DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The applicant filed an Amendment after Final under 37 CFR 1.114 as an RCE accompanied by remarks traversing rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d), § 102(a)(1), and § 103. The amendments to claims 1, 4–5, 7–8, 11, and 14–15 have been entered. Claims 2–3, 6, 9–10, and 12–13 remain cancelled.
Claims 1 and 11 are now independent. Claims 4–5, 7–8, 14–15 depend therefrom.
RESPONSE TO APPLICANT’S REMARKS
I. § 112(d) Rejection (Dependence on Former Claims 1 and 11)
Applicant amended claims 4–5 and 14–15 to recite additional functional language (“further configured in a manner that … connected … in response to … frequency-band input”) contending these amendments “further limit” the parent claims.
The amendments correct the former “improper dependent form” issue since they now clearly specify additional operational limitations of the base communication circuit/electronic-device structure. Accordingly, the rejection under § 112(d) is withdrawn.
II. § 102(a)(1) Rejection – Anticipation by Hamidi et al. (Springer Nature 2021)
Independent Claim 1 (as amended)
Applicant argues that Hamidi fails to teach an amplifier module having an internal “switching module” and fails to show plural matching circuits “disposed outside the amplifier module,” contending Hamidi’s MOSFETs merely vary impedance within a single match.
After full reconsideration, these arguments are not persuasive:
Hamidi Fig. 6 explicitly discloses two distinct reconfigurable branches (C3b / C3c) each connectable between driver M1 and power M2-M3 via separate switch pairs (M10, M11) and (M12, M13). Each branch functions independently as a distinct impedance-matching path between the amplifier stages, satisfying “a plurality of matching circuits, including a first … and a second … disposed outside … performing impedance matching …”.
The “switching module” limitation reads on Hamidi’s controlled MOSFET-based switch network (M10–M13). Claim 1 recites functional, not structural restriction (no location clause “within the PA module”); Hamidi’s switches are operatively part of the amplifier subsystem that controls impedance per frequency band (900/1450/1900 MHz). Thus, the feature is met.
Terminals T1 – T4 in Hamidi Fig. 8 correspond to the claimed first–fourth terminals used for transfer of driver outputs and power inputs.
The “based on a first/second frequency band” operation is also disclosed—Hamidi explicitly states switching between three bands under controller command.
Accordingly, claim 1 remains anticipated by Hamidi et al. under § 102(a)(1).
Dependent Claims 4 – 5
Both claim functional refinements (“at least one of the first or the second amplifier … connected to [the] first/second matching circuit in response to … frequency band”) inherently occur in Hamidi’s frequency-selectable architecture. When a given band is selected, appropriate stage(s) are tied to active matching circuit(s) via MOSFETs M10–M13, fulfilling these conditions. Claims 4 and 5 are thus anticipated by Hamidi.
Dependent Claims 7 – 8
Claims 7–8 detail explicit switch control behavior (first–fourth switches). Hamidi explicitly discloses identical elements M10–M13 performing this function for two separate matches. Even applying the slight linguistic differences introduced by amendment (“communication circuit … further configured to control”), no structural change limits scope beyond Hamidi’s disclosure. Therefore, claims 7 and 8 are anticipated.
Independent Claim 11 and Dependents 14 – 15
Claim 11 redefines claim 1’s circuitry as part of an electronic device including processor/transceiver/memory. Hamidi et al. describe the same integration—multiband transmitter architecture inherently containing processor-based control for switch biasing. Modern transmitters as described necessarily include such elements, as supported by Hamidi p. 73 (right col.). Claim 11 is anticipated.
Dependent claims 14–15 simply recast the same frequency-responsive control and are likewise anticipated.
III. § 103 Rejection (formerly claims 9–10)
Claims 9 and 10 were cancelled; the § 103 rejection is withdrawn as moot.
CLAIM REJECTIONS
1. Rejection — 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1, 4–5, 7–8, 11, 14–15 are rejected as being anticipated by Hamidi et al., Fully integrated CMOS tunable power amplifier using reconfigurable input/interstage/output matching networks, Springer Nature, Jan. 2, 2021.
Rationale: All limitations are disclosed in Hamidi Figs. 1b, 6, 7, 8 and associated text (pp. 72–74). The reconfigurable MOS switch network (M10–M13) functions as the claimed switching module, controlling connection of plural matching circuits disposed outside the PA core, each selected according to input-signal frequency band.
See detailed mapping in Section II above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 11, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamidi et al. (“Fully integrated CMOS tunable power amplifier using reconfigurable input/interstage/output matching networks”, Published 2 January 2021, Springer Nature 2021).
Fig. 8 of Hamidi annotated by the examiner for ease of reference.
Regarding Claim 1
Claim 1 recites a “communication circuit” containing a series of structural and functional sub-elements. Hamidi discloses each limitation as follows:
Claim 1 Limitation
Hamidi Disclosure
“A communication circuit comprising:”
Hamidi Fig. 1(b) shows a multiband transmitter including power amplifier with tunable interstage and output matching circuits—constituting a communication circuit.
“an amplifier module comprising a switching module, a first amplifier for amplifying a signal received from a transceiver, and a second amplifier for amplifying a signal amplified by the first amplifier;”
Hamidi Figs. 3, 4, and 8 disclose a driver stage (M1) feeding a power stage (M2–M3). MOSFET switches M10–M13 form the switching network controlling reconfiguration of the matching circuits; this corresponds to the claimed “switching module.” The transceiver source corresponds to the input in Fig. 1(b).
“a plurality of matching circuits, including a first and a second matching circuit, disposed outside the amplifier module and performing impedance matching between the first amplifier and the second amplifier;”
Hamidi Fig. 6 presents two reconfigurable interstage matching branches—(M10 + C3b + M11) and (M12 + C3c + M13)—located between the driver and power stages and physically outside the amplifier core, performing impedance matching, thus satisfying the limitation.
“wherein the amplifier module comprises a first terminal and a third terminal for outputting the signal amplified by the first amplifier to an outside of the amplifier module, and a second terminal and a fourth terminal for receiving a signal input to the second amplifier;”
Terminals T1–T4 in Hamidi Fig. 8 are annotated as providing output and input coupling between the stages, meeting this limitation.
“wherein the communication circuit is configured to control the switching module to connect the first matching circuit to the amplifier module based on a first frequency band … and connect the second matching circuit … based on a second frequency band …”
Hamidi explicitly states the switches (M10–M13) are controlled by bias voltages Vcont₁/Vcont₂ selecting specific matching branches for different frequency bands (e.g., 900 MHz, 1450 MHz, 1900 MHz). This corresponds exactly to band-based switching among multiple matching circuits.
Therefore, Hamidi et al. disclose every element of claim 1 either expressly or inherently. The claim is anticipated under § 102(a)(1).
Regarding Claim 4
Claim 4 depends on claim 1 and adds: “… configured in a manner that at least one of the first amplifier or the second amplifier are connected to the first matching circuit in response to a signal of a first frequency band input to the amplifier module.”
Hamidi Fig. 6 shows that when the control voltage Vcont₁ is activated (corresponding to the first frequency band), switches M10 and M11 turn ON, coupling the driver (M1) and the power (M2–M3) through the branch (C3b). This operation connects at least one amplifier (both in practice) to the first matching circuit for the selected band. Claim 4 is anticipated.
Regarding Claim 5
Claim 5 adds the analogous operation for the second frequency band. When Vcont₂ is activated, M12 and M13 switch ON, coupling the amplifier stages via C3c, thereby selecting the second matching circuit. Hamidi discloses this directly on p. 73 (right col., lines 3–10). Claim 5 is anticipated.
Regarding Claim 7
Claim 7 further specifies that the amplifier-switching module comprises first, second, third, and fourth switches controlling specific connections, and that the circuit controls these switches responsive to a first-band signal.
Hamidi’s M10, M11, M12, M13 serve exactly this role:
M10 – controls connection between first amplifier (M1) and first match (C3b)
M11 – controls connection between second amplifier (M2–M3) and first match (C3b)
M12 – controls connection between first amplifier (M1) and second match (C3c)
M13 – controls connection between second amplifier (M2–M3) and second match (C3c)
Bias control (Vcont₁) sets M10/M11 ON, configuring the first-band path. That functional interplay matches the claim word-for-word. Claim 7 is anticipated.
Regarding Claim 8
Claim 8 recites the analogous second-band control: “ … to control … in a manner that …the amplifiers are connected to the second matching circuit.”
Hamidi Fig. 6 – Vcont₂ turns M12/M13 ON for the second-band state. Thus, claim 8 is anticipated.
Regarding Claim 11
Claim 11 re-casts the communication circuit of claim 1 as part of an “electronic device” comprising a processor, memory, and transceiver.
Hamidi p. 72 describes a fully integrated multiband transmitter for LTE systems.
Such a transmitter inherently includes a control/logic processor configuring the bias voltages Vcont₁/Vcont₂ to select frequency bands (fulfilling “communication processor” and “stored instructions”).
The transmitter topology of Fig. 1(b) shows the transceiver front-end providing the signal to the PA.
Accordingly, Hamidi discloses an electronic device containing all the recited subsystems. Claim 11 is anticipated.
Regrading Claim 14
Claim 14 depends on claim 11, specifying control for a first frequency band such that at least one of the amplifiers is connected to the first matching circuit.
As discussed for claims 4 and 7, activation of Vcont₁ sets M10/M11 ON connecting amplifiers (M1, M2–M3) through the first matching branch (C3b). Claim 14 is anticipated.
Regarding Claim 15
Claim 15 parallels claim 14 for the second frequency band, where Vcont₂ activates M12/M13 and C3c. Thus, claim 15 is anticipated.
a transceiver (a modern multiband transmitter as part of the transceiver, Fig. 1b); and a communication circuit (several single-band mixers, power amplifiers and duplexers in a single chip, p. 73, right col., lines 1-2),
wherein the communication circuit (130) comprises:
an amplifier module (power amplifier) that comprises a first amplifier (driver stage, Figs. 3,8 M1, Fig. 4) and a second amplifier (Power stage, Fig. 3, 8 and M2-M3, Fig. 4) for amplifying a signal amplified by the first amplifier (driver stage), and a plurality of matching circuit (reconfigurable interstage match, Fig. 6 comprising multiple switchably selective branches) disposed outside (Fig. 8) the amplifier module (outside the driver stage and the Powers stage, Fig. 8) and performing impedance matching between the first amplifier (driver stage) and the second amplifier (power stage), including a first matching circuit (Fig. 6) and a second matching circuit (Fig. 6), disposed outside the amplifier module and performing impedance matching between the first amplifier (driver stage) and the second amplifier (power stage),
a first terminal (T1) for outputting a signal amplified by the first amplifier (driver stage) to an outside, and a second terminal (T4) for a signal input to the second amplifier (power stage), and wherein the first matching circuit is connected to the amplifier module through the first terminal (T1) and the second terminal (T4).
Fig. 6 of Hamidi annotated (and extended through obvious modification) by the examiner for ease of reference.
Where Hamidi explicitly teaches in Fig. 7, that a plurality of matching circuits, including at least a first matching circuit (M10+C3b+M11, Fig. 6) and a second matching circuit (M12+C3c+M13, Fig. 6),
wherein the communication processor (controller) is configured to connect the first matching circuit (M10+C3b+M11) to the amplifier module based on a first frequency band (band 1) of a signal input to the communication circuit, and
wherein the communication processor is configured to connect the second
matching circuit (M12+C3c+M13, Fig. 6) to the amplifier module based on a second frequency band (band 2) of the signal input to the communication circuit, the second frequency band (band 2) being different from the first frequency band (band 1).
Conclusion
/HAFIZUR RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843.