Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments appear to overcome the 101 rejection, and it is hereby rescinded.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maschmeyer et al. Pub No. US-20240311192-A1 with a priority date to Provisional Application No. 63/501,854 (hereafter Maschmeyer) in view of Dutta et al. Pub. No. US 2023/0251785 A1 (hereafter Dutta), GU et al. Pub. No. WO 2024/073087 A1 (priority to 9/29/2022, hereafter Gu) and …
6. Regarding claim 1, Maschmeyer teaches “A computer-implemented method, executed on a computing device, comprising: generating, at an artificial intelligence (AI) model, processed workload data by processing workload data of a workload on a processing unit; ([0061] – [0063] teaches a LLM generating outputs based on user input (prompts) using processing units. [0073] teaches that the tokenization of prompts may be done by the LLM such that processed workload data is generated).
Maschmeyer does not explicitly teach a simulation engine to determine available cache.
Dutta teaches a simulation engine such that it teaches the limitation simulating, at a simulation engine, performance of the processing unit based on the processed workload data to determine a maximum number of … cache blocks available for the workload data; ([0049-0052] teaches providing a workload profile to a simulation engine to simulate the execution of a workload in order to determine an amount of additional headroom of a storage system such that the method may be used to determine the amount of available storage for the workload based on workload data).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Dutta with the invention of Maschmeyer to teach as evidence, that processed workload data may be simulated in order to determine an available amount of storage to execute the workload. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the purpose of improving provisioning decisions such as data reduction (Dutta [0076]).
The combination does not explicitly teach that the determined resource are KV cache blocks.
Gu teaches transformer-based models using KV caches such that it teaches the limitation “… KV cache blocks available for the workload data ([0073] teaches that KV caches can be used to store computational results. [0016-0020 teach of inferencing using tokens in order to produce embeddings such that the inferred tokens are then stored as a result in the KV caches)”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gu to the combination of Maschmeyer and Gu to teach as evidence, the amount of storage available to store computational results may be a KV cache. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to execute future inference runs with more efficiency (Gu [0073]).
The combination now teaches “determining a token utilization for the workload data based upon, the maximum number of KV cache blocks available for the workload data (Maschmeyer [0074] teaches that total resource usage parameter may be the token count, tokens used in generating a response. Maschmeyer [0016] teaches that the total resource usage parameter is computed based on the prompt resource usage parameter. Maschmeyer [0140] teaches that the prompt resource usage parameter is a computed token count associated with the prompt such that when the prompt is simulated in the engine taught by Dutta, it determines an available storage amount for the computed token count. Also the predicted response usage parameter and complexity measure mentioned in Maschmeyer [0140] are associated with the maximum resource capacity, such that when combined with the prompt resource usage parameter, it represents the total available resource capacity that can be allocated to the user such that it determines the total token count, hence the token utilization based upon a simulated prompt, predicted response token count based on the prompt, and the remaining storage used as a complexity measure. As Dutta only discloses that the system determines a respective amount of storage used by the workload, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill to apply the total token count calculation in determining the total amount of storage used from simulating a workload, in this case the workload being a prompt run on a processing unit); and allocating processing unit resources for the AI model based upon, the token utilization (Dutta [0020] teaches selecting a storage system based upon the simulations of the workload, wherein the results of the simulation may result in a total token count as described in Maschmeyer, ).”
7. Regarding claim 2, wherein the combination Maschmeyer teaches “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein processing the workload data includes mirroring a plurality of requests received for processing by the AI model on the processing unit to the simulation engine. ([0133]-[0135] teaches a resource prediction model estimating resources for a given prompt such that it teaches mirroring the requests onto a simulation engine).”
8. Regarding claim 3, wherein the combination Maschmeyer implicitly teaches “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining the token utilization includes determining a processing unit memory utilization limit. ([0073]-[0075] teaches that the computer systems’ memory and computing power dictates the token limit such that it the memory utilization limit must be determined before determining the token limit).”
9. Regarding claim 4, wherein the combination Maschmeyer teaches “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining the token utilization includes determining a processing unit computing utilization limit. ([0073]-[0075] also implicitly teaches that similar to claim 3).”
10. Regarding claim 5, wherein the combination Maschmeyer teaches “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining the maximum number of KV cache blocks available for the workload data includes converting the maximum number of KV cache blocks available into a number of tokens available. ([0074]-[0076] teaches total resource usage represents a token count with respect to available tokens remaining).”
11. Regarding claim 6, wherein the combination Maschmeyer teaches “The computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein determining the token utilization includes determining a number of processing tokens ([0139]-[0140] and [00001] teaches the equation used to determine total utilization. Also [0073] teaches “For example, an LLM may have a token limit of 4097 tokens which can be shared between a prompt and a response (e.g., a prompt that uses 4000 tokens will limit the response to a maximum of 97 tokens). [0055]-[0056] teaches how input tokens are broken down into processing tokens).”
12. Regarding claim 7, wherein the combination Maschmeyer teaches “The computer-implemented method of claim 6, wherein determining the token utilization includes determining a performance configuration for the workload data based upon, at least in part, the number of tokens available and the number of processing tokens ([0140]-[0150] and Fig. 3A-3D, 4 teach generating a visual representation of the configuration and recommendations/warnings based on user input and the calculated token utilization).”
13. Regarding claim 8, wherein the combination Maschmeyer teaches “The computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein allocating the processing unit resources for the AI model includes allocating processing unit resources for the AI model using the performance configuration. ([0140]-[0145] teaches a visual representation of total resources used based on token utilization such that it is already using the performance configuration to allocate the resources as soon as the user continues with their prompt).”
14. Claim 9 is similar to claims 1 and 2, and is therefore rejected for similar reasons. Claim 9 is directed towards “A computing system (Maschmeyer [0023] computing system) comprising: a memory; and a processor configured to generate, at an artificial intelligence (AI) model, processed workload data by processing workload data of a workload on a graphics processing unit (GPU) (Maschmeyer [0064] processor may be a GPU) including mirroring a plurality of requests of the workload received for processing by the AI model on the GPU to a simulation engine, to determine a maximum number of key-value (KV) cache blocks available for the workload data, to determine a token utilization for the workload data based upon, the maximum number of KV cache blocks available for the workload data, and to allocate GPU resources for the AI model based upon, at least in part, the token utilization.”
15. Claim 10 is similar to claim 3, therefore is rejected for similar reasons.
16. Claim 11 is similar to claim 4, therefore is rejected for similar reasons.
17. Claim 12 is similar to claim 5, therefore is rejected for similar reasons.
18. Claim 13 is similar to claim 6, therefore is rejected for similar reasons.
19. Claim 14 is similar to claim 7, therefore is rejected for similar reasons.
20. Claim 15 is similar to claim 1, therefore is rejected for similar reasons. Claim 15 is directed towards “A computer program product (Maschmeyer [0188]) residing on a non-transitory computer readable medium (Maschmeyer [0023]) having a plurality of instructions stored thereon which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: processing, at an artificial intelligence (AI) model, processed workload data of a workload on a graphics processing unit (GPU); simulating, at a simulation engine, performance of the processing unit based on the processed workload data to determine a maximum number of key-value (KV) cache blocks available for the workload data; converting the maximum number of KV cache blocks available into a maximum number of tokens available; determining a token utilization for the workload data based upon, at least in part, the number of tokens available; and allocating GPU resources for the AI model based upon, at least in part, the token utilization.”
21. Claim 16 is similar to claim 2, therefore is rejected for similar reasons.
22. Claim 17 is similar to claims 3 and 10, and are therefore rejected for similar reasons.
23. Claim 18 is similar to claims 4 and 11, and are therefore rejected for similar reasons.
24. Claim 19 is similar to claims 6 and 13, and are therefore rejected for similar reasons.
25. Claim 20 is similar to claims 7 and 14, and are therefore rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2195
/PIERRE VITAL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2198