signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell satisfies a quality threshold (Paragraph [0033]: The UE 102 performs one or more measurements of RF signals from neighboring base stations (shown at 310) and produces measurement data. The UE 102 may compile the measurement data into a measurement report 312 that includes identification information (e.g., such as the PCI) of neighboring radio access nodes stations that are candidate target access nodes (e.g., based on those candidate target access nodes having quality measurements that exceed a quality threshold). For example, the measurement report may include absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN), E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN), and/or Physical Cell ID (PCI) information of the candidate target access nodes. As shown at 316, the handover preparation optimizer function 107 of the source access node 303 may check the barred neighbor data 210 to determine if the target access node 304 is indicated as a barred cell. If it is a barred cell, the source access node 303 may return to 314 and proceeds to determine the next preferred priority candidate target access node indicated by the quality measurements of the measurement report 312, and handover preparation optimizer function 107 checks the barred neighbor data 210 (at 316) to determine if that next highest priority target access node 304 is indicated as a barred cell in the barred neighbor data 210.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to compute that a signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell satisfies a quality threshold, as taught by Polaganga in the combined system of Agiwal and Liu, so that the signal metric of the barred cell can be used to determine whether it is a target access node (Polaganga: Paragraph [0033]).
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga does not explicitly teach to selectively refrain from transmitting the signal metric based at least in part on a state of the barred cell timer.
However, Jung teaches to selectively refrain from transmitting the signal metric based at least in part on a state of the barred cell timer (Paragraph [0163]: Accordingly, the UE continuously measures a quality for a serving cell that provides a current service and a quality for a neighbor cell. The UE reports a measurement result to a network at an appropriate time and a network provides optimal mobility to the UE through a handover, and the like. Commonly, the measurement for the purpose is called a radio resource management (RRM) measurement. Paragraph [0219]: The UE may operate a timer for an operation associated with the specific time interval. When the UE reports the first measurement result and/or the second measurement result, the UE may perform a process associated with the specific time interval based on operating the timer. Paragraph [0221]: The first type measurement and the second type measurement may be measurements having different types of radio resources to be used for the purpose of the measurement. For example, the first type measurement may be an RRM measurement (RSRP, RSRQ), and the second-type measurement may be a CSI-RS measurement (RSRP RSRQ). Paragraph [0243]: For the combined measurement report, an operation associated with waiting satisfaction of the reporting condition of the measurement result for a specific time interval by the UE may be managed by a timer. A value of the timer may be provided to the UE from the network together with the combined measurement setting or may be previously set to the UE as a specific value. Paragraph [0247]: The UE may continuously perform a measurement with respect to a first type measurement object during operating the timer. Before the timer is terminated, if it is determined that the first type measurement result does not satisfy the first type report condition, the terminal may reset the timer. In this case, the UE may not report the first type measurement result. Paragraph [0248]: The UE may transmit the measurement reporting message based on the reporting condition satisfaction or based on a timer termination.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to selectively refrain from transmitting the signal metric based at least in part on a state of the barred cell timer, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga, so that the signal metric that satisfies a reporting condition is only transmitted after the timer expires (Jung: Paragraphs: [0221], [0243], [0247], [0248]).
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach a barred cell timer.
However, Sfar teaches a barred cell timer (Paragraph [0034]: In an embodiment, a new manner for a management of handling a cell barring within the UE e.g. a barred timer started to consider previous serving cell as barred for some time. Paragraph [0051]: The second timer 102 that may be the so-called barred timer as discussed above that supervises that before expiration of this time, a barred cell is not selected.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a barred cell timer, as taught by Sfar in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, so that the barred cell is not selected before expiration of this timer (Sfar: Paragraphs [0034], [0051]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Sfar teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the state of the barred cell timer is active, and wherein the instructions, to cause the apparatus to selectively refrain from transmitting the signal metric, cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Sfar does not explicitly teach to refrain from transmitting an entirety of a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration based at least in part on the barred cell timer being active.
However, Jung teaches to refrain from transmitting an entirety of a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration based at least in part on the barred cell timer being active (Paragraph [0163]: Accordingly, the UE continuously measures a quality for a serving cell that provides a current service and a quality for a neighbor cell. The UE reports a measurement result to a network at an appropriate time and a network provides optimal mobility to the UE through a handover, and the like. Commonly, the measurement for the purpose is called a radio resource management (RRM) measurement. Paragraph [0219]: The UE may operate a timer for an operation associated with the specific time interval. When the UE reports the first measurement result and/or the second measurement result, the UE may perform a process associated with the specific time interval based on operating the timer. Paragraph [0221]: The first type measurement and the second type measurement may be measurements having different types of radio resources to be used for the purpose of the measurement. For example, the first type measurement may be an RRM measurement (RSRP, RSRQ), and the second-type measurement may be a CSI-RS measurement (RSRP RSRQ). Paragraph [0243]: For the combined measurement report, an operation associated with waiting satisfaction of the reporting condition of the measurement result for a specific time interval by the UE may be managed by a timer. A value of the timer may be provided to the UE from the network together with the combined measurement setting or may be previously set to the UE as a specific value. Paragraph [0247]: The UE may continuously perform a measurement with respect to a first type measurement object during operating the timer. Before the timer is terminated, if it is determined that the first type measurement result does not satisfy the first type report condition, the terminal may reset the timer. In this case, the UE may not report the first type measurement result. Paragraph [0248]: The UE may transmit the measurement reporting message based on the reporting condition satisfaction or based on a timer termination. Paragraph [0250]: When the second type measurement result satisfies the second type reporting condition during operating the timer, the UE may transmit the measurement reporting message. If it is determined that the second type measurement result satisfies the second type reporting condition.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to refrain from transmitting an entirety of a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration based at least in part on the barred cell timer being active, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Sfar, so that certain measurement results can still be transmitted while the timer is active (Jung: Paragraphs: [0243], [0247], [0248], [0250]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Sfar teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the state of the barred cell timer is active, and wherein the instructions, to cause the apparatus to selectively refrain from transmitting the signal metric, cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Sfar does not explicitly teach to omit the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell from a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration; and transmit the measurement report without the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell based at least in part on the barred cell timer being active.
However, Jung teaches to omit the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell from a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration; and transmit the measurement report without the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell based at least in part on the barred cell timer being active (Paragraph [0163]: Accordingly, the UE continuously measures a quality for a serving cell that provides a current service and a quality for a neighbor cell. The UE reports a measurement result to a network at an appropriate time and a network provides optimal mobility to the UE through a handover, and the like. Commonly, the measurement for the purpose is called a radio resource management (RRM) measurement. Paragraph [0219]: The UE may operate a timer for an operation associated with the specific time interval. When the UE reports the first measurement result and/or the second measurement result, the UE may perform a process associated with the specific time interval based on operating the timer. Paragraph [0221]: The first type measurement and the second type measurement may be measurements having different types of radio resources to be used for the purpose of the measurement. The first type measurement and the second type measurement may be measurements having different types of radio resources to be used for the purpose of the measurement. For example, the first type measurement may be an RRM measurement (RSRP, RSRQ), and the second-type measurement may be a CSI-RS measurement (RSRP RSRQ). Paragraph [0243]: For the combined measurement report, an operation associated with waiting satisfaction of the reporting condition of the measurement result for a specific time interval by the UE may be managed by a timer. A value of the timer may be provided to the UE from the network together with the combined measurement setting or may be previously set to the UE as a specific value. Paragraph [0247]: The UE may continuously perform a measurement with respect to a first type measurement object during operating the timer. Before the timer is terminated, if it is determined that the first type measurement result does not satisfy the first type report condition, the terminal may reset the timer. In this case, the UE may not report the first type measurement result. Paragraph [0248]: The UE may transmit the measurement reporting message based on the reporting condition satisfaction or based on a timer termination. Paragraph [0250]: When the second type measurement result satisfies the second type reporting condition during operating the timer, the UE may transmit the measurement reporting message. If it is determined that the second type measurement result satisfies the second type reporting condition.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention teaches to omit the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell from a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration; and transmit the measurement report without the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell based at least in part on the barred cell timer being active, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Sfar, so that certain measurement results can still be transmitted while the timer is active, and the signal metric that satisfies a reporting condition is only transmitted after the timer expires (Jung: Paragraphs: [0243], [0247], [0248], [0250]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Sfar teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 1);
Agiwal further teaches obtain an indication of the barred cell; and start the barred cell timer with a duration of Tbarred (Paragraph [0120]: Referring to FIG. 3 , in operation 310, the UE 100 acquires master information block (MIB) from the Network 200. MIB may include information that are needed to acquire System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1). Paragraph [0121]: In operation 320, the UE 100 acquires SIB1. The UE 100 may acquire SIB1 based on MIB. Paragraph [0124]: system information block type 1 carries cell indemnity, tracking area code, cell barring information. Paragraph [0130]: NR supports barring cell(s) for a pre-defined time. If a cell is barred, UE excludes that cell as a candidate for cell selection/reselection for a pre-defined time (i.e. 300 seconds). In NR one or more cell(s) can be barred when certain criteria is met, as explained below: Paragraph [0131]: UE acquires MIB from a cell. In the acquired MIB if parameter cellBarred is set to ‘Barred’ and parameter intraFreqReselection is set to ‘notAllowed’, UE bars this cell and all cells on frequency (or carrier) of this cell for 300 seconds. The UE shall exclude this cell and the cells on this cell's frequency as a candidate for cell selection/reselection for 300 seconds. Paragraph [0132]: UE acquires MIB from a cell. In the acquired MIB if parameter cellBarred is set to ‘Barred’ and parameter intraFreqReselection is set to ‘allowed’, UE bars this cell for 300 seconds. The UE shall exclude this cell as a candidate for cell selection/reselection for 300 seconds.)
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach a barred cell timer.
However, Sfar teaches a barred cell timer (Paragraph [0034]: In an embodiment, a new manner for a management of handling a cell barring within the UE e.g. a barred timer started to consider previous serving cell as barred for some time. Paragraph [0051]: The second timer 102 that may be the so-called barred timer as discussed above that supervises that before expiration of this time, a barred cell is not selected.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a barred cell timer, as taught by Sfar in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, so that the barred cell is not selected before expiration of this timer (Sfar: Paragraphs [0034], [0051]).
Regarding claim 16, Agiwal teaches method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, prior to expiration of a barred cell timer that is associated with a barred cell, a measurement configuration that indicates to measure a frequency that is associated with the barred cell (see rejection for claim 1);
Agiwal does not explicitly teach receiving a measurement configuration that indicates to measure a frequency that is associated with the barred cell.
However, Liu teaches receiving a measurement configuration that indicates to measure a frequency that is associated with the barred cell (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive a measurement configuration that indicates to measure a frequency that is associated with the barred cell, as taught by Liu in the system of Agiwal, so that determining cell barring and frequency selection can improve communication flexibility and efficiency (Liu: Paragraphs [0004], [0017], [0018], [0198]).
The combination of Agiwal and Liu does not explicitly teach computing that a signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell satisfies a quality threshold.
However, Polaganga teaches computing that a signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell satisfies a quality threshold (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to compute that a signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell satisfies a quality threshold, as taught by Polaganga in the combined system of Agiwal and Liu, so that the signal metric of the barred cell can be used to determine whether it is a target access node (Polaganga: Paragraph [0033]).
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga does not explicitly teach selectively refraining from transmitting the signal metric based at least in part on a state of the barred cell timer.
However, Jung teaches selectively refraining from transmitting the signal metric based at least in part on a state of the barred cell timer (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to selectively refrain from transmitting the signal metric based at least in part on a state of the barred cell timer, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal and Polaganga, so that the signal metric that satisfies a reporting condition is only transmitted after the timer expires (Jung: Paragraphs: [0221], [0243], [0247], [0248]).
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach a barred cell timer.
However, Sfar teaches a barred cell timer (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a barred cell timer, as taught by Sfar in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, so that the barred cell is not selected before expiration of this timer (Sfar: Paragraphs [0034], [0051]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Sfar teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the state of the barred cell timer is active, and wherein selectively refraining from transmitting the signal metric comprises (see rejection for claim 16);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Sfar does not explicitly teach refraining from transmitting an entirety of a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration based at least in part on the barred cell timer being active.
However, Jung teaches refraining from transmitting an entirety of a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration based at least in part on the barred cell timer being active (see rejection for claim 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to refrain from transmitting an entirety of a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration based at least in part on the barred cell timer being active, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Sfar, so that certain measurement results can still be transmitted while the timer is active (Jung: Paragraphs: [0243], [0247], [0248], [0250]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Sfar teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the state of the barred cell timer is active, and wherein selectively refraining from transmitting the signal metric comprises (see rejection for claim 16);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Sfar does not explicitly teach omitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell from a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration; and transmitting the measurement report without the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell based at least in part on the barred cell timer being active.
However, Jung teaches omitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell from a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration; and transmitting the measurement report without the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell based at least in part on the barred cell timer being active (see rejection for claim 3);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention teaches to omit the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell from a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration; and transmitting the measurement report without the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell based at least in part on the barred cell timer being active, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Sfar, so that certain measurement results can still be transmitted while the timer is active, and the signal metric that satisfies a reporting condition is only transmitted after the timer expires (Jung: Paragraphs: [0243], [0247], [0248], [0250]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Sfar teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising (see rejection for claim 16);
Agiwal further teaches obtaining an indication of the barred cell; and starting the barred cell timer with a duration of Tbarred (see rejection for claim 4).
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach a barred cell timer.
However, Sfar teaches a barred cell timer (Paragraph [0034]: In an embodiment, a new manner for a management of handling a cell barring within the UE e.g. a barred timer started to consider previous serving cell as barred for some time. Paragraph [0051]: The second timer 102 that may be the so-called barred timer as discussed above that supervises that before expiration of this time, a barred cell is not selected.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a barred cell timer, as taught by Sfar in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, so that the barred cell is not selected before expiration of this timer (Sfar: Paragraphs [0034], [0051]).
Claims 5, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal (US2024/0121700A1) in view of Liu et al. (US2025/0063447A1), Polaganga (US2024/0298226A1), Jung et al. (US2015/0201343A1), Sfar (US2015/0296444A1), and further in view of Tao et al. (US2021/0377828A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Sfar teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 4);
Agiwal further teaches the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell (Paragraph [0120]: Referring to FIG. 3 , in operation 310, the UE 100 acquires master information block (MIB) from the Network 200. MIB may include information that are needed to acquire System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1). Paragraph [0121]: In operation 320, UE 100 acquires SIB1. The UE 100 may acquire SIB1 based on MIB. Paragraph [0124]: system information block type 1 carries cell indemnity, tracking area code, cell barring information. Paragraph [0130]: NR supports barring cell(s) for a pre-defined time. If a cell is barred, UE excludes that cell as a candidate for cell selection/reselection for a pre-defined time (i.e. 300 seconds). In NR one or more cell(s) can be barred when certain criteria is met, as explained below: Paragraph [0131]: UE acquires MIB from a cell. In the acquired MIB if parameter cellBarred is set to ‘Barred’ and parameter intraFreqReselection is set to ‘notAllowed’, UE bars this cell and all cells on frequency (or carrier) of this cell for 300 seconds. The UE shall exclude this cell and the cells on this cell's frequency as a candidate for cell selection/reselection for 300 seconds. Paragraph [0132]: UE acquires MIB from a cell. In the acquired MIB if parameter cellBarred is set to ‘Barred’ and parameter intraFreqReselection is set to ‘allowed’, UE bars this cell for 300 seconds. The UE shall exclude this cell as a candidate for cell selection/reselection for 300 seconds.)
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Sfar does not explicitly teach to receive, prior to a determination to selectively refrain from transmitting the signal metric, a second indication that the bared cell timer has expired; and wherein the instructions, to cause the apparatus to selectively refrain from transmitting the signal metric, cause the apparatus to: add the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell to the measurement report based at least in part on expiration of the barred cell timer.
However, Jung teaches to receive, prior to a determination to selectively refrain from transmitting the signal metric, a second indication that the bared cell timer has expired; and wherein the instructions, to cause the apparatus to selectively refrain from transmitting the signal metric, cause the apparatus to: add the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell to the measurement report based at least in part on expiration of the barred cell timer (Paragraph [0163]: Accordingly, the UE continuously measures a quality for a serving cell that provides a current service and a quality for a neighbor cell. The UE reports a measurement result to a network at an appropriate time and a network provides optimal mobility to the UE through a handover, and the like. Commonly, the measurement for the purpose is called a radio resource management (RRM) measurement. Paragraph [0219]: The UE may operate a timer for an operation associated with the specific time interval. When the UE reports the first measurement result and/or the second measurement result, the UE may perform a process associated with the specific time interval based on operating the timer. Paragraph [0221]: The first type measurement and the second type measurement may be measurements having different types of radio resources to be used for the purpose of the measurement. For example, the first type measurement may be an RRM measurement (RSRP, RSRQ), and the second-type measurement may be a CSI-RS measurement (RSRP RSRQ). Paragraph [0243]: For the combined measurement report, an operation associated with waiting satisfaction of the reporting condition of the measurement result for a specific time interval by the UE may be managed by a timer. A value of the timer may be provided to the UE from the network together with the combined measurement setting or may be previously set to the UE as a specific value. Paragraph [0247]: The UE may continuously perform a measurement with respect to a first type measurement object during operating the timer. Before the timer is terminated, if it is determined that the first type measurement result does not satisfy the first type report condition, the terminal may reset the timer. In this case, the UE may not report the first type measurement result. Paragraph [0248]: The UE may transmit the measurement reporting message based on the reporting condition satisfaction or based on a timer termination.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention teaches to receive, prior to a determination to selectively refrain from transmitting the signal metric, a second indication that the bared cell timer has expired; and wherein the instructions, to cause the apparatus to selectively refrain from transmitting the signal metric, cause the apparatus to: add the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell to the measurement report based at least in part on expiration of the barred cell timer, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Sfar, so that certain measurement results can still be transmitted while the timer is active, and the signal metric that satisfies a reporting condition is only transmitted after the timer expires (Jung: Paragraphs: [0243], [0247], [0248], [0250]).
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Sfar does not explicitly teach to start a time-to-trigger timer with a second duration of Ttrigger, wherein the time-to-trigger timer is associated with transmitting a measurement report that is based at least in part on the measurement configuration; compute, prior to expiration of the time-to-trigger timer, the signal metric; receive a first indication that the time-to-trigger timer has expired; and transmit the measurement report based at least in part on expiration of the time-to-trigger timer.
However, Tao teaches to start a time-to-trigger timer with a second duration of Ttrigger, wherein the time-to-trigger timer is associated with transmitting a measurement report that is based at least in part on the measurement configuration; compute, prior to expiration of the time-to-trigger timer, the signal metric; receive a first indication that the time-to-trigger timer has expired; and transmit the measurement report based at least in part on expiration of the time-to-trigger timer (Abstract: The processing circuitry, after the adjustment, determines whether or not the report trigger condition is fulfilled for reporting the measurement results. A transmitter transmits a measurement report including the measurement results, in case the reporting of the measurement results is triggered. Paragraph [0083]: Different events A1-A6, B1, B2 are defined, respectively including Leaving and Entering conditions, being associated with a time-to-trigger condition. This allows the UE to measure on its own and report the results according to the criteria defined for the events. Paragraph [0161]: This advancing of the measurement reporting in time can be achieved in several ways, e.g., by adjusting the measurement results and/or the report trigger conditions. Paragraph [0162]: After adjusting, the UE monitors whether the measurement results fulfill one of the report trigger conditions (the measurement results and/or the report trigger conditions having been adjusted). Subsequently, in case the measurement report is triggered, the UE proceeds to generate and transmit the measurement report to the serving gNB, including some or all of the generated measurement results. Paragraph [0217]: the UE may be configured to refrain from sending further measurement reports to the serving gNB for a particular period of time. The timer may be configured by the network, e.g., by the serving gNB when configuring the measurement and reporting function in the UE.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to start a time-to-trigger timer with a second duration of Ttrigger, wherein the time-to-trigger timer is associated with transmitting a measurement report that is based at least in part on the measurement configuration; compute, prior to expiration of the time-to-trigger timer, the signal metric; receive a first indication that the time-to-trigger timer has expired; and transmit the measurement report based at least in part on expiration of the time-to-trigger timer, as taught by Tao in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Sfar, so that the gNB can control the measurement reporting, and the UE can transmit the measurement report upon fulfilling the reporting conditions (Tao: Abstract, [0083], [0162], [0217]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Sfar teaches the method of claim 19 (see rejection for claim 19);
Agiwal further teaches the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell (see
rejection for claim 5);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Sfar does not explicitly teach receiving, prior to selectively refraining from transmitting the signal metric, a second indication that the bared cell timer has expired; and wherein selectively refraining from transmitting the signal metric comprises: adding the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell to the measurement report based at least in part on expiration of the barred cell timer; wherein the duration is a first duration.
However, Jung teaches receiving, prior to selectively refraining from transmitting the signal metric, a second indication that the bared cell timer has expired; and wherein selectively refraining from transmitting the signal metric comprises: adding the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell to the measurement report based at least in part on expiration of the barred cell timer; wherein the duration is a first duration (see rejection for claim 5);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention teaches to provide receiving, prior to selectively refraining from transmitting the signal metric, a second indication that the bared cell timer has expired; and wherein selectively refraining from transmitting the signal metric comprises: adding the signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell to the measurement report based at least in part on expiration of the barred cell timer, wherein the duration is a first duration, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Sfar, so that certain measurement results can still be transmitted while the timer is active, and the signal metric that satisfies a reporting condition is only transmitted after the timer expires (Jung: Paragraphs: [0243], [0247], [0248], [0250]).
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Sfar does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: starting a time-to-trigger timer with a second duration of Ttrigger, wherein the time-to-trigger timer is associated with transmitting a measurement report that is based at least in part on the measurement configuration; computing, prior to expiration of the time-to-trigger timer, the signal metric; receiving a first indication that the time-to-trigger timer has expired; and transmitting the measurement report based at least in part on expiration of the time-to-trigger timer.
However, Tao teaches wherein the method further comprises: starting a time-to-trigger timer with a second duration of Ttrigger, wherein the time-to-trigger timer is associated with transmitting a measurement report that is based at least in part on the measurement configuration; computing, prior to expiration of the time-to-trigger timer, the signal metric; receiving a first indication that the time-to-trigger timer has expired; and transmitting the measurement report based at least in part on expiration of the time-to-trigger timer (see rejection for claim 5);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide starting a time-to-trigger timer with a second duration of Ttrigger, wherein the time-to-trigger timer is associated with transmitting a measurement report that is based at least in part on the measurement configuration; computing, prior to expiration of the time-to-trigger timer, the signal metric; receiving a first indication that the time-to-trigger timer has expired; and transmitting the measurement report based at least in part on expiration of the time-to-trigger timer, as taught by Tao in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Sfar, so that the gNB can control the measurement reporting, and the UE can transmit the measurement report upon fulfilling the reporting conditions (Tao: Abstract, [0083], [0162], [0217]).
Claims 6, 14-15, 21, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal (US2024/0121700A1) in view of Liu et al. (US2025/0063447A1), Polaganga (US2024/0298226A1), and Jung et al. (US2015/0201343A1).
Regarding claim 6, Agiwal teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (Paragraph [0021]: In accordance with another aspect of the disclosure, a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system is provided. The UE includes a transceiver, at least one memory storing instructions for cell barring, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions.)
receive an indication of a forbidden tracking area code (TAC); receive a measurement configuration that indicates to measure at least one frequency associated with a cell; based at least in part on the cell being associated with the forbidden TAC (Paragraph [0020]: The method further includes determining whether the cell belongs to the PLMN equivalent to the registered PLMN by acquiring system information block type 1 (SIB1) of the cell. Paragraph [0120]: Referring to FIG. 3 , in operation 310, the UE 100 acquires master information block (MIB) from the Network 200. MIB may include information that are needed to acquire System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1). Paragraph [0121]: In operation 320, UE 100 acquires SIB1. The UE 100 may acquire SIB1 based on MIB. Paragraph [0124]: system information block type 1 carries cell indemnity, tracking area code, cell barring information. Paragraph [0147]: (i.e. if this cell does not belong to UE's PLMN). Paragraph [0148]: That is, UE shall exclude this cell as a candidate for cell selection/reselection for a pre-defined period and may perform cell selection/reselection to other cells on this cell's frequency. The time period for which the cell is barred can also be signaled by gNB at operation 450. Paragraph [0151]: In an embodiment, UE can determine that the cell belongs to UE's PLMN based on the SIB1 of this cell. If the PLMN identity of UE's PLMN is included in PLMNIdentityList in acquired SIB1, UE can determine that cell belongs to UE's PLMN. Paragraph [0153]: In an alternate embodiment, a cell may provide a list of PCIs corresponding to a PLMN. This information can be provided for multiple PLMNs. This information can be signaled in system information. So, UE may have information about a list of PCIs corresponding to one or more PLMNs based on system information acquired from another cell. If this cell's PCI is included in that information, UE can identify the PLMN of this cell hence determine if this cell belongs to this PLMN or not. Paragraph [0156]: If UE is not able to determine that the cell belongs to its PLMN or not, it will simply bar this cell. It shall not bar other cells on frequency of this cell.)
Agiwal does not explicitly teach to receive a measurement configuration that indicates to measure at least one frequency associated with a cell.
However, Liu teaches to receive a measurement configuration that indicates to measure at least one frequency associated with a cell (Paragraph [0017]: The method includes receiving, from a base station, a master information block (MIB) of a serving cell, wherein the serving cell is determined as a barred cell; determining, whether a subcarrier spacing (SCS) provided by a first RRC parameter in the MIB corresponds to 15 kHz. Paragraph [0018]: and determining whether intra-frequency cell reselection on a same frequency as the barred cell or not by the UE. Paragraph [0198]: The parameter intraFreqReselection is used control cell selection/reselection to intra-frequency cells when the highest ranked cell is barred, or treated as barred by the UE. That is, the bases station may allow the UE whether to perform intra-frequency cell reselection on the same frequency as the barred cell, i.e. whether to perform cell reselection to other cells on the same frequency as the barred (highest ranked) cell. The UE may apply the parameter intraFreqReselection for intra-frequency cell reselection if the parameter cellBarred is set to ‘barred’.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive a measurement configuration that indicates to measure at least one frequency associated with a cell, as taught by Liu in the system of Agiwal, so that determining frequency selection can improve communication flexibility and efficiency (Liu: Paragraphs [0004], [0017], [0018], [0198]).
The combination of Agiwal and Liu does not explicitly teach to selectively compute that a signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell satisfies a quality threshold.
However, Polaganga teaches to selectively compute that a signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell satisfies a quality threshold (Paragraph [0033]: The UE 102 performs one or more measurements of RF signals from neighboring base stations (shown at 310) and produces measurement data. The UE 102 may compile the measurement data into a measurement report 312 that includes identification information (e.g., such as the PCI) of neighboring radio access nodes stations that are candidate target access nodes (e.g., based on those candidate target access nodes having quality measurements that exceed a quality threshold). For example, the measurement report may include absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN), E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN), and/or Physical Cell ID (PCI) information of the candidate target access nodes. As shown at 316, the handover preparation optimizer function 107 of the source access node 303 may check the barred neighbor data 210 to determine if the target access node 304 is indicated as a barred cell. If it is a barred cell, the source access node 303 may return to 314 and proceeds to determine the next preferred priority candidate target access node indicated by the quality measurements of the measurement report 312, and handover preparation optimizer function 107 checks the barred neighbor data 210 (at 316) to determine if that next highest priority target access node 304 is indicated as a barred cell in the barred neighbor data 210.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to selectively compute that a signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell satisfies a quality threshold, as taught by Polaganga in the combined system of Agiwal and Liu, so that the signal metric of the cell can be used to determine whether it is a target access node (Polaganga: Paragraph [0033]).
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga does not explicitly teach to refrain from transmitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell.
However, Jung teaches to refrain from transmitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell (Paragraph [0116]: For the intra-frequency cell reselection or the inter-frequency cell reselection, the network may provide a cell reselection black list used in the cell reselection to the UE. The UE does not perform the cell reselection with respect to the cell included in the black list. Paragraph [0163]: Accordingly, the UE continuously measures a quality for a serving cell that provides a current service and a quality for a neighbor cell. The UE reports a measurement result to a network at an appropriate time and a network provides optimal mobility to the UE through a handover, and the like. Commonly, the measurement for the purpose is called a radio resource management (RRM) measurement. Paragraph [0221]: The first type measurement and the second type measurement may be measurements having different types of radio resources to be used for the purpose of the measurement. For example, the first type measurement may be an RRM measurement (RSRP, RSRQ), and the second-type measurement may be a CSI-RS measurement (RSRP RSRQ). Paragraph [0257]: a) With respect to a reporting condition defining only an enter condition, if the first type measurement result does not satisfy the reporting condition,… the UE may omit the first type measurement result from the reporting object..)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to refrain from transmitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga, so that the signal metric is not transmitted if it does not satisfy the reporting condition (Jung: Paragraphs: [0116], [0163], [0257]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the instructions, to cause the apparatus to refrain from transmitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell, cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 6);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga does not explicitly teach to refrain from transmitting an entirety of a measurement report that is associated with the measurement configuration.
However, Jung teaches to refrain from transmitting an entirety of a measurement report that is associated with the measurement configuration (Paragraph [0163]: Accordingly, the UE continuously measures a quality for a serving cell that provides a current service and a quality for a neighbor cell. The UE reports a measurement result to a network at an appropriate time and a network provides optimal mobility to the UE through a handover, and the like. Commonly, the measurement for the purpose is called a radio resource management (RRM) measurement. Paragraph [0219]: When the UE reports the first measurement result and/or the second measurement result, the UE may perform a process associated with the specific time interval. Paragraph [0221]: The first type measurement and the second type measurement may be measurements having different types of radio resources to be used for the purpose of the measurement. For example, the first type measurement may be an RRM measurement (RSRP, RSRQ), and the second-type measurement may be a CSI-RS measurement (RSRP RSRQ). Paragraph [0247]: The UE may continuously perform a measurement with respect to a first type measurement object…. ….if it is determined that the first type measurement result does not satisfy the first type report condition…In this case, the UE may not report the first type measurement result. Paragraph [0250]: When the second type measurement result satisfies the second type reporting condition…., the UE may transmit the measurement reporting message. If it is determined that the second type measurement result satisfies the second type reporting condition. Paragraph [0255]: When the first type measurement result satisfying the reporting condition during operating the timer does not satisfy the first type reporting condition longer, the UE may omit the first type measurement result from the reporting object.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to refrain from transmitting an entirety of a measurement report that is associated with the measurement configuration, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga, so that only certain selective measurement results be transmitted (Jung: Paragraphs: [0247], [0255]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the instructions, to cause the apparatus to refrain from transmitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell, cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 6);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, and Polagnga does not explicitly teach to omit the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell from a measurement report that is associated with the measurement configuration; and transmit the measurement report without the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell.
However, Jung teaches to omit the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell from a measurement report that is associated with the measurement configuration; and transmit the measurement report without the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell (Paragraph [0163]: Accordingly, the UE continuously measures a quality for a serving cell that provides a current service and a quality for a neighbor cell. The UE reports a measurement result to a network at an appropriate time and a network provides optimal mobility to the UE through a handover, and the like. Commonly, the measurement for the purpose is called a radio resource management (RRM) measurement. Paragraph [0219]: When the UE reports the first measurement result and/or the second measurement result, the UE may perform a process associated with the specific time interval. Paragraph [0221]: The first type measurement and the second type measurement may be measurements having different types of radio resources to be used for the purpose of the measurement. For example, the first type measurement may be an RRM measurement (RSRP, RSRQ), and the second-type measurement may be a CSI-RS measurement (RSRP RSRQ). Paragraph [0247]: The UE may continuously perform a measurement with respect to a first type measurement object…. ….if it is determined that the first type measurement result does not satisfy the first type report condition…In this case, the UE may not report the first type measurement result. Paragraph [0250]: When the second type measurement result satisfies the second type reporting condition…., the UE may transmit the measurement reporting message. If it is determined that the second type measurement result satisfies the second type reporting condition. Paragraph [0255]: When the first type measurement result satisfying the reporting condition during operating the timer does not satisfy the first type reporting condition longer, the UE may omit the first type measurement result from the reporting object.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to omit the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell from a measurement report that is associated with the measurement configuration; and transmit the measurement report without the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga, so that only certain selective measurement results be transmitted (Jung: Paragraphs: [0247], [0255]).
Regarding claim 21, Agiwal teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving an indication of a forbidden tracking area code (TAC); receiving a measurement configuration that indicates to measure at least one frequency associated with a cell; based at least in part on the cell being associated with the forbidden TAC (see rejection for claim 6);
Agiwal does not explicitly teach receiving a measurement configuration that indicates to measure at least one frequency associated with a cell.
However, Liu teaches receiving a measurement configuration that indicates to measure at least one frequency associated with a cell (see rejection for claim 6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive a measurement configuration that indicates to measure at least one frequency associated with a cell, as taught by Liu in the system of Agiwal, so that determining frequency selection can improve communication flexibility and efficiency (Liu: Paragraphs [0004], [0017], [0018], [0198]).
The combination of Agiwal and Liu does not explicitly teach selectively computing that a signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell satisfies a quality threshold.
However, Polaganga teaches selectively computing that a signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell satisfies a quality threshold (see rejection for claim 6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to selectively compute that a signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell satisfies a quality threshold, as taught by Polaganga in the combined system of Agiwal and Liu, so that the signal metric of the cell can be used to determine whether it is a target access node (Polaganga: Paragraph [0033]).
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga does not explicitly teach refraining from transmitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell.
However, Jung teaches refraining from transmitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell (see rejection for claim 6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to refrain from transmitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga, so that the signal metric is not transmitted if it does not satisfy the reporting condition (Jung: Paragraphs: [0116], [0163], [0257]).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung teaches the method of claim 21, wherein refraining from transmitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell comprises (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga does not explicitly teach refraining from transmitting an entirety of a measurement report that is associated with the measurement configuration.
However, Jung teaches refraining from transmitting an entirety of a measurement report that is associated with the measurement configuration (see rejection for claim 14);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide refraining from transmitting an entirety of a measurement report that is associated with the measurement configuration, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga, so that only certain selective measurement results be transmitted (Jung: Paragraphs: [0247], [0255]).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung teaches the method of claim 21, wherein refraining from transmitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell comprises (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga does not explicitly teach omitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell from a measurement report that is associated with the measurement configuration; and transmitting the measurement report without the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell.
However, Jung teaches omitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell from a measurement report that is associated with the measurement configuration; and transmitting the measurement report without the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell (see rejection for claim 15);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide omitting the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell from a measurement report that is associated with the measurement configuration; and transmitting the measurement report without the signal metric associated with the frequency and the cell, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga, so that only certain selective measurement results be transmitted (Jung: Paragraphs: [0247], [0255]).
Claims 7-13, 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal (US2024/0121700A1) in view of Liu et al. (US2025/0063447A1), Polaganga (US2024/0298226A1) and Jung et al. (US2015/0201343A1), and further in view of Jin et al. (US2023/0247545A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the instructions, to cause the apparatus to receive the indication of the forbidden TAC (see rejection for claim 6);
Agiwal further teaches to cause the apparatus to recover the indication at a non-stratum access (NAS) layer of a protocol stack (Paragraph [0152]: In an alternate embodiment a cell may provide a list of PLMNs operating on neighboring carrier frequency. This information can be provided for multiple carrier frequencies. This information can be signaled in system information. So, UE may have information about a list of PLMNs operating on carrier frequency of this cell based on system information acquired from another cell. Alternately, UE can receive this information from core network in NAS signaling. If the UE's PLMN is not included in this list, UE can determine that this cell does not belong to UE's PLMN.)
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: forward, by the NAS layer of the protocol stack, the indication to a radio resource control (RRC) layer of the protocol stack.
However, Jin teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: forward, by the NAS layer of the protocol stack, the indication to a radio resource control (RRC) layer of the protocol stack (Paragraph [0155]: The NAS layer may provide an equivalent PLMN list to the AS layer through the PLMN selection procedure 1 e-21. The equivalent PLMN list refers to the list of PLMNs selected by the UE for cell selection, cell reselection, and handover and PLMNs considered as equivalent (List of PLMNs considered as equivalent by the UE for cell selection, cell reselection, and handover according to the information provided by NAS). Paragraph [0310]: More specifically, the operation of the UE in operation 1 h-20 may mean an operation of referring to information received from the NAS layer to determining whether the selected first TAC exists in the forbidden-TA list and whether the selected first cell identity exists in the forbidden-cell list. Also, the UE may compare whether the selected first TAC is included in the valid TA list and determine whether the TA update is required, based on whether the selected first TAC is included in the valid TAC.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: forward, by the NAS layer of the protocol stack, the indication to a radio resource control (RRC) layer of the protocol stack, as taught by Jin in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, to determine whether the selected TA and cell are barred and whether TA update is required (Jin: Paragraphs [0155], [0310]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Jin teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: receive, at the RRC layer of the protocol stack and from the NAS layer of the protocol stack, the indication of the forbidden TAC (see rejection for claim 7);
Agiwal further teaches wherein the indication from the NAS layer indicates that the identifier is associated with the forbidden TAC (Paragraph [0152]: In an alternate embodiment a cell may provide a list of PLMNs operating on neighboring carrier frequency. This information can be provided for multiple carrier frequencies. This information can be signaled in system information. So, UE may have information about a list of PLMNs operating on carrier frequency of this cell based on system information acquired from another cell. Alternately, UE can receive this information from core network in NAS signaling. If the UE's PLMN is not included in this list, UE can determine that this cell does not belong to UE's PLMN. Paragraph [0153]: In an alternate embodiment, a cell may provide a list of PCIs corresponding to a PLMN. This information can be provided for multiple PLMNs. This information can be signaled in system information. So, UE may have information about a list of PCIs corresponding to one or more PLMNs based on system information acquired from another cell. If this cell's PCI is included in that information, UE can identify the PLMN of this cell hence determine if this cell belongs to this PLMN or not.)
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach to recover, at the
RRC layer of the protocol stack and based at least in part on receiving the indication from the NAS layer of the protocol stack, a system information block (SIB) prior to transmitting a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration, wherein the SIB indicates an identifier associated with the signal metric.
However, Jin teaches to recover, at the RRC layer of the protocol stack and based at least in part on receiving the indication from the NAS layer of the protocol stack, a system information block (SIB) prior to transmitting a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration, wherein the SIB indicates an identifier associated with the signal metric (Paragraph [0154]: The UE 1 e-01 may include one or more PLMN identities for a given cell in the system information SIB1 signaled through a broadcast channel. In the system information on the broadcast channel, the UE 1 e-01 may receive one or more multiple ‘PLMN identity’ in a given cell (In the system information on the broadcast channel, the UE can receive one or more multiple ‘PLMN identity’ in a given cell). Paragraph [0155]: The result of the PLMN selection procedure performed by the NAS layer is an identifier of the selected PLMN (The result of the PLMN selection performed by NAS is an identifier of the selected PLMN). The NAS layer may provide an equivalent PLMN list to the AS layer through the PLMN selection procedure 1 e-21. The equivalent PLMN list refers to the list of PLMNs selected by the UE for cell selection, cell reselection, and handover and PLMNs considered as equivalent (List of PLMNs considered as equivalent by the UE for cell selection, cell reselection, and handover according to the information provided by NAS). Paragraph [0310]: More specifically, the operation of the UE in operation 1 h-20 may mean an operation of referring to information received from the NAS layer to determining whether the selected first TAC exists in the forbidden-TA list and whether the selected first cell identity exists in the forbidden-cell list. Also, the UE may compare whether the selected first TAC is included in the valid TA list and determine whether the TA update is required, based on whether the selected first TAC is included in the valid TAC.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recover, at the RRC layer of the protocol stack and based at least in part on receiving the indication from the NAS layer of the protocol stack, a system information block (SIB) prior to transmitting a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration, wherein the SIB indicates an identifier associated with the signal metric, as taught by Jin in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, to determine whether the identifier is for a forbidden TAC (Jin: Paragraphs [0154], [0155], [0310]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 6);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach to recover, at a radio resource control (RRC) layer of a protocol stack, cell context information associated with the cell; and store, in memory at the UE, the cell context information as at least part of forbidden TAC context information.
However, Jin teaches to recover, at a radio resource control (RRC) layer of a protocol stack, cell context information associated with the cell; and store, in memory at the UE, the cell context information as at least part of forbidden TAC context information (Paragraph [0154]: The UE 1 e-01 may include one or more PLMN identities for a given cell in the system information SIB1 signaled through a broadcast channel. In the system information on the broadcast channel, the UE 1 e-01 may receive one or more multiple ‘PLMN identity’ in a given cell (In the system information on the broadcast channel, the UE can receive one or more multiple ‘PLMN identity’ in a given cell). Paragraph [0155]: The result of the PLMN selection procedure performed by the NAS layer is an identifier of the selected PLMN (The result of the PLMN selection performed by NAS is an identifier of the selected PLMN). The NAS layer may provide an equivalent PLMN list to the AS layer through the PLMN selection procedure 1 e-21. The equivalent PLMN list refers to the list of PLMNs selected by the UE for cell selection, cell reselection, and handover and PLMNs considered as equivalent (List of PLMNs considered as equivalent by the UE for cell selection, cell reselection, and handover according to the information provided by NAS). Paragraph [0285]: In operation 1 h-10, the UE may perform an operation of identifying parameters included in SIB1, particularly CellAccessRelatedInfo, and then storing parameters to be used to determine whether to use system information stored in another cell (determining validity of system information). This corresponds to an operation in which the UE selects and stores particular information included in SIB1, and the following values may be included in the particular information included in SIB1. Paragraph [0289]: cellIdentity: This stores the cellIdentity value included in PLMN-IdentityInfoList including the selected PLMN-Identity and NPN-Identity. That is, cellIdentity corresponds to a cellIdentity value included in the first PLMN-IdentityInfo or NPN-IdentityInfo among a plurality of PLMN-identity values included in PLMN-IdentityInfoList. Paragraph [0310]: In operation 1 h-20, the UE may use the first TAC and the first cell identity selected in operation 1 h-15 to perform an operation of determining whether the selected TA and cell are barred and whether TA update is required. More specifically, the operation of the UE in operation 1 h-20 may mean an operation of referring to information received from the NAS layer to determining whether the selected first TAC exists in the forbidden-TA list and whether the selected first cell identity exists in the forbidden-cell list. Also, the UE may compare whether the selected first TAC is included in the valid TA list and determine whether the TA update is required, based on whether the selected first TAC is included in the valid TAC.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recover, at a radio resource control (RRC) layer of a protocol stack, cell context information associated with the cell; and store, in memory at the UE, the cell context information as at least part of forbidden TAC context information, as taught by Jin in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, so that the cell context information can be used for cell selection/reselection (Jin: Paragraphs [0154], [0155], [0285], [0289], [0310]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Jin teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions, to cause the apparatus to recover the cell context information, cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach to recover the cell context information based at least in part on a system information block (SIB).
However, Jin teaches to recover the cell context information based at least in part on a system information block (SIB) (Paragraph [0154]: The UE 1 e-01 may include one or more PLMN identities for a given cell in the system information SIB1 signaled through a broadcast channel. In the system information on the broadcast channel, the UE 1 e-01 may receive one or more multiple ‘PLMN identity’ in a given cell (In the system information on the broadcast channel, the UE can receive one or more multiple ‘PLMN identity’ in a given cell). Paragraph [0155]: The result of the PLMN selection procedure performed by the NAS layer is an identifier of the selected PLMN (The result of the PLMN selection performed by NAS is an identifier of the selected PLMN). The NAS layer may provide an equivalent PLMN list to the AS layer through the PLMN selection procedure 1 e-21. The equivalent PLMN list refers to the list of PLMNs selected by the UE for cell selection, cell reselection, and handover and PLMNs considered as equivalent (List of PLMNs considered as equivalent by the UE for cell selection, cell reselection, and handover according to the information provided by NAS). Paragraph [0285]: In operation 1 h-10, the UE may perform an operation of identifying parameters included in SIB1, particularly CellAccessRelatedInfo, and then storing parameters to be used to determine whether to use system information stored in another cell (determining validity of system information). This corresponds to an operation in which the UE selects and stores particular information included in SIB1, and the following values may be included in the particular information included in SIB1. Paragraph [0289]: cellIdentity: This stores the cellIdentity value included in PLMN-IdentityInfoList including the selected PLMN-Identity and NPN-Identity. That is, cellIdentity corresponds to a cellIdentity value included in the first PLMN-IdentityInfo or NPN-IdentityInfo among a plurality of PLMN-identity values included in PLMN-IdentityInfoList. Paragraph [0291]: ValueTag: This is a parameter indicating whether system information has changed from a previously broadcast value and is defined as a value between 0 and 31. The corresponding values are also set for each SIB and is included in an SIB-TypeInfo IE in si-SchedulingInfo, and the UE stores all values. Paragraph [0310]: In operation 1 h-20, the UE may use the first TAC and the first cell identity selected in operation 1 h-15 to perform an operation of determining whether the selected TA and cell are barred and whether TA update is required. More specifically, the operation of the UE in operation 1 h-20 may mean an operation of referring to information received from the NAS layer to determining whether the selected first TAC exists in the forbidden-TA list and whether the selected first cell identity exists in the forbidden-cell list. Also, the UE may compare whether the selected first TAC is included in the valid TA list and determine whether the TA update is required, based on whether the selected first TAC is included in the valid TAC.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recover the cell context information based at least in part on a system information block (SIB), as taught by Jin in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, so that the cell context information received from the SIB is based on the recent broadcast value, to be used for cell selection/reselection (Jin: Paragraphs [0154], [0155], [0285], [0289], [0291], [0310]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Jin teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 9);
Agiwal further teaches the potential cell is/being associated with the forbidden TAC (Paragraph [0020]: The method further includes determining whether the cell belongs to the PLMN equivalent to the registered PLMN by acquiring system information block type 1 (SIB1) of the cell. Paragraph [0120]: Referring to FIG. 3 , in operation 310, the UE 100 acquires master information block (MIB) from the Network 200. MIB may include information that are needed to acquire System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1). Paragraph [0121]: In operation 320, UE 100 acquires SIB1. The UE 100 may acquire SIB1 based on MIB. Paragraph [0124]: system information block type 1 carries cell indemnity, tracking area code, cell barring information. Paragraph [0147]: (i.e. if this cell does not belong to UE's PLMN). Paragraph [0148]: That is, UE shall exclude this cell as a candidate for cell selection/reselection for a pre-defined period and may perform cell selection/reselection to other cells on this cell's frequency. The time period for which the cell is barred can also be signaled by gNB at operation 450. Paragraph [0151]: In an embodiment, UE can determine that the cell belongs to UE's PLMN based on the SIB1 of this cell. If the PLMN identity of UE's PLMN is included in PLMNIdentityList in acquired SIB1, UE can determine that cell belongs to UE's PLMN. Paragraph [0153]: In an alternate embodiment, a cell may provide a list of PCIs corresponding to a PLMN. This information can be provided for multiple PLMNs. This information can be signaled in system information. So, UE may have information about a list of PCIs corresponding to one or more PLMNs based on system information acquired from another cell. If this cell's PCI is included in that information, UE can identify the PLMN of this cell hence determine if this cell belongs to this PLMN or not. Paragraph [0156]: If UE is not able to determine that the cell belongs to its PLMN or not, it will simply bar this cell. It shall not bar other cells on frequency of this cell.)
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga does not explicitly teach to refrain, based at least in part on a determination, from transmitting a second signal metric that is associated with the potential cell.
However, Jung teaches to refrain, based at least in part on a determination, from transmitting a second signal metric that is associated with the potential cell (Paragraph [0116]: For the intra-frequency cell reselection or the inter-frequency cell reselection, the network may provide a cell reselection black list used in the cell reselection to the UE. The UE does not perform the cell reselection with respect to the cell included in the black list. Paragraph [0163]: Accordingly, the UE continuously measures a quality for a serving cell that provides a current service and a quality for a neighbor cell. The UE reports a measurement result to a network at an appropriate time and a network provides optimal mobility to the UE through a handover, and the like. Commonly, the measurement for the purpose is called a radio resource management (RRM) measurement. Paragraph [0221]: The first type measurement and the second type measurement may be measurements having different types of radio resources to be used for the purpose of the measurement. For example, the first type measurement may be an RRM measurement (RSRP, RSRQ), and the second-type measurement may be a CSI-RS measurement (RSRP RSRQ). Paragraph [0257]: a) With respect to a reporting condition defining only an enter condition, if the first type measurement result does not satisfy the reporting condition,… the UE may omit the first type measurement result from the reporting object..)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to refrain, based at least in part on a determination, from transmitting a second signal metric that is associated with the potential cell, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga, so that the signal metric is not transmitted if it does not satisfy the reporting condition (Jung: Paragraphs: [0116], [0163], [0257]).
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach to recover second cell context information that is associated with a potential cell; compare the second cell context information to the forbidden TAC context information; determine, based at least in part on a comparison of the second cell context information to the forbidden TAC context information, that the potential cell is associated with the forbidden TAC.
However, Jin teaches to recover second cell context information that is associated with a potential cell; compare the second cell context information to the forbidden TAC context information; determine, based at least in part on a comparison of the second cell context information to the forbidden TAC context information, that the potential cell is associated with the forbidden TAC (Paragraph [0147]: Condition 3: A case in which the cell is not barred according to information that is most recently provided from the NAS layer, and the cell is part of at least one tracking area (TA) that is not part of the list of “forbidden tracking areas” which belongs to a PLMN that satisfies Condition 1 (The cell is part of at least one TA that is not part of the list of “forbidden Tracking Areas” which belongs to a PLMN that fulfils the first bullet above). Paragraph [0154]: The UE 1 e-01 may include one or more PLMN identities for a given cell in the system information SIB1 signaled through a broadcast channel. In the system information on the broadcast channel, the UE 1 e-01 may receive one or more multiple ‘PLMN identity’ in a given cell (In the system information on the broadcast channel, the UE can receive one or more multiple ‘PLMN identity’ in a given cell). Paragraph [0155]: The result of the PLMN selection procedure performed by the NAS layer is an identifier of the selected PLMN (The result of the PLMN selection performed by NAS is an identifier of the selected PLMN). The NAS layer may provide an equivalent PLMN list to the AS layer through the PLMN selection procedure 1 e-21. The equivalent PLMN list refers to the list of PLMNs selected by the UE for cell selection, cell reselection, and handover and PLMNs considered as equivalent (List of PLMNs considered as equivalent by the UE for cell selection, cell reselection, and handover according to the information provided by NAS). Paragraph [0285]: In operation 1 h-10, the UE may perform an operation of identifying parameters included in SIB1, particularly CellAccessRelatedInfo, and then storing parameters to be used to determine whether to use system information stored in another cell (determining validity of system information). This corresponds to an operation in which the UE selects and stores particular information included in SIB1, and the following values may be included in the particular information included in SIB1. Paragraph [0289]: cellIdentity: This stores the cellIdentity value included in PLMN-IdentityInfoList including the selected PLMN-Identity and NPN-Identity. That is, cellIdentity corresponds to a cellIdentity value included in the first PLMN-IdentityInfo or NPN-IdentityInfo among a plurality of PLMN-identity values included in PLMN-IdentityInfoList. Paragraph [0310]: In operation 1 h-20, the UE may use the first TAC and the first cell identity selected in operation 1 h-15 to perform an operation of determining whether the selected TA and cell are barred and whether TA update is required. More specifically, the operation of the UE in operation 1 h-20 may mean an operation of referring to information received from the NAS layer to determining whether the selected first TAC exists in the forbidden-TA list and whether the selected first cell identity exists in the forbidden-cell list. Also, the UE may compare whether the selected first TAC is included in the valid TA list and determine whether the TA update is required, based on whether the selected first TAC is included in the valid TAC.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recover second cell context information that is associated with a potential cell; compare the second cell context information to the forbidden TAC context information; determine, based at least in part on a comparison of the second cell context information to the forbidden TAC context information, that the potential cell is associated with the forbidden TAC, as taught by Jin in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, so that the cell context information received from the SIB can to be used to avoid selecting a cell associated with a forbidden TAC (Jin: Paragraphs [0147], [0154], [0155], [0285], [0289], [0310]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Jin teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 11);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach to store the second cell context information as at least part of the forbidden TAC context information.
However, Jin teaches to store the second cell context information as at least part of the forbidden TAC context information (Paragraph [0147]: Condition 3: A case in which the cell is not barred according to information that is most recently provided from the NAS layer, and the cell is part of at least one tracking area (TA) that is not part of the list of “forbidden tracking areas” which belongs to a PLMN that satisfies Condition 1 (The cell is part of at least one TA that is not part of the list of “forbidden Tracking Areas” which belongs to a PLMN that fulfils the first bullet above). Paragraph [0154]: The UE 1 e-01 may include one or more PLMN identities for a given cell in the system information SIB1 signaled through a broadcast channel. In the system information on the broadcast channel, the UE 1 e-01 may receive one or more multiple ‘PLMN identity’ in a given cell (In the system information on the broadcast channel, the UE can receive one or more multiple ‘PLMN identity’ in a given cell). Paragraph [0155]: The result of the PLMN selection procedure performed by the NAS layer is an identifier of the selected PLMN (The result of the PLMN selection performed by NAS is an identifier of the selected PLMN). The NAS layer may provide an equivalent PLMN list to the AS layer through the PLMN selection procedure 1 e-21. The equivalent PLMN list refers to the list of PLMNs selected by the UE for cell selection, cell reselection, and handover and PLMNs considered as equivalent (List of PLMNs considered as equivalent by the UE for cell selection, cell reselection, and handover according to the information provided by NAS). Paragraph [0285]: In operation 1 h-10, the UE may perform an operation of identifying parameters included in SIB1, particularly CellAccessRelatedInfo, and then storing parameters to be used to determine whether to use system information stored in another cell (determining validity of system information). This corresponds to an operation in which the UE selects and stores particular information included in SIB1, and the following values may be included in the particular information included in SIB1. Paragraph [0289]: cellIdentity: This stores the cellIdentity value included in PLMN-IdentityInfoList including the selected PLMN-Identity and NPN-Identity. That is, cellIdentity corresponds to a cellIdentity value included in the first PLMN-IdentityInfo or NPN-IdentityInfo among a plurality of PLMN-identity values included in PLMN-IdentityInfoList. Paragraph [0310]: In operation 1 h-20, the UE may use the first TAC and the first cell identity selected in operation 1 h-15 to perform an operation of determining whether the selected TA and cell are barred and whether TA update is required. More specifically, the operation of the UE in operation 1 h-20 may mean an operation of referring to information received from the NAS layer to determining whether the selected first TAC exists in the forbidden-TA list and whether the selected first cell identity exists in the forbidden-cell list. Also, the UE may compare whether the selected first TAC is included in the valid TA list and determine whether the TA update is required, based on whether the selected first TAC is included in the valid TAC.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store the second cell context information as at least part of the forbidden TAC context information, as taught by Jin in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, so that the forbidden TAC context information of the can be used to determine that the cell is associated with a forbidden TAC (Jin: Paragraphs [0147], [0154], [0155], [0285], [0289], [0310]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Jin teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to (see rejection for claim 11);
Agiwal further teaches based at least in part on the determination that the potential cell is associated with the forbidden TAC (Paragraph [0020]: The method further includes determining whether the cell belongs to the PLMN equivalent to the registered PLMN by acquiring system information block type 1 (SIB1) of the cell. Paragraph [0120]: Referring to FIG. 3 , in operation 310, the UE 100 acquires master information block (MIB) from the Network 200. MIB may include information that are needed to acquire System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1). Paragraph [0121]: In operation 320, UE 100 acquires SIB1. The UE 100 may acquire SIB1 based on MIB. Paragraph [0124]: system information block type 1 carries cell indemnity, tracking area code, cell barring information. Paragraph [0147]: (i.e. if this cell does not belong to UE's PLMN). Paragraph [0148]: That is, UE shall exclude this cell as a candidate for cell selection/reselection for a pre-defined period and may perform cell selection/reselection to other cells on this cell's frequency. The time period for which the cell is barred can also be signaled by gNB at operation 450. Paragraph [0151]: In an embodiment, UE can determine that the cell belongs to UE's PLMN based on the SIB1 of this cell. If the PLMN identity of UE's PLMN is included in PLMNIdentityList in acquired SIB1, UE can determine that cell belongs to UE's PLMN. Paragraph [0153]: In an alternate embodiment, a cell may provide a list of PCIs corresponding to a PLMN. This information can be provided for multiple PLMNs. This information can be signaled in system information. So, UE may have information about a list of PCIs corresponding to one or more PLMNs based on system information acquired from another cell. If this cell's PCI is included in that information, UE can identify the PLMN of this cell hence determine if this cell belongs to this PLMN or not. Paragraph [0156]: If UE is not able to determine that the cell belongs to its PLMN or not, it will simply bar this cell. It shall not bar other cells on frequency of this cell.)
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jin do not explicitly teach to refrain, from generating the second signal metric that is associated with the potential cell.
However, Jung teaches to refrain, from generating the second signal metric that is associated with the potential cell (Paragraph [0116]: For the intra-frequency cell reselection or the inter-frequency cell reselection, the network may provide a cell reselection black list used in the cell reselection to the UE. The UE does not perform the cell reselection with respect to the cell included in the black list. Paragraph [0163]: Accordingly, the UE continuously measures a quality for a serving cell that provides a current service and a quality for a neighbor cell. The UE reports a measurement result to a network at an appropriate time and a network provides optimal mobility to the UE through a handover, and the like. Commonly, the measurement for the purpose is called a radio resource management (RRM) measurement. Paragraph [0216]: The UE may perform a measurement base on the measurement setting to obtain a second measurement result. Further, the UE evaluates whether a reporting condition of the second measurement result has been satisfied (S1530). Accordingly, the UE may confirm that the second measurement result satisfies the reporting condition. Paragraph [0221]: The first type measurement and the second type measurement may be measurements having different types of radio resources to be used for the purpose of the measurement. For example, the first type measurement may be an RRM measurement (RSRP, RSRQ), and the second-type measurement may be a CSI-RS measurement (RSRP RSRQ). Paragraph [0257]: a) With respect to a reporting condition defining only an enter condition, if the first type measurement result does not satisfy the reporting condition,… the UE may omit the first type measurement result from the reporting object..)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to refrain, from generating the second signal metric that is associated with the potential cell, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jin, so that the signal metric is not transmitted if it does not satisfy the reporting condition (Jung: Paragraphs: [0116], [0163], [0257]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung teaches the method of claim 21, wherein receiving the indication of the forbidden TAC comprises (see rejection for claim 21);
Agiwal further teaches recovering the indication at a non-stratum access (NAS) layer of a protocol stack, and the method further comprises (see rejection for claim 7);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach forwarding, by the NAS layer of the protocol stack, the indication to a radio resource control (RRC) layer of the protocol stack.
However, Jin teaches forwarding, by the NAS layer of the protocol stack, the indication to a radio resource control (RRC) layer of the protocol stack (see rejection for claim 7);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide forwarding, by the NAS layer of the protocol stack, the indication to a radio resource control (RRC) layer of the protocol stack, as taught by Jin in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, to determine whether the selected TA and cell are barred and whether TA update is required (Jin: Paragraphs [0155], [0310]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Jin teaches the method of claim 22, further comprising: receiving, at the RRC layer of the protocol stack and from the NAS layer of the protocol stack, the indication of the forbidden TAC (see rejection for claim 22);
Agiwal further teaches wherein the indication from the NAS layer indicates that the identifier is associated with the forbidden TAC (see rejection for claim 8);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach recovering, at the
RRC layer of the protocol stack and based at least in part on receiving the indication from the NAS layer of the protocol stack, a system information block (SIB) prior to transmitting a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration, wherein the SIB indicates an identifier associated with the signal metric, and wherein the indication from the NAS layer indicates that the identifier is associated with the forbidden TAC.
However, Jin teaches recovering, at the RRC layer of the protocol stack and based at least in part
on receiving the indication from the NAS layer of the protocol stack, a system information block (SIB) prior to transmitting a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration, wherein the SIB indicates an identifier associated with the signal metric, and wherein the indication from the NAS layer indicates that the identifier is associated with the forbidden TAC (see rejection for claim 8);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide recovering, at the RRC layer of the protocol stack and based at least in part on receiving the indication from the NAS layer of the protocol stack, a system information block (SIB) prior to transmitting a measurement report associated with the measurement configuration, wherein the SIB indicates an identifier associated with the signal metric, and wherein the indication from the NAS layer indicates that the identifier is associated with the forbidden TAC, as taught by Jin in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, to determine whether the identifier is for a forbidden TAC (Jin: Paragraphs [0154], [0155], [0310]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach recovering, at a
radio resource control (RRC) layer of a protocol stack, cell context information associated with the cell; and storing, in memory at the UE, the cell context information as at least part of forbidden TAC context information.
However, Jin teaches recovering, at a radio resource control (RRC) layer of a protocol stack, cell context information associated with the cell; and storing, in memory at the UE, the cell context information as at least part of forbidden TAC context information (see rejection for claim 9);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide recovering, at a radio resource control (RRC) layer of a protocol stack, cell context information associated with the cell; and storing, in memory at the UE, the cell context information as at least part of forbidden TAC context information, as taught by Jin in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, so that the cell context information can be used for cell selection/reselection (Jin: Paragraphs [0154], [0155], [0285], [0289], [0310]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Jin teaches the method of claim 24, wherein recovering the cell context information comprises (see rejection for claim 24);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly recovering the cell context information based at least in part on a system information block (SIB).
However, Jin teaches recovering the cell context information based at least in part on a system information block (SIB) (see rejection for claim 10);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide recovering the cell context information based at least in part on a system information block (SIB), as taught by Jin in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, so that the cell context information received from the SIB is based on the recent broadcast value, to be used for cell selection/reselection (Jin: Paragraphs [0154], [0155], [0285], [0289], [0291], [0310]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Jin teaches the method of claim 24 wherein the cell context information is first cell context information, the signal metric is a first signal metric, the cell is a first cell, and the method further comprises: (see rejection for claim 24);
Agiwal further teaches the potential cell is/being associated with the forbidden TAC (see
rejection for claim 11);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga does not explicitly teach refraining, based at least in part on the determining, from transmitting a second signal metric that is associated with the potential cell.
However, Jung teaches refraining, based at least in part on the determining, from transmitting a second signal metric that is associated with the potential cell (see rejection for claim 11);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide refraining, based at least in part on the determining, from transmitting a second signal metric that is associated with the potential cell, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, and Polaganga, so that the signal metric is not transmitted if it does not satisfy the reporting condition (Jung: Paragraphs: [0116], [0163], [0257]).
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach recovering second cell context information that is associated with a potential cell; comparing the second cell context information to the forbidden TAC context information; determining, based at least in part on the comparing, that the potential cell is associated with the forbidden TAC.
However, Jin teaches recovering second cell context information that is associated with a potential cell; comparing the second cell context information to the forbidden TAC context information; determining, based at least in part on the comparing, that the potential cell is associated with the forbidden TAC (see rejection for claim 11);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide recovering second cell context information that is associated with a potential cell; comparing the second cell context information to the forbidden TAC context information; determining, based at least in part on the comparing, that the potential cell is associated with the forbidden TAC, as taught by Jin in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, so that the cell context information received from the SIB can to be used to avoid selecting a cell associated with a forbidden TAC (Jin: Paragraphs [0147], [0154], [0155], [0285], [0289], [0310]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Jin teaches the method of claim 26, wherein the potential cell is a second cell that is different from the first cell, and the method further comprises (see rejection for claim 26);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung does not explicitly teach storing the second cell context information as at least part of the forbidden TAC context information.
However, Jin teaches storing the second cell context information as at least part of the forbidden TAC context information (see rejection for claim 12);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide storing the second cell context information as at least part of the forbidden TAC context information., as taught by Jin in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung, so that the forbidden TAC context information of the can be used to determine that the cell is associated with a forbidden TAC (Jin: Paragraphs [0147], [0154], [0155], [0285], [0289], [0310]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Jin teaches the method of claim 26, further comprising (see rejection for claim 26);
Agiwal further teaches based at least in part on the determining (see rejection for
claim 13);
The combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jin do not explicitly teach to refraining, from generating the second signal metric that is associated with the potential cell.
However, Jung teaches refraining, from generating the second signal metric that is associated with the potential cell (see rejection for claim 13);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention refraining, from generating the second signal metric that is associated with the potential cell, as taught by Jung in the combined system of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jin, so that the signal metric is not transmitted if it does not satisfy the reporting condition (Jung: Paragraphs: [0116], [0163], [0257]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 17, 2025 with respect to claims 1-4, 6, 14-19, 21, 29, and 30 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal (US2024/0121700), Polaganga (US2024/0298226), and Jung et al. (US2015/0201343) have been fully considered and they are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant submits that the combination of Agiwal, Polaganga, and Jung does not disclose each and every feature recited in clam 1 which recites in part “receive, prior to expiration of a barred cell timer that is associated with a barred cell, a measurement configuration that indicates to measure a frequency that is associated with the barred cell; compute that a signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell satisfies a quality threshold; and selectively refrain from transmitting the signal metric based at least in part on a state of the barred cell timer”, and similar features recited in independent claims 6, 16, and 21.
Liu et al. (US2025/0063447A1) teaches to “receive, a measurement configuration that indicates to measure a frequency that is associated with the barred cell”. Liu teaches that the UE receives from the base station, a master information block of a serving cell, where the serving cell is a barred cell, and determines the frequency of the barred cell, to perform intra-frequency reselection. Agiwal teaches that when the UE acquires the master information block, and if the parameter cellBarred is set to ‘Barred’, the UE excludes this cell as a candidate for cell selection for a pre-defined time of 300 seconds.
Polaganga teaches to “compute that a signal metric associated with the frequency and the barred cell satisfies a quality threshold”. Polaganga teaches performing measurements of neighboring base stations including barred neighbor data with a barred cell, whose quality measurements exceed a threshold value.
Jung teaches to “selectively refrain from transmitting the signal metric based at least in part on a state of the barred cell timer”. Jung teaches operating a timer for a specific time interval and reporting the measurement result of a quality for a serving cell, based on the state of the timer. Jung does not specifically indicate a barred cell timer. However, Sfar (US2015/0296444A1) teaches a barred cell timer that supervises that before the expiration of the timer, the barred cell is not selected.
Thus, the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, Jung, and Sfar teaches independent claims 1 and 16, and the combination of Agiwal, Liu, Polaganga, and Jung teaches independent claims 6 and 21. Dependent claims 2-5, 7-15, 17-20, 22-30 are taught by a combination of the cited references.
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461