DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 09/30/2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (2024/0255779) in view of Hart et al. (2017/0199307).
Regarding claim 1, Ding discloses an optical element (Figure 1, right hand side element) with a lanthanide compound layer ([0036] teaches the high refractive index material may be LaTiO3, which can be an alternative to the depicted Ta2O5), comprising: an optical substrate including a first surface (HC, hard coat layer, including the top surface); the lanthanide compound layer made of lanthanide compound and being disposed on the first surface (bottom Ta2O5 layer which is disposed on the top surface of HC, hard coat layer; [0036] teaches the high refractive index material may be LaTiO3, which can be an alternative to the depicted Ta2O5), and the lanthanide compound layer including a second surface (top surface of the bottom Ta2O5 layer); and an optical film stack disposed on the second surface (layers SiO2, Ta2O5, SiO2, Ta2O5, and SiO2, on the top surface of the bottom Ta2O5 layer); and a thickness of the lanthanide compound layer ranges from 5 nm to 100 nm (the bottom Ta2O5 layer is depicted to have a thickness of 32 nm).
Ding fails to teach wherein the surface of the optical film stack includes pinhole defects and particles, the pinhole defects having a size of less than 3 µm or ranging from 3 µm to 10 µm; and the thickness of the lanthanide compound layer inhibits the expansion and generation of the pinhole defects. Ding and Hart are related because both teach an optical element.
Hart teaches an optical element (Figures 3 and 4) wherein the surface of the optical film stack includes pinhole defects (Figure 3, 340, surface defect) and particles (Figure 4, 340, surface defect), the pinhole defects having a size of less than 3 µm or ranging from 3 µm to 10 µm ([0061] teaches 360, surface thickness, of 340, surface defect, is about 25 nm or more); and the thickness of the layer inhibits the expansion and generation of the pinhole defects ([0062] teaches a thickness of the anti-reflection coating is greater than the surface thickness, and the remaining 320, coated surface, is in pristine condition with no surface defects present).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Ding to incorporate the teachings of Hart and provide wherein the surface of the optical film stack includes pinhole defects and particles, the pinhole defects having a size of less than 3 µm or ranging from 3 µm to 10 µm; and the thickness of the lanthanide compound layer inhibits the expansion and generation of the pinhole defects. Doing so would allow for improved resistance to damage during drop events onto hard and rough surfaces for the optical element.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Ding discloses the optical element with the lanthanide compound layer as claimed in claim 1, wherein the lanthanide compound layer is made of a material selected from the group consisting of LaTiO3, LaNiO3 and LaAlO ([0036] teaches the high refractive index material may be LaTiO3).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Ding discloses the optical element with the lanthanide compound layer as claimed in claim 1, wherein a thickness ratio between the lanthanide compound layer and the optical film stack is 1-900:1000-9000 (the bottom Ta2O5 layer is depicted to have a thickness of 32 nm; the cumulative thickness of the subsequent layers on the top surface of the bottom Ta2O5 layer is 511 nm; thus the ratio 32:511 falls within the claimed ratio).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kamiguchi (6,303,218), Nozawa (TW 201435477 A), Spencer (CA 2400157 A1), and Hayashi (JP H0695363 A) disclose relevant optical elements.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872