DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on June 11, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 10 and 17 are amended.
Claim 20 is cancelled.
Claims 1-19 are pending this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo (WO 2012/166315 A2) in view of Iizuka (US 2005/0089122 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Matsuo teaches a radar system comprising [0035 for using pulse compression radar with binary phase shift keying]:
receive circuitry configured to process an analog radar pulse that is digital phase modulated [0035 for using digitally modulate PCR with phase shift keying for encoded messages];
and correlator circuitry configured to: [0066-0067 for using multiplier to receive PCR pulse in the analog domain];
receive the analog radar pulse as mixed with the signal from the oscillator [0035, and 00118-0119 for demodulation filter 979 applies the FM carrier signal 972 in removing the carrier frequency from the reflected PCR signals]
receive a bitstream to integrate the received radar pulse [0032-0033 and 0041 for received samples (pulse) for object detection with 0043 for using Barker Codes];
prior to digital conversion, perform a correlation function on the received radar pulse based on the bitstream [0041, 0043 and 0068 for using a integration to generate correlation signal]
and output the correlated analog signal to digital conversion circuitry [0072 for using ADC].
Matsuo fails to explicitly teach a mixing circuitry configured to mix the received analog radar pulse with a signal from an oscillator.
Iizuka has a correlator which can be adapted to a receiver for impulse radio includes a multiplier for multiplying a received impulse train by a received template train (abstract) and teaches a mixing circuitry configured to mix the received analog radar pulse with a signal from an oscillator [0039-0041 for using a correlator, quantizer and integrator with a template train and template generator].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar circuit techniques, as disclosed by Matsuo, further including the signal processing calculations as taught by Iizuka for the purpose to ensure further decrease of the quantization error (Iizuka, 0049).
Regarding Claim 10, Matsuo teaches device implemented in circuitry comprising [0035 for using pulse compression radar with binary phase shift keying]:
receive circuitry configured to process an analog radar pulse that is digital phase modulated [0035 for using digitally modulate PCR with phase shift keying for encoded messages];
correlator circuitry configured to: [0066-0067 for using multiplier to receive PCR pulse in the analog domain];
receive the analog radar pulse as mixed with the signal from the oscillator [0035, and 00118-0119 for demodulation filter 979 applies the FM carrier signal 972 in removing the carrier frequency from the reflected PCR signals]
receive a bitstream to integrate the received radar pulse [0032-0033 and 0041 for received samples (pulse) for object detection with 0043 for using Barker Codes];
prior to digital conversion, perform a correlation function on the received radar pulse based on the bitstream [0041, 0043 and 0068 for using a integration to generate correlation signal]
and output the correlated analog signal to digital conversion circuitry [0072 for using ADC].
Matsuo fails to explicitly teach a mixing circuitry configured to mix the received analog radar pulse with a signal from an oscillator.
Iizuka has a correlator which can be adapted to a receiver for impulse radio includes a multiplier for multiplying a received impulse train by a received template train (abstract) and teaches a mixing circuitry configured to mix the received analog radar pulse with a signal from an oscillator [0039-0041 for using a correlator, quantizer and integrator with a template train and template generator].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar circuit techniques, as disclosed by Matsuo, further including the signal processing calculations as taught by Iizuka for the purpose to ensure further decrease of the quantization error (Iizuka, 0049).
Regarding Claim 17, Matsuo teaches a method comprising [0035 for using pulse compression radar with binary phase shift keying]:
receiving, by correlator circuitry, the analog pulse as mixed with the signal from the oscillator [0035, and 00118-0119 for demodulation filter 979 applies the FM carrier signal 972 in removing the carrier frequency from the reflected PCR signals];
receiving, by the correlator circuitry a bitstream to decode the received radar pulse [0032-0033 and 0041 for received samples (pulse) for object detection with 0043 for using Barker Codes];
prior to digital conversion, performing by the correlator circuitry, a correlation function on the received radar pulse based on the bitstream to generate a correlated analog signal [0041, 0043 and 0068 for using an integration to generate correlation signal]
and outputting the correlated analog signal to digital conversion circuitry [0072 for using ADC].
Matsuo fails to explicitly teach a mixing circuitry configured to mix the received analog radar pulse with a signal from an oscillator.
Iizuka has a correlator which can be adapted to a receiver for impulse radio includes a multiplier for multiplying a received impulse train by a received template train (abstract) and teaches a mixing circuitry configured to mix the received analog radar pulse with a signal from an oscillator [0039-0041 for using a correlator, quantizer and integrator with a template train and template generator].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar circuit techniques, as disclosed by Matsuo, further including the signal processing calculations as taught by Iizuka for the purpose to ensure further decrease of the quantization error (Iizuka, 0049).
Regarding Claim 2 and 12, Matsuo teaches the correlator circuitry comprises: a multiplier [0066-0068 for multipliers using multiplied signals];
and an integrator, wherein the combination of the multiplier and the integrator is configured to realize a transfer function of a linear matched filter [0039-0042 for using multiplier and integrator as well as 0068-0069].
Regarding Claim 3 and 13, Matsuo fails to explicitly teach the correlator circuitry further comprises: a quantizer, configured to receive the output from the integrator; a counter, configured to receive the output from the quantizer, wherein the quantizer and counter extend a linear dynamic range of the integrator.
Iizuka has a correlator which can be adapted to a receiver for impulse radio (abstract) and teaches the correlator circuitry further comprises [0039 for integrator and quantizer for impulse train]:
a quantizer, configured to receive the output from the integrator [0039, with 0042];
a counter, configured to receive the output from the quantizer, wherein the quantizer and counter extend a linear dynamic range of the integrator [0017 for using SNR for signal and 0021 to decrease quantizer error (dynamic range)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar circuit techniques, as disclosed by Matsuo, further including the signal processing calculations as taught by Iizuka for the purpose to decrease quantization error outputted (Iizuka, 0017).
Regarding Claim 4 and 14, Matsuo teaches the correlator is arranged to compress digital data based on the received analog radar pulse by sampling the received analog radar pulse [0072 also 0078 for fine tuning detection process].
Regarding Claim 5, Matsuo teaches the received analog radar pulse is a radar echo signal reflected from a target [0036-0037 for reflect PCR signal 164 travels the distance R back to the antenna].
Regarding Claim 6, Matsuo teaches the received analog radar pulse is received directly from a radar transmitter that transmits signals that are digital phase modulated [0045-0046 for initial PCR signal 133 can be prepared for transmission and be replicated at or around the same time].
Regarding Claim 7, Matsuo teaches the radar system comprises both the receive circuitry and the radar transmitter [0042 for radar with both transmitting and receiving antennas].
Regarding Claim 8 and 15, Matsuo teaches the bitstream received by the correlator circuitry is based on a transmitted radar pulse from a radar transmitter, and wherein the transmitted radar pulse is time delayed before the correlator circuitry receives the transmitted radar pulse [0061-0064 for using adjustable time delays].
Regarding Claim 11, Matsuo teaches the circuitry is implemented on an integrated circuit [0113 for circuit architectures].
Regarding Claim 18, Matsuo teaches the radar pulse is reflected from a target [0036-0037].
Regarding Claim 19, Matsuo teaches the bitstream is based on a transmitted radar pulse from transmit circuitry operatively coupled to the correlator circuitry, wherein the transmit circuitry is: configured to transmit the analog radar pulse via a transmit antenna, and the transmitted radar pulse is the digitally phase modulated radar pulse [0046-0047].
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuo et al (WO 2012/166315 A2) in view of Iizuka (US 2005/0089122 A1) and further in view of Kim (US 20130038401 A1) and Dandu et al (US 2020/0076380 A1).
Regarding Claim 9 and 16, Matsuo fails to explicitly teach wherein the correlator circuitry receives the analog radar pulse via a power splitter.
Kim has a balun includes a first port connected with a port connection part (abstract) and teaches wherein the correlator circuitry receives the analog radar pulse via a power splitter [0031].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar circuit techniques, as disclosed by Matsuo, further including the pulse calculations as taught by Kim for the purpose to synthesizing the signals having the phase difference (Kim, 0023).
Matsuo fails to explicitly teach and a differential amplifier that drives two differential paths connected to the correlator circuitry, and wherein the differential amplifier provides reverse isolation to isolate the two differential paths.
Dandu has differential amplifier circuits and variable neutralization circuits for providing an adjustable neutralization impedance between an amplifier input node and an amplifier output node (abstract) and teaches and a differential amplifier that drives two differential paths connected to the correlator circuitry [0023-0024 for having a differential pair circuit deliver a differential output signal VO],
and wherein the differential amplifier provides reverse isolation to isolate the two differential paths [0035 for using neutralization operation for isolation].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the radar circuit techniques, as disclosed by Matsuo, further including the pulse calculations as taught by Dandu for the purpose to reduces the differential amplifier gain across the illustrated frequency range (Dandu, 0035).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In Applicant’s Arguments, page 7, fourth paragraph, applicant argues that Rao does not teach the correlator for the analog radar pulse. The Examiner appreciates the amendments to the independent claims, the current rejection is Matsuo in view of Iizuka.
In Applicant’s Arguments, page 8, first paragraph, applicant argues that Rao does not teach performing functions prior to digital conversion. The Examiner respectfully disagrees: the combination of Matsuo with Iizuka teaches prior to digital conversion, perform a correlation function on the received radar pulse based on the bitstream [Matsuo, 0041, 0043 and 0068 for using a integration to generate correlation signal].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648