DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,8,16-17 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection below.
Claim Objections
Claims 16 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 13. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,4,7,8,9,17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desvauz et al. (US 20090140738) in view of Ragan et al. (US 20070129038).
Regarding claim 1, Desvauz et al. teach A method comprising:
detecting electromagnetic noise using a radio frequency (RF) coil of a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system ([0021] said noise spectrum may be measured while adjusting at least said first adjustment parameter, said parameter being adjusted until the maximum of said noise spectrum coincides with said Larmor frequency) Examiners position is that the noise must be detected in order to adjust the frequency in regards to it.
determining a resonant frequency of a radio frequency (RF) coil of a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system based on detected electromagnetic noise; ([0020] said step of tuning the resonant frequency in reception of said probe to the Larmor frequency may include adjusting at least a first adjustment parameter and observing the effect of said adjustment on the electrical noise spectrum at the terminals of a resonant circuit including said coil, in the presence of a sample immersed in a magnetic field for analysis by nuclear magnetic resonance;) Examiner’s position is that the tuning the resonant frequency is interpreted as determining.
and setting, based on the determined resonant frequency of the RF coil, at least one parameter of the MRI system by controlling a tuning circuit connected to the RF coil ([0025] said step of tuning the resonant frequency in reception of said probe to the Larmor frequency may comprise: measuring a spin noise spectrum; and adjusting at least said first adjustment parameter until said spin noise spectrum presents, at the resonant frequency, absorption having a Lorentzian line shape corresponding to pure absorption;) Examiner interprets the first adjusting as setting.
Deavauz et al. does not teach the tuning circuit comprising the at least one tuning element includes a first coupling tuning element arranged between a first input of the tuning circuit and a first output of the tuning circuit and a second coupling tuning element arranged between a second input of the tuning circuit and a second output of the tuning circuit, and wherein the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element comprises:
a variable capacitor, wherein the controller is configured to send at least one control instruction to drive one or more motors adapted to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element or a switched network of fixed-value capacitors, wherein the switched network includes a plurality of capacitive branches, and wherein the controller is configured to control the state of switches in each of the plurality of capacitive branches to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element.
Ragan et al. teach wherein the tuning circuit (25, Figs. 2 and 3)comprising at least one tuning element includes a first coupling tuning element (C5, Figs, 2 or 3) arranged between a first input of the tuning circuit and a first output of the tuning circuit and a second coupling tuning element (C6, Figs, 2 or 3) arranged between a second input of the tuning circuit and a second output of the tuning circuit, and wherein the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element comprises:
a variable capacitor, wherein the controller is configured to send at least one control instruction to drive one or more motors adapted to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element or a switched network of fixed-value capacitors, wherein the switched network includes a plurality of capacitive branches(C5 C6), and wherein the controller is configured to control the state of switches in each of the plurality of capacitive branches to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element.( The tunable capacitor C3, which may be a single capacitor or multiple capacitors with a common node, is adjusted via a control signal (which may be digitally controlled) based on a selected channel 40 such that the capacitance of the adjustable capacitor C3 in combination with the parasitic capacitance due to the physical layout of antenna structure 35, tunable antenna interface 25 and LNA 16 resonate with inductor (L).) [par. 0021]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Desvauz et al. to include the teaching of a tuning circuit comprising the at least one tuning element includes a first coupling tuning element arranged between a first input of the tuning circuit and a first output of the tuning circuit and a second coupling tuning element arranged between a second input of the tuning circuit and a second output of the tuning circuit, and wherein the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element comprises: a variable capacitor, wherein the controller is configured to send at least one control instruction to drive one or more motors adapted to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element or a switched network of fixed-value capacitors, wherein the switched network includes a plurality of capacitive branches, and wherein the controller is configured to control the state of switches in each of the plurality of capacitive branches to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element to reduce its adverse affects on the resulting radio signal output. (Note par. 0038)
Regarding claim 3, Desvauz et al. teach the at least one parameter is at least one value of a tuning circuit, ([0020] said step of tuning the resonant frequency in reception of said probe to the Larmor frequency may include adjusting at least a first adjustment parameter and observing the effect of said adjustment on the electrical noise spectrum at the terminals of a resonant circuit including said coil, in the presence of a sample immersed in a magnetic field for analysis by nuclear magnetic resonance) and
wherein the at least one value of the tuning circuit is set so as to cause the RF coil to resonate at approximately a Larmor frequency of the MRI system. ([0020] said step of tuning the resonant frequency in reception of said probe to the Larmor frequency may include adjusting at least a first adjustment parameter and observing the effect of said adjustment on the electrical noise spectrum at the terminals of a resonant circuit including said coil, in the presence of a sample immersed in a magnetic field for analysis by nuclear magnetic resonance;))
Regarding claim 4, Desvauz et al. teach obtaining information indicative of a Larmor frequency of the MRI system. (A curve is obtained showing that the actual resonance of the receiver circuit differs a little from the Larmor frequency of the nuclear spins of the atoms for analysis.) [par. 0017] Examiner interprets the curve as information indicative of the Larmor frequency.
Regarding claim 8, Desvauz et al. teach A tuning system configured to tune a radio frequency (RF) coil, (Note abstract and par. 0008) the tuning system comprising:
a tuning circuit including at least one tuning element configured to affect a frequency at which the RF coil resonates; ([0089] Under such circumstances, the adjustable electrical element placed at point B is used for tuning the probe in reception, while the adjustable capacitors of capacitances C.sub.t and C.sub.m situated close to the coil serve to tune and match it in transmission.) and
a controller configured (spectrometer and spectrum analyzer, par. 23-25) to:
cause the RF coil to detect electromagnetic noise ([0021] said noise spectrum may be measured while adjusting at least said first adjustment parameter, said parameter being adjusted until the maximum of said noise spectrum coincides with said Larmor frequency) Examiners position is that the noise must be detected in order to adjust the frequency in regards to it.
determine a resonant frequency of the RF coil based on detected electromagnetic noise, , ([0020] said step of tuning the resonant frequency in reception of said probe to the Larmor frequency may include adjusting at least a first adjustment parameter and observing the effect of said adjustment on the electrical noise spectrum at the terminals of a resonant circuit including said coil, in the presence of a sample immersed in a magnetic field for analysis by nuclear magnetic resonance;) Examiner’s position is that the tuning the resonant frequency is interpreted as determining.
and use the determined resonant frequency to set at least one value of the at least one tuning element. ([0025] said step of tuning the resonant frequency in reception of said probe to the Larmor frequency may comprise: measuring a spin noise spectrum; and adjusting at least said first adjustment parameter until said spin noise spectrum presents, at the resonant frequency, absorption having a Lorentzian line shape corresponding to pure absorption;) Examiner interprets the first adjusting as setting.
Desvauz et al. does not teach wherein the at least one tuning element includes a first coupling tuning element arranged between a first input of the tuning circuit and a first output of the tuning circuit and a second coupling tuning element arranged between a second input of the tuning circuit and a second output of the tuning circuit, and wherein the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element comprises:
a variable capacitor, wherein the controller is configured to send at least one control instruction to drive one or more motors adapted to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element or a switched network of fixed-value capacitors, wherein the switched network includes a plurality of capacitive branches, and wherein the controller is configured to control the state of switches in each of the plurality of capacitive branches to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element.
Ragan et al. teach wherein the at least one tuning element includes a first coupling tuning element (C5, Figs, 2 or 3) arranged between a first input of the tuning circuit (25, Figs. 2 and 3) and a first output of the tuning circuit and a second coupling tuning element (C6, Figs, 2 or 3) arranged between a second input of the tuning circuit and a second output of the tuning circuit, and wherein the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element comprises:
a variable capacitor, wherein the controller is configured to send at least one control instruction to drive one or more motors adapted to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element or a switched network of fixed-value capacitors, wherein the switched network includes a plurality of capacitive branches(C5 C6), and wherein the controller is configured to control the state of switches in each of the plurality of capacitive branches to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element.( The tunable capacitor C3, which may be a single capacitor or multiple capacitors with a common node, is adjusted via a control signal (which may be digitally controlled) based on a selected channel 40 such that the capacitance of the adjustable capacitor C3 in combination with the parasitic capacitance due to the physical layout of antenna structure 35, tunable antenna interface 25 and LNA 16 resonate with inductor (L).) [par. 0021]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Desvauz et al. to include the teaching of wherein the at least one tuning element includes a first coupling tuning element arranged between a first input of the tuning circuit and a first output of the tuning circuit and a second coupling tuning element arranged between a second input of the tuning circuit and a second output of the tuning circuit, and wherein the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element comprises: a variable capacitor, wherein the controller is configured to send at least one control instruction to drive one or more motors adapted to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element or a switched network of fixed-value capacitors, wherein the switched network includes a plurality of capacitive branches, and wherein the controller is configured to control the state of switches in each of the plurality of capacitive branches to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element to reduce its adverse affects on the resulting radio signal output. (Note par. 0038)
Regarding claim 9, Desvauz et al. teach the RF coil is configured to transmit and/or receive RF signals in the MRI system, (,[0040] FIG. 1 is a theoretical circuit diagram of an NMR excitation and detection circuit including a probe of the type having a single coil operating both in transmission and in reception; Note par. 40)
controller is configured to set the at least one value for the at least one tuning element to cause the RF coil to resonate at approximately a Larmor frequency of the MRI system. ([0020] said step of tuning the resonant frequency in reception of said probe to the Larmor frequency may include adjusting at least a first adjustment parameter and observing the effect of said adjustment on the electrical noise spectrum at the terminals of a resonant circuit including said coil, in the presence of a sample immersed in a magnetic field for analysis by nuclear magnetic resonance;)
Regarding claim 7, Desvauz et al. teach wherein determining the resonant frequency of the RF coil comprises identifying a frequency in spectra of the detected electromagnetic noise at which the RF coil exhibits a maximum response. (Note pat. 0019, the frequency of the probe (coil) is tune in regards to the noise spectrum by a spectrum analyzer. Examiner’s position is that the spectrum analyzer would show the highest peak of a signal which would be interpreted as a maximum response.)
Regarding claim 17, Desvauz et al. teach wherein the tuning circuit is configured for a low-field magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system. (Note abstract)
Regarding claim 19, Desvauz et al. teach A magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system, (par. 0004) comprising:
a B0 magnet configured to provide a B0 field; (inherent to MRI in ar. 0004)
a radio frequency (RF) coil for transmitting and/or receiving RF signals; (the circuit comprising a probe (S) of the type comprising a single coil (L) for transmitting pulses ) (par. abstract) and
a tuning system configured to tune the RF coil, the tuning system comprising:
a tuning circuit including at least one tuning element configured to affect a frequency at which the RF coil resonates; ([0089] Under such circumstances, the adjustable electrical element placed at point B is used for tuning the probe in reception, while the adjustable capacitors of capacitances C.sub.t and C.sub.m situated close to the coil serve to tune and match it in transmission.) and
a controller (spectrometer and spectrum analyzer, par. 23-25) configured to:
cause the RF coil to detect electromagnetic noise ([0021] said noise spectrum may be measured while adjusting at least said first adjustment parameter, said parameter being adjusted until the maximum of said noise spectrum coincides with said Larmor frequency) Examiners position is that the noise must be detected in order to adjust the frequency in regards to it.
determine a resonant frequency of the RF coil based on detected electromagnetic noise, ([0020] said step of tuning the resonant frequency in reception of said probe to the Larmor frequency may include adjusting at least a first adjustment parameter and observing the effect of said adjustment on the electrical noise spectrum at the terminals of a resonant circuit including said coil, in the presence of a sample immersed in a magnetic field for analysis by nuclear magnetic resonance;) Examiner’s position is that the tuning the resonant frequency is interpreted as determining.
and use the determined resonant frequency to set at least one value of the at least one tuning element. ([0025] said step of tuning the resonant frequency in reception of said probe to the Larmor frequency may comprise: measuring a spin noise spectrum; and adjusting at least said first adjustment parameter until said spin noise spectrum presents, at the resonant frequency, absorption having a Lorentzian line shape corresponding to pure absorption;) Examiner interprets the first adjusting as setting.
Desvauz et al. does not teach wherein the at least one tuning element includes a first coupling tuning element arranged between a first input of the tuning circuit (25, Figs. 2 and 3) and a first output of the tuning circuit and a second coupling tuning element arranged between a second input of the tuning circuit and a second output of the tuning circuit, and wherein the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element comprises:
a variable capacitor, wherein the controller is configured to send at least one control instruction to drive one or more motors adapted to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element or a switched network of fixed-value capacitors, wherein the switched network includes a plurality of capacitive branches, and wherein the controller is configured to control the state of switches in each of the plurality of capacitive branches to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element.
Ragan et al. teach wherein the at least one tuning element includes a first coupling tuning element (C5, Figs, 2 or 3) arranged between a first input of the tuning circuit and a first output of the tuning circuit and a second coupling tuning element (C6, Figs, 2 or 3) arranged between a second input of the tuning circuit and a second output of the tuning circuit, and wherein the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element comprises:
a variable capacitor, wherein the controller is configured to send at least one control instruction to drive one or more motors adapted to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element or a switched network of fixed-value capacitors, wherein the switched network includes a plurality of capacitive branches(C5 C6), and wherein the controller is configured to control the state of switches in each of the plurality of capacitive branches to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element.( The tunable capacitor C3, which may be a single capacitor or multiple capacitors with a common node, is adjusted via a control signal (which may be digitally controlled) based on a selected channel 40 such that the capacitance of the adjustable capacitor C3 in combination with the parasitic capacitance due to the physical layout of antenna structure 35, tunable antenna interface 25 and LNA 16 resonate with inductor (L).) [par. 0021]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Desvauz et al. to include the teaching of wherein the at least one tuning element includes a first coupling tuning element arranged between a first input of the tuning circuit and a first output of the tuning circuit and a second coupling tuning element arranged between a second input of the tuning circuit and a second output of the tuning circuit, and wherein the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element comprises: a variable capacitor, wherein the controller is configured to send at least one control instruction to drive one or more motors adapted to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element or a switched network of fixed-value capacitors, wherein the switched network includes a plurality of capacitive branches, and wherein the controller is configured to control the state of switches in each of the plurality of capacitive branches to set a value for the first coupling tuning element and/or the second coupling tuning element to reduce its adverse affects on the resulting radio signal output. (Note par. 0038)
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desvauz et al. (US 20090140738) in view of Ragan et al. (US 20070129038) further in view Dumoulin et al. (US 6054858).
Regarding claim 2, Desvauz et al. teach the RF coil is configured to transmit and/or receive RF signals in the MRI system, (,[0040] FIG. 1 is a theoretical circuit diagram of an NMR excitation and detection circuit including a probe of the type having a single coil operating both in transmission and in reception; Note par. 40) and
Desvauz et al. does not teach wherein the method automatically tunes the RF coil using a tuning circuit connected to the RF coil.
Dumoulin et al. teach wherein the method automatically tunes the RF coil using a tuning circuit connected to the RF coil. (Alternatively, the tuned frequency of the receive and transmit coils can be independently determined and the net magnetic field adjusted for one coil while an automatic or manual adjustment of the tuned frequency of the other coil is made.) (Note column 6, lines 52-56) Examiner’s position is that a tuning circuit would be implicit.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Desvauz et al. to include the teaching of automatically tunes the RF coil using a tuning circuit connected to the RF coil to eliminate the need for manual tuning.
Regarding claim 5, Desvauz et al. does not teach obtaining information indicative of the Larmor frequency comprises estimating a Larmor frequency based on measuring magnetic resonance signals emitted from a sample.
Dumoulin et al. teach obtaining information indicative of the Larmor frequency comprises estimating a Larmor frequency based on measuring magnetic resonance signals emitted from a sample. (Note column 3, lines 38-42, (24) In a second embodiment of the present invention the Larmor frequency of the subject is determined by applying at least one wide-band rf pulse to the subject and detecting the resulting rf emissions.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Desvauz et al. to include the teaching of obtaining information indicative of the Larmor frequency comprises estimating a Larmor frequency based on measuring magnetic resonance signals emitted from a sample to allow tuning of the resonant frequency of the coil to detect nuclear spins of the atoms. (Note Desvauz et al. par. 0012)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desvauz et al. (US 20090140738) in view of Ragan et al. (US 20070129038) further in view Hinks et al. (US 6507190).
Desvauz et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 6, Desvauz et al. does not teach obtaining information indicative of the Larmor frequency comprises measuring a B0 magnetic field strength produced by the MRI system.
Hinks et al. teach obtaining information indicative of the Larmor frequency (column 7, lines 33-35) comprises measuring a B0 magnetic field strength produced by the MRI system. (Note column 7, lines 51-53, The higher the rate at which the polarizing field B.sub.0 (t) is measured, the greater the accuracy of compensation.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Desvauz et al. to include the teaching of measuring a B0 magnetic field strength produced by the MRI system to affect the accuracy of compensation. (Note Hinks et al. column 7, lines 51-53)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desvauz et al. (US 20090140738) in view of Ragan et al. (US 20070129038) further in view of Dumoulin et al. (US 6054858) further in view of Hinks et al. (US 6507190).
Desvauz et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 10, Desvauz et al. does not teach tuning system is configured to obtain information indicative of the Larmor frequency at least in part by estimating a Larmor frequency of the magnetic resonance system,
wherein the information indicative of the Larmor frequency is obtained by the tuning system at least in part by measuring a B0 magnetic field strength produced by the MRI system using at least one sensor.
Dumoulin et al. teach obtaining information indicative of the Larmor frequency at least in part by estimating a Larmor frequency of the magnetic resonance system, (Note column 3, lines 38-42, (24) In a second embodiment of the present invention the Larmor frequency of the subject is determined by applying at least one wide-band rf pulse to the subject and detecting the resulting rf emissions.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Desvauz et al. to include the teaching of obtaining information indicative of the Larmor frequency at least in part by estimating a Larmor frequency of the magnetic resonance system, to detect nuclear spins of the atoms. (Note Desvauz et al. par. 0012)
Hinks et al. teach the information indicative of the Larmor frequency is obtained by the tuning system at least in part by measuring a B0 magnetic field strength produced by the MRI system using at least one sensor (implicit to measuring Note column 7, lines 51-53). (column 7, lines 33-35) (Note column 7, lines 51-53, The higher the rate at which the polarizing field B.sub.0 (t) is measured, the greater the accuracy of compensation.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Desvauz et al. to include the teaching of information indicative of the Larmor frequency is obtained by the tuning system at least in part by measuring a B0 magnetic field strength produced by the MRI system using at least one sensor to affect the accuracy of compensation. (Note Hinks et al. column 7, lines 51-53)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desvauz et al. (US 20090140738) in view of Ragan et al. (US 20070129038) further in view of Murphy-Boesch et al. (US 4633181, hereafter Murphy).
Desvauz et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 11, Desvauz et al. does not teach the tuning circuit comprises a balanced tuning network.
Murphy teach tuning circuit comprises a balanced tuning network. (In accordance with the invention, the preferred circuit configuration is that the tuning capacitor C.sub.1 is positioned as close as possible to the sample 100 and the balanced impedance matching capacitors 2C.sub.2 are inserted in the leads to the sample coil L.sub.s between the tuning capacitor and the probe circuit output as shown in FIG. 5. In circumstances where the tuning capacitor C.sub.1 cannot be positioned in close proximity to the sample coil L.sub.s, such as in the case where the sample coil is implanted, however, a portion of the balanced impedance matching capacitance is preferably juxtaposed as close as possible to the sample coil as shown in FIG. 7.) (Note column 36, lines 26-38)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Desvauz et al. to include the teaching of tuning circuit comprises a balanced tuning network to balance the voltage across the sample coil. (Note Murphy column 16, lines 43-45 )
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desvauz et al. (US 20090140738) in view of Ragan et al. (US 20070129038) further in view of Anderson et al. (US 6323647).
Desvauz et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Desvauz et al. does not teach wherein the at least one tuning element comprises at least one configurable tuning element comprising a variable capacitor, and wherein the controller is configured to send at least one control instruction to drive one or more motors adapted to set the at least one value for the at least one configurable tuning element.
Anderson et al. teach wherein the at least one tuning element comprises at least one configurable tuning element comprising a variable capacitor, (An apparatus for tuning and/or matching a RF coil in a NMR probe comprising a first variable capacitor electrically connected to the coil and a first motor capable of coupling to the first variable capacitor. ) (abstract) and wherein the controller (38, Fig. 1) is configured to send at least one control instruction to drive one or more motors adapted to set the at least one value for the at least one configurable tuning element. (To control the capacitance of the variable capacitor 102, a controller 106 controls the motion provided by the motor 104.) ( Note column 4, lines 45-48)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Desvauz et al. to include the teaching of wherein the at least one tuning element comprises at least one configurable tuning element comprising a variable capacitor to eliminate the manual adjustment of the capacitors.
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desvauz et al. (US 20090140738) in view of Ragan et al. (US 20070129038) further in view of Bulumulla et al. (US 20140184217).
Desvauz et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claims 13 and 16, Desvauz et al. does not teach wherein the at least one tuning element comprises a switched network of fixed-value capacitors, wherein the switched network includes a plurality of capacitive branches, and wherein the controller is configured to control the state of switches in each of the plurality of capacitive branches to set the value for the at least one tuning element.
Bulumulla et al. teach wherein the at least one tuning element comprises a switched network of fixed-value capacitors (109, 110, 105, 106 par. 0034 and Fig. 3), wherein the switched network includes a plurality of capacitive branches (109, 110), and wherein the controller (14, par. 0034) is configured to control the state of switches in each of the plurality of capacitive branches to set the value for the at least one tuning element. (In certain embodiments, the switches 104, 108, and 112 may be controlled by the scanner control circuit 14 or system control circuitry 16 of the MRI system 10 based on the instructions of the user.) (par. 0034)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Desvauz et al. to include the teaching of wherein the at least one tuning element comprises a switched network of fixed-value capacitors, wherein the switched network includes a plurality of capacitive branches, and wherein the controller is configured to control the state of switches in each of the plurality of capacitive branches to set the value for the at least one tuning element to modify the frequency of the coil. (Note Bulumulla et al par. 0034)
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desvauz et al. (US 20090140738) in view of Ragan et al. (US 20070129038) further in view of Schellenberg (US 20130137964).
Desvauz et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 18, Desvauz et al. does not teach wherein a field strength of the low-field MRI system is less than or equal to 0.1T and greater than or equal to 50mT.
Schellenberg teach wherein a field strength of the low-field MRI system is less than or equal to 0.1T and greater than or equal to 50mT. (Note within a slab based MRI system 23 that is typically of field strength 0.1 T, 0.3 T, 0.6 T, 1.2 T or magnet field strengths between these values,) (par. 100)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Desvauz et al. to include the teaching of wherein a field strength of the low-field MRI system is less than or equal to 0.1T and greater than or equal to 50mT to provide a system that requires less shielding.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Desvauz et al. (US 20090140738) in view of Ragan et al. (US 20070129038) further in view of Hajian et al. (US 20090136104).
Desvauz et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 20, Desvauz et al. does not teach the MRI system is a low-field MRI system with a field strength that is less than or equal to 0.2T.
Hajian et al. teach the MRI system is a low-field MRI system with a field strength that is less than or equal to 0.2T. (Note par. 0271)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Desvauz et al. to include the teaching of the MRI system is a low-field MRI system with a field strength that is less than or equal to 0.2T to proportionately reduced chemical shift artifacts, reduced static magnetic field inhomogeneity effects such as geometric distortion, relaxed RF tissue heat deposition constraints, faster T.sub.1 relaxation recovery times. (Note Hajian et al. par. 0271)
Conclusion
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858