DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a/1,2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2017/0247610).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a wavelength conversion member (color conversion member [0020]) comprising: a wavelength conversion layer (fluorescent substance [0020] are included in a single layer [0009]); and a substrate ([0061]), wherein the wavelength conversion layer contains a pyrromethene derivative (pyrromethene metal complex series organic fluorescence substance [0029]), a binder (resin matrix [0020]) and a light scattering particle (light diffusing particles [0057]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches that a diameter R of the light scattering particle is within a range of 0.1 µm to 5 µm ([0059]) which is within the claimed range of 0.1 µm or more.
Regarding claims 6-7, Kim teaches that the wavelength conversion member contains, in the same wavelength conversion layer (resin matrix [0020]), a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light (pyrromethene metal complex series organic fluorescence substance [0029]), in which a peak wavelength is observed in a region of 510 nm to 560 nm ([0020]) which is within the claimed range of 500 nm or more and 580 nm or less, and a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light (pyrromethene metal complex series organic fluorescence substance [0029]), in which a peak wavelength is observed in a region of 600 nm to 660 nm ([0020]) which is within the claimed range of 580 nm or more and 750 nm or less.
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a light emitting device (back light unit [0077]) comprising: the wavelength conversion member (color conversion film, Fig. 12) and a light source (light source, Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches that the light source is a blue light emitting diode (light source including blue light [0021], LED blue [0080]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1, 5-7, 14-15 above, and further, as evidenced by Fujita (Clarivate Analytics English translation of JP-2017040931-A) .
Kim teaches the light emitting device comprising the wavelength conversion member, as described above. Kim teaches a display device (display apparatus [0013]) comprising: the light emitting device (backlight unit [0013] including the color conversion film [0012]), wherein the display device can be a liquid crystal display device (LCD [0002]) which comprises a liquid crystal cell as an essential component, as evidenced by Fujita.
Fujita teaches that a liquid crystal display device comprises a liquid crystal cell as an essential component (liquid crystal cell, 1st para of page 17). Therefore, the device of Kim is considered to include, or in the alternative it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that one would include, a liquid crystal cell.
Claims 2-4, 8-13, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2017/0247610) in view of Fujita (Clarivate Analytics English translation of JP-20170409310-A).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches a wavelength conversion member (color conversion member [0020]) comprising: a wavelength conversion layer (fluorescent substance [0020] are included in a single layer [0009]); and a substrate ([0061]), wherein the wavelength conversion layer contains a pyrromethene derivative (pyrromethene metal complex series organic fluorescence substance [0029]).
Kim teaches that the wavelength conversion layer further contains a light scattering particle (light diffusing particles [0057]), but is silent regarding a haze of the wavelength conversion member.
However, Fujita teaches that a wavelength conversion member comprising a wavelength conversion layer containing a light scattering particle (3rd last para of page 2), has a haze (internal haze, 2nd para of page 4) of 80% (2nd para of page 4) that is within the claimed range of 80% or more and 99.5% or less, for the purpose of providing the desired diffusion of excitation light (2nd para of page 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided the wavelength conversion member of Kim, with a haze that is within a range of 80% or more and 99.5% or less, in order to obtain the desired diffusion of excitation light, as taught by Fujita.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches a wavelength conversion member (color conversion member [0020]) comprising: a wavelength conversion layer (fluorescent substance [0020] are included in a single layer [0009]); and a substrate ([0061]), wherein the wavelength conversion layer contains a pyrromethene derivative (pyrromethene metal complex series organic fluorescence substance [0029]).
Kim teaches that the wavelength conversion layer contains a light scattering particle (light diffusing particles [0057]), but is silent regarding outside and inside hazes of the wavelength conversion member.
However, Fujita teaches that a wavelength conversion member comprising a wavelength conversion layer containing a light scattering particle (3rd last para of page 2), has an inside haze (internal haze, 2nd para of page 4) that is within a range of 60% to 80% (2nd para of page 4) which is within the claimed range of 30% or more, for the purpose of providing the desired diffusion of excitation light (2nd para of page 4). Fujita teaches that the outermost layer of the conversion member (2nd last para of page 3) which can be the substrate, containing a light scattering particle (added, 2nd last para of page 3), has an outside haze that is within a range of 5% to 10% (external haze, 1st para of page 4) which is within the claimed range of 0.5% or more and 50% or less, for the purpose of providing the desired retroreflection (1st para of page 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have provided the wavelength conversion member of Kim, with an inside haze that is within a range of 30% or more, in order to obtain the desired diffusion of excitation light, and to have provided the substrate of the wavelength conversion member of Kim, with an outside haze that is within a range of 0.5% or more and 50% or less, in order to obtain the desired retroreflection, and as taught by Fujita.
Regarding claim 4, the inside haze of the wavelength conversion member and the outside haze of the substrate of the wavelength conversion member of Kim, as modified by Fujita, satisfy a relationship of inside haze > outside haze.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches that a diameter R of the light scattering particle is within a range of 0.1 µm to 5 µm ([0059]) which is within the claimed range of 0.1 µm or more.
Regarding claims 9-10, Kim teaches that the wavelength conversion member contains, in the same wavelength conversion layer (resin matrix [0020]), a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light (pyrromethene metal complex series organic fluorescence substance [0029]), in which a peak wavelength is observed in a region of 510 nm to 560 nm ([0020]) which is within the claimed range of 500 nm or more and 580 nm or less, and a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light (pyrromethene metal complex series organic fluorescence substance [0029]), in which a peak wavelength is observed in a region of 600 nm to 660 nm ([0020]) which is within the claimed range of 580 nm or more and 750 nm or less.
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches that a diameter R of the light scattering particle is within a range of 0.1 µm to 5 µm ([0059]) which is within the claimed range of 0.1 µm or more.
Regarding claims 12-13, Kim teaches that the wavelength conversion member contains, in the same wavelength conversion layer (resin matrix [0020]), a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light (pyrromethene metal complex series organic fluorescence substance [0029]), in which a peak wavelength is observed in a region of 510 nm to 560 nm ([0020]) which is within the claimed range of 500 nm or more and 580 nm or less, and a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light (pyrromethene metal complex series organic fluorescence substance [0029]), in which a peak wavelength is observed in a region of 600 nm to 660 nm ([0020]) which is within the claimed range of 580 nm or more and 750 nm or less.
Regarding claims 17, 19, Kim teaches a light emitting device (back light unit [0077]) comprising: the wavelength conversion member (color conversion film, Fig. 12) and a light source (light source, Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 18, 20, Kim teaches a display device (display apparatus [0013]) comprising: the light emitting device (backlight unit [0013] including the color conversion film [0012]), wherein the display device can be a liquid crystal display device (LCD [0002]) which comprises a liquid crystal cell as an essential component, as evidenced by Fujita.
Fujita teaches that a liquid crystal display device comprises a liquid crystal cell as an essential component (liquid crystal cell, 1st para of page 17).
/Sophie Hon/
Sow-Fun Hon
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782