DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ball (US 2014/0295316), and further in view of Sato (US 2022/0263100).
As to claim 1, Ball discloses a catalyst for a fuel cell ([0001]-[0005], discussed throughout), the catalyst ([0011]-[0013], discussed throughout) comprising: a catalyst metal ([0011], discussed throughout); and a carrier that supports the catalyst metal ([0011]-[0013], carbon support, discussed throughout), wherein: an outer surface area of the carrier to an inner surface area of the carrier ([0011]-[0015], the outer surface area is the surface area minus the inner surface area which is the micropore area, discussed throughout), which is a ratio between the inner and outer surface areas of the carrier, is 0.56 to 0.69 ([0014]-[0015], shows overlapping ranges, discussed throughout).
Ball is silent to wherein a proportion of the catalyst metal supported on an outer surface of the carrier is 23% to 35%. Sato a catalyst comprising a metal catalyst supported on a carbon carrier ([0008]) wherein a proportion of the catalyst metal supported on an outer surface of the carrier is 23% to 35% ([0008], [0075]-[0081], shows overlapping ranges). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the catalyst distribution from Sato within Ball because excellent catalytic activity and durability are provided ([0008], discussed throughout) and as a mere combing prior art elements according to methods to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 3, modified Ball discloses wherein, the catalyst metal is platinum or a platinum alloy ([0006], [0022], [0026], discussed throughout, Ball).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2022/0263100), and further in view of Ball (US 2014/0295316).
As to claim 1, Sato discloses a catalyst ([0008], discussed throughout) for a fuel cell ([0065], discussed throughout), the catalyst ([0008], discussed throughout) comprising: a catalyst metal ([0008], discussed throughout); and a carrier that supports the catalyst metal ([0008], discussed throughout), wherein: an outer surface area of the carrier to an inner surface area of the carrier ([0100], discusses the inner and outer surfaces, [0075]-[0081], discusses the locations of the metal catalyst in location to the inside of the carbon carrier and the outside of the carbon carrier thus showing the different surfaces, discussed throughout); and a proportion of the catalyst metal supported on an outer surface of the carrier is 23% to 35% ([0008], [0075]-[0081], shows overlapping ranges; discussed throughout).
Sato is silent to wherein, a ratio between the inner and outer surface areas of the carrier, is 0.56 to 0.69. Ball discloses a catalyst for a fuel cell ([0001]-[0005], discussed throughout), the catalyst ([0011]-[0013], discussed throughout) comprising: a catalyst metal ([0011], discussed throughout); and a carrier that supports the catalyst metal ([0011]-[0013], carbon support, discussed throughout), wherein: an outer surface area of the carrier to an inner surface area of the carrier ([0011]-[0015], the outer surface area is the surface area minus the inner surface area which is the micropore area, discussed throughout), which is a ratio between the inner and outer surface areas of the carrier, is 0.56 to 0.69 ([0014]-[0015], shows overlapping ranges, discussed throughout). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to use the ratio between the inner and outer surfaces of the support catalyst from Ball within Sato as a mere combing prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143 I). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 2, modified Sato discloses wherein, the carrier is mesoporous carbon ([0202]-[0208], discussed throughout, Sato).
As to claim 3, modified Sato discloses wherein, the catalyst metal is platinum or a platinum alloy ([0031], [0139]-[0141], discussed throughout, Sato).
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724