Claim Objections
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 2/6/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
the Restriction Requirement has not identified another process that is materially different than the claimed process. Applicant therefore respectfully requests that the Examiner document a viable example where either (A) the process as claimed is not an obvious process of making the product and the process as claimed can be used to make another materially different product; or (B) the product as claimed can be made by another materially different process, or withdraw the requirement pursuant to MPEP 806.05(f).
This is not found persuasive because The restriction requirement has identified another process that is materially different than the claimed process. Vacuum molding is a specific manufacturing method that is different from other methods. Specifying a method specifically using vacuum molding versus stating an open ended statement including all molding methods including injection molding is considered “another process that is materially different than the claimed process”
Applicant further submits that any search for the identified Group I invention will necessarily include the method for manufacturing of the identified Group II invention. Thus, there would be no serious search burden on the Examiner to examine claims 1-16 together. The requirement for restriction between Groups I and II must therefore be withdrawn, and claims 1-16 must be examined together.
This is not found persuasive because regardless of search method, inventions having different limitations will require different search strategies, and the time to consider the relevancy of collective references would increase proportionally, as well.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuo et al. CN104659397 in view of Okamoto (US 2014/0377684)
With respect to claim 1, Kazuo et al. discloses an electrolyte sheet for solid oxide fuel cells [Abstract], the electrolyte sheet comprising:
a ceramic plate body including ceramic grains containing sintered zirconia. [0049-0050; 0057-0058]
Kazuo et al. does not disclose wherein the ceramic grains have a number-based cumulative particle size distribution with a difference of 2.5 μm or more between a particle size D90 at a 90% cumulative probability and a particle size D10 at a 10% cumulative probability.
Okamoto discloses a support sheet for solid oxide fuel cells [Abstract] comprising:
a plate body including containing zirconia [0034-0050],
wherein the ceramic grains have a number-based cumulative particle size distribution with a difference of 2.5 μm or more between a particle size D90 at a 90% (5-12µm) cumulative probability and a particle size D10 at a 10% (84-101 µm) cumulative probability. [0051-0056; Abstract]
Therefore it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the electrolyte sheet of Kazuo et al. to include wherein the ceramic grains have a number-based cumulative particle size distribution with a difference of 2.5 μm or more between a particle size D90 at a 90% cumulative probability and a particle size D10 at a 10% cumulative probability, as disclosed in Okamoto, in order to allow for a support of a solid oxide fuel cell that hardly deteriorates conductivity and strength thereof through repetitive exposure to reducing atmosphere/oxidizing atmosphere.
With respect to claim 2, Kazuo et al. discloses wherein the sintered zirconia is sintered yttria-stabilized zirconia. [0030-0034; 0050]
With respect to claim 3, Kazuo et al. discloses wherein the sintered zirconia is sintered cubic zirconia. [Abstract]
With respect to claim 8, Kazuo et al. discloses a unit cell for solid oxide fuel cells, the unit cell comprising: a fuel electrode; an air electrode; and the electrolyte sheet for solid oxide fuel cells according to claim 1 between the fuel electrode and the air electrode. [Abstract; 0046-0047; 0114-0116]
Conclusion
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751