DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Waite et al. (US20090152942), hereinafter referred to as ‘Waite’ and in further view of Khaitan et al. (US20130035802), hereinafter referred to as ‘Khaitan’.
Regarding Claim 1, Waite discloses a method for identifying and managing a power overload condition of devices located in a power network of an environment(A method and/or system for dynamic management of electrical power loads is needed in order to decrease one or more problems, such as the potential for overload conditions, of one or more of the existing systems and/or methods in aircraft, non-aircraft, vehicles, structures, and/or devices [0005]), the method comprising, via a controller (Fig. 1 #20): accessing and receiving a plurality of measurements from a plurality of devices and/or locations within the environment (The electrical load management control system 20 may comprise a computer and/or a control system which monitors and controls continuously in real-time the electrical power generation and distribution system 12 and/or the secondary load systems 18. The air conditioning control system 22 may comprise a computer and/or a control system which monitors and controls the primary load system 14, and/or which receives thermal feedback from the compartment 16. The electrical load management control system 20 and the air conditioning control system 22 may communicate with each other [0023]; Fig. 2 #128), detecting an overall overload condition on said plurality of devices (In one aspect of the disclosure, a method is disclosed for dynamically managing electrical load. In one step, the total electrical load power consumption is continually measured. In another step, the electrical power to the primary load system is progressively and proportionately reduced whenever the total electrical load power consumption at least one of exceeds and is about to exceed a threshold electrical power limit [0006]); and if said overload condition is detected; actuating, or controlling a power consumption of said one or more devices, such that said overload condition is reduced (In one aspect of the disclosure, a method is disclosed for dynamically managing electrical load. In one step, the total electrical load power consumption is continually measured. In another step, the electrical power to the primary load system is progressively and proportionately reduced whenever the total electrical load power consumption at least one of exceeds and is about to exceed a threshold electrical power limit [0006]); and said method further comprising, via said controller, monitoring said overload condition (In one aspect of the disclosure, a method is disclosed for dynamically managing electrical load. In one step, the total electrical load power consumption is continually measured. In another step, the electrical power to the primary load system is progressively and proportionately reduced whenever the total electrical load power consumption at least one of exceeds and is about to exceed a threshold electrical power limit [0006]), and automatically detecting when said overload condition has cleared (In another embodiment, step 134 may include, when a large secondary load system 18 electrical power load 13 occurs which was not anticipated and which resulted in an electrical power overload 31, severing the electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 after a pre-determined time limit 33. The electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 may be restored when the total electrical load power consumption 11 is reduced to and/or below the threshold electrical power limit 17, i.e., overload condition has cleared [0028]).
However, Waite does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises, via said controller, managing said overload by reducing the overall power consumption on said plurality of devices to a set level, wherein said step of reducing the overall power consumption comprises, via said controller, operating said plurality of devices at a power level lower than a rated power level, wherein said step of operating said plurality of devices at a power level lower than a rated power level comprises providing power to said network from power storage systems.
Nevertheless, Khaitan discloses the method further comprises, via said controller, managing said overload by reducing the overall power consumption on said plurality of devices to a set level, wherein said step of reducing the overall power consumption comprises, via said controller, operating said plurality of devices at a power level lower than a rated power level, wherein said step of operating said plurality of devices at a power level lower than a rated power level comprises providing power to said network from power storage systems (The controller senses changes in the output voltage and whenever there is an overload state, the output voltage falls since the DC-DC converters (14) in the PMD are current limited. When this voltage falls below a threshold, the appropriate switches (11, 12 or 15) are shut down through a signal that goes from the switch driver (20) to the switch. After the main meter (3), power also goes in parallel to the local storage (7) through a switch (5) and a battery manager (6). This battery manager (6) is connected to the local storage (7) and it sends data on battery's state of charge, input and output current to the controller (39), which helps the controller (17) to evaluate how much power should be sent into the battery (7) [0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waite with the teachings of Khaitan to extend the life of power systems and reduce grid load while reducing costs.
Regarding Claim 2, Waite and Khaitan disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Waite discloses wherein said step of detecting an overall overload condition on said plurality of devices comprises a threshold analysis (In one step 130, a threshold electrical power limit 17 may be determined, which may comprise the total threshold electrical power limit 17 of the primary load system 14 and the secondary load system 18 combined [0027]).
Regarding Claim 3, Waite and Khaitan disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Waite discloses wherein said threshold analysis comprises detecting that an overall measured power of one or more of said plurality of devices is greater than an overall power threshold (In one step 130, a threshold electrical power limit 17 may be determined, which may comprise the total threshold electrical power limit 17 of the primary load system 14 and the secondary load system 18 combined. In one step 132, the primary load system 14 electrical power available 19 may be calculated by subtracting the secondary load system 18 electrical power consumption 13 from the threshold electrical power limit 17. In another step 134, the electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 may be reduced whenever the total electrical load power consumption 11 exceeds and/or is about to exceed a threshold electrical power limit 17 [0027]).
Regarding Claim 6, Waite and Khaitan disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Waite discloses wherein said step of operating said plurality of devices at a power level lower than a rated power level comprises reducing power to said plurality of devices ( FIG. 6 shows a graph 560 charting time versus power for another embodiment implementing a method of the disclosure. FIG. 6 is much like FIG. 5, except the increase in secondary load system 18 power 13 does not cause the total power 11 to reach the critical power system threshold 17. As such, the primary load system power 15 is able to remain at the level desired 5 by the air conditioning system 22 [0034]).
Regarding Claim 8, Waite and Khaitan disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Waite discloses wherein said step of managing said overload comprises, via said controller, driving one or more of said plurality of devices to support said overload condition (In another step 134, the electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 may be reduced whenever the total electrical load power consumption 11 exceeds and/or is about to exceed a threshold electrical power limit 17 [0027]).
Regarding Claim 9, Waite and Khaitan disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 8.
Waite discloses wherein said step of driving said one or more plurality of devices comprises computing a control action value ut, wherein said control action value ut represents a power that said device requires to support said overload condition, and, via said controller, controlling said device through the computation of ut (The primary load system electrical power reduction amount 27, i.e., control action value, may be calculated by determining the primary load system 14 electrical power 15 being used, subtracting the threshold electrical power limit 17, and adding the total secondary load system 18 electrical power 13 consumption. In still another embodiment, step 134 may comprise reducing the primary load system 14 electrical power 15 being used/consumed to the calculated primary load system 14 electrical power available 19. A rate of change of the primary load system power 5 may vary based on conditions, such as the amount of overload and/or flight phase in an aircraft [0029]).
Regarding Claim 10, Waite and Khaitan disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 9.
Waite discloses wherein said step of detecting said overload condition comprises detecting when said value of ut is greater than a minimum allowed value umin and less than or equal to a maximum value umax (The primary load system electrical power reduction amount 27 may be calculated by determining the primary load system 14 electrical power 15 being used, subtracting the threshold electrical power limit 17, and adding the total secondary load system 18 electrical power 13 consumption. In still another embodiment, step 134 may comprise reducing the primary load system 14 electrical power 15 being used/consumed to the calculated primary load system 14 electrical power available 19. A rate of change of the primary load system power 5 may vary based on conditions, such as the amount of overload and/or flight phase in an aircraft [0029]).
Regarding Claim 11, Waite and Khaitan disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 9
Waite discloses wherein said step of automatically detecting when said overload condition has cleared comprises detecting that said value of ut is tending to, or has reached, a minimum value (In step 140, after the electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 was reduced because the total electrical load power consumption 11 exceeded and/or was about to exceed the threshold electrical power limit 17, the electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 may be progressively and/or proportionately increased to the primary load system 14 as the total electrical load power consumption 11 progressively and/or proportionately decreases [0030]).
Regarding Claim 12, Waite and Khaitan disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Waite discloses when said overload condition has been detected, controlling, via said controller, said plurality of devices, such that they operate below, or up to, a maximum value (In step 140, after the electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 was reduced because the total electrical load power consumption 11 exceeded and/or was about to exceed the threshold electrical power limit 17, the electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 may be progressively and/or proportionately increased to the primary load system 14 as the total electrical load power consumption 11 progressively and/or proportionately decreases [0030]).
Regarding Claim 13, Waite and Khaitan disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Waite discloses wherein said environment is an aircraft (A method and/or system for dynamic management of electrical power loads is needed in order to decrease one or more problems, such as the potential for overload conditions, of one or more of the existing systems and/or methods in aircraft, non-aircraft, vehicles, structures, and/or devices [0005]).
Regarding Claim 14, Waite and Khaitan disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 1.
Waite discloses a controller configured to perform (The primary load system 14 may be driven by a motor, a motor controller, and/or other motor combination [0021]).
Regarding Claim 16, Waite discloses a method for identifying and managing a power overload condition of devices located in a power network of an environment (A method and/or system for dynamic management of electrical power loads is needed in order to decrease one or more problems, such as the potential for overload conditions, of one or more of the existing systems and/or methods in aircraft, non-aircraft, vehicles, structures, and/or devices [0005]), the method comprising, via a controller (Fig. 1 #20): accessing and receiving a plurality of measurements from a plurality of devices and/or locations within the environment (The electrical load management control system 20 may comprise a computer and/or a control system which monitors and controls continuously in real-time the electrical power generation and distribution system 12 and/or the secondary load systems 18. The air conditioning control system 22 may comprise a computer and/or a control system which monitors and controls the primary load system 14, and/or which receives thermal feedback from the compartment 16. The electrical load management control system 20 and the air conditioning control system 22 may communicate with each other [0023]; In another step 128, the primary load system 14 electrical power consumption 15 may be continually measured, i.e., plurality of measurements, the total secondary load system 18 electrical power consumption 13 may be continually measured, and/or the total electrical load power consumption 11 may be continually measured [0026] Fig. 2 #128), detecting an overall overload condition on said plurality of devices (In one aspect of the disclosure, a method is disclosed for dynamically managing electrical load. In one step, the total electrical load power consumption is continually measured. In another step, the electrical power to the primary load system is progressively and proportionately reduced whenever the total electrical load power consumption at least one of exceeds and is about to exceed a threshold electrical power limit [0006]); and if said overload condition is detected; actuating, or controlling a power consumption of said one or more devices, such that said overload condition is reduced (In another embodiment, step 134 may include, when a large secondary load system 18 electrical power load 13 occurs which was not anticipated and which resulted in an electrical power overload 31, severing the electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 after a pre-determined time limit 33. The electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 may be restored when the total electrical load power consumption 11 is reduced to and/or below the threshold electrical power limit 17, i.e., overload condition has cleared [0028]); providing power to said network from power storage systems; monitoring said overload condition; automatically detecting when said overload condition has cleared (In another embodiment, step 134 may include, when a large secondary load system 18 electrical power load 13 occurs which was not anticipated and which resulted in an electrical power overload 31, severing the electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 after a pre-determined time limit 33. The electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 may be restored when the total electrical load power consumption 11 is reduced to and/or below the threshold electrical power limit 17 [0028]); restoring nominal operating conditions over the power network (In another embodiment, step 134 may include, when a large secondary load system 18 electrical power load 13 occurs which was not anticipated and which resulted in an electrical power overload 31, severing the electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 after a pre-determined time limit 33. The electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 may be restored when the total electrical load power consumption 11 is reduced to and/or below the threshold electrical power limit 17, [0028]).
However, Waite does not explicitly disclose restoring nominal operating conditions over the power network.
Nevertheless, Khaitan discloses restoring nominal operating conditions over the power network (Fault indicators are used on the casing of the PMU to display any communication errors or other fault conditions such as short circuit or overload. A reset button is provided on the PMU casing to return the device to normal operation after the fault has been remedied. The system is allowed to reset itself periodically in this state to check if the fault state is removed, in which case the system gets back to the normal state, else falls back into the fault state [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waite with the teachings of Khaitan to reset itself periodically in this state to check if the fault state is removed and reduce grid load while reducing costs.
Regarding Claim 17, Waite and Khaitan disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 16.
However Waite does not explicitly disclose restoring nominal operating conditions includes ceasing providing power to said network from power storage systems.
Nevertheless, Khaitan discloses restoring nominal operating conditions includes ceasing providing power to said network from power storage systems (as discussed above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waite with the teachings of Khaitan to reset itself periodically in this state to check if the fault state is removed and reduce grid load while reducing costs.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waite and Khaitan, and further in view of Ganev et al. (US7990114) hereinafter referred to as ‘Ganev’.
Regarding Claim 15, Waite and Khaitan disclose the claimed invention discussed in claim 9.
Waite discloses said controller (In another embodiment, step 134 may comprise progressively and proportionately reducing the electrical power 5 to the primary load system 14 as the total electrical load power consumption 11 progressively approaches or increases over the threshold electrical power limit 17 [0029]).
However, Waite does not explicitly disclose wherein said controller comprises a Proportional Integral “PI” controller.
Nevertheless, Ganev discloses wherein said controller comprises a Proportional Integral “PI” controller (Referring now to FIG. 3, another embodiment of the present invention is illustrated. An EGPS 300 may be configured with a control system 312 having an overload protection system 320. The overload protection system 320 may comprise a voltage comparator 322, a proportional integral (PI) regulator 324, a shaft speed/power analyzer 326 and an error calculator 328, Col. 5, Lines 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Waite and Khaitan with the teachings of Bartko to regulate and adjust a system’s output based on the difference between the desired setpoint and the actual measured value (error) and to improve accuracy of the monitoring method.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-17 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Waite and Khaitan.
Conclusion
Mark Atkins (US7872982) discloses a system for detecting errors on a network wherein the network includes a collection of devices coupled by a first interconnect type.
Michael McGee (US20070268820) discloses a method of operating a network computer system, validating network connectivity, and responding to failure of a physical port.
Gabor Kalman (US7116083) discloses a system is provided for overload and fault current protection of a permanent magnet generator.
/SHARAH ZAAB/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857