DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following recitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
“the dock-side charging controller being configured to modulate the electric current supplied by the dock-side charging module to the battery module of the electric vehicle based at least in part on communications associated with the electric vehicle via the communications subsystem” and “the top-level charging controller being configured to modulate the electrical current provided by the top-level charging module to the dock-side charging module of each of the one or more docks to limit the electrical power drawn by the top-level charging module from the power source” as recited in claim 21; and
the recitations of each of the claims 22-38.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-32 and 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FAILING (US 2011/0302078) in view of MORGAL (US 2010/0228405).
Regarding claim 21, FAILING discloses a vehicle system (¶ 0011: FIG. 4 shows a system for managing one or more energy transfers with a plurality of vehicles using separate components in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention) comprising:
one or more docks (comprising at least 1710, Figs. 17 & 18; ¶ 0337: Components of an energy transfer system (e.g., 110) may be located or housed in one or more locations. For example, components may be housed within wheel stop 1710 (e.g., within compartment 1813, within other portions of wheel stop 1710, etc.); ¶ 0340: Cable 1818 may be automatically retracted (e.g., using a spring-loaded reel located in wheel stop 1710 or some other retraction mechanism) in one embodiment. And as yet another example, an energy transfer component disposed at least partially within or coupled with wheel stop 1710 (e.g., 1711, 1712, 1713, 1714, 1715, etc.) may be coupled to other components (e.g., located in compartment 1813, located in housing or enclosure 1740, located in another enclosure or housing, etc.) via one or more lines running through wheel stop 1710, on the outside of wheel stop 1710, or in some other location) each being configured to secure an electric vehicle engaged therewith (120, Fig. 2; 320a, Fig. 4; 1802, Fig. 18; ¶ 0074: Energy transfer components 232 and 233 may also include one or more respective features for aligning the electrical contacts (e.g., for positioning the plug with respect to the receptacle for aligning the respective electrical contacts of each energy transfer component), enabling the energy transfer components to remain secured to one another (e.g., during the energy transfer), to reduce the ability of a user to touch an energized component and be shocked or otherwise injured, some combination thereof, etc.; ¶ 0340: energy transfer component 1812 may be coupled to other components (e.g., located in compartment 1813, located in housing or enclosure 1740, located in another enclosure or housing, etc.) via cable 1818; ¶ 0326: Energy transfer components 1812 and 1824 may implement a wired interface (e.g., 231) in one embodiment. For example, at least one electrical contact of energy transfer component 1812 may be brought into physical contact with, and therefore electrically coupled to, at least one electrical contact of energy transfer component 1824 to enable one or more energy transfers between vehicle 1802 and an energy transfer system (e.g., 110). In one embodiment, energy transfer component 1812 may be housed or disposed within a plug on the end of a cable, where the cable provides an electrical coupling between the at least one electrical contact and at least one component of an energy transfer system), each of the one or more of docks comprising:
a communications subsystem (241, Fig. 2; 441a, Fig. 4) for communicating with the electric vehicle (¶ 0062: energy transfer system 110 may be capable of communicating data with vehicle 120, communicating a clock signal (e.g., used to extract data transmitted over interface 130, used to synchronize circuits of energy transfer system 110 and/or vehicle 120, etc.) or other type of signal with vehicle 120, etc; ¶ 0083: signal (e.g., a data signal, a clock signal, etc.) communicated using the energy transfer interface may be supplied by communication interface 241 in one embodiment, where communication interface 241 is capable of communicating with vehicle 120; ¶ 0123: One or more of the communication interfaces (e.g., 441a, 441b, 441c, etc.) may be implemented in accordance with (e.g., include components of, function similarly to, etc.) communication interface 241 in one embodiment; ¶ 0127: signals may be communicated between a vehicle (e.g., 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.) and a communication interface (e.g., 441a, 441b, 441c, etc.) similar to signal communication using communication interface 241 as discussed herein);
a dock-side charging module (218, Fig. 2; 418a, Fig. 4) configured to receive electric current and to supply electric current to a battery module of the electric vehicle (226, Fig. 2; ¶ 0092: charge and/or discharge component 218 of energy transfer system 110 may supply an energy transfer signal to enable an energy transfer between energy transfer system 110 and vehicle 120, where the energy transfer signal may be supplied in accordance with an energy transfer profile, in accordance with a voltage, in accordance with an energy transfer rate, in accordance with a current, in accordance with a power, in accordance with another attribute, some combination thereof, etc. In one embodiment, an energy transfer profile (e.g., 1115 of FIG. 11A, 1125 of FIG. 11B, 1135 of FIG. 11C, 1145 of FIG. 11D, etc.) may be a relationship between an energy transfer rate and another energy transfer attribute (e.g., power, current, voltage, temperature, time, etc.). Charge and/or discharge component 218 may convert the energy transfer signal from an alternating current (AC) to a direct current (DC), may convert the energy transfer signal from DC to AC, may alter a waveform of the energy transfer signal, may generate or supply a pulse-width modulated (PWM) energy transfer signal, some combination thereof, etc. In one embodiment, charge and/or discharge component 218 may supply an energy transfer signal sufficient to charge an energy storage component (e.g., energy storage component 216 of energy transfer system 110, energy storage component 226 of vehicle 120, etc.)); and
a dock-side charging controller (part of 410, Fig. 4; ¶ 0122: first set of components 410 (e.g., charge and/or discharge component 418a, meter 419a, interface component 411a, communication interface 441a, etc.) may be controllable to transfer energy and/or communicate signals over a first interface (e.g., 330a) to a first vehicle (e.g., 320a)) operatively connected to the dock-side charging module, the dock-side charging controller being configured to modulate the electric current supplied by the dock-side charging module to the battery module of the electric vehicle (¶ 0092: see above; ¶ 0123: one or more of the charge and/or discharge components (e.g., 418a, 418b, 418c, etc.) may be implemented in accordance with (e.g., include components of, function similarly to, etc.) charge and/or discharge component 218) based at least in part on communications associated with the electric vehicle via the communications subsystem (¶ 0136: the information may be collected using a user interface (e.g., GUI 900 of FIG. 9), where the user interface may be accessed and displayed on… a display device (e.g., 521 of FIG. 5, 522 of FIG. 5, 523 of FIG. 5, etc.) of a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.). In this manner, a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.) may be registered to enable the vehicle to participate in energy transfers with one or more energy transfer systems and also participate in transactions related to the energy transfers; ¶ 0138: one or more attributes may be filtered based on a user preference associated with… a vehicle (e.g., entered using GUI 900 of FIG. 9), where the user preference may be a user-specified maximum threshold, a user-specified minimum threshold, a user-specified parameter, etc; ¶ 0143: pre-transfer processing component 620 may be used to present a user interface (e.g., GUI 1000 of FIG. 10) including at least one attribute and/or at least one cost, where the user interface may be accessed and displayed on … a display device (e.g., 521 of FIG. 5, 522 of FIG. 5, 523 of FIG. 5, etc.) of a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.). The user interface may enable a user to make a selection associated with one or more attributes (e.g., of the at least one attribute) and/or one or more costs (e.g., of the at least one cost). For example, the user interface may enable a user to select an energy transfer to be performed in accordance with an attribute at a given cost. A request may be generated, based on the selection, to perform an energy transfer (e.g., in accordance with the one or more attributes associated with the selection) between the energy transfer system (e.g., 110) and the at least one vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.); ¶ 0274: information transferred between an energy transfer system (e.g., 110) and interface system 550 or information transferred between a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.) and interface system 550 may be communicated through or using pre-transfer control component 1350. And in one embodiment, information accessed by pre-transfer control component 1350 may be communicated between energy transfer system 110 and a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.) over an energy transfer interface (e.g., 132, 231, 234, 237, etc.) and/or a signal interface (e.g., 134));
a top-level charging module (part of 215, Figs. 2 & 4) configured to draw electrical power from a power source (250, Fig. 2) and to provide electrical current to the dock-side charging module of each of the one or more docks (¶ 0098: As shown in FIG. 2, power management component 215 of energy transfer system 110 is capable of managing one or more energy transfers. For example, power management component 215 may source energy from one or more components (e.g., of energy transfer system 110, of vehicle 120, power grid 250, another component coupled to either energy transfer system 110 or vehicle 120, etc.) and supply the energy to one or more other components (e.g., of energy transfer system 110, of vehicle 120, power grid 250, another component coupled to either energy transfer system 110 or vehicle 120, etc.)); and
a top-level charging controller (part of 215, Figs. 2 & 4; and/or 1414, Fig. 14) operatively connected to the top-level charging module, the top-level charging controller being configured to modulate the electrical current provided by the top-level charging module to the dock-side charging module of each of the one or more docks (¶ 0183: region 848 may be used to configure a power management component (e.g., 215) of an energy transfer system (e.g., 110). For example, region 848 may be used to define where energy is sourced from (e.g., a component of energy transfer system 110, a component of vehicle 120, power grid 250, another component coupled to energy transfer system 110 and/or vehicle 120, etc.) and/or where energy is supplied to (e.g., a component of energy transfer system 110, a component of vehicle 120, power grid 250, another component coupled to energy transfer system 110 and/or vehicle 120, etc.). Region 848 may be used to define how simultaneous (or contemporaneous) transfers of energy are handled (e.g., by power management component 215) and/or how sequential transfers of energy are handled (e.g., by power management component 215); ¶ 0294: energy transfer control component 1414 may control one or more energy transfers between a plurality of components, where the components are part of energy transfer system 110 (e.g., energy storage component 216, power source 217, power management component 215, charge and/or discharge component 218, charge and/or discharge component 418a, charge and/or discharge component 418b, charge and/or discharge component 418c, etc.) or part of another system (e.g., one or more vehicles coupled to energy transfer system 110, etc.). In one embodiment, energy transfer control component 1414 may control one or more energy transfers by controlling or configuring at least one component of energy transfer system 110 (e.g., energy storage component 216, power source 217, power management component 215, charge and/or discharge component 218, charge and/or discharge component 418a, charge and/or discharge component 418b, charge and/or discharge component 418c, etc.), where the controlling or configuring may involve specifying the number of energy transfers implemented using a particular component of energy transfer system 110 at any given time, one or more components supplying energy for an energy transfer, one or more components receiving energy as a result of an energy transfer, the direction of each energy transfer, some combination thereof, etc. In one embodiment, energy transfer control component 1414 may control one or more energy transfers by controlling or configuring at least one component of another system (e.g., energy storage component 226, power source 227, power management component 225, charge and/or discharge component 228, another component of vehicle 120, a component of another system, etc.), where the controlling or configuring may involve specifying the number of energy transfers implemented using a particular component of the system at any given time, one or more components supplying energy for an energy transfer, one or more components receiving energy as a result of an energy transfer, the direction of each energy transfer, some combination thereof, etc; ¶ 0295: energy transfer control component 1414 may control one or more energy transfers based on at least one communication with another system. For example, information about an energy transfer to be performed (e.g., represented by arrow 1424) may be received by communication interface 241 (e.g., communicated from interface system 550), where the information may include at least one attribute of one or more energy transfers to be performed. In one embodiment, the information may be determined (e.g., by interface system 550) based upon one or more user selections associated with at least one energy transfer (e.g., input using a GUI such as GUI 1000). In this manner, the information received by energy transfer system 110 (e.g., communicated from interface system 550) may be used to control or configure at least one component (e.g., of energy transfer system 110 and/or of another system such as at least one vehicle coupled to energy transfer system 110) to implement the one or more energy transfers) to limit the electrical power drawn by the top-level charging module from the power source (¶ 0177: supply of energy may be determined based upon a state of an energy transfer system (e.g., 110), where the state may include a remaining capacity of the energy transfer system to transfer energy (e.g., measured in units of a current, power, etc.). In one embodiment, the remaining capacity of the energy transfer system to transfer energy may be calculated by subtracting a current energy transfer rate of energy transferred to the energy transfer system (e.g., from power grid 250) from a maximum energy transfer rate of energy transferred to the energy transfer system (e.g., determined by power grid 250, a utility supplying power to the energy transfer system, a rating of an electrical service entrance supplying energy to the energy transfer system, a local building code, etc.) and then adding the result to a cumulative energy transfer rate (if any exists) supplied by components of the energy transfer system (e.g., energy storage component 216, power source 217, etc.) and/or supplied by one or more vehicles (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.). For example, region 841 may be used to define a first configuration (e.g., a value, range of values, etc.) of one or more attributes for a first supply level and a second configuration (e.g., a value, range of values, etc.) of one or more attributes for a second supply level. As such, in one embodiment, higher energy transfer rates may be excluded or prevented as the capacity of the energy transfer system to transfer energy decreases (e.g., as more vehicles request or receive energy from the energy transfer system)).
FAILING fails to disclose the vehicle system is a vehicle rack system.
MORGAL discloses a vehicle rack system (¶ 0010: FIG. 1 is an isometric view of an implementation of a PEV rental/subscriber system including a kiosk, a number of vehicles, and a lock-charge rack; ¶ 0091: an electrical charge cord 204 for a PEV 202 as shown in FIG. 24 may travel wherever the user takes the PEV 202, ensuring availability of the charge cord 204 to facilitate opportunity charging. Positioning the charge plug 206 on the user-operated end of the charge cord 204 in a convenient, consistent physical location on the PEV 202 may increase the user's sense of familiarity when attempting to plug in a rented PEV 202 to a lock-charge port 208 or other power supply. The PEV charge cord 204 and connector plug 206 may also include serial data wires and an electro-magnetic shield integrated into the connector plug 206 and charge cord 204 if desirable to communicate through a wired link between the PEV 202 and the lock-charge port 208. The lock-charge port 208 is mounted on a rack 207 through which power and data wires 209 may be run to provide power and communication links to the lock charge port 208).
It would be obvious to include a vehicle system's core components, such as a top-level charging module/controller and individual dock-side modules/controllers, into a vehicle rack system because a means for converting grid power into the appropriate voltage and current is fundamental and necessary for any functional electrical vehicle charging system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the vehicle rack system of MORGAL into the vehicle system of FAILING to produce an expected result of a vehicle rack system comprising a top-level charging module/controller and dock-side modules/controllers. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased control over the power supplied from the vehicle rack system and/or to provide greater utility or an additional application to the vehicle system of FAILING.
Regarding claim 22, FAILING discloses each of the one or more docks is configured to engage with both electric vehicles and non-electric vehicles (¶ 0062), further wherein the top-level charging controller is configured to modulate the electrical current provided by the top- level charging module to the dock-side charging module of each of the one or more docks based on a number of electric vehicles engaged with the one or more docks (¶ 0099-0098, 0125-0126, 0140, 0178).
Regarding claim 23, FAILING discloses the top-level charging controller is configured to limit the electrical power drawn by the top-level charging module to respect a preconfigured fixed maximum power consumption limit (¶ 0177).
Regarding claim 24, FAILING discloses the top-level charging controller is configured to modulate the electrical current provided by the top-level charging module to the dock-side charging module of each of the one or more docks based on at least one operating parameter associated with the vehicle rack system (¶ 0099-0098, 0125-0126, 0140, 0177-0178).
Regarding claim 25, FAILING discloses the at least one operating parameter comprises a charge level of the battery module of the electric vehicle engaged with a given one of the docks; and wherein the top-level charging controller is configured to modulate the electrical current provided by the top-level charging module to the dock-side charging module of the given one of the docks based on the charge level of the electric vehicle engaged therewith (¶ 0094, 0142, 0220, 0225, 0246, 0248-0251).
Regarding claim 26, FAILING discloses the at least one operating parameter comprises a charge level of the battery modules of a plurality of electric vehicles engaged with a subset of the one or more docks; and wherein the top-level charging controller is configured to modulate the electrical current provided by the top-level charging module to the dock-side charging module of each of the subset of docks based on the charge level of the battery modules (¶ 0094, 0142, 0220, 0225, 0246, 0248-0251); and wherein the electrical current provided by the top-level charging module to the dock- side charging module of a first of the subset of docks is different from electrical current provided to the dock-side charging module of a second of the subset of docks (¶ 0233).
Regarding claim 27, FAILING discloses the at least one operating parameter comprises an expected usage demand for electric vehicles engaged with the one or more docks; and wherein the top-level charging controller is configured to modulate the electrical current provided by the top-level charging module to the dock-side charging module of each of the one or more docks based on the expected usage demand (¶ 0222).
Regarding claim 28, FAILING discloses the at least one operating parameter comprises a cost of the electrical power from the power source; and wherein the top- level charging controller is configured to modulate the electrical current provided by the top-level charging module to the dock-side charging module of each of the one or more docks based the cost of the electrical power from the power source (¶ 0140-0143).
Regarding claim 29, FAILING discloses the at least one operating parameter comprises a total amount of the electrical power consumed from the power source tracked over an interval; and wherein the top-level charging controller is configured to modulate the electrical current provided by the top-level charging module to the dock-side charging module of each of the one or more docks based on the total amount of the electrical power consumed from the power source tracked over the interval (¶ 0177-0178).
Regarding claim 30, FAILING discloses for each of the one or more docks: the dock-side charging controller is configured to modulate the electric current supplied by the dock-side charging module to the battery module of the electric vehicle based on at least one operating parameter associated with the battery module of the electric vehicle engaged with the dock (¶ 0094, 0142, 0220, 0225, 0246, 0248-0251).
Regarding claim 31, FAILING discloses the at least one operating parameter comprises one or more of: a temperature of the battery module, a voltage of the battery module, a current of the battery module, and a charge level of the battery module (¶ 0094, 0142, 0220, 0225, 0246, 0248-0251).
Regarding claim 32, FAILING discloses for each of the one or more docks: the communications subsystem comprises a radio frequency (RF) data link for communicating with the electric vehicle engaged with the dock; and the dock-side charging controller is configured to modulate the supplied electric current based at least in part on communications received via the RF data link (¶ 0062, 0170; ¶ 0068: Bluetooth is an example of an RF data link).
Regarding claim 37, FAILING discloses the RF data link is a bi-directional data link (¶ 0170), further wherein the communications subsystem is further configured to transmit, via the RF data link, one or more firmware updates for configuring operation of the electric vehicle engaged with the dock (¶ 0696, 0705).
Regarding claim 38, FAILING discloses the communications subsystem is further configured to receive from the electric vehicle, via the RF data link, one or more condition parameters indicating an operating condition of the electric vehicle and/or whether the electric vehicle requires maintenance (¶ 0145, 0219-0222).
Regarding claim 39, FAILING discloses a method for managing charging of one or more electric vehicles of a vehicle system (¶ 0011: FIG. 4 shows a system for managing one or more energy transfers with a plurality of vehicles using separate components in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention), the method comprising:
receiving one or more electric vehicles (120, Fig. 2; 320a, Fig. 4; 1802, Fig. 18) within one or more docks of the vehicle system (comprising at least 1710, Figs. 17 & 18; ¶ 0337: Components of an energy transfer system (e.g., 110) may be located or housed in one or more locations. For example, components may be housed within wheel stop 1710 (e.g., within compartment 1813, within other portions of wheel stop 1710, etc.); ¶ 0340: Cable 1818 may be automatically retracted (e.g., using a spring-loaded reel located in wheel stop 1710 or some other retraction mechanism) in one embodiment. And as yet another example, an energy transfer component disposed at least partially within or coupled with wheel stop 1710 (e.g., 1711, 1712, 1713, 1714, 1715, etc.) may be coupled to other components (e.g., located in compartment 1813, located in housing or enclosure 1740, located in another enclosure or housing, etc.) via one or more lines running through wheel stop 1710, on the outside of wheel stop 1710, or in some other location; ¶ 0074: Energy transfer components 232 and 233 may also include one or more respective features for aligning the electrical contacts (e.g., for positioning the plug with respect to the receptacle for aligning the respective electrical contacts of each energy transfer component), enabling the energy transfer components to remain secured to one another (e.g., during the energy transfer), to reduce the ability of a user to touch an energized component and be shocked or otherwise injured, some combination thereof, etc.; ¶ 0340: energy transfer component 1812 may be coupled to other components (e.g., located in compartment 1813, located in housing or enclosure 1740, located in another enclosure or housing, etc.) via cable 1818; ¶ 0326: Energy transfer components 1812 and 1824 may implement a wired interface (e.g., 231) in one embodiment. For example, at least one electrical contact of energy transfer component 1812 may be brought into physical contact with, and therefore electrically coupled to, at least one electrical contact of energy transfer component 1824 to enable one or more energy transfers between vehicle 1802 and an energy transfer system (e.g., 110). In one embodiment, energy transfer component 1812 may be housed or disposed within a plug on the end of a cable, where the cable provides an electrical coupling between the at least one electrical contact and at least one component of an energy transfer system));
drawing electrical power from a power source (250, Fig. 2) via a top-level charging module of the vehicle rack system (part of 215, Figs. 2 & 4), and providing electrical current to dock-side charging modules (218, Fig. 2; 418a, Fig. 4) of the one or more docks (¶ 0092: charge and/or discharge component 218 of energy transfer system 110 may supply an energy transfer signal to enable an energy transfer between energy transfer system 110 and vehicle 120, where the energy transfer signal may be supplied in accordance with an energy transfer profile, in accordance with a voltage, in accordance with an energy transfer rate, in accordance with a current, in accordance with a power, in accordance with another attribute, some combination thereof, etc. In one embodiment, an energy transfer profile (e.g., 1115 of FIG. 11A, 1125 of FIG. 11B, 1135 of FIG. 11C, 1145 of FIG. 11D, etc.) may be a relationship between an energy transfer rate and another energy transfer attribute (e.g., power, current, voltage, temperature, time, etc.). Charge and/or discharge component 218 may convert the energy transfer signal from an alternating current (AC) to a direct current (DC), may convert the energy transfer signal from DC to AC, may alter a waveform of the energy transfer signal, may generate or supply a pulse-width modulated (PWM) energy transfer signal, some combination thereof, etc. In one embodiment, charge and/or discharge component 218 may supply an energy transfer signal sufficient to charge an energy storage component (e.g., energy storage component 216 of energy transfer system 110, energy storage component 226 of vehicle 120, etc.); ¶ 0098: As shown in FIG. 2, power management component 215 of energy transfer system 110 is capable of managing one or more energy transfers. For example, power management component 215 may source energy from one or more components (e.g., of energy transfer system 110, of vehicle 120, power grid 250, another component coupled to either energy transfer system 110 or vehicle 120, etc.) and supply the energy to one or more other components (e.g., of energy transfer system 110, of vehicle 120, power grid 250, another component coupled to either energy transfer system 110 or vehicle 120, etc.); ¶ 0099: power management component 215 can enable power source 217 to charge energy storage component 216 while energy from power grid 250 is supplied for transfer to vehicle 120 (e.g., via charge and/or discharge component 218);
for each of the one or more docks:
receiving electric current from the top-level charging module via a dock-side charging module (218, Fig. 2; 418a, Fig. 4; ¶ 0099: power management component 215 can enable power source 217 to charge energy storage component 216 while energy from power grid 250 is supplied for transfer to vehicle 120 (e.g., via charge and/or discharge component 218);
receiving communications associated with the electric vehicle via a communications module (241, Fig. 2; 441a, Fig. 4; ¶ 0062: energy transfer system 110 may be capable of communicating data with vehicle 120, communicating a clock signal (e.g., used to extract data transmitted over interface 130, used to synchronize circuits of energy transfer system 110 and/or vehicle 120, etc.) or other type of signal with vehicle 120, etc; ¶ 0083: signal (e.g., a data signal, a clock signal, etc.) communicated using the energy transfer interface may be supplied by communication interface 241 in one embodiment, where communication interface 241 is capable of communicating with vehicle 120; ¶ 0123: One or more of the communication interfaces (e.g., 441a, 441b, 441c, etc.) may be implemented in accordance with (e.g., include components of, function similarly to, etc.) communication interface 241 in one embodiment; ¶ 0127: signals may be communicated between a vehicle (e.g., 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.) and a communication interface (e.g., 441a, 441b, 441c, etc.) similar to signal communication using communication interface 241 as discussed herein);
supplying the electric current to a battery module of the vehicle (226, Fig. 2) received in the dock via the dock-side charging module (¶ 0092: charge and/or discharge component 218 of energy transfer system 110 may supply an energy transfer signal to enable an energy transfer between energy transfer system 110 and vehicle 120, where the energy transfer signal may be supplied in accordance with an energy transfer profile, in accordance with a voltage, in accordance with an energy transfer rate, in accordance with a current, in accordance with a power, in accordance with another attribute, some combination thereof, etc. In one embodiment, an energy transfer profile (e.g., 1115 of FIG. 11A, 1125 of FIG. 11B, 1135 of FIG. 11C, 1145 of FIG. 11D, etc.) may be a relationship between an energy transfer rate and another energy transfer attribute (e.g., power, current, voltage, temperature, time, etc.). Charge and/or discharge component 218 may convert the energy transfer signal from an alternating current (AC) to a direct current (DC), may convert the energy transfer signal from DC to AC, may alter a waveform of the energy transfer signal, may generate or supply a pulse-width modulated (PWM) energy transfer signal, some combination thereof, etc. In one embodiment, charge and/or discharge component 218 may supply an energy transfer signal sufficient to charge an energy storage component (e.g., energy storage component 216 of energy transfer system 110, energy storage component 226 of vehicle 120, etc.)); and
modulating the electric current supplied by the dock-side charging module (¶ 0092: see above; ¶ 0123: one or more of the charge and/or discharge components (e.g., 418a, 418b, 418c, etc.) may be implemented in accordance with (e.g., include components of, function similarly to, etc.) charge and/or discharge component 218) based at least in part on the communications associated with the electric vehicle (¶ 0136: the information may be collected using a user interface (e.g., GUI 900 of FIG. 9), where the user interface may be accessed and displayed on… a display device (e.g., 521 of FIG. 5, 522 of FIG. 5, 523 of FIG. 5, etc.) of a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.). In this manner, a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.) may be registered to enable the vehicle to participate in energy transfers with one or more energy transfer systems and also participate in transactions related to the energy transfers; ¶ 0138: one or more attributes may be filtered based on a user preference associated with… a vehicle (e.g., entered using GUI 900 of FIG. 9), where the user preference may be a user-specified maximum threshold, a user-specified minimum threshold, a user-specified parameter, etc; ¶ 0143: pre-transfer processing component 620 may be used to present a user interface (e.g., GUI 1000 of FIG. 10) including at least one attribute and/or at least one cost, where the user interface may be accessed and displayed on … a display device (e.g., 521 of FIG. 5, 522 of FIG. 5, 523 of FIG. 5, etc.) of a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.). The user interface may enable a user to make a selection associated with one or more attributes (e.g., of the at least one attribute) and/or one or more costs (e.g., of the at least one cost). For example, the user interface may enable a user to select an energy transfer to be performed in accordance with an attribute at a given cost. A request may be generated, based on the selection, to perform an energy transfer (e.g., in accordance with the one or more attributes associated with the selection) between the energy transfer system (e.g., 110) and the at least one vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.); ¶ 0274: information transferred between an energy transfer system (e.g., 110) and interface system 550 or information transferred between a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.) and interface system 550 may be communicated through or using pre-transfer control component 1350. And in one embodiment, information accessed by pre-transfer control component 1350 may be communicated between energy transfer system 110 and a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.) over an energy transfer interface (e.g., 132, 231, 234, 237, etc.) and/or a signal interface (e.g., 134)); and
modulating the electrical current provided by the top-level charging module to the dock- side charging module of each of the one or more docks (¶ 0183: region 848 may be used to configure a power management component (e.g., 215) of an energy transfer system (e.g., 110). For example, region 848 may be used to define where energy is sourced from (e.g., a component of energy transfer system 110, a component of vehicle 120, power grid 250, another component coupled to energy transfer system 110 and/or vehicle 120, etc.) and/or where energy is supplied to (e.g., a component of energy transfer system 110, a component of vehicle 120, power grid 250, another component coupled to energy transfer system 110 and/or vehicle 120, etc.). Region 848 may be used to define how simultaneous (or contemporaneous) transfers of energy are handled (e.g., by power management component 215) and/or how sequential transfers of energy are handled (e.g., by power management component 215); ¶ 0294: energy transfer control component 1414 may control one or more energy transfers between a plurality of components, where the components are part of energy transfer system 110 (e.g., energy storage component 216, power source 217, power management component 215, charge and/or discharge component 218, charge and/or discharge component 418a, charge and/or discharge component 418b, charge and/or discharge component 418c, etc.) or part of another system (e.g., one or more vehicles coupled to energy transfer system 110, etc.). In one embodiment, energy transfer control component 1414 may control one or more energy transfers by controlling or configuring at least one component of energy transfer system 110 (e.g., energy storage component 216, power source 217, power management component 215, charge and/or discharge component 218, charge and/or discharge component 418a, charge and/or discharge component 418b, charge and/or discharge component 418c, etc.), where the controlling or configuring may involve specifying the number of energy transfers implemented using a particular component of energy transfer system 110 at any given time, one or more components supplying energy for an energy transfer, one or more components receiving energy as a result of an energy transfer, the direction of each energy transfer, some combination thereof, etc. In one embodiment, energy transfer control component 1414 may control one or more energy transfers by controlling or configuring at least one component of another system (e.g., energy storage component 226, power source 227, power management component 225, charge and/or discharge component 228, another component of vehicle 120, a component of another system, etc.), where the controlling or configuring may involve specifying the number of energy transfers implemented using a particular component of the system at any given time, one or more components supplying energy for an energy transfer, one or more components receiving energy as a result of an energy transfer, the direction of each energy transfer, some combination thereof, etc; ¶ 0295: energy transfer control component 1414 may control one or more energy transfers based on at least one communication with another system. For example, information about an energy transfer to be performed (e.g., represented by arrow 1424) may be received by communication interface 241 (e.g., communicated from interface system 550), where the information may include at least one attribute of one or more energy transfers to be performed. In one embodiment, the information may be determined (e.g., by interface system 550) based upon one or more user selections associated with at least one energy transfer (e.g., input using a GUI such as GUI 1000). In this manner, the information received by energy transfer system 110 (e.g., communicated from interface system 550) may be used to control or configure at least one component (e.g., of energy transfer system 110 and/or of another system such as at least one vehicle coupled to energy transfer system 110) to implement the one or more energy transfers) to limit the electrical power drawn by the top-level charging module from the power source (¶ 0177: supply of energy may be determined based upon a state of an energy transfer system (e.g., 110), where the state may include a remaining capacity of the energy transfer system to transfer energy (e.g., measured in units of a current, power, etc.). In one embodiment, the remaining capacity of the energy transfer system to transfer energy may be calculated by subtracting a current energy transfer rate of energy transferred to the energy transfer system (e.g., from power grid 250) from a maximum energy transfer rate of energy transferred to the energy transfer system (e.g., determined by power grid 250, a utility supplying power to the energy transfer system, a rating of an electrical service entrance supplying energy to the energy transfer system, a local building code, etc.) and then adding the result to a cumulative energy transfer rate (if any exists) supplied by components of the energy transfer system (e.g., energy storage component 216, power source 217, etc.) and/or supplied by one or more vehicles (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.). For example, region 841 may be used to define a first configuration (e.g., a value, range of values, etc.) of one or more attributes for a first supply level and a second configuration (e.g., a value, range of values, etc.) of one or more attributes for a second supply level. As such, in one embodiment, higher energy transfer rates may be excluded or prevented as the capacity of the energy transfer system to transfer energy decreases (e.g., as more vehicles request or receive energy from the energy transfer system)).
FAILING fails to disclose the vehicle system is a vehicle rack system.
MORGAL discloses a vehicle rack system (¶ 0010: FIG. 1 is an isometric view of an implementation of a PEV rental/subscriber system including a kiosk, a number of vehicles, and a lock-charge rack; ¶ 0091: an electrical charge cord 204 for a PEV 202 as shown in FIG. 24 may travel wherever the user takes the PEV 202, ensuring availability of the charge cord 204 to facilitate opportunity charging. Positioning the charge plug 206 on the user-operated end of the charge cord 204 in a convenient, consistent physical location on the PEV 202 may increase the user's sense of familiarity when attempting to plug in a rented PEV 202 to a lock-charge port 208 or other power supply. The PEV charge cord 204 and connector plug 206 may also include serial data wires and an electro-magnetic shield integrated into the connector plug 206 and charge cord 204 if desirable to communicate through a wired link between the PEV 202 and the lock-charge port 208. The lock-charge port 208 is mounted on a rack 207 through which power and data wires 209 may be run to provide power and communication links to the lock charge port 208).
It would be obvious to include a vehicle system's core components, such as a top-level charging module/controller and individual dock-side modules/controllers, into a vehicle rack system because a means for converting grid power into the appropriate voltage and current is fundamental and necessary for any functional electrical vehicle charging system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the vehicle rack system of MORGAL into the vehicle system of FAILING to produce an expected result of a vehicle rack system comprising a top-level charging module/controller and dock-side modules/controllers. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased control over the power supplied from the vehicle rack system and/or to provide greater utility or an additional application to the vehicle system of FAILING.
Regarding claim 40, FAILING discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by one or more processors (¶ 0769: computer system 4100 may include processor 4110, memory 4120, removable storage 4140, non-removable storage 4145, graphics processor 4150, frame buffer 4160, communication interface 4170, input component 4180, and output component 4190. In one embodiment, embodiments of the present invention may be implemented by execution of computer-readable instructions or computer-executable instructions that may reside in components of computer system 4100 and which may be used as a part of a general purpose computer network) of a vehicle system (¶ 0011: FIG. 4 shows a system for managing one or more energy transfers with a plurality of vehicles using separate components in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention), cause the one or more processors to:
draw electrical power from a power source (250, Fig. 2) via a top-level charging module of the vehicle system (part of 215, Figs. 2 & 4), and provide electrical current to dock-side charging modules (218, Fig. 2; 418a, Fig. 4) of a one or more docks of the vehicle system (comprising at least 1710, Figs. 17 & 18; ¶ 0337: Components of an energy transfer system (e.g., 110) may be located or housed in one or more locations. For example, components may be housed within wheel stop 1710 (e.g., within compartment 1813, within other portions of wheel stop 1710, etc.); ¶ 0340: Cable 1818 may be automatically retracted (e.g., using a spring-loaded reel located in wheel stop 1710 or some other retraction mechanism) in one embodiment. And as yet another example, an energy transfer component disposed at least partially within or coupled with wheel stop 1710 (e.g., 1711, 1712, 1713, 1714, 1715, etc.) may be coupled to other components (e.g., located in compartment 1813, located in housing or enclosure 1740, located in another enclosure or housing, etc.) via one or more lines running through wheel stop 1710, on the outside of wheel stop 1710, or in some other location; ¶ 0092: charge and/or discharge component 218 of energy transfer system 110 may supply an energy transfer signal to enable an energy transfer between energy transfer system 110 and vehicle 120, where the energy transfer signal may be supplied in accordance with an energy transfer profile, in accordance with a voltage, in accordance with an energy transfer rate, in accordance with a current, in accordance with a power, in accordance with another attribute, some combination thereof, etc. In one embodiment, an energy transfer profile (e.g., 1115 of FIG. 11A, 1125 of FIG. 11B, 1135 of FIG. 11C, 1145 of FIG. 11D, etc.) may be a relationship between an energy transfer rate and another energy transfer attribute (e.g., power, current, voltage, temperature, time, etc.). Charge and/or discharge component 218 may convert the energy transfer signal from an alternating current (AC) to a direct current (DC), may convert the energy transfer signal from DC to AC, may alter a waveform of the energy transfer signal, may generate or supply a pulse-width modulated (PWM) energy transfer signal, some combination thereof, etc. In one embodiment, charge and/or discharge component 218 may supply an energy transfer signal sufficient to charge an energy storage component (e.g., energy storage component 216 of energy transfer system 110, energy storage component 226 of vehicle 120, etc.); ¶ 0098: As shown in FIG. 2, power management component 215 of energy transfer system 110 is capable of managing one or more energy transfers. For example, power management component 215 may source energy from one or more components (e.g., of energy transfer system 110, of vehicle 120, power grid 250, another component coupled to either energy transfer system 110 or vehicle 120, etc.) and supply the energy to one or more other components (e.g., of energy transfer system 110, of vehicle 120, power grid 250, another component coupled to either energy transfer system 110 or vehicle 120, etc.); ¶ 0099: power management component 215 can enable power source 217 to charge energy storage component 216 while energy from power grid 250 is supplied for transfer to vehicle 120 (e.g., via charge and/or discharge component 218);
for each of the one or more docks having an electric vehicle (120, Fig. 2; 320a, Fig. 4; 1802, Fig. 18) received therein:
receive electric current from the top-level charging module via a dock-side charging module (218, Fig. 2; 418a, Fig. 4; ¶ 0099: power management component 215 can enable power source 217 to charge energy storage component 216 while energy from power grid 250 is supplied for transfer to vehicle 120 (e.g., via charge and/or discharge component 218);
receive communications associated with the electric vehicle via a communications module (241, Fig. 2; 441a, Fig. 4; ¶ 0062: energy transfer system 110 may be capable of communicating data with vehicle 120, communicating a clock signal (e.g., used to extract data transmitted over interface 130, used to synchronize circuits of energy transfer system 110 and/or vehicle 120, etc.) or other type of signal with vehicle 120, etc; ¶ 0083: signal (e.g., a data signal, a clock signal, etc.) communicated using the energy transfer interface may be supplied by communication interface 241 in one embodiment, where communication interface 241 is capable of communicating with vehicle 120; ¶ 0123: One or more of the communication interfaces (e.g., 441a, 441b, 441c, etc.) may be implemented in accordance with (e.g., include components of, function similarly to, etc.) communication interface 241 in one embodiment; ¶ 0127: signals may be communicated between a vehicle (e.g., 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.) and a communication interface (e.g., 441a, 441b, 441c, etc.) similar to signal communication using communication interface 241 as discussed herein);
supply the electric current to a battery module of the vehicle (226, Fig. 2) via the dock-side charging module (¶ 0092: charge and/or discharge component 218 of energy transfer system 110 may supply an energy transfer signal to enable an energy transfer between energy transfer system 110 and vehicle 120, where the energy transfer signal may be supplied in accordance with an energy transfer profile, in accordance with a voltage, in accordance with an energy transfer rate, in accordance with a current, in accordance with a power, in accordance with another attribute, some combination thereof, etc. In one embodiment, an energy transfer profile (e.g., 1115 of FIG. 11A, 1125 of FIG. 11B, 1135 of FIG. 11C, 1145 of FIG. 11D, etc.) may be a relationship between an energy transfer rate and another energy transfer attribute (e.g., power, current, voltage, temperature, time, etc.). Charge and/or discharge component 218 may convert the energy transfer signal from an alternating current (AC) to a direct current (DC), may convert the energy transfer signal from DC to AC, may alter a waveform of the energy transfer signal, may generate or supply a pulse-width modulated (PWM) energy transfer signal, some combination thereof, etc. In one embodiment, charge and/or discharge component 218 may supply an energy transfer signal sufficient to charge an energy storage component (e.g., energy storage component 216 of energy transfer system 110, energy storage component 226 of vehicle 120, etc.)); and
modulate the electric current supplied by the dock-side charging module (¶ 0092: see above; ¶ 0123: one or more of the charge and/or discharge components (e.g., 418a, 418b, 418c, etc.) may be implemented in accordance with (e.g., include components of, function similarly to, etc.) charge and/or discharge component 218) based at least in part on the communications associated with the electric vehicle (¶ 0136: the information may be collected using a user interface (e.g., GUI 900 of FIG. 9), where the user interface may be accessed and displayed on… a display device (e.g., 521 of FIG. 5, 522 of FIG. 5, 523 of FIG. 5, etc.) of a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.). In this manner, a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.) may be registered to enable the vehicle to participate in energy transfers with one or more energy transfer systems and also participate in transactions related to the energy transfers; ¶ 0138: one or more attributes may be filtered based on a user preference associated with… a vehicle (e.g., entered using GUI 900 of FIG. 9), where the user preference may be a user-specified maximum threshold, a user-specified minimum threshold, a user-specified parameter, etc; ¶ 0143: pre-transfer processing component 620 may be used to present a user interface (e.g., GUI 1000 of FIG. 10) including at least one attribute and/or at least one cost, where the user interface may be accessed and displayed on … a display device (e.g., 521 of FIG. 5, 522 of FIG. 5, 523 of FIG. 5, etc.) of a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.). The user interface may enable a user to make a selection associated with one or more attributes (e.g., of the at least one attribute) and/or one or more costs (e.g., of the at least one cost). For example, the user interface may enable a user to select an energy transfer to be performed in accordance with an attribute at a given cost. A request may be generated, based on the selection, to perform an energy transfer (e.g., in accordance with the one or more attributes associated with the selection) between the energy transfer system (e.g., 110) and the at least one vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.); ¶ 0274: information transferred between an energy transfer system (e.g., 110) and interface system 550 or information transferred between a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.) and interface system 550 may be communicated through or using pre-transfer control component 1350. And in one embodiment, information accessed by pre-transfer control component 1350 may be communicated between energy transfer system 110 and a vehicle (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.) over an energy transfer interface (e.g., 132, 231, 234, 237, etc.) and/or a signal interface (e.g., 134)); and
modulate the electrical current provided by the top-level charging module to the dock-side charging module of each of the one or more docks (¶ 0183: region 848 may be used to configure a power management component (e.g., 215) of an energy transfer system (e.g., 110). For example, region 848 may be used to define where energy is sourced from (e.g., a component of energy transfer system 110, a component of vehicle 120, power grid 250, another component coupled to energy transfer system 110 and/or vehicle 120, etc.) and/or where energy is supplied to (e.g., a component of energy transfer system 110, a component of vehicle 120, power grid 250, another component coupled to energy transfer system 110 and/or vehicle 120, etc.). Region 848 may be used to define how simultaneous (or contemporaneous) transfers of energy are handled (e.g., by power management component 215) and/or how sequential transfers of energy are handled (e.g., by power management component 215); ¶ 0294: energy transfer control component 1414 may control one or more energy transfers between a plurality of components, where the components are part of energy transfer system 110 (e.g., energy storage component 216, power source 217, power management component 215, charge and/or discharge component 218, charge and/or discharge component 418a, charge and/or discharge component 418b, charge and/or discharge component 418c, etc.) or part of another system (e.g., one or more vehicles coupled to energy transfer system 110, etc.). In one embodiment, energy transfer control component 1414 may control one or more energy transfers by controlling or configuring at least one component of energy transfer system 110 (e.g., energy storage component 216, power source 217, power management component 215, charge and/or discharge component 218, charge and/or discharge component 418a, charge and/or discharge component 418b, charge and/or discharge component 418c, etc.), where the controlling or configuring may involve specifying the number of energy transfers implemented using a particular component of energy transfer system 110 at any given time, one or more components supplying energy for an energy transfer, one or more components receiving energy as a result of an energy transfer, the direction of each energy transfer, some combination thereof, etc. In one embodiment, energy transfer control component 1414 may control one or more energy transfers by controlling or configuring at least one component of another system (e.g., energy storage component 226, power source 227, power management component 225, charge and/or discharge component 228, another component of vehicle 120, a component of another system, etc.), where the controlling or configuring may involve specifying the number of energy transfers implemented using a particular component of the system at any given time, one or more components supplying energy for an energy transfer, one or more components receiving energy as a result of an energy transfer, the direction of each energy transfer, some combination thereof, etc; ¶ 0295: energy transfer control component 1414 may control one or more energy transfers based on at least one communication with another system. For example, information about an energy transfer to be performed (e.g., represented by arrow 1424) may be received by communication interface 241 (e.g., communicated from interface system 550), where the information may include at least one attribute of one or more energy transfers to be performed. In one embodiment, the information may be determined (e.g., by interface system 550) based upon one or more user selections associated with at least one energy transfer (e.g., input using a GUI such as GUI 1000). In this manner, the information received by energy transfer system 110 (e.g., communicated from interface system 550) may be used to control or configure at least one component (e.g., of energy transfer system 110 and/or of another system such as at least one vehicle coupled to energy transfer system 110) to implement the one or more energy transfers) to limit the electrical power drawn by the top- level charging module from the power source (¶ 0177: supply of energy may be determined based upon a state of an energy transfer system (e.g., 110), where the state may include a remaining capacity of the energy transfer system to transfer energy (e.g., measured in units of a current, power, etc.). In one embodiment, the remaining capacity of the energy transfer system to transfer energy may be calculated by subtracting a current energy transfer rate of energy transferred to the energy transfer system (e.g., from power grid 250) from a maximum energy transfer rate of energy transferred to the energy transfer system (e.g., determined by power grid 250, a utility supplying power to the energy transfer system, a rating of an electrical service entrance supplying energy to the energy transfer system, a local building code, etc.) and then adding the result to a cumulative energy transfer rate (if any exists) supplied by components of the energy transfer system (e.g., energy storage component 216, power source 217, etc.) and/or supplied by one or more vehicles (e.g., 120, 320a, 320b, 320c, etc.). For example, region 841 may be used to define a first configuration (e.g., a value, range of values, etc.) of one or more attributes for a first supply level and a second configuration (e.g., a value, range of values, etc.) of one or more attributes for a second supply level. As such, in one embodiment, higher energy transfer rates may be excluded or prevented as the capacity of the energy transfer system to transfer energy decreases (e.g., as more vehicles request or receive energy from the energy transfer system)).
FAILING fails to disclose the vehicle system is a vehicle rack system.
MORGAL discloses a vehicle rack system (¶ 0010: FIG. 1 is an isometric view of an implementation of a PEV rental/subscriber system including a kiosk, a number of vehicles, and a lock-charge rack; ¶ 0091: an electrical charge cord 204 for a PEV 202 as shown in FIG. 24 may travel wherever the user takes the PEV 202, ensuring availability of the charge cord 204 to facilitate opportunity charging. Positioning the charge plug 206 on the user-operated end of the charge cord 204 in a convenient, consistent physical location on the PEV 202 may increase the user's sense of familiarity when attempting to plug in a rented PEV 202 to a lock-charge port 208 or other power supply. The PEV charge cord 204 and connector plug 206 may also include serial data wires and an electro-magnetic shield integrated into the connector plug 206 and charge cord 204 if desirable to communicate through a wired link between the PEV 202 and the lock-charge port 208. The lock-charge port 208 is mounted on a rack 207 through which power and data wires 209 may be run to provide power and communication links to the lock charge port 208).
It would be obvious to include a vehicle system's core components, such as a top-level charging module/controller and individual dock-side modules/controllers, into a vehicle rack system because a means for converting grid power into the appropriate voltage and current is fundamental and necessary for any functional electrical vehicle charging system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the vehicle rack system of MORGAL into the vehicle system of FAILING to produce an expected result of a vehicle rack system comprising a top-level charging module/controller and dock-side modules/controllers. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased control over the power supplied from the vehicle rack system and/or to provide greater utility or an additional application to the vehicle system of FAILING.
Claim(s) 33-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FAILING in view of MORGAL as applied to claims 21-32 and 37-40 above, and further in view of PENILLA (US 9,229,905).
Regarding claim 33, FAILING as modified by MORGAL teaches the vehicle rack system as applied to claim 32, and FAILING further discloses the RF data link is a bi-directional data link (¶ 0170).
FAILING fails to disclose the communications subsystem is configured to transmit, via the RF data link, a user ride profile to the electric vehicle engaged with the dock, the user ride profile comprising user ride setting that adjust operation of a motor of the electric vehicle during operation of the electric vehicle.
PENILLA discloses the communications subsystem is configured to transmit, via the RF data link (col 9, ll. 21-30: wireless communication can include cellular tower communication that couples and communicates through various networks to the Internet, to provide access to cloud processing 120. Other methods can include providing Wi-Fi communication to local Wi-Fi transmitters and receivers, which communicate with cloud processing 120. Other types of communication can include radio frequency communication, such as 802.11.ac, 802.11ad and subsequent wireless networking protocols, Bluetooth communication or combinations of Wi-Fi and Bluetooth), a user ride profile to the electric vehicle (col 4, ll. 4-9: a method for defining a user profile for a vehicle is provided. The vehicle profile is managed via a cloud processing system. The method includes receiving a plurality of settings for a user profile for the vehicle. The method includes communicating the user profile to the vehicle), the user ride profile comprising user ride setting that adjust operation of a motor of the electric vehicle during operation of the electric vehicle (col 23, ll. 8-18: the synchronization will enable users to universally transfer settings from portable devices to electronics of a vehicle. In some embodiments, the vehicle that the user wishes to drive is not his vehicle. For instance, the vehicle may be a friend's vehicle, a rented vehicle or a shared vehicle. If the user has programmed settings in his or her device, the settings that are useful for the vehicle will be transferred to the vehicle. Settings can include travel speed restrictions, car seat settings, mirror settings, remote access to home controls (e.g., lighting, garage doors, etc.), radio settings, satellite radio settings, internet settings, etc). It would be obvious to transmit the user ride profile as disclosed in PENILLA to an electric vehicle engaged with the dock as disclosed in FAILING.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the user ride profile of PENILLA into the vehicle rack system of FAILING as modified by MORGAL to produce an expected result of a vehicle rack system including user ride profiles. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 34, FAILING as modified by MORGAL and PENILLA teaches the user ride settings comprise one or more of a torque gain provided the motor, a maximum power provided by the motor, and a maximum speed provided by the motor (PENILLA, col 23, ll. 8-16).
Regarding claim 35, FAILING as modified by MORGAL and PENILLA teaches the user ride profile is editable via a user interface external to the electric vehicle and the dock (PENILLA, col 10, ll. 48-60; col 18, ll. 26-34).
Regarding claim 36, FAILING as modified by MORGAL and PENILLA teaches a top-level communications subsystem configured to communicate with a remote server to retrieve the user ride profile therefrom (PENILLA, col 19, ll. 14-28; claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 1/19/2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859