DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A1, claims 1-11, 13-20 in the reply filed on 7/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/13/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species B2 in the reply filed on 7/13/2026 is acknowledged. This is found to be persuasive.
Thus, the restriction requirement as set forth in the Office action mailed on 7/13/2026 between Species B1-B2 is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “threading bundles of the main yarns through respective ones of the openings of the fitting, the main yarns of the bundles radiating from the openings”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the claim limitation requires. More specifically, claim 8 recites “bundles of the main yarns” threaded through respective ones of the openings of the fitting which appears to conflict with claim 1 reciting ““main yarns strung through the openings of the fitting” since it is unclear which of the main yarns and which of the bundles are threaded through which of the opening(s).
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the main yarns of the bundles radiating from the openings”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the main yarns radiate from respective openings, all of the openings or some other combination of openings.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the main yarns of the bundles curve in a same direction as the main yarns radiate from the openings”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the main yarns of the bundles are the same or different from the main yarns that radiate from the openings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pettey et al. (US 2016/0303799A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pettey discloses a method (see Title, Abstract) comprising:
receiving a fitting comprising openings extending through an outer portion of the fitting (attachments and ports, unique connections [0031], [036]-[0038]);
placing the fitting on a flexible substrate (flexible storage tanks/containment bladders [0025], [0027], [0032]);
stitching main yarns into the flexible substrate, the main yarns strung through the openings of the fitting (knitting or weaving [0029]-[0030]); and
encapsulating the main yarns and the outer portion of the fitting with an encapsulant, the encapsulant bonded to the flexible substrate (apply a final coating [0034]-[0035], [0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Pettey discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pettey further discloses forming a primer coating on the outer portion of the fitting, the encapsulant bonded to the primer coating (applying a precursor coating to the yarn [0038]).
Regarding claim 3, Pettey discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pettey further discloses the flexible substrate is formed of a first fuel-tolerant material and the encapsulant is formed of a second fuel-tolerant material (fuel resistance [0034]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 4, Pettey discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pettey further discloses stitching support yarns into the flexible substrate and over the main yarns, the support yarns crossing the main yarns (using yarn 10 and coated yarn 12 [0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Pettey discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pettey further discloses encapsulating the support yarns with the encapsulant (apply a final coating [0034]-[0035], [0038]).
Regarding claim 6, Pettey discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pettey further discloses the main yarns are bicomponent yarns comprising a core and a sheath (yarn with a precursor protective coating [0027]).
Regarding claim 7, Pettey discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pettey further discloses the sheath has a melting point, and the encapsulant is formed at a temperature which is lower than the melting point of the sheath (precursor protective coating made of PVDF [0028], unique final coating made of PVDF [0035] such that the unique final coating is formed at a temperature lower than a melting point of PVDF).
Regarding claim 10, Pettey discloses a method comprising:
receiving a fitting comprising openings extending through an outer portion of the fitting (attachments and ports, unique connections [0031], [036]-[0038]);
placing the fitting on a fuel-tolerant substrate (flexible storage tanks/containment bladders [0025], [0027], [0032]; fuel resistance [0034]-[0035]);
forming an attachment structure by:
programming a computer numerical control process according to a strength of the attachment structure (uploaded pre-designed CAD program; the CAD information may be loaded into the programmable logic control (PLC) of the 3D knitting additive manufacturing machine 20 [0024], [0031], [0036]);
stitching yarns into the fuel-tolerant substrate with an embroidering machine, the embroidering machine controlled using the computer numerical control process, the yarns strung through the openings of the fitting (knitting or weaving [0029]-[0030]); and
encapsulating the yarns and the outer portion of the fitting with an encapsulant (apply a final coating [0034]-[0035], [0038]).
Regarding claim 11, Pettey discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pettey further discloses the fuel-tolerant substrate is a flexible substrate for a fuel cell fitting patch (for micro fuel cells [0040]).
Regarding claim 13, Pettey discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pettey further discloses programming the computer numerical control process comprises: selecting a density, a length, and a radius of curvature for the yarns (selected coated yarns 12 may be fabricated in a 3D knitting (i.e., additive manufacturing) machine 20 loaded with the pre-designed CAD-Knitting software application. The selected combination of yarns 10, and/or, coated yarns 12 may be fed into the 3D knitting machine 20, and deposited according to the uploaded pre-designed CAD program. The CAD information may be loaded into the programmable logic control (PLC) of the 3D knitting additive manufacturing machine 20. Further, yarns are only consumed within the structure as needed, optimizing cost and physical performance. Finally, yarns of different types and/or constructions of different densities can be strategically placed within the final product [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Pettey discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pettey further discloses the yarns each comprise a sheath having a melting point, and a molding process for the encapsulant is performed at a temperature which is lower than the melting point of the sheath (applying a precursor coating to the yarn [0038]; precursor protective coating made of PVDF [0028], unique final coating made of PVDF [0035] such that the unique final coating is formed at a temperature lower than a melting point of PVDF).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pettey et al. (US 2016/0303799A1).
Regarding claim 15, Pettey discloses a method comprising:
placing a first rigid fitting on a first flexible substrate the first rigid fitting comprising first openings extending through a first outer portion of the first fitting (attachments and ports, unique connections [0031], [036]-[0038]);
stitching first yarns through the first openings and into the first flexible substrate with an embroidering machine, the embroidering machine controlled according to a first computer numerical control process (uploaded pre-designed CAD program; the CAD information may be loaded into the programmable logic control (PLC) of the 3D knitting additive manufacturing machine 20 [0024], [0031], [0036]);
encapsulating the first yarns, the first rigid fitting with an encapsulant, the encapsulant extending through the first openings (apply a final coating [0034]-[0035], [0038]).
Although Pettey does not expressly disclose placing a second rigid fitting on a and a second flexible substrate, the second rigid fitting comprising second openings extending through a second outer portion of the second fitting, stitching second yarns through the second openings and into the second flexible substrate with the embroidering machine, the embroidering machine controlled according to a second computer numerical control process, the second computer numerical control process different from the first computer numerical control process; and encapsulating the second yarns, and the second rigid fitting with an encapsulant, the encapsulant extending through the second openings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to stitch a second set of yarns to a fitting and into a flexible substrate because a mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 16, Pettey discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pettey further discloses the first yarns form a first semi-rigid attachment structure for the first rigid fitting, and the second yarns form a second semi-rigid attachment structure for the second rigid fitting, the method further comprising: selecting the first computer numerical control process according to a first strength of the first semi-rigid attachment structure; and selecting the second computer numerical control process according to a second strength of the second semi-rigid attachment structure, the second strength different from the first strength (selected coated yarns 12 may be fabricated in a 3D knitting (i.e., additive manufacturing) machine 20 loaded with the pre-designed CAD-Knitting software application. The selected combination of yarns 10, and/or, coated yarns 12 may be fed into the 3D knitting machine 20, and deposited according to the uploaded pre-designed CAD program. The CAD information may be loaded into the programmable logic control (PLC) of the 3D knitting additive manufacturing machine 20. Further, yarns are only consumed within the structure as needed, optimizing cost and physical performance. Finally, yarns of different types and/or constructions of different densities can be strategically placed within the final product [0031]).
Regarding claim 17, Pettey discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pettey further discloses the first rigid fitting and the first flexible substrate form a first fitting patch, the second rigid fitting and the second flexible substrate form a second fitting patch, and the method further comprises: attaching the first fitting patch to a first side of a flexible fuel cell body; and attaching the second fitting patch to a second side of the flexible fuel cell body (fuel cell [0040]).
Regarding claim 18, Pettey discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Further, while Pettey does not explicitly disclose the first rigid fitting is smaller than the second rigid fitting, there are only a finite number of solutions for the relative sizes, namely, selecting a first rigid fitting that is greater than, the same as or smaller than the second rigid fitting. Thus, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007).
Regarding claim 19, Pettey discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pettey further discloses forming a first primer coating on the first outer portion of the first fitting; and forming a second primer coating on the second outer portion of the second fitting (precursor protective coating [0027]).
Regarding claim 20, Pettey discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pettey further discloses the first yarns and the second yarns comprise a filament component having a melting point, the encapsulant comprises a polyurethane resin formulated from isocyanate and polyol, and the polyurethane resin is formulated at a temperature lower than the melting point of the filament component (coated with polyurethane [0035]).
Conclusion
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 9/18/2026