Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims and in view of the current amendment have been considered but are moot, please refer to rejection below for the details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AMIR (US 2025/0069489 A1) in view of STEWART (US 2018/0232592 A1).
As per claim 1, AMIR teaches a method of monitoring detected motion of a communication device (¶0202-204, a method for monitoring motion detection of the an object or device), comprising: detecting motion of the communication device using a motion sensor (¶0202-204, detecting movement and motion of the object or device using motion detector); classifying the detected motion according to one or more classification conditions to yield a classified motion (¶0204-205 and ¶0168, classify detected movement or motion based on the classification conditions (i.e. classifying the state or activity of the person based on the set of sequential frames) to make/produce or yield a classify movement/motion).
However, AMIR does not explicitly teach assigning one or more motion filters to the detected motion based on the classified motion; setting one or more filter parameters for the one or more assigned motion classification filters; and monitoring the detected motion using the one or more filter parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, STEWART teaches assigning one or more motion filters to the detected motion based on the classified motion (Fig.7B and ¶0138-142, applying or assigning event filters for motion detection event based on the event categories/classification); setting one or more filter parameters for the one or more assigned motion classification filters (Fig.7B and ¶0138-142, selecting or setting event filters (e.g., event categories, zones of interest, a human filter, etc. i.e. filter parameters) for categorized/classified applied/assigned motion); and monitoring the detected motion using the one or more filter parameters (Fig.7B and ¶0138-143, and monitoring the detected motion using the filters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of STEWART into AMIR invention of in order to automatically detecting zones of interest in a field of view of a video feed, thereby increasing the effectiveness, efficiency, and user satisfaction with such systems and devices.
As per claim 6 as applied to claim 1 above, AMIR further teaches wherein the classifying the detected motion comprises analyzing a first range of signal characteristics, and wherein the one or more filter parameters for the one or more motion classification filters limit the monitoring the detected motion using the one or more filter parameters to a second range of signal characteristics narrower than the first range of signal characteristics (¶0029, detecting motion anywhere between a maximum and minimum distance range (i.e. first and second range of signal characteristics) for monitoring a whole space (i.e. when the person's location is unknown) to a narrower frequency range configured for a smaller range of distances in which the person is known to be located. For example if it is assumed the person may walk up to 7 km/hour and it is desirable to detect this, 7 km/hour would correspond to a higher frequency signal when the person is closer to the PIR motion detector than when the person is further from the PIR motion detector. The same applies to any lower speed limits that to be detected; therefore filters limit the monitoring the detected motion using filter values/parameters to smaller range (i.e. second range of signal characteristics) narrower than the larger range (i.e. first range of signal characteristics)).
As per claim 8, AMIR teaches a system having a processor and a memory (¶0115 and Fig.2, a system having processor and memory) for monitoring detected motion of a communication device (¶0202-204, for monitoring motion detection of the an object or device), comprising: a motion sensor to detect motion of the communication device (¶0202, motion detector to detect movement or motion of the device 102);
a motion detection module executable by the processor (¶0111, corresponding module (i.e. motion detection module) executable by the processor) to classify detected motion according to one or more motion classification conditions to yield a classified motion (¶0204-205 and ¶0168, classify detected movement or motion based on the classification conditions (i.e. classifying the state or activity of the person based on the set of sequential frames) to make/produce or yield a classify movement/motion).
However, AMIR does not explicitly teach one or more motion classification filters assigned to the detected motion based on the classified motion; and one or more filter parameters set for the one or more assigned motion classification filters and configured to monitor the detected motion.
In the same field of endeavor, STEWART teaches one or more motion classification filters assigned to the detected motion based on the classified motion (Fig.7B and ¶0138-142, applying or assigning event filters for motion detection event based on the event categories/classification); and one or more filter parameters set for the one or more assigned motion classification filters and configured to monitor the detected motion (Fig.7B and ¶0138-143, selecting or setting event filters (e.g., event categories, zones of interest, a human filter, etc. i.e. filter parameters) for categorized/classified applied/assigned motion and configured to monitor the detected motion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of STEWART into AMIR invention of in order to automatically detecting zones of interest in a field of view of a video feed, thereby increasing the effectiveness, efficiency, and user satisfaction with such systems and devices.
As per claim 13 as applied to claim 8 above, AMIR further teaches wherein the motion detection module analyzes a first range of signal characteristics to classify detected motion, and wherein the one or more filter parameters for the one or more motion classification filters limit the one or more motion classification filters to a second range of signal characteristics narrower than the first range of signal characteristics (¶0029, detecting motion anywhere between a maximum and minimum distance range (i.e. first and second range of signal characteristics) for monitoring a whole space (i.e. when the person's location is unknown) to a narrower frequency range configured for a smaller range of distances in which the person is known to be located. For example if it is assumed the person may walk up to 7 km/hour and it is desirable to detect this, 7 km/hour would correspond to a higher frequency signal when the person is closer to the PIR motion detector than when the person is further from the PIR motion detector. The same applies to any lower speed limits that to be detected; therefore filters limit the monitoring the detected motion using filter values/parameters to smaller range (i.e. second range of signal characteristics) narrower than the larger range (i.e. first range of signal characteristics)).
As per claim 15, AMIR teaches one or more tangible processor-readable storage media embodied with instructions for executing on one or more processors and circuits a process for monitoring detected motion of a communication device (¶0115 and Fig.2 one or more storage media embodied with instructions for executing on a processor for monitoring motion detection of the an object or device), comprising: detecting motion of the communication device using a motion sensor (¶0202-204, detecting movement and motion of the object or device using motion detector); classifying the detected motion according to one or more classification conditions to yield a classified motion (¶0204-205 and ¶0168, classify detected movement or motion based on the classification conditions (i.e. classifying the state or activity of the person based on the set of sequential frames) to make/produce or yield a classify movement/motion).
However, AMIR does not explicitly teach assigning one or more motion filters to the detected motion based on the classified motion; setting one or more filter parameters for the one or more assigned motion classification filters; and monitoring the detected motion using the one or more filter parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, STEWART teaches assigning one or more motion filters to the detected motion based on the classified motion (Fig.7B and ¶0138-142, applying or assigning event filters for motion detection event based on the event categories/classification); setting one or more filter parameters for the one or more assigned motion classification filters (Fig.7B and ¶0138-142, selecting or setting event filters (e.g., event categories, zones of interest, a human filter, etc. i.e. filter parameters) for categorized/classified applied/assigned motion); and monitoring the detected motion using the one or more filter parameters (Fig.7B and ¶0138-143, and monitoring the detected motion using the filters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of STEWART into AMIR invention of in order to automatically detecting zones of interest in a field of view of a video feed, thereby increasing the effectiveness, efficiency, and user satisfaction with such systems and devices.
As per claim 20 as applied to claim 15 above, AMIR further teaches wherein the classifying the detected motion comprises analyzing a first range of signal characteristics, and wherein the one or more filter parameters for the one or more motion classification filters limit the monitoring the detected motion using the one or more filter parameters to a second range of signal characteristics narrower than the first range of signal characteristics (¶0029, detecting motion anywhere between a maximum and minimum distance range (i.e. first and second range of signal characteristics) for monitoring a whole space (i.e. when the person's location is unknown) to a narrower frequency range configured for a smaller range of distances in which the person is known to be located. For example if it is assumed the person may walk up to 7 km/hour and it is desirable to detect this, 7 km/hour would correspond to a higher frequency signal when the person is closer to the PIR motion detector than when the person is further from the PIR motion detector. The same applies to any lower speed limits that to be detected; therefore filters limit the monitoring the detected motion using filter values/parameters to smaller range (i.e. second range of signal characteristics) narrower than the larger range (i.e. first range of signal characteristics)).
B) Claims 2-5, 9-12, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AMIR (US 2025/0069489 A1) in view of STEWART (US 2018/0232592 A1) and further in view of YIN (CN 111,356,221 A).
As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1, AMIR in view of STEWART does not explicitly teach adjusting transmission power of the communication device responsive to continued detection of the detected motion by the one or more motion classification filters using the one or more filter parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, YIN teaches adjusting transmission power of the communication device responsive to continued detection of the detected motion by the one or more motion classification filters using the one or more filter parameters (Fig.2, (¶0039-46, adjusting transmission power of the electronic device responsive to use state collecting the movement parameter (i.e. continued detection) of the detected motion by the motion parameters may include motion acceleration, motion direction, motion mode, motion speed and so on (i.e. motion classification filters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of YIN into AMIR and STEWART invention of in order for adjusting a transmission power of an electronic device to reduce the influence of electromagnetic radiation to human body.
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 2 above, AMIR further teaches detecting, by the one or more motion classification filters, a discontinuation of the detected motion based on the one or more filter parameters (¶0231 and ¶0238-239, detecting by movement classification filters non-locomotory state or a non-locomotory activity (i.e. discontinuation of the detected motion) based on the set to a value of less than 15 seconds, or less than 10 seconds, or less than 5 seconds (i.e. filter parameters)); and classifying different detected motion using the motion sensor responsive to detecting the discontinuation (¶0231 and ¶0238-239, classifying different detected movement or motion using motion detector based on detecting the non-locomotory state or a non-locomotory activity).
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 3 above, YIN further teaches readjusting the transmission power of the communication device responsive to a failure to detect the different detected motion (¶0074 and ¶0077, under the condition is switched to the non-communication state (i.e. a failure to detect different motion) by the communication state of the electronic device, the transmission power of the communication signal of the electronic device by increasing the second power value to the first power value (i.e. readjusting)).
As per claim 5 as applied to claim 3 above, AMIR further teaches classifying the different detected motion according to the one or more classification conditions (¶0231 and ¶0238-239, classifying different detected movements or motions based on different conditions locomotory or non-locomotory state or a locomotory or non-locomotory activity (i.e. classification conditions)); assigning one or more different motion classification filters to monitor the different detected motion (¶0204-205 and ¶0231, assigning classify filters (i.e. high pass or low pass filter) to monitor the different detected movement or motion); setting one or more different filter parameters for the one or more different motion classification filters (¶0204-205, setting filters values or thresholds (i.e. parameters) for the different movement/motion classified filters); monitoring the different detected motion using the one or more different filter parameters (¶0202-205, monitoring the detected movement using the different filters values or thresholds).
However, AMIR in view of STEWART does not explicitly teach adjusting the transmission power of the communication device responsive to continued detection of the different detected motion by the one or more different motion classification filters using the one or more different filter parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, YIN teaches adjusting the transmission power of the communication device responsive to continued detection of the different detected motion by the one or more different motion classification filters using the one or more different filter parameters (Fig.2, ¶0039-46, adjusting transmission power of the electronic device responsive to use state collecting the movement parameter (i.e. continued detection) of the detected different motion by the motion parameters may include motion acceleration, motion direction, motion mode, motion speed and so on (i.e. different motion classification filters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of YIN into AMIR and STEWART invention of in order for adjusting a transmission power of an electronic device to reduce the influence of electromagnetic radiation to human body.
As per claim 9 as applied to claim 8, AMIR in view of STEWART does not explicitly teach a transmission power adjuster executable by the processor to adjust transmission power of the communication device based at least in part on continued detection of the detected motion by the one or more motion classification filters.
In the same field of endeavor, YIN teaches a transmission power adjuster executable by the processor to adjust transmission power of the communication device based at least in part on continued detection of the detected motion by the one or more motion classification filters (Fig.2, (¶0039-46, adjusting transmission power of the electronic device responsive to use state collecting the movement parameter (i.e. continued detection) of the detected motion by the motion parameters may include motion acceleration, motion direction, motion mode, motion speed and so on (i.e. motion classification filters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of YIN into AMIR and STEWART invention of in order for adjusting a transmission power of an electronic device to reduce the influence of electromagnetic radiation to human body.
As per claim 10 as applied to claim 9 above, AMIR further teaches the one or more motion classification filters detects a discontinuation of the detected motion based on the one or more filter parameters (¶0231 and ¶0238-239, detecting by movement classification filters non-locomotory state or a non-locomotory activity (i.e. discontinuation of the detected motion) based on the set to a value of less than 15 seconds, or less than 10 seconds, or less than 5 seconds (i.e. filter parameters)); and the motion detection module classifies different detected motion from the motion sensor responsive to the discontinuation (¶0231 and ¶0238-239, classifying different detected movement or motion using motion detector based on detecting the non-locomotory state or a non-locomotory activity).
As per claim 11 as applied to claim 10 above, YIN further teaches wherein the transmission power adjuster readjusts the transmission power of the communication device responsive to a failure to detect the different detected motion (¶0074 and ¶0077, under the condition is switched to the non-communication state (i.e. a failure to detect different motion) by the communication state of the electronic device, the transmission power of the communication signal of the electronic device by increasing the second power value to the first power value (i.e. readjusting)).
As per claim 12 as applied to claim 10 above, AMIR further teaches the motion detection module classifies different detected motion using the motion sensor responsive to the discontinuation to classify the different detected motion according to the one or more motion classification conditions (¶0231 and ¶0238-239, classifying different detected movements or motions based on different conditions locomotory or non-locomotory state or a locomotory or non-locomotory activity (i.e. classification conditions)); assign one or more different motion classification filters to monitor the different detected motion (¶0204-205 and ¶0231, assigning classify filters (i.e. high pass or low pass filter) to monitor the different detected movement or motion); and set one or more different filter parameters for the one or more different motion classification filters (¶0204-205, setting filters values or thresholds (i.e. parameters) for the different movement/motion classified filters); wherein the one or more motion classification filters monitors the different detected motion using the one or more different filter parameters (¶0202-205, movement or motion classification filters monitor the detected movement using the different filters values or thresholds).
However, AMIR in view of STEWART does not explicitly teach the transmission power adjuster adjusts the transmission power of the communication device based at least in part on continued detection of the detected motion by the one or more motion classification filters.
In the same field of endeavor, YIN teaches the transmission power adjuster adjusts the transmission power of the communication device based at least in part on continued detection of the detected motion by the one or more motion classification filters (Fig.2, ¶0039-46, adjusting transmission power of the electronic device responsive to use state collecting the movement parameter (i.e. continued detection) of the detected different motion by the motion parameters may include motion acceleration, motion direction, motion mode, motion speed and so on (i.e. different motion classification filters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of YIN into AMIR and STEWART invention of in order for adjusting a transmission power of an electronic device to reduce the influence of electromagnetic radiation to human body.
As per claim 16 as applied to claim 15, AMIR in view of STEWART does not explicitly teach adjusting transmission power of the communication device responsive to continued detection of the detected motion by the one or more motion classification filters using the one or more filter parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, YIN teaches adjusting transmission power of the communication device responsive to continued detection of the detected motion by the one or more motion classification filters using the one or more filter parameters (Fig.2, (¶0039-46, adjusting transmission power of the electronic device responsive to use state collecting the movement parameter (i.e. continued detection) of the detected motion by the motion parameters may include motion acceleration, motion direction, motion mode, motion speed and so on (i.e. motion classification filters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of YIN into AMIR and STEWART invention of in order for adjusting a transmission power of an electronic device to reduce the influence of electromagnetic radiation to human body.
As per claim 17 as applied to claim 16 above, AMIR further teaches detecting, by the one or more motion classification filters, a discontinuation of the detected motion based on the one or more filter parameters (¶0231 and ¶0238-239, detecting by movement classification filters non-locomotory state or a non-locomotory activity (i.e. discontinuation of the detected motion) based on the set to a value of less than 15 seconds, or less than 10 seconds, or less than 5 seconds (i.e. filter parameters)); and classifying different detected motion using the motion sensor responsive to detecting the discontinuation (¶0231 and ¶0238-239, classifying different detected movement or motion using motion detector based on detecting the non-locomotory state or a non-locomotory activity).
As per claim 18 as applied to claim 17 above, YIN further teaches readjusting the transmission power of the communication device responsive to a failure to detect the different detected motion (¶0074 and ¶0077, under the condition is switched to the non-communication state (i.e. a failure to detect different motion) by the communication state of the electronic device, the transmission power of the communication signal of the electronic device by increasing the second power value to the first power value (i.e. readjusting)).
As per claim 19 as applied to claim 17 above, AMIR further teaches classifying the different detected motion according to the one or more classification conditions (¶0231 and ¶0238-239, classifying different detected movements or motions based on different conditions locomotory or non-locomotory state or a locomotory or non-locomotory activity (i.e. classification conditions)); assigning one or more different motion classification filters to monitor the different detected motion (¶0204-205 and ¶0231, assigning classify filters (i.e. high pass or low pass filter) to monitor the different detected movement or motion); setting one or more different filter parameters for the one or more different motion classification filters (¶0204-205, setting filters values or thresholds (i.e. parameters) for the different movement/motion classified filters); monitoring the different detected motion using the one or more different filter parameters (¶0202-205, monitoring the detected movement using the different filters values or thresholds).
However, AMIR in view of STEWART does not explicitly teach adjusting the transmission power of the communication device responsive to continued detection of the different detected motion by the one or more different motion classification filters using the one or more different filter parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, YIN teaches adjusting the transmission power of the communication device responsive to continued detection of the different detected motion by the one or more different motion classification filters using the one or more different filter parameters (Fig.2, ¶0039-46, adjusting transmission power of the electronic device responsive to use state collecting the movement parameter (i.e. continued detection) of the detected different motion by the motion parameters may include motion acceleration, motion direction, motion mode, motion speed and so on (i.e. different motion classification filters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of YIN into AMIR invention of in order for adjusting a transmission power of an electronic device to reduce the influence of electromagnetic radiation to human body.
C) Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AMIR (US 2025/0069489 A1) in view of STEWART (US 2018/0232592 A1) and further in view of Khawand (US 11,490,338 B1).
As per claim 7 as applied to claim 1 above, AMIR in view of STEWART does not explicitly teach wherein the classifying the detected motion comprises application of motion detection model by a motion detection module, and wherein the motion detection module discontinues execution during the monitoring the detected motion using the one or more filter parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, Khawand teaches wherein the classifying the detected motion comprises application of motion detection model by a motion detection module, and wherein the motion detection module discontinues execution during the monitoring the detected motion using the one or more filter parameters (Col.9, lines 62-67 and Col.10, lines 1-10, classifying the detected motion by an application of motion detection sample/model and when the detected motion indicates no user interaction motion before a SAR IN MOTION state is no longer triggered (i.e. discontinues execution during the monitoring). In an implementation, a decay interval may require 15 seconds or 15 samples where a classification condition (e.g., threshold) is not met, indicating the device is experiencing only background motion indicating a SAR STATIONARY state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Khawand into AMIR and STEWART invention of in order for detecting motion of the communication device using a motion sensor and classifying detected motion according to one or more motion classification conditions using one or more motion classification parameters for SAR-related power management in a communication device.
As per claim 14 as applied to claim 8 above, AMIR in view of STEWART does not explicitly teach wherein the motion detection module discontinues execution during the monitoring of the detected motion by the one or more motion classification filters.
In the same field of endeavor, Khawand teaches wherein the motion detection module discontinues execution during the monitoring of the detected motion by the one or more motion classification filters (Col.9, lines 62-67 and Col.10, lines 1-10, the detected motion indicates no user interaction motion before a SAR IN MOTION state is no longer triggered (i.e. discontinues execution during the monitoring). In an implementation, a decay interval may require 15 seconds or 15 samples where a classification condition (e.g., threshold) is not met, indicating the device is experiencing only background motion indicating a SAR STATIONARY state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Khawand into AMIR and STEWART invention of in order for detecting motion of the communication device using a motion sensor and classifying detected motion according to one or more motion classification conditions using one or more motion classification parameters for SAR-related power management in a communication device.
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643