DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are hereby the present claims under consideration.
Examiner’s Note: All references to Applicant’s specification are made using the paragraph numbers assigned in the US Publication of the present Application US 2024/0225446 A9.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
An oscillator of claim 1
An oscillator of claim 1 is interpreted as a capacitor and an inductor connected in parallel to form an LC resonant tank as described in paragraph 0052 of the specification and its equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an implantable device for detecting biomarkers in animals” but the recited device does not seem to carry out the function of detecting biomarkers. In particular, the device outputs a second signal indicative of a biomarker but nothing is done with this signal to perform a detection. It is unclear how the recited sensor “detect biomarkers” since it would seem that the sensor oscillates to output a signal but nothing receives, processes, or otherwise acknowledges this signal to actually detect the biomarkers. For the purposes of this examination, the claim will be interpreted as not requiring the actual detection of biomarkers to take place.
Claims 2-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependence of claim 1.
The term “high-frequency” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-frequency” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation will be interpreted as any frequency greater than 0.1 terahertz.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the pair of electrodes and oscillator form an integrated circuit” but it is unclear what particular structure is intended to be conveyed by “integrated circuit” it is unclear if this limitation is meant to convey a specific type of connection, orientation, or from factor for these elements. For the purposes of this examination, any type of electrical configuration between the electrodes and oscillator may be considered as an “integrated circuit”.
Claim 5 recites “a transponder configured to wirelessly communicate with an external device” but it is unclear what relation, if any, the transponder has with the sensor or claim 1. For the purposes of this examination, the transponder will be interpreted as being configured to communicate the signals output by the sensor or data derived therefrom to the external device.
Claim 6 recites “data corresponding to the second signal” but it is unclear if this data being transmitted is the second signal itself or some other metric derived therefrom. It would seem the device does not include any structure or recited function of deriving data from the second signal so it is unclear how data derived from the second signal could be transmitted. For the purposes of this examination, this limitation will be interpreted as either the second signal itself or any data derived therefrom.
Claim 6 recites “receiving an indication to transmit data” but it is unclear from where this indication originates. For the purposes of this examination, the indication will be interpreted as being either from the external device or the implantable device.
Claims 12 and 13 recite that the sensor and/or transponder are integrated onto the same or different microchips but it is unclear what particular structure is intended to be conveyed by “microchip” it is unclear if this limitation is meant to convey a specific types of connection, orientation, or from factor for these elements. For the purposes of this examination, any type of electrical configuration may be considered as a “microchip”.
Claim 15 recites “in order to determine a biomarker present in the biological fluid” but it is unclear if “a biomarker” is the same as, related to, or different from, “a biomarker” of claim 1. If is further unclear how the additional sensor itself determines a biomarker present in the fluid. It would seem that the sensor would output an absorption spectra which would require further processing. For the purposes of this examination, the limitation will be interpreted as the additional sensor outputting an additional signal indicative of biomarkers in the fluid.
Regarding claim 18, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the purposes of this examination, the antenna will be considered as required by the claim.
Claim 20 recites “receive data from an implant … the data indictive of a biomarker present in biological fluid of the animal” but it is unclear what this data comprises. It is unclear if the data is the same as, related to, or different from, the second signal produced by the device as described in claim 1. For the purposes of this examination, the data will be interpreted as the second signal or any data derived therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims, 1, 10, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a sensor comprising … wherein the oscillator is configured to output a second signal at the second frequency, the second signal indicative of a biomarker in the biological fluid.” Which appears to encompass the sensor being able to detect any and all known and as of yet unknown types of biomarkers in a biological fluid. The specification does not fully support the claimed scope of the sensor. In particular, paragraphs 0055-0057 describe how each biomarker and its associated oscillation frequency can be stored in a database and various combinations of biomarkers can be calibrated in a lab using experiments and simulations. These recitations are considered insufficient for the claimed scope of the invention. In particular, the disclosure of a species of combinations provided in paragraph 0057 is not considered to be sufficient support to support the claimed genus of any and all possible biomarker detection in any biological fluid. The specification does not sufficiently describe how such an operation is carried out for various different biomarkers, define the particular meets and bounds of what biomarkers can be detected in this way, or describe how interference from other constituents in complex biological fluids (such as whole blood) is accounted for to determine a concentration of a particular biomarker (such as calcium)
Claim 10 recites “wherein the housing comprises at least one through-hole configured to allow biological fluid to contact the sensor”, but the specification paragraph 0054 of the specification indicates that the biological fluid enters the space between the pair of electrodes. The specification does not appear to support the biological fluid contacting any part of the sensor such as the inductor as presently claimed.
Claims 15 and 16 are directed towards detecting a biomarker in a fluid using the additional infrared sensor. The specification does not fully support the device being capable of detecting any and all known and as of yet unknown biomarkers in any biological fluid using near or middle infrared sensing. In particular, paragraphs 0092-0093 generically describe the presence of such a sensor and provide only a statement of functionality that the infrared sensor may detect any type of biomarker. Such a description is insufficient to support the scope of the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Min US Patent Application Publication Number US 2016/0338624 A1 hereinafter Min.
Regarding claim 1, Min discloses an implantable device for detecting biomarkers in animals (Abstract; Paragraph 0008: the device detects glucose and may be part of an IMD), the device comprising:
a sensor (Paragraph 0059: the glucose sensing device) comprising:
a pair of electrodes spaced apart from each other, the pair of electrodes having a first capacitance (Paragraph 0045: the two capacitor plates); and
an oscillator configured to oscillate at a first frequency and output a first signal at the first frequency (Paragraphs 0060-0061: the LC resonant circuit as a whole creates an oscillating signal at the resonant frequency. Any current frequency corresponding to a current glucose level may be considered a first frequency; Paragraphs 0062-0063: A circuit collects measurements indicative of the resonant frequency, These measurements are considered to be the output first signal);
wherein the sensor is configured to receive an amount of biological fluid wherein the biological fluid causes the capacitance of the pair of electrodes to change from the first capacitance to a second capacitance (Paragraphs 0049 and 0057: A notch may be formed in the housing to create a cavity between the plates. The main flux components may then pass through the blood which improves sensitivity; Fig. 1C references 164 and 165);
wherein the oscillator is coupled to the pair of electrodes and arranged such that a change in the capacitance of the pair of electrodes causes a change in oscillation of the oscillator from the first frequency to a second frequency (Paragraphs 0045, 0047, and 0060-0061: the capacitor plates form part of the oscillator and are thus “coupled to” the oscillator. The capacitance changes with blood glucose which causes changes in the resonant frequency of the circuit, or oscillation); and
wherein the oscillator is configured to output a second signal at the second frequency, the second signal indicative of a biomarker in the biological fluid (Paragraphs 0060-0063: changes in blood glucose induce changes in capacitance which changes the resonant frequency of the circuit. The resonant frequency is detected and output which can then be used to determine the particular blood glucose concentrations.).
Regarding claim 5, Min discloses the implantable device according to claim 1. Min further discloses the device further comprising a transponder configured to wirelessly communicate with an external device (Paragraph 0093: the device communicates with an external device and may exchange information; Paragraph 0095: the telemetry circuit).
Regarding claim 6, Min discloses the implantable device according to claim 5. Min further discloses the device wherein the transponder is configured to transmit data corresponding to the second signal to the external device in response to receiving an indication to transmit data (Paragraphs 0095-0097: transmitting glucose data using the telemetry circuit; Paragraphs 0060-0063: changes in blood glucose induce changes in capacitance which changes the resonant frequency of the circuit. The resonant frequency is detected and output which can then be used to determine the particular blood glucose concentrations).
Regarding claim 17, Min discloses a system for monitoring the well-being of animals (Abstract), comprising an implantable device according to claim 1 (Min: as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1); and
a wearable device configured to wirelessly communicate with the implantable device (Paragraph 0152: the wearable monitor to communicate with the implanted device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 12-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min US Patent Application Publication Number US 2016/0338624 A1 hereinafter Min
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Min discloses the implantable device according to claim 1. Min further discloses that the LC-resonant circuit may be coupled to an integrated circuit (Paragraph 0052). Each element of the implantable device of Min is in electrical communication with the other elements as is implicitly disclosed by the recited functions and illustrated by the connecting lines in Figs. 3-5. However Min fails to explicitly disclose the device wherein the pair of electrodes and oscillator form an integrated circuit or wherein the integrated circuit comprises a lll-V based Hetro-junction bipolar transistor.
It is noted that the above difference is not considered a patentable difference because incorporating the electrodes and oscillator on an integrated circuit and including a lll-V based Hetro-junction bipolar transistor on the circuit does not produce any surprising technical effect in light of the specification paragraphs 0062-0063. Rather, such a construction appears to merely be one possible method of constructing the invention and does not produce a surprising technical benefit. As such, these differences are not considered patentable differences and are considered to be an obvious variation of Min.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Min discloses the implantable device according to claim 5. Min further discloses that each element of the implantable device of Min is in electrical communication with the other elements as is implicitly disclosed by the recited functions and illustrated by the connecting lines in Figs. 3-5. Min fails to explicitly disclose the sensor and transponder integrated onto two separate microchips or integrated onto a single microchip.
An obvious variation of Min would be to integrate the sensor and transponder on separate chips or integrate them onto the same chip. The particular groupings of components onto a single chip or circuit is a matter of routine optimization and experimentation based on the particular construction or form factor requirements of the device. Integrating the sensor and transponder onto the same or separate chips does not alter their function and produces no surprising technical effect. Thus the sensor and transponder being on different or the same chips is considered an obvious variation of Min.
Regarding claim 19, Min discloses the system according to claim 17. Min further at least suggests the system wherein the wearable device comprises a least one motion detector configured to detect motion in order to determine a position of the wearable device (Paragraphs 0137-0138 and 0152: the position sensor may be external to the implantable device and worn by the patient such as in the wearable monitor. The recitation of monitoring the motion of the patient is considered to render the limitation of “determine a position of the wearable device” obvious as best understood in light of the above presented 35 USC 112 rejection above since the wearable device is worn on the patient and monitors the motion of the patient, it inherently monitors the motion, and/or position, of itself).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min US Patent Application Publication Number US 2016/0338624 A1 hereinafter Min as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Potyrailo US Patent Application Publication Number US 2012/0116683 A1 hereinafter Potyrailo.
Regarding claim 2, Min discloses the implantable device according to claim 1. Min fails to further disclose the device wherein the sensor is a high-frequency terahertz sensor.
Potyrailo teaches methods and sensors for selective fluid sensing are provided. Each sensor includes a resonant inductor-capacitor-resistor (LCR) sensor that is coated with a sensing material. In order to collect data, an impedance spectrum is acquired over a relatively narrow frequency range, such as the resonant frequency range of the LCR circuit. A multivariate signature may be calculated from the acquired spectrum to discern the presence of certain fluids and/or fluid mixtures. The presence of fluids is detected by measuring the changes in dielectric, dimensional, resistance, charge transfer, and other changes in the properties of the materials employed by observing the changes in the resonant electronic properties of the circuit. By using a mathematical procedure, such as principal components analysis (PCA) and others, multiple fluids and mixtures can be detected in the presence of one another, even in a high humidity environment or an environment wherein one or more fluids has a substantially higher concentration compared to other components in the mixture (Abstract). Thus, Potyrailo is reasonably pertinent to the problem at hand.
Potyrailo teaches a resonant sensor circuit which calculates a multivariate signature from the acquired impedance spectrum over a resonant frequency range. The resonant frequency range may be within 0.1Hz to 1000 Terahertz (Claims 15 and 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to alter the resonant frequency range of Min to be wider as taught by Potyrailo because such a wide range of resonant frequencies may allow for the detection of a more diverse set of analytes. It is further noted that the particular range of resonant frequencies that the senor is configured for is a matter of routine optimization and experimentation based on factors such as, the desired analyte(s) to monitor, power constraints, size constrains, desired degree of precision, particular sensor construction requirements, and others. Thus the exact range of resonant frequencies utilized by the sensor system is considered to be a matter of routine optimization and experimentation with no surprising technical effect.
Claims 7, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min US Patent Application Publication Number US 2016/0338624 A1 hereinafter Min as applied to claims 1, 5 and 17 above and further in view of Velvadapu US Patent Application Publication Number US 2021/0140888 A1 hereinafter Velvadapu.
Regarding claim 7, Min discloses the implantable device according to claim 5. Min fails to further discloses the device wherein the transponder is configured to receive power transmitted by the external device so that the transponder can power the implantable device.
Velvadapu teaches a sensor that may be implanted within a living animal and may be used to measure an analyte in a medium within the animal. The sensor may include a sensor substrate, electrode or housing, an analyte indicator covering at least a portion of the sensor, and one or more probes that identify degradative species in an environment of the sensor (Abstract). Thus, Velvadapu falls within the same field of endeavor as Applicant’s invention.
Velvadapu teaches that implanted circuitry may be powered by an external device using a transceiver (Paragraphs 0029 and 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to modify the device of Min to include a wireless power transceiver as taught by Velvadapu because allowing the device of Min to receive power from an external source may eliminate the need for the battery of Min and may allow the device to be smaller or could reduce the size of battery required by allowing it to be recharged.
Regarding claim 18, Min discloses the system according to claim 17. Min further discloses the system wherein the wearable device is further configured to transmitting an RF signal which can be received by the transponder of the implantable device (Paragraph 0097: the external device transmits RF signals to excite the oscillator; Paragraph 0095: the telemetry circuit), for example using one or more antenna (Paragraph 0060: the RF signals may be generated using an antenna)
Min fails to further disclose the wearable device configured to power the implantable device.
Velvadapu teaches a wearable device configured to supply power to an implantable device using electromagnetic waves or fields which induce a current in an inductive element within the implantable device (Paragraphs 0030-0031 It is noted that RF signals are a type of EM wave and thus encompassed within the generation of EM waves). The external device may utilize an antenna (Paragraph 0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to modify the system of Min to include the external wireless power transceiver as taught by Velvadapu because allowing the device of Min to receive power from an external source may eliminate the need for the battery of Min and may allow the device to be smaller or could reduce the size of battery required by allowing it to be recharged.
Regarding claim 20, Min discloses a wearable device (Paragraph 0152: the wearable monitor) comprising:
a receiving device configured to receive data from an implant in an animal, wherein the implant is an implantable device according to claim 1, the data indicative of a biomarker present in biological fluid of the animal (Paragraph 0152: the communication link for sending and receiving data between the wearable deice and IMD; The IMD for monitoring blood glucose as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1);
a memory configured to store the data (Paragraph 0039: the external device includes a data store; Paragraph 0063: data is transmitted to the external device; paragraph 0096: the external device may upload and download information from the IMD; These recitations are considered to implicitly disclose the external device having a memory on which the transmitted data can be stored); and
Min fails to further discloses the wearable device comprising a power generating device configured to wirelessly transmit power to the implant.
Velvadapu teaches a wearable device configured to supply power to an implantable device using electromagnetic waves or fields which induce a current in an inductive element within the implantable device (Paragraphs 0030-0031). The external device may utilize an antenna (Paragraph 0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to modify the system of Min to include the external power generating device for wirelessly powering the implant as taught by Velvadapu because allowing the device of Min to receive power from an external source may eliminate the need for the battery of Min and may allow the device to be smaller or could reduce the size of battery required by allowing it to be recharged.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min US Patent Application Publication Number US 2016/0338624 A1 hereinafter Min as applied to claim 5 above and further in view of Meyer US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0217059 A1 hereinafter Meyer.
Regarding claim 8, Min discloses the implantable device according to claim 5. Min fails to further discloses the device wherein the sensor and transponder are encapsulated in a package comprising fan-out wafer-level packaging.
Meyer teaches that a sensor assembly includes a multilayer circuit, a first magnetic field sensor, and a second magnetic field sensor (Abstract). The sensor assembly may be used in a medical device including an implantable medical device (Paragraphs 0063 and 0072) Thus, Meyer is reasonably pertinent to the problem at hand.
Meyer teaches that fan-out wafer-level packaging can be used to bond sensors and circuitry (Paragraphs 0077 and 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to implement the fan-out wafer-level packaging taught by Meyer into the device of Min to encapsulate the sensor and transponder because such a packaging type is a simple substitution of one known element (the packaging or attachment utilized by Min) for another (the fan-out wafer-level packaging taught by Meyer) with no surprising technical effect.
Regarding claim 9, Min in view of Meyer teaches the implantable device according to claim 8. Modified Min further teaches the device wherein the package is housed within a housing (Paragraphs 0040-0041: the LC sensor is enclosed within the housing; Paragraphs 0094-0095: the telemetry circuit; Figs. 4 and 5 references 402, 502, 516 and 424 at least suggest the telemetry circuitry enclosed within the housing).
Regarding claim 10, Min in view of Meyer teaches the implantable device according to claim 9. Modified Min further teaches the device wherein the housing comprises at least one through-hole configured to allow biological fluid to contact the sensor (Paragraph 0049: the notch that creates a cavity exterior to the housing but located between the plates and the hole that allows blood to flow through the device. The biological fluid being between the plates is considered “contacting the sensor”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min US Patent Application Publication Number US 2016/0338624 A1 hereinafter Min in view of Meyer US Patent Application Publication Number US 2019/0217059 A1 hereinafter Meyer as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Montegrande US Patent Application Publication Number US 2008/0146946 A1 hereinafter Montegrande.
Regarding claim 11, Min in view of Meyer teaches the implantable device according to claim 9. Modified Min further teaches the device, wherein the housing further comprises a biocompatible coating configured to seal the package within the housing.
Montegrande teaches an implantable sensor for measuring blood pressure (Abstract), which utilizes changes in capacitance induced by external pressures (Paragraphs 0041-0042). Thus, Montegrande is reasonably pertinent to the problem at hand.
Montegrande teaches that the implantable sensor may be coated with a biocompatible coating and/or housed within a suitably biocompatible structure to prevent biocompatibility problems. The biocompatible coating may also serve other purposes such as being embedded with anti-coagulants for release throughout the sensor’s lifetime (Paragraph 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to implement the biocompatible coatings taught by Montegrande into the device of modified Min because modified Min already contemplates the housing being biocompatible (Min: Paragraph 0104) and including a biocompatible coating also achieves this function while also allowing the housing to be embedded with various reagents which may be beneficial to release over time such as anti-coagulants to prevent blood clots from clogging the notch or hole of modified Min (Paragraph 0049).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min US Patent Application Publication Number US 2016/0338624 A1 hereinafter Min as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Arnold US Patent Application Publication Number US 2007/0066877 A1 hereinafter Arnold.
Regarding claim 14, Min discloses the implantable device according to claim 1. Min further discloses the device utilizing a blood glucose reading from a secondary measurement device which may utilize infrared spectroscopy (Paragraph 0077). However Min does not disclose if the secondary measurement device is part of the implantable device.
Min fails to explicitly disclose the device further comprising an additional sensor, wherein the additional sensor is a near infrared sensor or mid-infrared sensor.
Arnold teaches an implantable microspectrometer for the reagentless optical detection of an analyte in a sample fluid. The microspectrometer comprises an optical sampling cell having a cell housing defining a fluid inlet port and a fluid outlet port, the fluid inlet port configured to receive an optical sampling fluid from a test subject; an electromagnetic radiation source in communication with a first portion of the optical sampling cell housing and configured to irradiate at least a portion of the optical sampling fluid with electromagnetic radiation; and an electromagnetic radiation detector in communication with a second portion of the optical sampling cell housing and configured to detect electromagnetic radiation emanating from the optical sampling cell. In use, the implantable microspectrometer can optically detect at least one parameter of an analyte contained within the optical sampling fluid in the absence of an added reagent (Abstract). Thus, Arnold falls within the same field of endeavor as Applicant’s invention.
Arnold teaches an implantable spectroscopy system for detecting a variety of different analytes in a variety of different sample fluids. The spectroscopy device may use near infrared and/or middle infrared wavebands (Paragraphs 0041 and 0043-0044). The system includes a sampling cell having an inlet and outlet port (Paragraph 0046). The system may monitor the presence and concentration of one or more analytes (Paragraphs 0089-0090). The target parameter may be glucose which may be detected using the near infrared spectrum, or the target analyte may be different from glucose. The desired spectral range of the spectrometer is dependent upon the particular analyte being investigated (Paragraph 0133).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to implement the spectrometer of Arnold into the device of Min because the spectrometer of Arnold would provide Min with a secondary mechanism for measuring glucose as well as other analytes which may be of interest. Min already contemplates that it is desirable to have a secondary glucose measurement modality (Min: Paragraph 0077) and incorporating the spectrometer of Arnold would provide such a modality plus the additional functionality of detecting different analytes which may provide the user with additional insights to their health . Moreover, the notch of hole in the housing of Min (Min: Paragraphs 0049 and 0057) would seemingly be readily adapted to serve as the sampling cell of Arnold (Arnold: Paragraph 0046) without losing the functionality of these elements since the fluid being sampled could still be disposed between the capacitive plates during optical sampling.
Regarding claim 15, Min in view of Arnold teaches the implantable device according to claim 14. Modified Min fails to further disclose the device wherein the additional sensor comprises an emitter configured to emit a light at an amount of biological fluid and a photodetector configured to detect the light reflected by and / or transmitted through the biological fluid in order to determine a biomarker present in the biological fluid.
Arnold teaches that the spectrometer comprises an LED light emitter for providing electromagnetic radiation (Paragraphs 0064-0066). The spectrometer further comprises a photodetector array for detecting the desired range or ranges of electromagnetic radiation. (Paragraphs 0049 and 0055-0059). The detectors receive light that has been transmitted the biological fluid (Paragraphs 0067-0068). The concentration of the analyte is determined from the received absorption spectrum (Paragraph 0054). The system may monitor the presence and concentration of one or more analytes (Paragraphs 0089-0090).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to implement the emitter and photodetector of Arnold into the device of modified Min because the emitter and detector array of Arnold allow the device to monitor the presence and concentration of one or more analytes which would provide the user with more complete health information and also serve as a secondary measurement modality for glucose concentration as contemplated by Min (Min: Paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 16, Min in view of Arnold teaches the implantable device according to claim 14. Modified Min fails to further disclose the device wherein said additional sensor is configured to detect at least one biomarker that is not detectable by said sensor.
Arnold teaches an implantable spectroscopy system for detecting a variety of different analytes in a variety of different sample fluids. The spectroscopy device may use near infrared and/or middle infrared wavebands (Paragraphs 0041 and 0043-0044). The system includes a sampling cell having an inlet and outlet port (Paragraph 0046). The system may monitor the presence and concentration of one or more analytes (Paragraphs 0089-0090).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to implement the spectroscopy device of Arnold for monitoring multiple different analytes into the device of modified Min because such an integration would allow Min to monitor for multiple different analytes which would allow it to transmit more complete health information to the user. Such information may provide additional insights into a patient’s health that would not have otherwise been known.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW ERIC OGLES/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JASON M SIMS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791