DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 15-29), in the reply filed on 07/01/2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/01/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on 7/11/23; 7/14/23; 8/25/23; 9/19/23; 2/27/24; 7/2/24; 9/30/24; 2/7/25; 3/11/25; 7/9/25; 12/15/25; 3/5/26; 6/24/26, have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-21 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Staggs (PGPub 2008/0033342).
[Claims 15 and 19] Staggs teaches a surgical system (figure 1; paragraph [0027]) comprising:
a handpiece (figure 1, item 104; paragraph [0028]);
an aspiration line (figure 1, item 110) coupled with the handpiece (figure 1, item 104) (paragraphs [0027], [0028]);
a sensor (figure 1, item 113) communicatively coupled with the aspiration line (figure 1, item 110) (paragraph [0027]); and
a surgical console (“control unit”) (figure 1, item 105) communicatively coupled with the handpiece (figure 1, item 104) (paragraph [0028]), the surgical console (figure 1, item 105) configured to provide a predetermined ultrasound power (via line 102; paragraph [0028]) to the handpiece (figure 1, item 104) based on a comparison of a measured vacuum level and at least one vacuum threshold (“maximum vacuum”) (via the user/operator inputs 120; paragraph [0029]) (the examiner notes, for the purpose of claim interpretation, the term “vacuum threshold” has not been explicitly defined; as such, any parameter which is altered, relative to a change in vacuum, can be considered to be based on a “vacuum threshold”), the measured vacuum level is based on a reading from the sensor (figure 1, item 113)( “Selection of PSA mode may direct the microprocessor computer 109 to continuously monitor the resultant vacuum at line/handpiece needle 108 by measuring the pressure on line 110 via vacuum sensor 113. The computer 109 may respond to a surgeon selected preset maximum vacuum level and preset minimum and maximum PSA values using signals from the vacuum sensor 113.”) (figures 2 and 3; paragraphs [0029], [0047]).
[Claim 16] Staggs teaches the limitations of claim 15, upon which claim 16 depends. In addition, Staggs discloses the vacuum threshold is based on at least one of a tip size of the needle, irrigation sleeve size, an intraocular pressure, aspiration flow (“vacuum”), and an irrigation flow (figure 3; paragraph [0029]).
[Claim 17] Staggs teaches the limitations of claim 15, upon which claim 17 depends. Staggs also teaches the vacuum threshold is based on a sensitivity level (lacking any explicit definition for “sensitivity level”, a user set parameter can satisfy this limitation) (figure 3; paragraph [0029]).
[Claim 18] Staggs teaches the limitations of claim 15, upon which claim 18 depends. Staggs further discloses a foot pedal (“Any suitable input device such as, for example, a foot pedal (not shown) may be utilized in lieu of the switch 112.”), wherein the predetermined ultrasound power is provided when the foot pedal is adjusted to a specified position (figure 1; paragraph [0028]).
[Claims 20 and 21] Staggs teaches the limitations of claim 15, upon which claims 20 and 21 depend. In addition, Staggs teaches a first ultrasound power (figure 3, item 310) is provided if the measured vacuum level (figure 3, item 303) is less than the at least one vacuum threshold (again, the examiner notes, any parameter which is altered, relative to a change in vacuum, can be considered to be based on a “vacuum threshold”) and a second ultrasound power (figure 3, items 312-314) is provided if the measured vacuum level is greater than the at least one vacuum threshold (figure 3); wherein the second ultrasound power (figure 3, items 312-314) is greater than the first ultrasound power (figure 3, item 310) (figure 3; paragraph [0047]).
[Claim 26] Staggs teaches the limitations of claim 16, upon which claim 26 depends. Staggs further discloses the surgical console (figure 1, item 105) is further configured to provide an aspiration boost (the examiner notes this can be interpreted as any increase in vacuum level controlled by the surgical console) based on the comparison of the measured vacuum level to the at least one vacuum threshold (again, the examiner notes, any parameter which is altered, relative to a change in vacuum, can be considered to be based on a “vacuum threshold”) (figure 1; paragraphs [0027], [0028]).
Double Patenting
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,874,551. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the elements of the recited instant application claims are found in the recited patent claims. For example, all of the elements of claim 15 of the instant application can be found in claim 1 of the patent. The difference between claim 15 of the instant application and claim 1 of the patent lies in the fact that the patent claim includes more elements and is thus more specific. Thus, the invention of claim 1 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the "generic” invention of claim 15 of the instant application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 15 of the instant application is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of the patent.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22-25 and 27-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 08/28/2026