DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-11 and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-11, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. (US 20190256227, hereinafter “Balas”) and further in view of Brinkley et al. (US 20050026609, hereinafter “Brinkley”).
Regarding claim 1, Balas discloses,
A cargo handling system (system 300), comprising:
a plurality of power drive units (PDUs) (The plurality of PDUs 310, Fig. 3 and [0028]);
a system controller (MCP 312, 316 and 320) in communication with each of the plurality of PDUs ( an operator may control operation of the plurality of PDUs 314, 318, 320 controls the plurality of PDUs, Fig. 3 and [0027]-0032]);
a wireless adapter coupled to the system controller (Based on the user input, the processor 1301 communicates with the selected MCP of the selected cargo compartment via wired and/or wireless communication channel 310 (as shown in FIG. 3) [0043] and computer 1300 can include a wireless communications adapter 1323. Wireless communications adapter 1323 can include GPS, cellular, mobile, and/or other communications protocols for wireless communication, [0062]); and
a wireless cargo handling control device wirelessly coupled to the system controller via the wireless adapter and configured to control each of the plurality of PDUs (Based on the user input, the processor 1301 communicates with the selected MCP of the selected cargo compartment via wired and/or wireless communication channel 310 (as shown in FIG. 3) ….. The command unit 308 enables the operator to monitor the ULDs very closely. The operator selects the ULD 436 to track from the selection panel 424. The marker window 412 in the compartment view 406 focuses the selected ULD and the detailed view 404 shows & focuses the selected ULD [0043]-[0047]).
However, Balas does not disclose, an expansion port within the cargo compartment and communicatively coupled to the system controller, wireless adapter communicatively coupled to the system controller via the expansion port, wherein the wireless adaptor utilizes a non-standard connector to couple to the expansion port and wherein the non-standard connector is proprietary.
In the same field of endeavor, Brinkley discloses, an expansion port (Aircraft data services link 26) within the cargo compartment (i.e., within Aircraft Avionics system 10) and communicatively coupled to the system controller (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 and Paras. [0029]-[0031] describes the ADSL and associated switching interface present a defined connection point between avionics units and data communication apparatus 12, therefore constituting an expansion interface to the controller path inside the aircraft) wireless adapter communicatively coupled to the system controller via the expansion port ([0029]: In one configuration and referring to FIG. 2, ADSL 26 comprises one or more means 32, 36 for wirelessly transmitting and receiving data to and from one or more data communication apparatus 12 For example, an IEEE 802.11 transceiver 32 is coupled to an antenna 34 on the outside of the aircraft to provide communication between the aircraft and a data communication apparatus 12 on the ground), wherein the wireless adaptor utilizes a non-standard connector to couple to the expansion port and wherein the non-standard connector is proprietary (Paras. [0031]-[0034] describes the interface is specifically designed for ARINC-style avionics busses and switching among multiple avionics units, which are coupled via aircraft-specific ARINC 429 wiring and connectors, not generic consumer connectors and because it is built for ARINC 615/615A compliant data loading and two-way ARINC 429 communication, the physical connectors and electrical interface as specialized avionics connectors, supporting the “non-standard/proprietary connector” aspect for the adapter/expansion interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Balas by specifically providing an expansion port within the cargo compartment and communicatively coupled to the system controller, wireless adapter communicatively coupled to the system controller via the expansion port, wherein the wireless adaptor utilizes a non-standard connector to couple to the expansion port and wherein the non-standard connector is proprietary, as taught by Brinkely for the purpose of facilitating loading and acquisition of data relating to aircraft loadable computers [0002].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ballas and Brinkley discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Balas discloses,
wherein the wireless adapter is a first wireless adapter, wherein the first wireless adapter is coupled to the system controller via a first expansion port, and wherein the cargo handling system further comprises: a second wireless adapter, wherein the second wireless adapter is coupled to the system controller via a second expansion port and wherein the wireless cargo handling control device wirelessly is coupled to the system controller via either the first wireless adapter or the second wireless adapter to control each of the plurality of PDUs (FIG. 3 illustrates the high-level architecture of the system 300, which is a cargo handling system that interfaces a Cargo Monitoring and Maintenance Display (CMMD) unit 308 (hereafter “command unit 308”) with multiple cargo moving equipment of an existing cargo handling system. The system 300 includes the command unit 308 connected (either with hard wire or wirelessly) with a plurality of control units via a network of communication channels 310, Fig. 3 and [0027]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ballas and Brinkley discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Balas discloses,
wherein the wireless adapter utilizes at least one of Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, Thread, or infrared spectrum requiring Line-Of-Sight communication ([0064]).
Regarding claim 11, Balas discloses,
An aircraft, comprising: a cargo compartment (An aircraft can include separate compartments for stowing cargos. For example, as shown in FIG. 3, an aircraft cargo hold includes a main deck cargo compartment 302, a forward lower lobe cargo compartment 304, and an aft lower lobe cargo compartment 306, [0031]); and a cargo handling system disposed within the cargo compartment (system 300), the cargo handling system comprising:
a plurality of power drive units (PDUs) (The plurality of PDUs 310, Fig. 3 and [0028]);
a system controller (MCP 312, 316 and 320) in communication with each of the plurality of PDUs ( an operator may control operation of the plurality of PDUs 314, 318, 320 controls the plurality of PDUs, Fig. 3 and [0027]-0032]);
a wireless adapter coupled to the system controller (Based on the user input, the processor 1301 communicates with the selected MCP of the selected cargo compartment via wired and/or wireless communication channel 310 (as shown in FIG. 3) [0043] and computer 1300 can include a wireless communications adapter 1323. Wireless communications adapter 1323 can include GPS, cellular, mobile, and/or other communications protocols for wireless communication, [0062]); and
a wireless cargo handling control device wirelessly coupled to the system controller via the wireless adapter and configured to control each of the plurality of PDUs (Based on the user input, the processor 1301 communicates with the selected MCP of the selected cargo compartment via wired and/or wireless communication channel 310 (as shown in FIG. 3) ….. The command unit 308 enables the operator to monitor the ULDs very closely. The operator selects the ULD 436 to track from the selection panel 424. The marker window 412 in the compartment view 406 focuses the selected ULD and the detailed view 404 shows & focuses the selected ULD [0043]-[0047]).
However, Balas does not disclose, an expansion port within the cargo compartment and communicatively coupled to the system controller, wireless adapter communicatively coupled to the system controller via the expansion port, wherein the wireless adaptor utilizes a non-standard connector to couple to the expansion port and wherein the non-standard connector is proprietary.
In the same field of endeavor, Brinkley discloses, an expansion port (Aircraft data services link 26) within the cargo compartment (i.e., within Aircraft Avionics system 10) and communicatively coupled to the system controller (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 and Paras. [0029]-[0031] describes the ADSL and associated switching interface present a defined connection point between avionics units and data communication apparatus 12, therefore constituting an expansion interface to the controller path inside the aircraft) wireless adapter communicatively coupled to the system controller via the expansion port ([0029]: In one configuration and referring to FIG. 2, ADSL 26 comprises one or more means 32, 36 for wirelessly transmitting and receiving data to and from one or more data communication apparatus 12 For example, an IEEE 802.11 transceiver 32 is coupled to an antenna 34 on the outside of the aircraft to provide communication between the aircraft and a data communication apparatus 12 on the ground), wherein the wireless adaptor utilizes a non-standard connector to couple to the expansion port and wherein the non-standard connector is proprietary (Paras. [0031]-[0034] describes the interface is specifically designed for ARINC-style avionics busses and switching among multiple avionics units, which are coupled via aircraft-specific ARINC 429 wiring and connectors, not generic consumer connectors and because it is built for ARINC 615/615A compliant data loading and two-way ARINC 429 communication, the physical connectors and electrical interface as specialized avionics connectors, supporting the “non-standard/proprietary connector” aspect for the adapter/expansion interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Balas by specifically providing an expansion port within the cargo compartment and communicatively coupled to the system controller, wireless adapter communicatively coupled to the system controller via the expansion port, wherein the wireless adaptor utilizes a non-standard connector to couple to the expansion port and wherein the non-standard connector is proprietary, as taught by Brinkely for the purpose of facilitating loading and acquisition of data relating to aircraft loadable computers [0002].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Ballas and Brinkley discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), further Balas discloses,
wherein the wireless adapter is a first wireless adapter, wherein the first wireless adapter is coupled to the system controller via a first expansion port, and wherein the cargo handling system further comprises: a second wireless adapter, wherein the second wireless adapter is coupled to the system controller via a second expansion port and wherein the wireless cargo handling control device wirelessly is coupled to the system controller via either the first wireless adapter or the second wireless adapter to control each of the plurality of PDUs (FIG. 3 illustrates the high-level architecture of the system 300, which is a cargo handling system that interfaces a Cargo Monitoring and Maintenance Display (CMMD) unit 308 (hereafter “command unit 308”) with multiple cargo moving equipment of an existing cargo handling system. The system 300 includes the command unit 308 connected (either with hard wire or wirelessly) with a plurality of control units via a network of communication channels 310, Fig. 3 and [0027]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Ballas and Brinkley discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), further Balas discloses,
wherein the wireless adapter utilizes at least one of Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee, Thread, or infrared spectrum requiring Line-Of-Sight communication ([0064]).
Claim 6, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balas, in view of Brinkley and further in view of BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. (US 20190313247, hereinafter “Balas2”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Balas and Brinkley discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Balas and Brinkley does not explicitly disclose, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a wired partition configured to interface with the system controller and a wireless partition configured to interface with the wireless cargo handling control device.
In the same field of endeavor, Balas2 disclose, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a wired partition configured to interface with the system controller and a wireless partition configured to interface with the wireless cargo handling control device (Portable electronic device 14, in some examples, is a commercially available off-the-shelf (COTS), military commercial off-the-shelf (Mil-COTS), or other portable electronic device configured to communicate via wired connection, such as via a Universal Serial Bus (USB), [0020]-[0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Balas and Brinkley by specifically providing wherein the wireless adapter comprises a wired partition configured to interface with the system controller and a wireless partition configured to interface with the wireless cargo handling control device, as taught by Balas2 for the purpose of determining a location of the portable wireless communications adapter relative to an interior of an aircraft based on WAIC communications received at the wireless receiver and selectively enable and disable the wireless transmitter based on the determined location (see abstract).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Balas and Brinkley discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however the combination of Balas and Brinkley does not explicitly disclose, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a wired partition configured to interface with the system controller and a wireless partition configured to interface with the wireless cargo handling control device.
In the same field of endeavor, Balas2 disclose, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a wired partition configured to interface with the system controller and a wireless partition configured to interface with the wireless cargo handling control device (Portable electronic device 14, in some examples, is a commercially available off-the-shelf (COTS), military commercial off-the-shelf (Mil-COTS), or other portable electronic device configured to communicate via wired connection, such as via a Universal Serial Bus (USB), [0020]-[0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Balas and Brinkley by specifically providing wherein the wireless adapter comprises a wired partition configured to interface with the system controller and a wireless partition configured to interface with the wireless cargo handling control device, as taught by Balas2 for the purpose of determining a location of the portable wireless communications adapter relative to an interior of an aircraft based on WAIC communications received at the wireless receiver and selectively enable and disable the wireless transmitter based on the determined location (see abstract).
Claim 4, 5, 7, 8, 14, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balas, in view of Brinkley and further in view of Ring et al. (US 20230168337, hereinafter “Ring”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Balas and Brinkley discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Balas and Brinkley does not explicitly disclose, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a set of wireless connection indicators configured to indicate wireless connection status and wireless connection strength.
In the same field of endeavor, Ring discloses, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a set of wireless connection indicators configured to indicate wireless connection status and wireless connection strength (each remote control panel 524 may be operatively connected with a particular leaky feeder antenna of the leaky feeder antenna grid 522. Moreover, each remote control panel 524 may compute a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value for a signal received from the mobile cargo controller 580/ULD 570 and output the same to an object location determination module 530 of the cargo handling system 520 via an appropriate communication link 528, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Balas and Brinkley by specifically providing wherein the wireless adapter comprises a set of wireless connection indicators configured to indicate wireless connection status and wireless connection strength, as taught by Ring for the purpose of providing a cargo handling system which can utilize a leaky feeder antenna grid to determine the location of a ULD, a mobile cargo controller, or both within a cargo compartment (see abstract).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Balas and Brinkley discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Balas and Brinkley does not explicitly disclose, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a set of system status indicators that identify at least one of system connectivity, built-in test equipment information, or system errors.
In the same field of endeavor, Ring discloses, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a set of system status indicators that identify at least one of system connectivity, built-in test equipment information, or system errors (each remote control panel 524 may be operatively connected with a particular leaky feeder antenna of the leaky feeder antenna grid 522. Moreover, each remote control panel 524 may compute a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value for a signal received from the mobile cargo controller 580/ULD 570 and output the same to an object location determination module 530 of the cargo handling system 520 via an appropriate communication link 528, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Balas and Brinkley Balas by specifically providing wherein the wireless adapter comprises a set of system status indicators that identify at least one of system connectivity, built-in test equipment information, or system errors, as taught by Ring for the purpose of providing a cargo handling system which can utilize a leaky feeder antenna grid to determine the location of a ULD, a mobile cargo controller, or both within a cargo compartment (see abstract).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Balas and Brinkley discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Balas and Brinkley does not explicitly disclose, wherein the wireless adapter comprises near field communication (NFC) circuitry configured to pass and receive information with the wireless cargo handling control device.
In the same field of endeavor, Balas2 disclose, wherein the wireless adapter comprises near field communication (NFC) circuitry configured to pass and receive information with the wireless cargo handling control device (the PDU 210 may also include a radio frequency identification device or RFID device 246, or similar device, configured to store, transmit or receive information or data—e.g., operational status or location data, [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Balas and Brinkley by specifically providing wherein the wireless adapter comprises near field communication (NFC) circuitry configured to pass and receive information with the wireless cargo handling control device, as taught by Balas2 for the purpose of determining a location of the portable wireless communications adapter relative to an interior of an aircraft based on WAIC communications received at the wireless receiver and selectively enable and disable the wireless transmitter based on the determined location (see abstract).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Balas and Brinkley discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Balas and Brinkley does not explicitly disclose, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a display configured to display at least one of passcodes, network identifiers, web URLs, system connectivity, built-in test equipment information, or system errors.
In the same field of endeavor, Ring discloses, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a display configured to display at least one of passcodes, network identifiers, web URLs, system connectivity, built-in test equipment information, or system errors (each remote control panel 524 may be operatively connected with a particular leaky feeder antenna of the leaky feeder antenna grid 522. Moreover, each remote control panel 524 may compute a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value for a signal received from the mobile cargo controller 580/ULD 570 and output the same to an object location determination module 530 of the cargo handling system 520 via an appropriate communication link 528, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Balas and Brinkley by specifically providing wherein the wireless adapter comprises a display configured to display at least one of passcodes, network identifiers, web URLs, system connectivity, built-in test equipment information, or system errors, as taught by Ring for the purpose of providing a cargo handling system which can utilize a leaky feeder antenna grid to determine the location of a ULD, a mobile cargo controller, or both within a cargo compartment (see abstract).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Balas and Brinkley discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however the combination of Balas and Brinkley does not explicitly disclose, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a set of wireless connection indicators configured to indicate wireless connection status and wireless connection strength.
In the same field of endeavor, Ring discloses, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a set of wireless connection indicators configured to indicate wireless connection status and wireless connection strength (each remote control panel 524 may be operatively connected with a particular leaky feeder antenna of the leaky feeder antenna grid 522. Moreover, each remote control panel 524 may compute a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value for a signal received from the mobile cargo controller 580/ULD 570 and output the same to an object location determination module 530 of the cargo handling system 520 via an appropriate communication link 528, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Balas and Brinkley by specifically providing wherein the wireless adapter comprises a set of wireless connection indicators configured to indicate wireless connection status and wireless connection strength, as taught by Ring for the purpose of providing a cargo handling system which can utilize a leaky feeder antenna grid to determine the location of a ULD, a mobile cargo controller, or both within a cargo compartment (see abstract).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Balas and Brinkley discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however the combination of Balas and Brinkley does not explicitly disclose, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a set of system status indicators that identify at least one of system connectivity, built-in test equipment information, or system errors.
In the same field of endeavor, Ring discloses, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a set of system status indicators that identify at least one of system connectivity, built-in test equipment information, or system errors (each remote control panel 524 may be operatively connected with a particular leaky feeder antenna of the leaky feeder antenna grid 522. Moreover, each remote control panel 524 may compute a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value for a signal received from the mobile cargo controller 580/ULD 570 and output the same to an object location determination module 530 of the cargo handling system 520 via an appropriate communication link 528, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Balas and Brinkley by specifically providing wherein the wireless adapter comprises a set of system status indicators that identify at least one of system connectivity, built-in test equipment information, or system errors, as taught by Ring for the purpose of providing a cargo handling system which can utilize a leaky feeder antenna grid to determine the location of a ULD, a mobile cargo controller, or both within a cargo compartment (see abstract).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Balas and Brinkley discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however the combination of Balas and Brinkley does not explicitly disclose, wherein the wireless adapter comprises near field communication (NFC) circuitry configured to pass and receive information with the wireless cargo handling control device.
In the same field of endeavor, Balas2 disclose, wherein the wireless adapter comprises near field communication (NFC) circuitry configured to pass and receive information with the wireless cargo handling control device (the PDU 210 may also include a radio frequency identification device or RFID device 246, or similar device, configured to store, transmit or receive information or data—e.g., operational status or location data, [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Balas and Brinkley by specifically providing wherein the wireless adapter comprises near field communication (NFC) circuitry configured to pass and receive information with the wireless cargo handling control device, as taught by Balas2 for the purpose of determining a location of the portable wireless communications adapter relative to an interior of an aircraft based on WAIC communications received at the wireless receiver and selectively enable and disable the wireless transmitter based on the determined location (see abstract).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Balas and Brinkley discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however the combination of Balas and Brinkley does not explicitly disclose, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a display configured to display at least one of passcodes, network identifiers, web URLs, system connectivity, built-in test equipment information, or system errors.
In the same field of endeavor, Ring discloses, wherein the wireless adapter comprises a display configured to display at least one of passcodes, network identifiers, web URLs, system connectivity, built-in test equipment information, or system errors (each remote control panel 524 may be operatively connected with a particular leaky feeder antenna of the leaky feeder antenna grid 522. Moreover, each remote control panel 524 may compute a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) value for a signal received from the mobile cargo controller 580/ULD 570 and output the same to an object location determination module 530 of the cargo handling system 520 via an appropriate communication link 528, [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Balas and Brinkley by specifically providing wherein the wireless adapter comprises a display configured to display at least one of passcodes, network identifiers, web URLs, system connectivity, built-in test equipment information, or system errors, as taught by Ring for the purpose of providing a cargo handling system which can utilize a leaky feeder antenna grid to determine the location of a ULD, a mobile cargo controller, or both within a cargo compartment (see abstract).
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20240265340: A gateway node detects loading of a unit load device (ULD) into a vehicle by fusing sensed information. The gateway node, physically coupled to a loading platform of a loader, determines its location and a vehicle identifier (ID) of the vehicle based on the location. The gateway node detects an increase in elevation of the loading platform and receives a movement message containing a unique ID of a tape node attached to the ULD.
US 20230068486: A dynamically controlled cargo loading system for an aircraft includes electrical cargo conveying devices for conveying cargo items on a cargo loading deck; speed sensors, which are configured to capture current conveying speeds of the cargo conveying devices and/or the conveyed cargo items; electrical measuring devices, which are configured to capture current electrical parameters of the cargo conveying devices.
US 20210110122: Systems and methods monitor loading of cargo onto a transport vehicle to avoid incorrect cargo loading incidents. A wireless monitoring device positioned near an access port of a cargo hold of the transport vehicle receives a tracking identifier of a wireless tracking tag attached to a logistic container containing the cargo as the logistic container is conveyed into the cargo hold.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641