DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
2. This action is in response to the amendment filed on 6/8/2026. Claims 1, 13, and 22 have been amended. Claim 23 has been added. Claims 1-6, 8-18, and 20-23 remain rejected in the application.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, and similarly claims 13 and 22, filed on 6/8/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 regarding that the prior art does not teach the limitation(s): “receive, via a user interface, a specified plurality, wherein the specified plurality refers to input user faces to detect within a recorded video frame” and “detect the specified plurality of largest input user faces in the recorded video frame, wherein the specified plurality of the largest input user faces in the recorded video frame includes a first input user face and a second input user face” have been fully considered, but are moot because of new grounds for rejection. Claim 1, and similarly claims 13 and 22, are now disclosed by Ganong, Helminger, Jiang, and Miao.
4. Regarding arguments with respect to claims 2-6, 8-12, 14-18, and 20-21, they are dependent on independent claims 1 and 13 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than independent claim 1, and similarly claims 13 and 22. The limitations in those claims, in conjunction with combination, has previously been established and explained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-6, 8-18, 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganong et al. (US-2018/0046855-A1, hereinafter "Ganong") in view of Helminger et al. (US-11568524-B2, hereinafter "Helminger"), further in view of Jiang et al. (US-2024/0282344-A1, hereinafter "Jiang"), and further in view of Miao et al. (US-2021/0201544-A1, hereinafter "Miao").
7. As per claim 1, Ganong discloses: A system, comprising:
a memory; and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to:
detect a first input user face and a second input user face in a recorded video frame;
[[receive, via a user interface, a specified plurality, wherein the specified plurality refers to]] input user faces to detect within a recorded video frame; (See Ganong, Claims 1, 5, and page 2, ¶ [0020] below.)
detect [[the specified plurality of largest]] input user faces in the recorded video frame, [[wherein the specified plurality of the largest]] input user faces in the recorded video frame includes a first input user face and a second input user face; (Ganong, Claims 1, 5, “1. A method performed by at least one computer, the method comprising: detecting at least one face in at least one digital image; ... 5. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one digital image is from a frame of a video having a plurality of frames.” and page 2, ¶ [0020], “In a further aspect of the present invention, a system for recognizing one or more faces in a digital image is provided, the system characterized by: (a) one or more face coordinates corresponding to one or more candidate regions for one or more faces ...”)
associate a first face identifier (ID) with the first input user face;
store a first mapping between the first face ID and a first target face; and (Ganong, page 7, ¶ [0103], “The computer program may perform a face detection technique to detect the one or more faces in the image, which may result in the generation of one or more face signatures, each face signature corresponding to one of the faces. The computer program may then access a database, wherein the database links face signatures with a list of known persons, each known person being associated with one or more face signatures.” and page 15, ¶ [0209], “An identification of a person may be associated with each stored face portrait in a database stored at or linked to one or more computers.”)
obtain a set of user facial features corresponding to the first input user face; (Ganong, page 7, ¶ [0103], “The computer program may perform a face detection technique to detect the one or more faces in the image, which may result in the generation of one or more face signatures, each face signature corresponding to one of the faces.” and page 18, ¶ [0229], “Another variation on this invention would be to look for people with similar facial features taken separately from the entire face—such as mouth, nose, and eyes.”)
use at least the recorded video frame and the set of user facial features to generate a cropped image comprising the first input user face (Ganong, Claim 5, “5. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one digital image is from a frame of a video having a plurality of frames.” and page 3, ¶ [0029], “The present invention, in a further aspect thereof, enables capturing portraits of people whose faces are located in an image. ... The computer program may be configured to adjust the size of the face region in order to capture and create a portrait (or thumbnail) of the person.” and page 15, ¶ [0207], “The record of the portrait/thumbnail image 23d may be recorded in the database as illustrated in FIG. 13 for future use.”) [[and a set of alignment information that describes at least a rotation of the first input user face and a translation of the first input user face in the cropped image relative to the recorded video frame;]]
[[use a target face swap model associated with the first target face and the cropped image to generate a first representation of the first target face that matches a facial expression of the first input user face in the cropped image;]]
[[transform the first representation of the first target face using the set of alignment information to match the at least the rotation of the first input user face and the translation of the first input user face in the recorded video frame; and]]
overlay, using the first mapping, a [[transformed]] first representation of the first target face over the first input user face in the recorded video frame. (Ganong, Fig. 25 (see below); page 16, ¶ [0214], “FIG. 25 illustrates using a selected image to overlay on a digital image photo to cover the face of a subject, also known as face substitution. An application may be to hide negative memories.” and page 16, ¶ [0215], “FIG. 34 illustrates a workflow for face substitution. When a user wants to hide negative memories one aspect of the present invention may matche faces in the face database 34a to be hidden in the photos from the photo database 34d with an image that is selected or provided by a user ...” and page 16, ¶ [0216], “Optionally, the masking may comprise overlaying a selected image over the area co-ordinate corresponding to the location of the at least one face to be suppressed.” and Claim 5, “5. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one digital image is from a frame of a video having a plurality of frames.”)
8. Ganong doesn't explicitly disclose but Helminger discloses: [[use at least the recorded video frame and the set of user facial features to generate a cropped image comprising the first input user face]] and a set of alignment information that describes at least a rotation of the first input user face and a translation of the first input user face in the cropped image relative to the recorded video frame; (Helminger, column 4, lines 6-30, “As discussed in greater detail below, the encoder 152 takes as input a two-dimensional (2D) image that includes a face and has been normalized. For example, the image could be a high-definition (HD) resolution image, such as a one megapixel image, including a face that has been normalized. ... In embodiments, an image can be normalized in any technically-feasible manner, including using face alignment techniques to compute an affine transformation that rotates, scales, translates, etc. the image, and/or cropping the image. ... For example, in some embodiments, normalizing an image includes detecting a largest face in the image and determining the locations of facial landmarks using a modified deep alignment network (DAN). In such cases, the image is then rotated and scaled so that the eyes of the largest face lie on a predefined horizontal line and have a predefined ocular distance. The image can then be cropped and resized to, e.g., 1024×1024 pixels.”
and column 2, lines 8-12, “At least one technical advantage of the disclosed techniques relative to the prior art is that the disclosed techniques can be effectively utilized to change or modify facial identities in high-resolution (e.g., megapixel) images or frames of a video.”)
use a target face swap model associated with the first target face and the cropped image to generate a first representation of the first target face that matches a facial expression of the first input user face in the cropped image; (Helminger, column 3, lines 55-58, “The model trainer 116 is configured to train machine learning models, including a machine learning (ML) model 150 that can be used to change the identities of faces in images.” and column 9, lines 35-40, “Although the facial identities in the images 400, 402, 404, 406, 408, 410, and 412 are different, the performance in the images 400 and 412, including the smiling facial expression and facial pose, has been preserved by the ML model 210 when generating the images 402, 404, 406, 408, and 410 that include interpolated facial identities.” and column 4, lines 14-21, “As a result, facial features such as the eyes, nose, etc. are at similar locations within normalized images that are input into the encoder 152, which can improve training of the ML model 150. In embodiments, an image can be normalized in any technically-feasible manner, including using face alignment techniques to compute an affine transformation that rotates, scales, translates, etc. the image, and/or cropping the image.” and column 4, lines 17-34, “In embodiments, an image can be normalized in any technically-feasible manner, including using face alignment techniques to compute an affine transformation that rotates, scales, translates, etc. the image, and/or cropping the image. … Given a normalized image that includes a face, the encoder 152 outputs an encoded representation of the normalized image, which is also referred to herein as a “latent representation” of the normalized image.”)
transform the first representation of the first target face using the set of alignment information to match the at least the rotation of the first input user face and the translation of the first input user face in the recorded video frame; and
[[overlay, using the first mapping, a]] transformed [[first representation of the first target face over the first input user face in the recorded video frame.]] (Helminger, column 4, lines 6-34, “As discussed in greater detail below, the encoder 152 takes as input a two-dimensional (2D) image that includes a face and has been normalized. For example, the image could be a high-definition (HD) resolution image, such as a one megapixel image, including a face that has been normalized. ... In embodiments, an image can be normalized in any technically-feasible manner, including using face alignment techniques to compute an affine transformation that rotates, scales, translates, etc. the image, and/or cropping the image. ... For example, in some embodiments, normalizing an image includes detecting a largest face in the image and determining the locations of facial landmarks using a modified deep alignment network (DAN). In such cases, the image is then rotated and scaled so that the eyes of the largest face lie on a predefined horizontal line and have a predefined ocular distance. The image can then be cropped and resized to, e.g., 1024×1024 pixels. Given a normalized image that includes a face, the encoder 152 outputs an encoded representation of the normalized image, which is also referred to herein as a “latent representation” of the normalized image.” and column 6, line 64-column 7, line 6, “To change the identity of a face appearing in the input image 200 to one of the facial identities 220 or 230, a user can select to use AdaIN coefficients output by one of the sets of dense layers 222 or 232, respectively, to control convolution layers in levels 212 2 to 212 n of the decoder 154. As described, AdaIN coefficients are coefficients that can be used to perform multiplications and/or additions on activations of convolution layers, which is similar to performing an affine transformation and can cause the decoder 154 to generate images including different facial identities.” and column 2, lines 8-12, “At least one technical advantage of the disclosed techniques relative to the prior art is that the disclosed techniques can be effectively utilized to change or modify facial identities in high-resolution (e.g., megapixel) images or frames of a video.”)
9. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ganong to include the disclosure of a set of alignment information that describes at least a rotation of the first input user face and a translation of the first input user face in the cropped image relative to the recorded video frame; use a target face swap model associated with the first target face and the cropped image to generate a first representation of the first target face that matches a facial expression of the first input user face in the cropped image; transform the first representation of the first target face using the set of alignment information to match the at least the rotation of the first input user face and the translation of the first input user face in the recorded video frame; and overlay, using the first mapping, a transformed first representation of the first target face over the first input user face in the recorded video frame, of Helminger. The motivation for this modification could have been to ensure that when an image and a target swap model associated with the face is ready to be overlaid, that the final overlaid facial representation is properly oriented, fits the target face properly, and matches the target face expression. By doing these steps, this helps further the illusion that the person’s face is different than what it actually is.
10. Ganong in view of Helminger doesn't explicitly disclose but Jiang discloses: receive, via a user interface, a specified plurality, wherein the specified plurality refers to [[input user faces to detect within a recorded video frame;]] (Jiang, Fig. 2; [0015], “FIG. 2 illustrates an example GUI 50 including face selection tool 52, which is displayed during playback of the video on a client computing device 14 of the computing system 10 illustrated in FIG. 1 . As shown at 102 of FIG. 2 , an icon 112 for the face masking tool is displayed on the GUI 50 during playback, and a user who wishes to mask one or more faces in the video 32 may click on the icon. As shown at 104, when the user clicks on the icon 112, the face selection tool 52 is displayed on the GUI 50. The face selection tool 52 may display the one or more recognized faces 38 (FACE 1, FACE 2, and FACE 3) and enables the user to select at least one recognized face 38 to be masked. As shown at 106, the at least one recognized face 38 may be selected by clicking on the at least one or more of faces of FACE 1, FACE 2, and FACE 3. Alternatively, a user may check an “apply to all faces” option to mask all recognized faces 38. In addition, a masking type may be selected by the user by choosing from a masking menu 116, which may be a pop-up menu, drop down menu, etc. In the depicted example, FACE 1 and FACE 3 are selected to be masked, and blurring is selected as the masking type. While the face selection tool 52 is on, the GUI 50 may display a preview of the video with the applied selections for the user to preview the masking effects. As depicted in the example of 108, once the masking effects are applied and the face selection tool 52 is off, the selected recognized faces 1 and 3 are masked via blurring in the video.”
11. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ganong in view of Helminger to include the disclosure of allowing a specified plurality of faces to be chosen via a user interface, of Jiang. The motivation for this modification could have been to allow a user to easily choose how many faces within a video frame are targeted for a face swap through the user interface. This gives a user ultimate control over the total swapped faces and also could provide a performance benefit by limiting the overall swapped faces if the detected faces exceed the specified amount.
12. Ganong in view of Helminger, and further in view of Jiang doesn't explicitly disclose but Miao discloses: [[detect]] the specified plurality of largest [[input user faces in the recorded video frame,]] wherein the specified plurality of the largest [[input user faces in the recorded video frame includes a first input user face and a second input user face;]] (Miao, [0018], “In one embodiment, if multiple first face bounding boxes are detected from the destination image, a first maximum face bounding box with a largest area is selected from the multiple first face bounding boxes, and the first head image is obtained according to the first maximum face bounding box.” and [0015], “In one embodiment, segmenting the first head image from the destination image may include: detecting a first face bounding box in the destination image; and obtaining the first head image according to the first face bounding box.” and [0034], “In one embodiment, if the source image includes multiple second face bounding boxes, a second maximum face bounding boxes with a largest area is selected from the multiple second face bounding boxes, and the second head image is obtained according to the second maximum face bounding box.” and [0031], “In one embodiment, segmenting the second head image from the source image may include: detecting a second face bounding box in the source image; and obtaining the second head image according to the second face bounding box.”)
13. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ganong in view of Helminger, and further in view of Jiang to include the disclosure of detecting a specified plurality of the largest input user faces which includes both a first and second input user face, of Miao. The motivation for this modification could have been to require the face swap application to focus on the “largest” and most prominent faces within a recorded video frame. This then requires the application to perform face swapping on the largest, most visible faces in the video and prevents face swapping for non-prominent faces in the background.
14. As per claim 2, Ganong in view of Helminger, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein to associate the first face ID with the first input user face comprises to:
obtain previously generated facial signatures associated with known faces; (Ganong, page 7, ¶ [0103], “The computer program may then access a database, wherein the database links face signatures with a list of known persons, each known person being associated with one or more face signatures.”)
generate new facial signatures corresponding to the first input user face and the second input user face; (Ganong, page 7, ¶ [0103], “The computer program may perform a face detection technique to detect the one or more faces in the image, which may result in the generation of one or more face signatures, each face signature corresponding to one of the faces.”)
compare the previously generated facial signatures to the new facial signatures; and (Ganong, page 18, ¶ [0230], “The at least one computer may receive at least one unidentified portrait and compare a face signature of the at least one unidentified portrait against face signatures of portraits of identified persons known to the user.”)
associate the first input user face with the first face ID that corresponds to a previously generated facial signature that matches a new facial signature associated with the first input user face. (Ganong, page 14, ¶ [0196]-[0197], “Finally, looping (161) may be applied to match the unknown face with a known person. Each face signature (represented as an array of numbers) may be mathematically compared to any other face signature using linear or non-linear classification logic to determine a distance value (163). ... To compare a face to all of the faces associated with a known person, all of the individual one-to-one comparisons may be made, and then either all of the results may be used in the next step or a set of best matches as determined by comparison to some threshold (165) may be used.”)
15. As per claim 3, Ganong in view of Helminger, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao discloses: The system of claim 2, wherein the previously generated facial signature comprises a first previously generated facial signature, the new facial signature comprises a first new facial signature, and wherein the processor is further configured to:
associate the second input user face with a second face ID that corresponds to a second previously generated facial signature that matches a second new facial signature associated with the second input user face. (Ganong, page 7, ¶ [0103], “The computer program may perform a face detection technique to detect the one or more faces in the image, which may result in the generation of one or more face signatures, each face signature corresponding to one of the faces. The computer program may then access a database, wherein the database links face signatures with a list of known persons, each known person being associated with one or more face signatures. Each detected face signature may be provided to the individual as associated to the corresponding known person, or where the face signature is not associated with any known person, that information can be provided by the individual.” and page 14, ¶ [0196]-[0197], “Finally, looping (161) may be applied to match the unknown face with a known person. Each face signature (represented as an array of numbers) may be mathematically compared to any other face signature using linear or non-linear classification logic to determine a distance value (163). ... To compare a face to all of the faces associated with a known person, all of the individual one-to-one comparisons may be made, and then either all of the results may be used in the next step or a set of best matches as determined by comparison to some threshold (165) may be used.”)
16. As per claim 4, Ganong in view of Helminger, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein to associate the first face ID with the first input user face comprises to:
determine that a set of reference images is available; (Ganong, page 4, ¶ [0039], “In accordance with an aspect of the present invention, there is provided a method performed by at least one computer, the at least one computer comprising or interfacing with a database, the database comprising a plurality of portraits, each portrait associated with an identified person shown in the respective portrait ...”)
determine that the cropped image of the first input user face from the recorded video frame matches a first reference image; and (Ganong, page 3, ¶ [0029], “The present invention, in a further aspect thereof, enables capturing portraits of people whose faces are located in an image. ... The computer program may be configured to adjust the size of the face region in order to capture and create a portrait (or thumbnail) of the person.” and page 15, ¶ [0207], “The record of the portrait/thumbnail image 23d may be recorded in the database as illustrated in FIG. 13 for future use.” and page 14, ¶ [0196]-[0197], “Finally, looping (161) may be applied to match the unknown face with a known person. Each face signature (represented as an array of numbers) may be mathematically compared to any other face signature using linear or non-linear classification logic to determine a distance value (163). ... To compare a face to all of the faces associated with a known person, all of the individual one-to-one comparisons may be made, and then either all of the results may be used in the next step or a set of best matches as determined by comparison to some threshold (165) may be used.” and Claim 5, “5. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one digital image is from a frame of a video having a plurality of frames.”)
in response to the determination that the cropped image of the first input user face from the recorded video frame matches the first reference image, associate the first face ID of the first reference image with the first input user face. (Ganong, page 7, ¶ [0103], “The computer program may then access a database, wherein the database links face signatures with a list of known persons, each known person being associated with one or more face signatures. Each detected face signature may be provided to the individual as associated to the corresponding known person, or where the face signature is not associated with any known person, that information can be provided by the individual. The individual may be provided a means to confirm the association between a face signature and a known person.” and Claim 5, “5. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one digital image is from a frame of a video having a plurality of frames.”)
17. As per claim 5, Ganong in view of Helminger, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao discloses: The system of claim 4, wherein the cropped image comprises a first cropped image, and wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine that a second cropped image of the second input user face from the recorded video frame matches a second reference image; and (Ganong, page 3, ¶ [0029], “The present invention, in a further aspect thereof, enables capturing portraits of people whose faces are located in an image. ... The computer program may be configured to adjust the size of the face region in order to capture and create a portrait (or thumbnail) of the person.” and page 15, ¶ [0207], “The record of the portrait/thumbnail image 23d may be recorded in the database as illustrated in FIG. 13 for future use.” and page 14, ¶ [0196]-[0197], “Finally, looping (161) may be applied to match the unknown face with a known person. Each face signature (represented as an array of numbers) may be mathematically compared to any other face signature using linear or non-linear classification logic to determine a distance value (163). ... To compare a face to all of the faces associated with a known person, all of the individual one-to-one comparisons may be made, and then either all of the results may be used in the next step or a set of best matches as determined by comparison to some threshold (165) may be used.” and Claim 5, “5. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one digital image is from a frame of a video having a plurality of frames.”)
in response to the determination that the second cropped image of the second input user face from the recorded video frame matches the second reference image, associate a second face ID of the second reference image with the second input user face. (Ganong, page 7, ¶ [0103], “The computer program may then access a database, wherein the database links face signatures with a list of known persons, each known person being associated with one or more face signatures. Each detected face signature may be provided to the individual as associated to the corresponding known person, or where the face signature is not associated with any known person, that information can be provided by the individual. The individual may be provided a means to confirm the association between a face signature and a known person.” and Claim 5, “5. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one digital image is from a frame of a video having a plurality of frames.”)
18. As per claim 6, Ganong in view of Helminger, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein the cropped image comprises the first input user face comprises a first cropped image of the first input user face, (Helminger, column 4, lines 6-21, “As discussed in greater detail below, the encoder 152 takes as input a two-dimensional (2D) image that includes a face and has been normalized. For example, the image could be a high-definition (HD) resolution image, such as a one megapixel image, including a face that has been normalized. ... In embodiments, an image can be normalized in any technically-feasible manner, including using face alignment techniques to compute an affine transformation that rotates, scales, translates, etc. the image, and/or cropping the image.”) and wherein to associate the first face ID with the first input user face comprises to:
receive a first operator submission of the first face ID with the first input user face;
receive a second operator submission of a second face ID with the second input user face; (Ganong, page 7, ¶ [0103], “The present invention, in another aspect thereof, provides a computer program operable to enable each of the individuals to interface with the networked computer architecture herein provided for sharing information including images. The computer program enables the individuals to upload images including images having depictions of the faces of one or more persons. The computer program may perform a face detection technique to detect the one or more faces in the image, which may result in the generation of one or more face signatures, each face signature corresponding to one of the faces.”)
store a first cropped image of the first input user face as a first reference image; and
store a second cropped image of the second input user face as a second reference image. (Ganong, page 3, ¶ [0029], “The present invention, in a further aspect thereof, enables capturing portraits of people whose faces are located in an image. ... The computer program may be configured to adjust the size of the face region in order to capture and create a portrait (or thumbnail) of the person.” and page 15, ¶ [0207], “The record of the portrait/thumbnail image 23d may be recorded in the database as illustrated in FIG. 13 for future use.”)
19. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of claim 1 of Ganong, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao to include the disclosure that the cropped image comprises a first cropped image of the first input user face, of Helminger. The motivation for this modification could have been to ensure a proper cropped image related to the first input face is ready to be overlaid on top of the user face. The cropped image ensures that is of the proper dimensions so that it is a good fit over the user face.
20. As per claim 8, Ganong in view of Helminger, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao discloses: The system of claim 6, wherein the recorded video frame comprises a first recorded video frame, and wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive a second recorded video frame; (Ganong, Claim 5, “5. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one digital image is from a frame of a video having a plurality of frames.”)
determine a third cropped image of a third input user face from the second recorded video frame;
determine a fourth cropped image of a fourth input user face from the second recorded video frame; (Ganong, page 3, ¶ [0029], “The present invention, in a further aspect thereof, enables capturing portraits of people whose faces are located in an image. ... The computer program may be configured to adjust the size of the face region in order to capture and create a portrait (or thumbnail) of the person.” and page 15, ¶ [0207], “The record of the portrait/thumbnail image 23d may be recorded in the database as illustrated in FIG. 13 for future use.” and Claim 5, “5. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one digital image is from a frame of a video having a plurality of frames.”)
in response to a determination that the third cropped image matches the first reference image, associate the third input user face with the first face ID; and
in response to a determination that the fourth cropped image matches the second reference image, associate the fourth input user face with the second face ID. (Ganong, page 14, ¶ [0196]-[0197], “Finally, looping (161) may be applied to match the unknown face with a known person. Each face signature (represented as an array of numbers) may be mathematically compared to any other face signature using linear or non-linear classification logic to determine a distance value (163). ... To compare a face to all of the faces associated with a known person, all of the individual one-to-one comparisons may be made, and then either all of the results may be used in the next step or a set of best matches as determined by comparison to some threshold (165) may be used.” and Claim 5, “5. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one digital image is from a frame of a video having a plurality of frames.” and page 7, ¶ [0103], “The computer program may then access a database, wherein the database links face signatures with a list of known persons, each known person being associated with one or more face signatures. Each detected face signature may be provided to the individual as associated to the corresponding known person, or where the face signature is not associated with any known person, that information can be provided by the individual. The individual may be provided a means to confirm the association between a face signature and a known person.”)
21. As per claim 9, Ganong in view of Helminger, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein to use the target face swap model associated with the first target face to generate the first representation of the first target face comprises to encode at least a portion of the cropped image into a plurality of user extrinsic features; and
use the target face swap model and the plurality of user extrinsic features to generate the first representation of the first target face. (Helminger, column 3, lines 55-58, “The model trainer 116 is configured to train machine learning models, including a machine learning (ML) model 150 that can be used to change the identities of faces in images.” and column 4, lines 14-21, “As a result, facial features such as the eyes, nose, etc. are at similar locations within normalized images that are input into the encoder 152, which can improve training of the ML model 150. In embodiments, an image can be normalized in any technically-feasible manner, including using face alignment techniques to compute an affine transformation that rotates, scales, translates, etc. the image, and/or cropping the image.” and column 4, lines 31-34, “Given a normalized image that includes a face, the encoder 152 outputs an encoded representation of the normalized image, which is also referred to herein as a “latent representation” of the normalized image.”)
22. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of claim 1 of Ganong, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao to include the disclosure of using target face swap models to encode a plurality of extrinsic features from target faces and generate representations of those faces, of Helminger. The motivation for this modification could have been to allow the encoded target face swap models to be transformed into "latent representation" for use with machine learning models, such as for training. In addition, "latent representation" provides a more optimally compressed version of encoded target face swap models.
23. As per claim 10, Ganong in view of Helminger, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao discloses: The system of claim 9, wherein the set of user facial features comprises a first set of user facial features, wherein the cropped image comprises a first cropped image, wherein the target face swap model comprises a first target face swap model, and wherein the plurality of user extrinsic features comprises a first plurality of user extrinsic features, and wherein the processor is further configured to:
obtain a second set of user facial features corresponding to the second input user face; (Ganong, page 7, ¶ [0103], “The computer program may perform a face detection technique to detect the one or more faces in the image, which may result in the generation of one or more face signatures, each face signature corresponding to one of the faces.” and page 18, ¶ [0229], “Another variation on this invention would be to look for people with similar facial features taken separately from the entire face—such as mouth, nose, and eyes.”)
use at least the recorded video frame and the second set of user facial features to generate a second cropped image comprising the second input user face; (Ganong, Claim 5, “5. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one digital image is from a frame of a video having a plurality of frames.” and page 3, ¶ [0029], “The present invention, in a further aspect thereof, enables capturing portraits of people whose faces are located in an image. ... The computer program may be configured to adjust the size of the face region in order to capture and create a portrait (or thumbnail) of the person.” and page 15, ¶ [0207], “The record of the portrait/thumbnail image 23d may be recorded in the database as illustrated in FIG. 13 for future use.”)
use a second target face swap model associated with a second target face to encode at least a portion of the second cropped image into a second plurality of user extrinsic features; and
use the second target face swap model and the second plurality of user extrinsic features to generate a second representation of the second target face. (Helminger, column 3, lines 55-58, “The model trainer 116 is configured to train machine learning models, including a machine learning (ML) model 150 that can be used to change the identities of faces in images.” and column 4, lines 14-21, “As a result, facial features such as the eyes, nose, etc. are at similar locations within normalized images that are input into the encoder 152, which can improve training of the ML model 150. In embodiments, an image can be normalized in any technically-feasible manner, including using face alignment techniques to compute an affine transformation that rotates, scales, translates, etc. the image, and/or cropping the image.” and column 4, lines 31-34, “Given a normalized image that includes a face, the encoder 152 outputs an encoded representation of the normalized image, which is also referred to herein as a “latent representation” of the normalized image.” and column 12, lines 50-54, “Although described with respect to a single image, the face changing application 146 can also receive a video including multiple frames that include faces and process each frame according to steps of the method 700.”)
24. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of claim 9 of Ganong, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao to include the disclosure of using target face swap models to encode a plurality of extrinsic features from target faces and generate representations of those faces, of Helminger. The motivation for this modification could have been to allow the encoded target face swap models to be transformed into "latent representation" for use with machine learning models, such as for training. In addition, "latent representation" provides a more optimally compressed version of encoded target face swap models.
25. As per claim 11, Ganong in view of Helminger, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao discloses: The system of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to overlay the second representation of the second target face on the recorded video frame. (Ganong, page 16, ¶ [0214], “FIG. 25 illustrates using a selected image to overlay on a digital image photo to cover the face of a subject, also known as face substitution. An application may be to hide negative memories.” and page 16, ¶ [0215], “FIG. 34 illustrates a workflow for face substitution. When a user wants to hide negative memories one aspect of the present invention may matche faces in the face database 34a to be hidden in the photos from the photo database 34d with an image that is selected or provided by a user which is stored in the negative memory image database 34b. ... The image retrieved from the negative memory image database 34b is resized 34c to match the size requirements of the faces to be hidden ...” and page 16, ¶ [0216], “Optionally, the masking may comprise overlaying a selected image over the area co-ordinate corresponding to the location of the at least one face to be suppressed.” and Claim 5, “5. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one digital image is from a frame of a video having a plurality of frames.” and page 2, ¶ [0020], “In a further aspect of the present invention, a system for recognizing one or more faces in a digital image is provided, the system characterized by: (a) one or more face coordinates corresponding to one or more candidate regions for one or more faces ...”)
26. As per claim 12, Ganong in view of Helminger, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao discloses: The system of claim 11, wherein the processor is configured to output the recorded video frame with both overlays of the first representation of the first target face and the second representation of the second target face at a display. (Ganong, page 16, ¶ [0214], “FIG. 25 illustrates using a selected image to overlay on a digital image photo to cover the face of a subject, also known as face substitution. An application may be to hide negative memories.” and page 16, ¶ [0215], “FIG. 34 illustrates a workflow for face substitution. When a user wants to hide negative memories one aspect of the present invention may matche faces in the face database 34a to be hidden in the photos from the photo database 34d with an image that is selected or provided by a user which is stored in the negative memory image database 34b. ... The image retrieved from the negative memory image database 34b is resized 34c to match the size requirements of the faces to be hidden ...” and page 16, ¶ [0216], “Optionally, the masking may comprise overlaying a selected image over the area co-ordinate corresponding to the location of the at least one face to be suppressed.” and Claim 5, “5. The method of claim 1 wherein the at least one digital image is from a frame of a video having a plurality of frames.” and page 2, ¶ [0020], “In a further aspect of the present invention, a system for recognizing one or more faces in a digital image is provided, the system characterized by: (a) one or more face coordinates corresponding to one or more candidate regions for one or more faces ...”)
27. Claim 13, which is similar in scope to claim 1, is thus rejected under the same rationale as described above.
28. Claim 14, which is similar in scope to claims 2 and 13, is thus rejected under the same rationale as described above.
29. Claim 15, which is similar in scope to claims 3 and 13, is thus rejected under the same rationale as described above.
30. Claim 16, which is similar in scope to claims 4 and 13, is thus rejected under the same rationale as described above.
31. Claim 17, which is similar in scope to claims 5 and 13, is thus rejected under the same rationale as described above.
32. Claim 18, which is similar in scope to claims 6 and 13, is thus rejected under the same rationale as described above. The motivation for this modification is the same as claim 6.
33. Claim 20, which is similar in scope to claims 8 and 13, is thus rejected under the same rationale as described above.
34. Claim 21, which is similar in scope to claims 9 and 13, is thus rejected under the same rationale as described above. The motivation for this modification is the same as claim 9.
35. Claim 22 is similar in scope to claim 1 except for additional limitations that Ganong in view of Helminger, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao discloses: A computer program product, the computer program product being embodied in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and comprising computer instructions for: (Ganong, page 25, ¶ [0302], “In further aspects, the disclosure provides systems, devices, methods, and computer programming products, including non-transitory computer readable memory, or non-transient machine-readable instruction sets, for use in implementing such methods and enabling the functionality described previously.”)
Claim 22 is also rejected under the same rationale as claim 1, described above.
36. As per claim 23, Ganong in view of Helminger, further in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miao discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
draw a first bounding box around the first input user face; and (Miao, [0018], “In one embodiment, if multiple first face bounding boxes are detected from the destination image, a first maximum face bounding box with a largest area is selected from the multiple first face bounding boxes, and the first head image is obtained according to the first maximum face bounding box.” and Miao, [0015], “In one embodiment, segmenting the first head image from the destination image may include: detecting a first face bounding box in the destination image; and obtaining the first head image according to the first face bounding box.” and Ganong, [0139], “Faces in the photos may be located (31) by using any one of multiple techniques that may include: generating face coordinates, which may define a bounding box around the face ...” and Ganong, [0140], “In the case of face detection, the coordinates may define the outline of the face (37) with top left, top right, bottom left and bottom right pixel locations on the original photo which is referred to as a bounding box.” and [0206], “As shown in images 23 b and 23 c of FIG. 23, the XY coordinates to make the bounding box may be adjustable to make subsequent creation of the bounding box, the area around the face, larger or smaller.”)
draw a second bounding box around the second input user face. (Miao, [0034], “In one embodiment, if the source image includes multiple second face bounding boxes, a second maximum face bounding boxes with a largest area is selected from the multiple second face bounding boxes, and the second head image is obtained according to the second maximum face bounding box.” and Miao, [0031], “In one embodiment, segmenting the second head image from the source image may include: detecting a second face bounding box in the source image; and obtaining the second head image according to the second face bounding box.” and Ganong, [0139], “Faces in the photos may be located (31) by using any one of multiple techniques that may include: generating face coordinates, which may define a bounding box around the face ...” and Ganong, [0140], “In the case of face detection, the coordinates may define the outline of the face (37) with top left, top right, bottom left and bottom right pixel locations on the original photo which is referred to as a bounding box.” and [0206], “As shown in images 23 b and 23 c of FIG. 23, the XY coordinates to make the bounding box may be adjustable to make subsequent creation of the bounding box, the area around the face, larger or smaller.”)
37. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Ganong in view of Helminger, and further in view of Jiang to include the disclosure drawing bounding boxes around a first and second input user face, of Miao. The motivation for this modification could have been to use the bounding boxes to help define the regions within a video frame that correspond to input user faces. By limiting the facial regions, this could help the face swap processing to focus only on those regions to improve performance. In addition, bounding boxes can be used to confirm to a user that the face has been identified.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW CLOTHIER/Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614