DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 06/02/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claim 5 has been amended.
Claims 1-14 are pending in Instant Application.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 112(b) rejection: Applicant' s amendment to claim 5 has overcome the 112(b) rejection raised in the previous action; therefore the 112(b) rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Regarding 103(a) rejection: Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jung et al. (USPGPub 2020/0108802).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cai et al. (CN211955830U) in view of Jung et al. (USPGPub 2020/0108802). As per claim 1, Cai discloses an autonomous mobile device, comprising: a main body (see at least paragraph 0028; wherein machine body 1); a protruding element disposed at a top portion of the main body (see at least paragraph 0028; wherein the laser radar component 3 is located at the top of the machine body 1); a protection cover disposed at an outer side of the protruding element to cover the protruding element (see at least paragraph 0030; wherein the laser radar assembly 3 includes a radar cover 31), the protection cover being movably connected with the main body or the protruding element (see at least paragraph 0030; wherein the radar cover 31 can be slidably installed on the radar base 36, and covers the laser radar 32 for protection); a detecting device configured to detect an external force exerted on the protection cover or a displacement of the protection cover caused by the external force, and to transmit information of the external force or the displacement to a processor (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein when the radar cover 31 is subjected to external force such as impact, whether it is the front, back, left, right or downward force, the bow-shaped spring piece 34 will be deformed. Since the micro switch 35 is fixed on the radar base 36 at a 45-degree inclination, both lateral and longitudinal movement can be detected by the micro switch 35, so as to timely feedback to the controller to control the mobile robot to take obstacle avoidance measures); a position restoring assembly (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein the spring piece middle part 342 is elastic and can be deformed when an external force is applied, and can be restored after the external force disappears); the processor (see at least paragraph 0028; wherein a controller); and an extension-retraction groove disposed on the main body at a circumference of a lower portion of the protruding element (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein the bow-shaped spring piece 34 is divided into a spring piece upper end 341, a spring piece middle part 342 and a spring piece lower end 343. The spring piece lower end 343 is fixedly mounted on the spring piece lower end mounting part 362 of the radar base 36), wherein the protection cover is inserted into the extension-retraction groove (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein when the radar cover 31 is subjected to external force such as impact, whether it is the front, back, left, right or downward force, the bow-shaped spring piece 34 will be deformed), wherein two ends of the position restoring assembly are connected with the protection cover and a groove bottom of the extension-retraction groove respectively (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein when the radar cover 31 is subjected to external force such as impact, whether it is the front, back, left, right or downward force, the bow-shaped spring piece 34 will be deformed. Since the micro switch 35 is fixed on the radar base 36 at a 45-degree inclination, both lateral and longitudinal movement can be detected by the micro switch 35, so as to timely feedback to the controller to control the mobile robot to take obstacle avoidance measures), wherein after the protection cover experiences the displacement caused by the external force and after the external force is released, the position restoring assembly is configured to restore the protection cover to a position where the protection cover is free from the external force (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein the spring piece middle part 342 is elastic and can be deformed when an external force is applied, and can be restored after the external force disappears), wherein a first end of the detecting device is connected with the groove bottom of the extension-retraction groove, and a second end of the detecting device is configured to contact the protection cover when the protection cover is subject to the external force or is experiencing the displacement (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein the function of the bow-shaped spring piece 34 is to connect the radar upper cover 31 with the radar base), wherein the detecting device includes a first detecting device (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein when the radar cover 31 is subjected to external force such as impact, whether it is the front, back, left, right or downward force, the bow-shaped spring piece 34 will be deformed. Since the micro switch 35 is fixed on the radar base 36 at a 45-degree inclination, both lateral and longitudinal movement can be detected by the micro switch 35, so as to timely feedback to the controller to control the mobile robot to take obstacle avoidance measures) and the position restoring assembly includes a first position restoring assembly (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein the spring piece middle part 342 is elastic and can be deformed when an external force is applied, and can be restored after the external force disappears), wherein a first end of the first position restoring assembly is connected with the groove bottom at a back end of the extension-retraction groove along the positive moving direction, and a second end of the first position restoring assembly is connected with a lower portion of a back end of the protection cover along the positive moving direction (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein when the radar cover 31 is subjected to external force such as impact, whether it is the front, back, left, right or downward force, the bow-shaped spring piece 34 will be deformed. Since the micro switch 35 is fixed on the radar base 36 at a 45-degree inclination, both lateral and longitudinal movement can be detected by the micro switch 35, so as to timely feedback to the controller to control the mobile robot to take obstacle avoidance measures), wherein a first end of the first detecting device is connected with the groove bottom at the back end of the extension-retraction groove along the positive moving direction, and a second end of the first detecting device is configured to contact the lower portion of the back end of the protection cover (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein when the radar cover 31 is subjected to external force such as impact, whether it is the front, back, left, right or downward force, the bow-shaped spring piece 34 will be deformed. Since the micro switch 35 is fixed on the radar base 36 at a 45-degree inclination, both lateral and longitudinal movement can be detected by the micro switch 35, so as to timely feedback to the controller to control the mobile robot to take obstacle avoidance measures). Cai does not explicitly mention wherein a front end of the protection cover in a positive moving direction of the autonomous mobile device is connected with the main body or the protruding element, such that the protection cover is rotatable upwardly and downwardly around the front end of the protection cover, and a rotation axis of the upward and downward rotation is parallel with a horizontal plane and perpendicular to the positive moving direction, along the positive moving direction when the protection cover rotates downwardly, and wherein a front end of the protection cover is hinge-connected with the main body or the protruding element. However Jung does disclose: wherein a front end of the protection cover in a positive moving direction of the autonomous mobile device is connected with the main body or the protruding element (see at least paragraph 0048; wherein the first cover 10-1 (or the second cover 10-2) covering the front surface of the sensor 50 is moved upward or downward of the sensor 50), such that the protection cover is rotatable upwardly and downwardly around the front end of the protection cover, and a rotation axis of the upward and downward rotation is parallel with a horizontal plane and perpendicular to the positive moving direction (see at least paragraph 0048; wherein the first cover 10-1 (or the second cover 10-2) covering the front surface of the sensor 50 is moved upward or downward of the sensor 50), along the positive moving direction when the protection cover rotates downwardly (see at least paragraph 0048; wherein the first cover 10-1 (or the second cover 10-2) covering the front surface of the sensor 50 is moved upward or downward of the sensor 50), and wherein a front end of the protection cover is hinge-connected with the main body or the protruding element (see at least paragraph 0037; wherein the sensor cover 10 comprises a first cover 10-1 and a second cover 10-2 which are integrated with each other via a rotary shaft 13). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Jung with the teachings as in Cai. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide strengthened performance in radar for ensuring safety of autonomous driving without being obstructed even in bad weather conditions such as snowfall, rainfall and freezing, see Jung paragraph 0032. As per claim 2, Cai and Jung disclose wherein the detecting device also includes a second detecting device, and the position restoring assembly also includes a second position restoring assembly, wherein a first end of the second position restoring assembly is connected with the groove bottom at a front end of the extension-retraction groove along the positive moving direction, and a second end of the second position restoring assembly is connected with the lower portion of the front end of the protection cover along the positive moving direction, and wherein a first end of the second detecting device is connected with the groove bottom at the front end of the extension-retraction groove along the positive moving direction, and a second end of the second detecting device is configured to contact the lower portion of the front end of the protection cover along the positive moving direction (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein Cai discloses when the radar cover 31 is subjected to external force such as impact, whether it is the front, back, left, right or downward force, the bow-shaped spring piece 34 will be deformed. Since the micro switch 35 is fixed on the radar base 36 at a 45-degree inclination, both lateral and longitudinal movement can be detected by the micro switch 35, so as to timely feedback to the controller to control the mobile robot to take obstacle avoidance measures) when the protection cover rotates downwardly (see at least paragraph 0048; wherein Jung discloses the first cover 10-1 (or the second cover 10-2) covering the front surface of the sensor 50 is moved upward or downward of the sensor 50). As per claim 3, Cai discloses wherein when the back end of the protection cover along the positive moving direction is subject to a downward pressing force that is perpendicular to a top portion of the protection cover, or when the front end of the protection cover along the positive moving direction is subject to a force in a direction opposite to the positive moving direction, the protection cover is configured to compress the first position restoring assembly and to contact the first detecting device (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein when the radar cover 31 is subjected to external force such as impact, whether it is the front, back, left, right or downward force, the bow-shaped spring piece 34 will be deformed. Since the micro switch 35 is fixed on the radar base 36 at a 45-degree inclination, both lateral and longitudinal movement can be detected by the micro switch 35, so as to timely feedback to the controller to control the mobile robot to take obstacle avoidance measures). As per claim 4, Cai discloses wherein when the front end of the protection cover along the positive moving direction is subject to a force that is perpendicular to the top portion of the protection cover, the protection cover is configured to compress the second position restoring assembly and to contact the second detecting device (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein when the radar cover 31 is subjected to external force such as impact, whether it is the front, back, left, right or downward force, the bow-shaped spring piece 34 will be deformed. Since the micro switch 35 is fixed on the radar base 36 at a 45-degree inclination, both lateral and longitudinal movement can be detected by the micro switch 35, so as to timely feedback to the controller to control the mobile robot to take obstacle avoidance measures). As per claim 5, Cai discloses wherein the protection cover is slidably disposed in the extension-retraction groove in a direction that is substantially perpendicular to the positive moving direction of the main body (see at least paragraph 0030; wherein the radar cover 31 can be slidably installed on the radar base 36, and covers the laser radar 32 for protection). As per claim 6, Cai discloses further comprising: a first position restricting ring disposed at a location of the protection cover facing the groove bottom of the extension-retraction groove; and a second position restricting ring disposed on a side wall of the extension-retraction groove, wherein the second position restricting ring is configured to block the first position restricting ring from moving outside of the extension-restriction groove (see at least paragraph 0015; wherein in order to limit the movement of the radar cover on the radar base but prevent it from falling off, and to allow it to move in both horizontal and vertical directions, in a specific embodiment of the utility model, a limiting hole is provided on the edge of the radar cover, and a limiting column is provided above the radar base, the limiting hole can move around the limiting column, the limiting column includes a cap located above, and a rod portion located at the cap, the cap is used to limit the limiting hole from falling off the limiting column, and the length of the rod portion exposed from the radar base is greater than the thickness of the limiting hole). As per claim 7, Cai discloses wherein the position restoring assembly includes multiple position restoring assemblies disposed at intervals surrounding a central axis of the extension-retraction groove, and wherein each position restoring assembly is disposed in the extension-retraction groove (see at least paragraph 0032; wherein the bow-shaped spring piece 34 and the micro switch 35 are evenly spaced. The bow-shaped spring piece 34 is divided into a spring piece upper end 341, a spring piece middle part 342 and a spring piece lower end 343. The spring piece lower end 343 is fixedly mounted on the spring piece lower end mounting part 362 of the radar base 36, and the spring piece upper end 341 is fixedly mounted on the spring piece upper end mounting part 312 of the radar upper cover 31. The spring piece middle part 342 is elastic and can be deformed when an external force is applied, and can be restored after the external force disappears. The function of the bow-shaped spring piece 34 is to connect the radar upper cover 31 with the radar base. The relative position between 36 remains stable. When the radar cover 31 is subjected to external force such as impact, whether it is the front, back, left, right or downward force, the bow-shaped spring piece 34 will be deformed), and an end of each position restoring assembly is connected with the first position restricting ring (see at least Figure 3). As per claim 8, Cai discloses further comprising an elevation device, wherein the main body includes a frame and a fixing part, wherein an elevation channel is disposed at a top portion of the frame, wherein the fixing part is slidably disposed in the elevation channel, and wherein the protruding element and the protection cover are disposed on the fixing part (see at least paragraph 0015; wherein the movement of the radar cover on the radar base but prevent it from falling off, and to allow it to move in both horizontal and vertical directions, in a specific embodiment of the utility model, a limiting hole is provided on the edge of the radar cover, and a limiting column is provided above the radar base, the limiting hole can move around the limiting column, the limiting column includes a cap located above, and a rod portion located at the cap, the cap is used to limit the limiting hole from falling off the limiting column, and the length of the rod portion exposed from the radar base is greater than the thickness of the limiting hole).
Claims 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cai et al. (CN211955830U), in view of Jung et al. (USPGPub 2020/0108802), and further in view of Chen et al. (CN110907919A) As per claim 9, Cai and Jung do not explicitly mention wherein the elevation device is connected with the frame and the fixing part, and is configured to control, when the detecting device detects a collision occurring to the protection cover, the fixing part to retract into the elevation channel, to thereby cause the protection cover and the protruding element to retract into the elevation channel. However Chen does disclose: wherein the elevation device is connected with the frame and the fixing part, and is configured to control, when the detecting device detects a collision occurring to the protection cover, the fixing part to retract into the elevation channel, to thereby cause the protection cover and the protruding element to retract into the elevation channel (see at least paragraph 0057; wherein the protective frame 301 is hollowed out and covers the top of the mounting bracket 1 , the light-transmitting protective cover 302 is installed above the lifting buffer assembly 101 , and the laser radar 2 is mounted inside the light-transmitting protective cover 302. When the laser radar 2 is hit, the protective frame 301 can form a second layer of protection for the laser radar 2. The lowered laser radar 2 is protected inside its frame). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Chen with the teachings as in Cai and Jung. The motivation for doing so would have been to reducing dust on the radar surface and improving the accuracy of radar measurement, see Chen paragraph 0026. As per claim 10, Cai and Jung do not explicitly mention wherein the elevation device includes a rotation device, a driving pinion and a rack, wherein the rack is connected with the fixing part, wherein the driving pinion and the rotation device are connected, and wherein the driving pinion and the rack are engaged. However Chen does disclose: wherein the elevation device includes a rotation device, a driving pinion and a rack, wherein the rack is connected with the fixing part, wherein the driving pinion and the rotation device are connected, and wherein the driving pinion and the rack are engaged (see at least paragraph 0066; wherein the first driving assembly includes a vertical slide rail 501 installed below the lifting plate 103, a rack plate 505 slidably arranged in the vertical slide rail 501, and a first pulley mounting plate 503 fixedly installed on one side of the vertical slide rail 501, a first bevel gear 504 is mounted on the first pulley mounting plate 503 via a rotating shaft, an incomplete bevel gear 506 is mounted on the driving shaft of the driving unit 201, the incomplete bevel gear 506 is meshed with the first bevel gear 504, the first bevel gear 504 is meshed with the rack plate 505, and a transmission tooth 507 meshed with the tooth of the rack plate 505 is arranged in the middle of the bidirectional worm 502). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Chen with the teachings as in Cai and Jung. The motivation for doing so would have been to reducing dust on the radar surface and improving the accuracy of radar measurement, see Chen paragraph 0026. As per claim 12, Cai discloses wherein the elevation device includes a driving nut, a driving screw, and the rotation device, wherein the driving nut is connected with the fixing part, wherein the driving screw is rotatably connected with the frame, wherein the driving nut and the driving screw match with one another, and wherein the rotation device and the driving screw are connected (see at least paragraph 0031; wherein there is a screw mounting column on the radar base 36, and the limiting column here is formed by the cooperation of the screw and the screw mounting column, so the cap is the screw cap, and the rod is the screw mounting column. The screw locks the radar cover 31 on the screw mounting column 3612, but does not lock it. The diameter of the screw cap 3611 is larger than the limiting hole 311, so that the radar cover 31 will not The distance between the screw nut cover 3611 and the radar base 36 is greater than the thickness of the limiting hole 311, that is, the height of the screw mounting column 3612 protruding from the radar base 36 in this example, so that the limiting hole 311 can make a translational movement parallel to the plane where the screw column is located within a certain range along the screw column. Therefore, with the cooperation of the limiting column 361 and the limiting hole 311, the radar cover 31 can move relative to the radar base 36).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cai et al. (CN211955830U), in view of Jung et al. (USPGPub 2020/0108802), and further in view of Winberg et al. (USPGPub 2020/0307454). As per claim 13, Cai and Jung do not explicitly mention further comprising a detecting apparatus configured to detect a location of the fixing part in the elevation channel. However Winberg does disclose: further comprising a detecting apparatus configured to detect a location of the fixing part in the elevation channel (see at least paragraph 0073; wherein the object detection apparatus 100 activates operation 540 which includes the detection processor 410 lowering the sensors into the housing 310. The detection processor 410 activates the motor 363 to lower the sensor platform 325 or to retract it back to a secure position within the housing 310. Upon reaching a storing distance at which the sensors 315 are within the housing 310 and the cover plate 330 is aligned to seal the housing 310, thus providing a watertight and/or airtight compartment that stores the sensors 315). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Winberg with the teachings as in Cai and JUng. The motivation for doing so would have been to maintain the sensors secure and clean, and to refrain from damage to the sensors or from accumulation of dirt or debris until the next use, see Winberg paragraph 0033. As per claim 14, Cai discloses wherein the detecting apparatus includes a photoelectric sensor or a micro-motion sensor disposed at a bottom of the elevation channel (see at least paragraph 0030; wherein the collision sensor 35 is a micro switch).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to explicitly teach wherein the elevation device includes an encoder and a deceleration box, wherein the rotation device includes an electric motor, wherein a main shaft of the electric motor is connected with an input end of the deceleration box, and the driving pinion is connected with an output end of the deceleration box, and wherein the encoder is configured to detect a rotation angle of the main shaft of the electric motor.
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: USPGPub 2020/0326712 – Provides a self-driving vehicle system with retractable sensor head. USPGPub 2020/0207167 – Provides engagement systems that couple a device to a vehicle, and more specifically, to a hitch assembly of a device that includes an engagement pin system that is received within and engages a hitch receiver of a vehicle.
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662