DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 2 are amended. Claims 16 and 17 are new. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaguchi et al. (US PG Pub. 20190101814).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi discloses a wavelength conversion member comprising:
a substrate (substrate 3 of fig. 6A-6C); and
a wavelength conversion layer (fluorescent layer 10 of figs. 6A-6C) containing a binder and a phosphor (fluorescent layer 10 (the binder 4 and the fluorescent particles 5); para. 0025), and disposed on the substrate (illustrated in figs. 6A-6C),
wherein the wavelength conversion layer has a volume ratio of the phosphor to the binder in a range of 0.75 to 1.45 (para. 0025; 10b is 58% and the binder is 42%), and an average thickness in a range of 55 μm to 146 μm (para. 0054; most preferably 50 μm or more and 100 μm or less),
wherein in a cross section orthogonal to an arrangement surface of the wavelength conversion layer on the substrate, a ratio of a sum of a particle cross-sectional area of the phosphor to a cross-sectional area of the wavelength conversion layer is in a range of 56% to 70% (a cross section of a particle cross section area to a cross-sectional area of the wavelength conversion layer is the two-dimensional equivalent to the vol ratio in three dimensions; therefore, layer 10b has a ratio of 58%; para. 0025), and
wherein an average thickness of the wavelength conversion layer is in a range of 55 um to 146 um (para. 0054; most preferably 50 μm or more and 100 μm or less).
Regarding claim 3, Yamaguchi discloses wherein the phosphor comprises a rare earth aluminate phosphor comprising:
at least one first element selected from the group consisting of yttrium, lanthanum, lutetium, gadolinium, and terbium (para. 0039; fluorescent particles can use Ce-doped YAG (yttrium-aluminum-garnet)-based fluorescent body);
at least one second element selected from the group consisting of aluminum, gallium, and scandium, the second element comprising at least aluminum (para. 0039; fluorescent particles can use Ce-doped YAG (yttrium-aluminum-garnet)-based fluorescent body); and
cerium (para. 0039; fluorescent particles can use Ce-doped YAG (yttrium-aluminum-garnet)-based fluorescent body).
Regarding claim 5, Yamaguchi discloses wherein the substrate has a reflective surface formed of a material containing at least one selected from the group consisting of silver and aluminum (para. 0024; substrate 3 is made of a material having a high reflectance and a high thermal conductivity, such as metal (aluminum or the like)), and the wavelength conversion layer is disposed on the reflective surface (illustrated in fig. 6A-6C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US PG Pub. 20190101814) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsuka et al. (US PG Pub. 20210305469).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Yamaguchi discloses a wavelength conversion member (illustrated in fig. 6A-6C).
Yamaguchi fails to teach wherein the binder contains a silicone resin.
Matsuka discloses wherein the binder contains a silicone resin (para. 0060; The phosphor described above can be used for the phosphor 9. A resin such as a silicone resin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the wavelength conversion member of Yamaguchi with the binder of Matsuka in order to enhance the diffusion properties of wavelength conversion member.
Regarding claim 4, Yamaguchi discloses wavelength conversion member (illustrated in fig. 6A-6C).
Yamaguchi fails to teach wherein the phosphor has a median particle diameter in a range of 15 µm to 40 µm.
Matsuka discloses wherein the phosphor has a median particle diameter in a range of 15 µm to 40 µm (para. 0047; median particle diameter of the phosphor 9 is preferably 10 µm or more and 30 µm or less).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify wavelength conversion member of Yamaguchi with the phosphor diameter of Matsuka in order to ensure optimal conversion efficiencies.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US PG Pub. 20190101814) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Otani (US PG Pub. 20190361255).
Regarding claim 7, Yamaguchi discloses wavelength conversion member (illustrated in fig. 6A-6C).
Yamaguchi fails to teach a motor configured to rotate the wavelength conversion member.
Otani teaches a motor (motor 231 of fig. 2) configured to rotate the wavelength conversion member (para. 0027; phosphor wheel device 230 is configured with motor 231 and rotary substrate 232 formed from a disk- shaped plate that is rotary driven around a rotation axis of motor 231).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the wavelength conversion member of Yamaguchi with the motor of Otani in order to provide efficient cooling because the laser is not incident at the same place over time, thereby preserving the life of the phosphor.
Regarding claim 8, Yamaguchi discloses wavelength conversion member (illustrated in fig. 6A-6C).
Yamaguchi fails to teach an image display system and a projection optical system.
Otani discloses an image display system and a projection optical system (illustrated in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the wavelength conversion member of Matsuka with the projection device of Otani in order to provide an efficient illumination system for a projection device.
Claim(s) 9-13, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US PG Pub. 20220179191) in view of Fujita (JP 2008019421A) in view of Washizu (WO 2016043159A).
Regarding claims 9 and 11, Zhang discloses a method for manufacturing a wavelength conversion member, the method comprising: applying a phosphor composition onto a substrate (para. 0058; The reflective layer can, in any of the foregoing embodiments, be formed by applying the mixture of binder (A) and reflective nanoparticles (B) to the substrate),
wherein the phosphor composition comprises a binder, a solvent, and a phosphor (para. 0054-0055), and
and a mass ratio of the phosphor to the binder is in a range of 3.15 to 6.05 (para. 0057; the nanoparticles-to-mixed liquid ratio was lower than 1-to-0.2 and also claim 5).
Zhang fails to teach a mass ratio of the solvent to the binder is in a range of 0.01 to 0.4
Fujita discloses a mass ratio of the solvent to the binder is in a range of 0.01 to 0.4 (pg. 8 4th para.; The mixing ratio of the binder is generally about 0.1 to 30% by mass, and the mixing ratio of the solvent is generally about 1 to 40% by mass).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify Zhang with the mass ratio of Fujita in order to increase luminous efficiency.
Zhang as modified by Fujita fails to teach wherein the boiling point of the solvent is in a range of 200° C and 300° C.
Washizu discloses a wavelength converting device wherein the boiling point of the solvent is in a range of 200° C and 300° C (pg. 4 3ʳᵈ para. solvent having a boiling point of 250 C) and heat-treating the phosphor composition applied onto the substrate to form a wavelength conversion layer (pg. 12 1st para., the phosphor dispersion liquid is applied, the coating film is heated to 100 C. or higher, preferably 150 to 300 o C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify wavelength conversion device of Zhang and Fujita with the solvent having a boiling point of 250° C because phosphor dispersion within the liquid increases and the curing process further increases the strength of the wavelength converting device (Washizu; pg. 4 3ʳᵈ para.).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses wherein the step of applying the phosphor composition onto the substrate comprises screen-printing the phosphor composition (para. 0058; The mixture can be applied by dispensing, spraying, brushing, flowing, pattern coating, or silk printing.).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses wherein the phosphor comprises a rare earth aluminate phosphor comprising: at least one first element selected from the group consisting of yttrium, lanthanum, lutetium, gadolinium, and terbium; at least one second element selected from the group consisting of aluminum, gallium, and scandium, and the second element comprising at least aluminum; and cerium (para. 0038; phosphor layer 130 contains at least one phosphor. Examples of suitable phosphors include yttrium aluminum garnet (YAG)).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses wherein the phosphor has a median particle diameter corresponding to a volume cumulative frequency of 50% from a small diameter side in a volume cumulative particle size distribution in a range of 15 µm to 40 µm (para. 0038; The phosphors can have a particle size of from about 10 to about 30 microns).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses wherein the substrate (substrate 110 of fig. 1C) has a reflective surface (para. 0036; substrate 110 upon which a reflective layer 120) formed of a material containing at least one selected from the group consisting of silver and aluminum (para. 0037; substrate 110 is typically a metal having a high thermal conductivity, e.g. aluminum or an aluminum alloy, copper or a copper alloy, silver or a silver alloy, or another metal having a high thermal conductivity.), and the step of applying the phosphor composition onto the substrate comprises applying the phosphor composition onto the reflective surface (para. 0058; The reflective layer can, in any of the foregoing embodiments, be formed by applying the mixture of binder (A) and reflective nanoparticles (B) to the substrate).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses the wavelength conversion layer has a volume ratio of the phosphor to the binder in a range of 0.75 to 1.0 (para. 0057; 1:10 – 1:0.2 which includes 1:1).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US PG Pub. 20220179191), Fujita (JP 2008019421A) and Washizu (WO2016043159A) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kunimune (JP 2022007638A).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang as modified by Fujita and Washizu discloses a method for manufacturing a wavelength conversion member, the method comprising: applying a phosphor composition onto a substrate (para. 0058; The reflective layer can, in any of the foregoing embodiments, be formed by applying the mixture of binder (A) and reflective nanoparticles (B) to the substrate).
Zhang as modified by Fujita and Washizu fails to teach wherein the solvent contains at least one selected from the group consisting of dodecane, tridecane, tetradecane, pentadecane, and hexadecane.
Kunimune discloses wherein the solvent contains at least one selected from the group consisting of dodecane, tridecane, tetradecane, pentadecane, and hexadecane (para. 0097; solvent contained in the inorganic binder include acetone, ethanol, isopropyl alcohol (IPA), propylene glycol monomethyl ether (PGME), propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (PGMEA), tridecane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the solvent of Zhang, Fujita and Washizu with the solvent tridecane of Kunimune because tridecane has a relatively high boiling point, and evaporation of the solvent can be suppressed when the phosphor-containing composition is applied to the substrate, and the phosphor-containing composition can be applied evenly to the surface of the substrate (Kunimune; para. 0097).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US PG Pub. 20220179191), Fujita (JP 2008019421A) and Washizu (WO2016043159A) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Matsuka et al. (US PG Pub. 20210305469).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang as modified by Fujita and Washizu discloses a wavelength conversion member (illustrated in fig. 6A-6C).
Zhang as modified by Fujita and Washizu fails to teach wherein the binder contains a silicone resin.
Matsuka discloses wherein the binder contains a silicone resin (para. 0060; The phosphor described above can be used for the phosphor 9. A resin such as a silicone resin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the wavelength conversion member of Zhang, Fujita and Washizu with the binder of Matsuka in order to enhance the diffusion properties of wavelength conversion member.
Conclusion
/DANELL L OWENS/Examiner, Art Unit 2882 19 February 2026
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882