DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
2. The Amendment filed September 30, 2025 has been entered. Claims 9, and 19 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 2, 11-18, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1, and 11 have been amended which are no longer invoke 112(f). Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misu JP2009224911 (cited by Applicant, IDS filed 02/22/2024, hereinafter, “Misu’s Translation”) in view of Yurugi et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20060034253 (hereinafter, “Yurugi”).
Regarding claim 1, Misu’s Translation teaches an apparatus for reproducing sound (The present invention relates to headphones capable of receiving audio signals by wire input and wirelessly, par [0001], see Misu’s Translation, Fig. 1 and respective portion of the description) comprising:
an isolation switch (relays 171, 172, Fig. 1, par [0025], see Misu’s Translation) configured to receive a first audio signal (from input 11, Fig. 1) with reference to a first reference level and selectively output or isolate the first audio signal (Furthermore, since the voltage supply from the battery 15 is prohibited and the switching voltage V1 becomes lower than the predetermined voltage Va, the relays 171 and 172 connect the input contact b and the output contact c. As a result, the audio signals L/R input from the input terminal 11 are output to the speakers 14L and 14R, par [0025], see Misu’s Translation);
a wireless communication component (including receiving section 12, Fig. 1, par [0019], see Misu’s Translation) configured to wirelessly receive a wireless input signal and to generate and output a second audio signal with reference to a second reference level based on the wireless input signal (see input from antenna 121, Fig. 1, The receiving unit 12 receives audio signals L/R transmitted digitally and wirelessly from an external device (not shown) via an antenna 121, converts the received audio signals L/R from digital signals to analog signals, and outputs them to the amplifier unit 13 described below, par [0019], see Misu’s Translation), wherein the second reference level is different from the first reference level (see line between receiving section 12 to power switch 16 and line between input 11 and switching unit 17; When the user wishes to play back the wirelessly received audio signal L/R through the headphones 1, the user turns on the power switch 16. When the power switch 16 is in an on state, the receiving section 12 and the amplifying section 13 are supplied with voltage from the battery 15 and are in an operating state, so that they receive and amplify the audio signal L/R. Furthermore, since the voltage supply from the battery 15 is permitted and the switching voltage V1 becomes equal to or higher than the predetermined voltage Va, the relays 171 and 172 connect the input contact a and the output contact c. As a result, the audio signals L/R received by the receiving unit 12 are output to the speakers 14L and 14R. As a result, in conjunction with turning on and off the power switch 16, it is possible to switch between playing the audio signals L/R by inputting them to the headphones 1 via a wired connection, or playing the audio signals L/R by receiving them wirelessly through the headphones 1, Fig. 1, par [0026], see Misu’s Translation); and
an audible component including a loudspeaker (including speakers 14L and 14R, Fig. 1, par [0026], see Misu’s Translation) connected to the isolation switch (relays 171 and 172, Fig. 1) and to the wireless communication component (receiving unit 12), respectively, and the audible component is configured to receive, based on determining a state of the isolation switch and a mode of the wireless communication component, one of the first audio signal from the isolation switch or the second audio signal from the wireless communication component and to emit a sound signal based on the received audio signal (see lines from receiving unit 12 to speakers 14L and 14R via contacts a to c of relays 171 and 172, Fig. 1) so that the second audio signal and the first audio signal do not interfere with each other (The battery 15 is connected to the receiving unit 12 and the amplifying unit 13 and supplies them with a voltage. The power switch 16 is switched by a user operation to prohibit or permit the supply of voltage from the battery 15 to the receiving unit 12 and the amplifying unit 13. The power switch 16 is connected between the battery 15 and the receiving unit 12 and amplifying unit 13. When the power switch 16 is turned off, the receiving section 12 and the amplifier 13 are put into a non-operating state. In addition, when the amount of stored electricity in the battery 15 is insufficient to operate the receiver 12 and the amplifier 13, the receiver 12 and the amplifier 13 are also put into a non-operating state, par [0021], Fig. 1, see Misu’s Translation). In other words input 11 to speakers 14L and 14R via contacts b to c of relays 171 and 172, Fig. 1, and receiving unit 12 to speakers 14L and 14R via contacts a to c of relays 171 and 172, Fig. 1.
Misu also teaches the wireless communication component can be directly connected to the audible component (see wireless audio component (i.e., receiver 12 as shown in fig. 1)) can be directly connected to the audio component (i.e., Loudspeaker 14L) by bypassing the amplifier unit 13 via switching unit 17). In this particular scenario the wireless communication component is directly connected to the audible component without arranging a reference level conversion component including at least an audio transformer or an operational amplifier for converting the second audio signal with reference to the second reference level to a further audio signal with reference to the first reference level (see Fig. 1 and the explanation regarding the switching unit 17 being in a bypassing mode).
However, Misu’s Translation does not explicitly disclose a wireless communication component including at least a transceiver.
Yurugi teaches radio communication system (see Title) in which first of all, the operation to establish the link, by which the embodiment is characterized, will be described when the wireless data communication is applied to the Bluetooth (i.e., transceiver, par [0089], see Yurugi). Step 206, Fig. 2: The connection control section 101 gives an instruction to the connection control section 106 in the first wireless communication unit 100 to change over the connection change-over switch 103 in the first wireless communication unit 100 to the wire connection section 107 of the first wireless communication unit 100 (see Figs.1, 2, par [0093], see Yurugi), wherein the wireless communication component (see Bluetooth (i.e., transceiver, par [0089], see Yurugi); first wireless communication unit 100, see Figs.1, 2, par [0093] see Yurugi) is directly connected to the audible component without arranging a reference level conversion component including at least an audio transformer or an operational amplifier (amplifier unit 13, Fig. 1, par [0019], see Misu’s Translation) for converting the second audio signal with reference to the second reference level to a further audio signal with reference to the first reference level (see connection line on left side of receiving section 12, Fig. 1 directly connected to speaker 14L, 14R via at V1, bypass amplifier 13 (i.e., not via L and R lines connection between receiving unit 12 and amplifying unit 13); In addition, when power is consumed by the operation of the receiving unit 12 and the amplifying unit 13 during wireless reception of the audio signals L/R and the battery 15 becomes low on charge, that is, when the battery voltage V2 output from the battery 15 is equal to or higher than a predetermined voltage Vb, the determining unit 18 outputs a low- level switching signal V1 and switches the switching unit 17 to the audio signal output path from the input unit 11 to the speakers 14L and 14R, Fig. 1, par [0033], see Misu’s Translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the radio communication system taught by Yurugi with the apparatus of Misu’s Translation such that to obtain a wireless communication component including at least a transceiver so that the system of Misu not only can receive signal but also can transmit wireless signal.
Regarding claim 2, Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi teaches the apparatus for reproducing sound of claim 1. Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi, as modified, teaches wherein the audible component receives, based on determining the state of the isolation switch and the mode of the wireless communication component, one of the first audio signal from the isolation switch or the second audio signal from the wireless communication component and emits the sound signal based on the received audio signal comprises:
based on determining that the isolation switch is turned on (see relays 171 and 172 contacts b to c is closed, Fig. 1, see Misu’s Translation) and the wireless communication component is powered off (see power switch 16 is turned off), the isolation switch outputting the first signal to the audible component, and the audible component receiving the first audio signal and emitting a first sound signal based on the first audio signal (When the power switch 16 is turned off, the receiving section 12 and the amplifier 13 are put into a non-operating state, par [0021]; an audio signal L is input from the input terminal 11 to the input contact b of the relay 171. The output contact c of the relay 171 is connected to the speaker 14L and outputs the audio signal L inputted from [[the input contact a or]] the input contact b, Fig. 1, see par [0023], Misu’s Translation); and
based on determining that the isolation switch is turned off (see relays 171 and 172 contacts b to c is open, Fig. 1, Misu’s Translation) and the wireless communication component is powered on (see power switch 16 is turned on), the isolation switch isolating the first audio signal and the wireless output component outputting the second audio signal to the audible component, and the audible component receiving the second audio signal and emitting a second sound signal based on the second audio signal (The switching unit 17 is connected to the battery 15 via the power switch 16, and is supplied with a reduced and regulated switching voltage V1. Depending on the switching voltage V1, the switching unit 17 switches the audio signal output path to the speakers 14L, 14R to a path in which the audio signals L/R are output from the input terminal 11 to the speakers 14L, 14R, or a path in which the audio signals L/R are output from the receiving unit 12 to the speakers 14L, 14R, Fig. 1, par [0022], see Misu’s Translation).
Regarding claim 3, Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi teaches the apparatus for reproducing sound of claim 1. Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi, as modified, teaches wherein, the isolation switch is turned on (see relays 171 and 172 contacts b to c is closed, Fig. 1; see Misu’s Translation) when a power supply of the isolation switch is not driven (see the power switch 16 is turned off; First, when the user wishes to reproduce the audio signal L/R from the wired input through the headphones 1, the user turns off the power switch 16, see Misu’s Translation), and the isolation switch is turned off (see relays 171 and 172 contacts b and c is open, Fig. 1, see Misu’s Translation) when the power supply of the isolation switch is driven (see the power switch 16 is turned on; (The battery 15 is connected to the receiving unit 12 and the amplifying unit 13 and supplies them with a voltage. The power switch 16 is switched by a user operation to prohibit or permit the supply of voltage from the battery 15 to the receiving unit 12 and the amplifying unit 13. The power switch 16 is connected between the battery 15 and the receiving unit 12 and amplifying unit 13. When the power switch 16 is turned off, the receiving section 12 and the amplifier 13 are put into a non-operating state. In addition, when the amount of stored electricity in the battery 15 is insufficient to operate the receiver 12 and the amplifier 13, the receiver 12 and the amplifier 13 are also put into a non-operating state, par [0021], Fig. 1, see Misu’s Translation).
Regarding claim 4, Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi teaches the apparatus for reproducing sound of claim 1. Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi, as modified, teaches wherein,
the first audio signal comprises one or more pairs of first audio sub-signals, each pair of the one or more pairs of first audio sub-signals having an audio signal with reference to the first reference level and a ground signal acting as the first reference level (First, when the user wishes to reproduce the audio signal L/R from the wired input through the headphones 1, the user turns off the power switch 16. When the power switch 16 is in the OFF state, the receiving section 12 and the amplifying section 13 are not supplied with voltage from the battery 15 and are therefore in a non- operating state. Furthermore, since the voltage supply from the battery 15 is prohibited and the switching voltage V1 becomes lower than the predetermined voltage Va, the relays 171 and 172 connect the input contact b and the output contact c. As a result, the audio signals L/R input from the input terminal 11 are output to the speakers 14L and 14R, par [0025], see Misu’s Translation);
the second audio signal comprises one or more pairs of second audio sub-signals, each pair of the one or more pairs of second audio sub-signals having a positive and negative audio signal with reference to the second reference level; and the audible component comprises one or more audible sub-components (When the power switch 16 is in an on state, the receiving section 12 and the amplifying section 13 are supplied with voltage from the battery 15 and are in an operating state, so that they receive and amplify the audio signal L/R. Furthermore, since the voltage supply from the battery 15 is permitted and the switching voltage V1 becomes equal to or higher than the predetermined voltage Va, the relays 171 and 172 connect the input contact a and the output contact c. As a result, the audio signals L/R received by the receiving unit 12 are output to the speakers 14L and 14R, Fig. 1, par [0026], see Misu’s Translation). It is noted that a line from relays 171 and 172 to speakers 14L and 14R is a pair of wires including a positive and a negative signals and one of the two speakers 14L and 14R being considered the audible sub-component.
Regarding claim 5, Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi teaches the apparatus for reproducing sound of claim 4. Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi, as modified, teaches wherein, the isolation switch is configured as one or more two-way switches, and two ways in each of the one or more two-way switches either output a pair of first audio sub-signals to the audible sub-component corresponding to the pair of first audio sub-signals or isolate the pair of first audio sub-signals, and the one or more two-way switches either output or isolate the one or more audio sub-signals at the same time (As shown in Fig. 1, each relay 171 and 172 is a two-way switch and one of the two speakers 14L and 14R being considered the audible sub-component, see Fig. 1, par [0026], see Misu’s Translation).
Regarding claim 6, Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi teaches the apparatus for reproducing sound of claim 4. Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi, as modified, teaches wherein, in response to the first audio signal having two pairs of first audio sub-signals (as shown in Fig. 1, each relay 171 and 172 is a two-way switch and one of the two speakers 14L and 14R being considered the audible sub-component, see Fig. 1, par [0026], see Misu’s Translation) except for the isolation switch is configured as a four-way switch, and any two way switches of the four-way switches either output a pair of first audio sub-signals to the audible sub-component corresponding to the pair of first audio sub-signals or isolate the pair of first audio sub-signals.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in the absence of new or unexpected results, to have the isolation switch is configured as a four-way switch, and any two way switches of the four-way switches either output a pair of first audio sub-signals to the audible sub-component corresponding to the pair of first audio sub-signals or isolate the pair of first audio sub-signals since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. The motivation is for purpose of carrying out the procedures up to the establishment of a wireless link in a wireless network more swiftly, as suggested by Yurugi in par [0019].
Regarding claim 7, Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi teaches the apparatus for reproducing sound of claim 1. Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi, as modified, teaches wherein the isolation switch has a power-on duration shorter than a power-on duration of the wireless communication component (the procedures up to the establishment of the wireless link has uncertainty and takes a considerable time (par [0008], see Yurugi). The respective electric waves sometimes interfere with each other and affect adversely on the operation to establish the link, par [0010], see Yurugi). The motivation is for purpose of carrying out the procedures up to the establishment of a wireless link in a wireless network more swiftly, as suggested by Yurugi in par [0019].
Regarding claim 8, Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi teaches the apparatus for reproducing sound of claim 1. Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi, as modified, teaches wherein the isolation switch has an isolation voltage value depending on a voltage amplitude of the first audio signal (When the audio signal L/R is wirelessly received, power is consumed by the operation of the receiving unit 12 and the amplifier unit 13. When the charge remaining in the battery 15 becomes low, that is, when the voltage output by the battery 15 is less than a predetermined voltage, the receiving unit 12 and the amplifier unit 13 are not supplied with sufficient voltage to operate and therefore are put into a stopped state. Furthermore, when the voltage output by the battery 15 is less than the predetermined voltage, the switching voltage V1 also becomes less than the predetermined voltage Va, and the relays 171 and 172 connect the input contacts b and the output contacts c. As a result, the audio signals L/R input from the input terminal 11 are output to the speakers 14L and 14R, see Fig. 1, par [0030], see Misu’s Translation).
Regarding claim 10, Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi teaches a headphone (headphones 1, Fig. 1, par [0017], see Misu’s Translation), comprising the apparatus for reproducing sound of claim 1 (The headphones 1 are capable of receiving an audio signal L/R via a wired input or wirelessly, Fig. 1, par [0017], see Misu’s Translation).
Regarding claim 11, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 1. Therefore it is interpreted and rejected under Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 1. It is noted that Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi teaches the headphones 1 are capable of receiving an audio signal L/R via a wired input or wirelessly, see Fig. 1, par [0017], see Misu’s Translation.
Regarding claim 12, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 2. Therefore it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 3. Therefore it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 4. Therefore it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 5. Therefore it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 6. Therefore it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 7. Therefore it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 8. Therefore it is interpreted and rejected under for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 8.
Regarding claim 20, this claim has similar limitations as Claim 1 with a difference is a first communication component instead of a wireless communication component. Therefore it is interpreted and rejected under Misu’s Translation in view of Yurugi for the reasons set forth in the rejection of Claim 1.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant asserts on pages 10-11, regarding claims 1 and 11:
For example, In rejecting claims 1 and 9, the Office Action relies on the "receiver 12 of Misu" for the claimed "wireless communication component" and on the "loudspeaker 14L of Misu" for the claimed "audible component." Figure 1 of Misu is reproduced for reference below.
Even assuming for the sake of example that the "receiver 12 of Misu" is similar to claimed "wireless communication component" and that the "loudspeaker 14L of Misu" is similar to the claimed "audible component," which is not the case, Misu fails to teach that the receiver 12 is directly connected to the loudspeaker 14L. As shown in Figure 1 of Misu, an amplifying unit 13 and a switching unit 17 is positioned between the receiver 12 and the loudspeaker 14L. Accordingly, Misu fails to teach or suggest "wherein the wireless communication component is directly connected to the audible component without arranging a reference level conversion component including at least an audio transformer or an operational amplifier for converting the second audio signal with reference to the second reference level to a further audio signal with reference to the first reference level."
Yurugi fails to cure the deficiencies of Misu. Specifically, Yurugi is silent with respect to the foregoing claimed features. For at least these reasons, claim 1 is patentable over the cited references.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although “an amplifying unit 13 and a switching unit 17 is positioned between the receiver 12 and the loudspeaker 14L”, however, there is a connected line from left side of receiver 12 to switching unit 17 and is therefore bypass the amplifying unit 13 in Figure 1 of Misu. In addition, “switching unit 17” corresponds to “is directly connected” since its function is directly connecting the receiver 12 and the loudspeaker 14. As presented above in the Office Action, “Yurugi teaches radio communication system (see Title) in which first of all, the operation to establish the link, by which the embodiment is characterized, will be described when the wireless data communication is applied to the Bluetooth (i.e., transceiver, par [0089], see Yurugi). Step 206, Fig. 2: The connection control section 101 gives an instruction to the connection control section 106 in the first wireless communication unit 100 to change over the connection change-over switch 103 in the first wireless communication unit 100 to the wire connection section 107 of the first wireless communication unit 100 (see Figs.1, 2, par [0093], see Yurugi), wherein the wireless communication component (see Bluetooth (i.e., transceiver, par [0089], see Yurugi); first wireless communication unit 100, see Figs.1, 2, par [0093] see Yurugi) is directly connected to the audible component without arranging a reference level conversion component including at least an audio transformer or an operational amplifier (amplifier unit 13, Fig. 1, par [0019], see Misu’s Translation) for converting the second audio signal with reference to the second reference level to a further audio signal with reference to the first reference level (see connection line on left side of receiving section 12, Fig. 1 directly connected to speaker 14L, 14R via at V1, bypass amplifier 13 (i.e., not via L and R lines connection between receiving unit 12 and amplifying unit 13); In addition, when power is consumed by the operation of the receiving unit 12 and the amplifying unit 13 during wireless reception of the audio signals L/R and the battery 15 becomes low on charge, that is, when the battery voltage V2 output from the battery 15 is equal to or higher than a predetermined voltage Vb, the determining unit 18 outputs a low- level switching signal V1 and switches the switching unit 17 to the audio signal output path from the input unit 11 to the speakers 14L and 14R, Fig. 1, par [0033], see Misu’s Translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the radio communication system taught by Yurugi with the apparatus of Misu’s Translation such that to obtain a wireless communication component including at least a transceiver; wherein the wireless communication component is directly connected to the audible component without arranging a reference level conversion component including at least an audio transformer or an operational amplifier for converting the second audio signal with reference to the second reference level to a further audio signal with reference to the first reference level as claimed for purpose of carrying out the procedures up to the establishment of a wireless link in a wireless network more swiftly, as suggested by Yurugi in par [0019].”
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/VIVIAN C CHIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2695