DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 2 are amended. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inomata et al. (JP 2021060470A).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 17, Inomata discloses a wavelength conversion member (wavelength conversion member 1 of fig. 6A) comprising:
a substrate (substrate 10 of fig. 6A); and
a wavelength conversion layer (wavelength conversion layer 11 of fig. 6A) containing a binder (sealing member 13 of fig. 6A) and a phosphor (phosphor particle 12a and a phosphor particle 12b of fig. 4B and 6A), and disposed on the substrate (illustrated in fig. 6A),
wherein in a cross section orthogonal to an arrangement surface of the wavelength conversion layer on the substrate (illustrated in fig. 6A), a ratio of a sum of a particle cross-sectional area of the phosphor to a cross-sectional area of the wavelength conversion layer is in a range of 56% to 70% (pg. 3 7th para., cross section parallel to the thickness direction of the wavelength conversion layer 11 includes a calculation region in which the area ratio of the cross section of the phosphor particle group 12 is 57% or more), and
wherein an average thickness of the wavelength conversion layer is in a range of 55 mm to 146 mm (pg. 9 7th para., wavelength conversion layer 11 is 100 μm).
Inomata fails to explicitly teaches wherein an average volume ratio of the phosphor to the binder calculated over the entire thickness of the wavelength conversion layer is in a range of 0.75 to 1.45; however, with a phosphor to binder volume ratio of .666 (pg. 9 7th para., the volume ratio of the phosphor particles 12b and the sealing resin 13 is 40:60), It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify Inomata increasing the volume ratio as is understood by Inomata in order to obtain a large fluorescence intensity and effectively increasing thermal conductivity (pg. 3 1st – 4th para. the present inventors have increased the volume ratio of the phosphor particle group 12 in the wavelength conversion layer 11 in order to increase the thermal conductivity of the wavelength conversion layer 11 and obtain a large fluorescence intensity).
Regarding claim 3, Inomata discloses wherein the phosphor comprises a rare earth aluminate phosphor comprising:
at least one first element selected from the group consisting of yttrium (YAG; pg. 20 2nd para.), lanthanum, lutetium, gadolinium, and terbium;
at least one second element selected from the group consisting of aluminum (YAG; pg. 20 2nd para.), gallium, and scandium, the second element comprising at least aluminum; and cerium.
Regarding claim 4, Inomata discloses wherein the phosphor has a median particle diameter in a range of 15 μm to 40 μm (pg. 4 last para. small-diameter phosphor particles 12b having a maximum cross-sectional length of 30 μm or less).
Regarding claim 5, Inomata discloses wherein the substrate has a reflective surface formed of a material containing at least one selected from the group consisting of silver and aluminum (pg. 20 2nd para., substrate 10 of the sample K is made of Al (aluminum)), and the wavelength conversion layer (11) is disposed on the reflective surface (illustrated in fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 6, Inomata discloses wherein the binder contains a silicone resin (pg. 7 6th para., the sealing member 13 include an acrylic resin, an epoxy resin, and a silicone resin).
Regarding claim 7, Inomata discloses a motor (pg.11 4th para., The substrate 10 is provided with a hole 10a for passing the shaft of the motor that rotates the wavelength conversion member 1) configured to rotate the wavelength conversion member (shown in fig. 10A); and
a light source (excitation light source; pg. 11 5th para.) configured to irradiate the wavelength conversion member with light.
Regarding claim 8, Inomata discloses an image display system and a projection system (pg. 11 3rd para., the wavelength conversion member 1 is a disk-shaped member called a phosphor wheel used in a laser projector).
Claim(s) 9-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Inomata et al. (JP 2021060470A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fujita (JP 2008019421A), Washizu (WO2016043159A) and Zhang et al. (US PG Pub. 20220179191).
Regarding claims 9-11, Inomata discloses a method for manufacturing a wavelength conversion member, the method comprising:
applying a phosphor composition onto a substrate (pg. 18 4th para., the silicone resin is screen-printed on the substrate 10), wherein
a boiling point of the solvent is in a range of 200°C to 300°C (pg. 15 4th para., solvent was selected to volatilize at 100 ° C. or higher);
heat-treating the phosphor composition applied onto the substrate to form a wavelength conversion layer (pg. 7 2nd para., heat treatment is preferably carried out in an inert gas atmosphere, for example an Ar atmosphere. Since this heat treatment is at a high temperature, in the case of a reducing atmosphere such as hydrogen or a mixed gas of hydrogen and nitrogen, the YAG-based phosphor),
Inomata fails to teach a mass ratio of the solvent to the binder is in a range of 0.01 to 0.4.
Fujita discloses a mass ratio of the solvent to the binder is in a range of 0.01 to 0.4 (pg. 8 4th para.; The mixing ratio of the binder is generally about 0.1 to 30% by mass, and the mixing ratio of the solvent is generally about 1 to 40% by mass).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify Inomata with the mass ratio of Fujita in order to increase luminous efficiency.
Inomata as modified by Fujita fails to explicitly teach wherein the boiling point of the solvent is in a range of 200° C and 300° C.
Washizu discloses a wavelength converting device wherein the boiling point of the solvent is in a range of 200° C and 300° C (pg. 4 3ʳᵈ para. solvent having a boiling point of 250 C) and heat-treating the phosphor composition applied onto the substrate to form a wavelength conversion layer (pg. 12 1st para., the phosphor dispersion liquid is applied, the coating film is heated to 100 C. or higher, preferably 150 to 300 o C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify wavelength conversion device of Inomata and Fujita with the solvent having a boiling point of 250° C as shown by Washizu because phosphor dispersion within the liquid increases and the curing process further increases the strength of the wavelength converting device (Washizu; pg. 4 3ʳᵈ para.).
Inomata as modified by Fujita and Washizu fails to the phosphor composition comprises a binder, a solvent, and a phosphor and fails to teach a mass ratio of the phosphor to the binder is in a range of 3.15 to 6.05.
Zhang discloses wherein the phosphor composition comprises a binder, a solvent, and a phosphor (para. 0064; working temperatures in excess of 200° C., and up to 250° C) and a mass ratio of the phosphor to the binder is in a range of 3.15 to 6.05 (para. 0057; the nanoparticles-to-mixed liquid ratio was lower than 1-to-0.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify wavelength conversion element of Inomata, Fujita and Washizu with the working temperature of Zhang in order to enable high luminous brightness (Zhang; 0064).
Regarding claim 12, Inomata discloses wherein the phosphor comprises a rare earth aluminate phosphor comprising:
at least one first element selected from the group consisting of yttrium (YAG; pg. 20 2nd para.), lanthanum, lutetium, gadolinium, and terbium;
at least one second element selected from the group consisting of aluminum (YAG; pg. 20 2nd para.), gallium, and scandium, the second element comprising at least aluminum; and cerium.
Regarding claim 13, Inomata discloses wherein the phosphor has a median particle diameter in a range of 15 μm to 40 μm (pg. 4 last para. small-diameter phosphor particles 12b having a maximum cross-sectional length of 30 μm or less).
Regarding claim 15, Inomata discloses wherein the substrate has a reflective surface formed of a material containing at least one selected from the group consisting of silver and aluminum (pg. 20 2nd para., substrate 10 of the sample K is made of Al (aluminum)), and the wavelength conversion layer (11) is disposed on the reflective surface (illustrated in fig. 6A).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inomata et al. (JP 2021060470A), Fujita (JP 2008019421A), Washizu (WO 2016043159A) and Zhang et al. (US PG Pub. 20220179191) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kunimune (JP 2022007638A).
Regarding claim 14, Inomata as modified by Fujita, Washizu and Zhang discloses a method for manufacturing a wavelength conversion member, the method comprising: applying a phosphor composition onto a substrate (para. 0058; The reflective layer can, in any of the foregoing embodiments, be formed by applying the mixture of binder (A) and reflective nanoparticles (B) to the substrate).
Inomata as modified by Fujita and Washizu and Zhang fails to teach wherein the solvent contains at least one selected from the group consisting of dodecane, tridecane, tetradecane, pentadecane, and hexadecane.
Kunimune discloses wherein the solvent contains at least one selected from the group consisting of dodecane, tridecane, tetradecane, pentadecane, and hexadecane (para. 0097; solvent contained in the inorganic binder include acetone, ethanol, isopropyl alcohol (IPA), propylene glycol monomethyl ether (PGME), propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (PGMEA), tridecane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the solvent of Inomata, Fujita, Washizu and Zhang with the solvent tridecane of Kunimune because tridecane has a relatively high boiling point, and evaporation of the solvent can be suppressed when the phosphor-containing composition is applied to the substrate, and the phosphor- containing composition can be applied evenly to the surface of the substrate (Kunimune; para. 0097).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inomata et al. (JP 2021060470A), Fujita (JP 2008019421A), Washizu (WO 2016043159A) and Zhang et al. (US PG Pub. 20220179191) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Matsuka et al. (US PG Pub. 20210305469).
Regarding claim 16, Inomata as modified by Fujita, Washizu and Zhang discloses a wavelength conversion member (11 of fig. 6A).
Inomata as modified by Fujita, Washizu and Zhang fails to teach wherein the binder contains a silicone resin.
Matsuka discloses wherein the binder contains a silicone resin (para. 0060; The phosphor described above can be used for the phosphor 9. A resin such as a silicone resin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the wavelength conversion member of Inomata, Fujita, Washizu and Zhang with the binder of Matsuka in order to enhance the diffusion properties of wavelength conversion member.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 21 August 2026
/TOAN TON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2882