DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18334459 filed on 06/14/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are not acceptable for examination purposes.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations for “the sliding seat (1420) is fixed to a lower end face of the rectangular block (1410) and is provided between the two slide rails (190” as recited in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Currently these features are not depicted in the drawings.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show details recited in claim 10 where “a square clamping groove (1421) is formed in an end face of the sliding seat (1420), the lead screw (331) is sleeved with an anti-backlash shaft sleeve (1220), the anti-backlash shaft sleeve (1220) comprises a shaft sleeve body, one end of the shaft sleeve body is provided with a convex ring (2010), and the other end of the shaft sleeve body is provided with two opposite bumps (2020), and the two bumps (2020) together form a clamping part clamped into the clamping groove (1421)”, and as also described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Currently none of the drawings depict such recited details, while Fig. 3 only shows some elements but not their recited relationship and arrangement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation for “a vertical hole” in line 10. However, this limitation is confusing, because it is unclear if this limitation is the same as the limitation for “a vertical hole” as recited in line 8, or if it is another vertical hole, and given that each vertical hole connects different claimed elements. It is suggested to amend the claim and provide explanations in order to remove the indefiniteness issue.
Claims 3-4 depend on claim 2 and therefore inherit the same deficiency.
Claim 7 recites the limitations "“the lead screw”, the fixing plate”, “the focusing rail”, “the sliding seat”. However, given claim 7 dependency, there is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is suggested to amend the claim and provide explanations in order to remove the indefiniteness issues.
Claims 9 and 10 depend on claim 7 and therefore inherit the same deficiency.
Claims 8 and 9 recite the limitation for “a plano-convex lens (340), and a planar lens of the plano-convex lens (340)” in the last three lines of each claim. However, this limitation is ambiguous, because it is unclear how it can be treated, given that a plano-convex lens is a lens with a planar and a convex surface, but not two lenses where one lens is planar lens. The above limitation will be treated broadly, such that plano-convex lens can have a planar surface or planar lens, optical flat. It is suggested to amend the claim and provide explanations in order to remove the indefiniteness issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (hereafter Zhang) CN 114674809 A (where discloses English language machine translation is referenced).
In regard to independent claim 1, Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-4) a handheld LIBS (Laser-Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy) analysis device with auto- focusing and micro-area imaging functions (i.e. LIBS analysis device with automatic focusing (AF) and micro-area imaging, see abstract, paragraphs [01, 05-20, 36-46,56-63], Figs. 1-4), comprising a device body (main body, paragraphs [36-37], Fig. 4), wherein the device body comprises a mounting seat (base 110, paragraphs [33, 36], Figs. 1-4); a pulse laser (pulsed laser 120, paragraphs [33, 36-43], Figs. 1-4), an optical path module and an auto-focusing module are arranged on the mounting seat (as optical path module and an automatic focusing module 110, paragraphs [33, 36-43], Figs. 1-4) the optical path module comprises a first mounting box (140a, paragraphs [33, 36-43], Figs. 1-4), a second mounting box (140b, paragraphs [33, 36-43], Figs. 1-4) and a third mounting box (140c paragraphs [33, 36-43], Figs. 1-4) sequentially arranged from bottom to top (see Figs. 1-4); the first mounting box (140a), the second mounting box (140b) and the third mounting box (140c, paragraphs [33, 36-43], Figs. 1-4) are internally provided with a rotatable perforated total reflector (punched total reflection mirror 320a, paragraphs [33, 36-40], Fig. 3), a beam splitter (BS 320b, paragraphs [33, 36-40], Fig. 3) and a total reflector (reflector mirror 320c, paragraphs [33, 36-40], Fig. 3), respectively; the auto-focusing module (AF module) and the pulse laser (120, Figs. 1-3) are respectively arranged on both sides of the first mounting box (140a) and are oppositely arranged in the same horizontal plane, (as AF module with movable and fixed lenses on 180, 182 are on opposite side from laser 120 with 140a in-between, paragraphs [33, 36-40], Fig. 3); an optical fiber coupler (fiber optic coupler 160, paragraphs [33, 36-40], Figs. 1-4) is connected to a side face of the second mounting box ( as 160 is connected to 140b, paragraphs [33, 36-40], Figs. 1-4); a camera (camera 150, paragraphs [33, 36-40], Figs. 1-4) is connected to a side face of the third mounting box (as 150 is connected to 140c, paragraphs [33, 36-40], Figs. 1-4); and a processing module connected to the optical fiber coupler (as processing module with microcomputer 130 and spectrometer 210 connected with 160, paragraphs [33, 36-40], Figs. 1-4) and the camera are further arranged on the mounting seat (as 130,210, 150 are arranged on base 110, paragraphs [33, 36-46], Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-4) that one side of each of the first mounting box (140a), the second mounting box (140b) and the third mounting box (140c) is opened (i.e. as depicted in e.g. Fig. 3, paragraphs [37-40]), and the first mounting box (140a), the second mounting box (140b) and the third mounting box (140c) are integrated by a connecting plate (as 140a-c are connected by plate 141, paragraphs [37-40], Figs. 1-2,4); the first mounting box (140a) and the second mounting box (140b) are connected with each other through a vertical hole (i.e. as with hole between 140a-b, Fig. 3, paragraphs [37-40]), and the second mounting box (140b) and the third mounting box (140c) are connected with each other with through a vertical hole (i.e. as with hole between 140b-c, Fig. 3, paragraphs [37-40]); the first mounting box (140a) is provided with a penetration hole (hole 710 in 140a, paragraphs [40-41], Fig. 2) in a horizontal direction for laser light of the pulse laser (120) to pass through hole (hole 710 in 140a for laser 120, paragraphs [40-41], Fig. 2), the side face of the second mounting box (140b) is provided with a first through hole (140b with hole 720, paragraphs [40-42], Fig. 2) in a horizontal direction (Fig.2), and the side face of the third mounting box (140c) is provided with a second through hole (730) in a horizontal direction (140c with hole 730, paragraphs [40-42], Fig. 2); each of the first mounting box (140a), the second mounting box(140b) and the third mounting box (140c) is internally provided with a lens holder (as each 140a-c has lens bracket 310, paragraphs[40-44], Fig. 3); and the three lens holders (310) are respectively used for mounting the perforated total reflector ( as 310 for 320a), the beam splitter (310 for 320b) and the total reflector (310 for, 320c, paragraphs[40-44], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-4) that an upper side face of the pulse laser (120) is provided with an L- shaped fixing part (as fixing L-shaped part 170 on top of 120, paragraphs [33,42], Figs. 1-4), the L-shaped fixing part (170) comprises a transverse plate (horizontal plate 510, paragraphs [33,42], Figs. 1-4) mounted on an upper end face of the pulse laser (120, Fig.3) and a vertical plate (520 of 170, Fig. 3) perpendicular to the transverse plate (510, as depicted in e.g. Fig. 3, paragraphs [33, 42]), an input end of the optical fiber coupler (160) is fixed to the second mounting box (as end of 160 is fixed to 140b, paragraphs [42-43], Figs. 1-4) and is arranged opposite to the first through hole ( input end of 160 opposite to hole 720, paragraphs [42-43], Fig. 3), and the vertical plate (520) is provided with a mounting port (530) for an output end of the optical fiber coupler (160) to pass through (i.e. as 520 with port 530 for output end of 160 coupler, paragraphs [33, 42-43], Fig. 3); and one side of the camera (150) is perpendicularly mounted on the vertical plate (520, see Fig. 3, paragraphs [41-43]), and a camera lens is provided towards the second through hole (given the position of 150 and 730 on 140c, see Fig. 3, paragraphs [41-43]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-4) that each of the first mounting box (140a), the second mounting box (140b) and the third mounting box (140c) is internally provided with a lens adjustment rotating base (each 140a-c has adjustment rotating seat, 1010, paragraphs [44-45], Fig. 2), and the lens holder (310) is fixed to the lens adjustment rotating base (as 310 is foxed to 1010, paragraphs [44-45], Fig. 2,3); a side wall of each of the first mounting box (140a), the second mounting box (140b) and the third mounting box (140c) is provided with a lens adjustment end cover (as each 140a-c has end cover 220, paragraphs [44-45], Fig. 2) which is coaxially arranged with the lens adjustment rotating base (220 with 1010, as depicted in Fig. 2, paragraphs [44-45]) and is able to rotate along with the lens adjustment rotating base (i.e. with 1010, paragraphs [44-45]), the lens adjustment end cover (220) is connected to the lens adjustment rotating base (1010) by a bolt, and the bolt is sleeved with a disc spring located between the lens adjustment end cover (220) and the lens adjustment rotating base (220 with 1010, as depicted in Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [44-45]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-4) that the processing module comprises a spectrometer (spectrometer 210) and a microcomputer (microcomputer130, paragraphs [46-48], Figs. 1-2), and an optical fiber (161) is connected between the optical fiber coupler (160) and the spectrometer ( as fiber 161 between 160 and 210, paragraphs [46-48], Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-4) that the auto-focusing module (AF module) comprises a fixing plate (i.e. fixed plate 1210 on 110, paragraphs [48-51], Figs. 2-3) fixed to the mounting seat, a fixing seat perpendicular to the fixing plate is arranged on one side of the fixing plate (as fixing base 180 perpendicular to 1210 on its side, paragraphs [48-51], Figs. 2-3), a motor mounting plate (1211) is arranged at one end, away from the fixing seat on other side of the fixing plate (1211 is away from 180, of plate 1210, paragraphs [48-51], Figs. 2-3), a driving motor is mounted on the motor mounting plate (motor 330 on 1211, paragraphs [48-51], Figs. 2-3), a lead screw (331) is connected to a motor shaft of the driving motor (331 connected to 330, paragraphs [48-51], Figs. 2-3), a sliding seat (1420) is threaded to the lead screw (1420 is threaded to 331, paragraphs [48-51], Figs. 2-3), a focusing rail (182) is arranged on the sliding seat, and moves towards or away from the fixing seat (as focusing seat 182 is on 1420, to move to and from 180, paragraphs [48-51], Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-4) that two slide rails (190) which are arranged in parallel and have the same length direction as an axial direction of the lead screw (331) are arranged on the fixing plate (as slide rails 190 with same length as 331, are on 1210, paragraphs [51-52], Figs. 2-3), a slider (191) is arranged on each of the two slide rails (190), and slides in a length direction of the slide rail (slider 191 on and sliding along 190, paragraphs [51-52], Figs. 2-3); a rectangular block (1410) for connecting the two sliders (191) is arranged on upper end faces of the two sliders (as strip block 1410 connecting 191 , paragraphs [51-52], Figs. 2-3), the focusing rail (182) is fixed to an upper end face of the rectangular block (182 is on 1410, paragraphs [51-52], Figs. 2-3), and the sliding seat (1420) is fixed to a lower end face of the rectangular block (1410) and is provided between the two slide rails (1420 on lower face of 1410 between slide rails 190, paragraphs [51-52], Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-4) that each of the fixing seat (180) and the focusing rail (182) is provided with a mounting hole (1310), and the two mounting holes (1310) are provided coaxially (i.e.as 180, 182 have coaxial hole 1310, paragraphs [53-54], Figs. 3,2); a contact end (184) is provided on a side face, away from the focusing rail (182), of the fixing seat (180) and is located at the mounting hole (1310) of the fixing seat (as contact end 184 on 180 opposite from 182, paragraphs [53-54], Figs. 3,2); a focusing lens group is provided at the position, away from the fixing seat (180), of the focusing rail (182) and is located at the mounting hole (1310) of the focusing rail (as focusing lens group at hole 1310 of 182 away from 180, paragraphs [53-54], Figs. 3,2); the focusing lens group comprises a mounting cylinder (183) with openings at both ends, one end, close to the focusing rail (182), in the mounting cylinder (183) is provided with a plano-convex lens (340), and a planar lens of the plano-convex lens (340) is arranged towards the mounting hole (1310) of the focusing rail (as focusing lens has mounting cylinder 183, with plano-convex lens 340 with planar side at 182 end side with 1310, see paragraphs [53-54], Figs. 3,2).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches (see Figs. 1-4) that a square clamping groove (1421) is formed in an end face of the sliding seat (as square slot 1421 on end face of 1420, paragraphs [56-57], Fig. 3), the lead screw (331) is sleeved with an anti-backlash shaft sleeve (331 has differential elimination bushing 1220, paragraphs [56-57], Fig. 3), the anti-backlash shaft sleeve (1220) comprises a shaft sleeve body, one end of the shaft sleeve body is provided with a convex ring (2010), and the other end of the shaft sleeve body is provided with two opposite bumps (2020), and the two bumps (2020) together form a clamping part clamped into the clamping groove (1220 with body, ring 2010 and two protrusions 2020 for nap fit into 1421, paragraphs [56-57], Fig. 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhao et al. US 20190271652 A1 and Day et al. US 20160084709 A1 also disclose features of instant invention.
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872