Response to Election/Restriction filed on March 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (claims 1-8) and the election with traverse of SEQ ID NO: 14 as the species of the helical filament hexapeptide (PHF6) in the reply filed on March 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant argues that for the election of species, Applicant does not believe that the further election of “a single disclosed species of a dipeptide at the C-terminal end of the N-amino peptide” is necessary or consistent with the current election of compound 12 (SEQ ID NO: 14) because the election of a dipeptide may require the election of a second and distinct species with respect to a PHF6 peptide sequence. This is found persuasive, thus, claims 7-8 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to nonelected species. Restriction requirement is deemed to be proper and is made FINAL in this office action. Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The elected species has been searched. A search was conducted on the elected species, and prior art was found. Claims 1-6 are examined on the merits in this office action.
Objections
The drawings are objected to because some of the drawings contain shadings that makes the figures hard to see (see for example, Fig. 1A, Fig. 6, Fig. 7). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Please note, the specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible error. Applicant's cooperation is required in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01.
Rejections
35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “An N-amino peptide…wherein one or more amino acid moieties of the PHF6 have…” The term “one or more amino acid moieties” is indefinite because it is unclear what is encompassed within the term “one or more”. The specification does not clearly define what is encompassed within the term “one or more”. Because claims 2-3 and 5-6 depend from indefinite claim 1 without clarifying the point of confusion, these are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim 2 recites, “The N-amino peptide of claim 1 comprising Formula 1:
. It is unclear from the claims whether R2 is the amino acid isoleucine or valine and R3 is the amino acid asparagine or tyrosine or R2 is the side chain (functional group) representing the amino acid isoleucine or valine and R3 is the side chain (functional group) representing the amino acid asparagine or tyrosine). The metes and bounds of the claim is unclear.
U.S.C. 102
12. Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MedChemExpress (www.MedChemExpress.com, p. 1, Product Data Sheet, October 20, 2021).
13. MedChemExpress teaches that elected species peptide sequence Ac-Val-Gln-aIle-Val-aTyr-Lys-NH2 (see sequence shortening on page 1). MedChemExpress teaches that the Ile and Tyr both have hydrazide (NNH2) moieties. Since MedChemExpress teaches the elected species, and that the species has hydrazide moiety (NNH2) at the Ile and Tyr residues, the reference anticipates instant claims 1-6.
14. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Makwana et al (ACS Chem. Neurosci., October 20, 2021, 12(20): 3928-3938, filed with IDS).
15. Makwana et al teach the elected peptide species of instant SEQ ID NO: 14 (see p. 3929, Figure 2), meeting the limitation of instant claim 6. Makwana et al teach the hexapeptides VQIINK (PHF6*) and VQIVYK (PHF6) (see p. 3928, Introduction). Meeting the limitation of instant claims 1-3. Makwana et al teach the hydrazide moieties for hexapeptides AcPHF6 and AcPHF6* (see p. 3930, 1st full paragraph, 2nd full paragraph) and compounds 12 and 13 feature two hydrazide bonds within the peptideommetic backbone (see p. 3931, Di-NPAs Are Stable in Human Serum and Non-toxic to Neuronal Cells), meeting the limitation of instant claims 1-5. Since Makwana et al teach all of the active components of instant claims, the reference anticipates instant claims 1-6.
16. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Makwana et al (https://doi.org/10.26434/chemrxiv.14478225.v1, pp. 1-10, April 26, 2021).
17. Makwana et al teach the elected peptide species of instant SEQ ID NO: 14 (see Figure 2, compound number 12) meeting the limitation of instant claim 6. Makwana et al teach the peptide sequence VQIINK (PHF6*) and VQIVYK (PHF6) (see p. 2, left column), meeting the limitation of instant claims 1-3. Makwana et al teach that compounds 12 and 13 feature two hydrazide bonds within the peptidomimetic backbone (see p. 5, right column). Since Makwana et al teach all of the active components of instant claims, the reference anticipates instant claims 1-6.
18. Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Del Valle et al (US 2024/0116984).
The applied reference has a common Inventors (Juan Del Valle and Kamlesh Makwana) and assignee (University of Notre Dame du Lac) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
19. Del Valle et al teach the N-amino peptides (NAPs) that inhibit disease-associated tau aggregation and prevent fibril formation. The NAPs have the sequence VQIINK and VQIVYK (see abstract, for example), meeting the limitation of instant claims 2-3. Del Valle et al teach instant SEQ ID NO: 14 (see FIG. 2B, compound 12 or FIG. 3, compound 12, and claim 19), meeting the limitation of instant claims 1-6. Since Del Valle et al teach all of the active components of instant claims, Del Valle et al anticipates instant claims 1-6.
DOUBLE PATENTING
21. Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2 and 6-21 of copending Application No. 18/263190 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because if one of ordinary skill in the art practiced the claimed invention of instant claims, one would necessarily achieve the claimed invention of copending Application and vice versa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. (Please note: a notice of allowability was issued on 3/30/2026 for the copending application No. 18/263190; however, the patent has not been issued as of 5/25/2026).
22. Instant claims are drawn to:
.
23. The copending claims are drawn to:
.
24. Instant claims and copending claims share the same compounds, i.e., for example, SEQ ID NO: 14, which is Ac-Val-Gln-aIle-Val-aTyr-Lys-NH2 (SEQ ID NO: 18) and similar scope of general compounds. Therefore, if one of ordinary skill in the art practiced the claimed invention of instant claims, one would necessarily achieve the claimed invention of copending claims and vice versa.
CONCLUSION
No claim is allowed.
/JULIE HA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654
5/25/2026