DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s page 5 argument regarding the prior art of Arimoto not teaching the resin layer as an adhesive layer. However, a sacrificial layer in this art, and a resin in particular, is known to be adhesive as it adhesively bonds to a substrate/layer. The adhesive strength of the sacrificial layer is not a limiting element of claim 1, although sacrificial layers are designed to lose adhesiveness during a process, such as by the irridation and developing process taught by Arimoto [P. 9, ¶7].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s page 6 arguments regarding the claim 1 amendment of the sacrificial layer polymer comprising a polyamic acid or polyamideimide not being taught by Arimoto. However, Arimoto teaches the polymer of the sacrificial layer can comprise a polyamideimide [P. 8, ¶ 4], and can comprise a polyamic acid catalyst [P. 8, ¶ 3].
The 35 U.S.C. 103 arguments on pages 6-9 are regarding the argued deficiencies of Arimoto, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Arimoto (JP2020050734A). Claim elements are presented in italics.
1. A temporary bonding method, comprising: providing a stack comprising: a first substrate having an upper surface and a lower surface; an adhesive layer in contact with the lower surface; a second substrate having a first surface; and a sacrificial layer disposed between the first surface and the adhesive layer; and applying laser energy to the sacrificial layer to facilitate separation of the first substrate from the second substrate, wherein the sacrificial layer is formed by a composition comprising an alkali-soluble polymer; and a solvent for dispersing or dissolving the alkali-soluble polymer, wherein the alkali-soluble polymer contains a divalent residue of a diamine having a carboxyl group, and the alkali-soluble polymer comprises polyamic acid or polyamideimide.
With respect to claim 1, the prior art of Arimoto teaches a temporary bonding method, comprising: providing a stack comprising: a first substrate, which is a semiconductor electronic component [P. 8, ¶ 5-6], which can be a deposited film having an upper surface and a lower surface [P. 17, ¶ 1 – Cu film]; and a heat-resistant resin adhesive layer in contact with the lower surface of the deposited Cu film [P. 17, ¶ 1].
Arimoto teaches a second substrate, or support substrate, which can be a glass substrate [P. 16, last ¶], having a first (top) surface spin-coated with a sacrificial layer [P. 16, last ¶] disposed between the first surface and the adhesive layer [P. 17, ¶ 1]; and applying laser energy to the sacrificial layer to facilitate separation of the first substrate from the second substrate [P. 10, ¶ 3].
Arimoto teaches the sacrificial layer is formed by a composition comprising an alkali-soluble polymer, which is implicitly taught as a solvent for dispersing or dissolving the alkali-soluble polymer can be an aqueous alkaline solution [P. 10, ¶ 9-10], wherein the alkali-soluble polymer contains a divalent residue of a diamine having a carboxyl group [P. 4, ¶ 2], wherein the alkali-soluble polymer of the sacrificial layer can comprise a polyamideimide [P. 8, ¶ 4], and can have a polyamic acid catalyst [P. 8, ¶ 3].
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising washing the adhesive layer with an alkaline aqueous solution to remove the sacrificial layer remaining on a surface of the adhesive layer after the step of applying laser energy to the sacrificial layer.
With respect to claim 2, Arimoto teaches washing the adhesive layer with an alkaline aqueous solution to remove the sacrificial layer remaining on a surface of the adhesive layer [P. 10, ¶ 9 - Step 3B] after the step of applying laser energy to the sacrificial layer [P. 10, ¶ 2-4 - Step 3A].
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the divalent residue of the diamine having the carboxyl group comprises the following group:
,
or
, wherein * indicates a connection point.
With respect to claim 4, it is understood by the Examiner that Arimoto teaches the divalent residue of the diamine having the carboxyl group comprises the following group:
, or MBAA: 5,5′-methylenebis (2-aminobenzoic acid) [P. 14, ¶ 9], wherein * would indicate a connection point.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arimoto (JP2020050734A), as set forth above in the rejection of claim 2, in view of Wang (US20220098456A1). Claim elements are presented in italics.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the alkaline aqueous solution is 3 to 5% by weight of an aqueous alkali metal hydroxide solution or an aqueous alkali metal carbonate solution.
With respect to claim 3, as set forth in the rejection of claim 2, Arimoto teaches washing the adhesive layer with an alkaline aqueous solution [P. 10, ¶ 9-10], which can be tetramethylammonium hydroxide (TMAH) aqueous solution [P. 11, ¶ 3], to remove the sacrificial layer.
Arimoto is silent on the alkaline aqueous solution being 3 to 5% by weight of an aqueous alkali metal hydroxide solution or an aqueous alkali metal carbonate solution.
However, the prior art of Wang teaches TMAH aqueous solution can be used in a concentration of 5 - 30 wt % for the removal of a temporary adhesive layer from the surface of a processed wafer, after a laser debonding step [0138].
A prima facie case of obviousness exists that Wang teaches the claim 3 element alkaline aqueous solution is 3 to 5% by weight of an aqueous alkali metal hydroxide solution, as the Wang aqueous TMAH solution range of 5 – 30 wt% overlaps at an endpoint with the claimed range of 3 – 5 wt%. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute the TMAH aqueous solution in a concentration of 5 - 30 wt %, taught by Wang, to replace the non-detailed tetramethylammonium hydroxide TMAH aqueous solution, taught by Arimoto, to predictably result in an aqueous alkali metal hydroxide solution at a known concentration designed for the removal of a temporary bonding layer from a processed wafer.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arimoto (JP2020050734A), as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, as evidenced by Jeong (US20200062906A1). Claim elements are presented in italics.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the sacrificial layer has a thermal expansion coefficient of less than 50 ppm/℃.
With respect to claim 5, Arimoto is silent on the sacrificial layer having a thermal expansion coefficient (CTE) of less than 50 ppm/°C.
However, the prior art of Jeong teaches a sacrificial layer with a (CTE) of 0 to 20 ppm/°C. in the temperature range of 30 to 500°C [0027]. The Jeong sacrificial layer’s chemistry is similar to the teachings of Arimoto, as Jeong teaches the sacrificial layer is a polyimide-based solution [0017, 0027, 0081] comprising a carboxylic group [0044, 0081]. Jeong provides evidence that the sacrificial layer, and also the sacrificial layer taught by Arimoto, will have good solubility, transparency, and a low thermal expansion for its application as a sacrificial layer [0008, 0015].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing that the sacrificial layer taught by Jeong, which teaches a sacrificial layer with a (CTE) of 0 to 20 ppm/°C, provides evidence that the CTE taught by Arimoto would have similar properties and a closely matching CTE, based on their closely matching chemistries. Therefore, Arimoto would also have a sacrificial layer CTE of less than 50 ppm/°C, teaching the elements of instant claim 5.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant' s disclosure – Huang (US20140338963A1), [0009, 0010, 0074].
GREGORY C. GROSSO
Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/GREGORY C. GROSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748