DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
It is unclear in claims 9-14, 17, what the terms “34G”, “34R”, “26Y”, “26G” and “26R” mean, and how they limit the components that they qualify.
For the purposes of examination, the sub-term “34” is treated as representing microparticles 34 and the sub-term “26” is treated as representing wavelength conversion layer 26, with the sub-terms “G” and “R” further defining sub-layers of 26 as having (G)reen or (R)ed color light emissions, and the sub-term “Y” further defining the wavelength conversion layer 26 as being a laminate of “26G” and “26R”.
Claim 15 depends on and includes all the subject matter of claim 13, and claim 16 depends on and includes all the subject matter of claim 14, but both fail to provide any solutions to the indefinite issues described above.
Amendment and/or clarification accompanied by relevant citation(s) from the specification and/or teaching reference are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuniyasu (US 2019/0302497) in view of Ichihashi, WO 2020/045242 (US 2021/0336145 is used here).
Regarding claim 1, Kuniyasu teaches a wavelength conversion member (film 16 [0042]) comprising: a wavelength conversion layer (26 [0042]) and a substrate (28 [0042]), wherein the wavelength conversion layer 26 contains a binder (32 [0043]) and microparticles (34 [0043], Fig. 2 shown below), and the microparticles 34 contain wavelength conversion particles (38 [0043]) and a matrix (36 [0043]). Kuniyasu fails to teach that the wavelength conversion particles 38 include a pyrromethene derivative.
However, Kuniyasu teaches that the wavelength conversion particles 38 include a fluorescent material ([0049]).
Ichihashi teaches that in a wavelength conversion member (color conversion film [00190]) comprising a wavelength conversion layer (color conversion layer [0190]) that includes a binder (resin [0177]), a pyrromethene derivative (pyrromethene-boron complex [0177]) is further included in the wavelength conversion layer as a fluorescent material ([0010, 0076]), for the purpose of providing the desired combination of high efficiency emission and excellent color purity ([0010, 0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, to have included a pyrromethene derivative in the wavelength conversion particles of the microparticles, of the wavelength conversion layer of the wavelength conversion member of Kuniyasu, in order to obtain desired combination of high efficiency emission and excellent color purity, as taught by Ichihashi.
Regrading claim 2, Kuniyasu teaches that the binder is commercially available as PVA 203 ([0187]) which is disclosed in Applicant’s specification to have an oxygen permeability coefficient of 0.0008 (cc.mm)/(m2.day.atm) (PVA203, Examples 1-2, Binder, Table 1 [0201]) that is within the claimed range of 0.01 (cc.mm)/(m2.day.atm) or less.
Regarding claims 3-4, Kuniyasu teaches that the wavelength conversion layer 26 contains 0.5% by mass of an emulsifier (sodium dodecyl-sulfate (SDS): 0.5 parts by mass [0193] disclosed in Applicant’s specification [0052, 0164]) which is within the claimed range of 0.01% to 5% by mass.
Regarding claims 5-8, Kuniyasu teaches that an average diameter of the microparticles 34 is within a range of 0.5 µm to 5 µm ([0096]) which overlaps the claimed range of 1 µm or more and 15 µm or less.
Regarding claim 9, Kuniyasu teaches that the wavelength conversion layer 26 contains microparticles 34G containing a fluorescent material exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a green light ([0121]) wavelength region of 500 nm or more and 600 nm or less ([0054]) which contains the claimed region of 500 nm or more and 580 nm or less, and microparticles 34R containing a fluorescent material exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a red light ([0121]) wavelength region of 600 nm or more and 680 nm or less ([0054]) which is within the claimed region of 580 nm or more and 750 nm or less.
Ichihashi teaches that the wavelength conversion layer contains a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a green light wavelength region of 500 nm or more and 580 nm or less ([0181]), and a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a red light wavelength region of 580 nm or more and 750 nm or less ([0181, 116]), for the purpose of providing the desired combination of high efficiency emission and excellent color purity, as described above.
Accordingly, Kuniyasu, as modified by Ichihashi, teaches that the wavelength conversion layer 26 contains microparticles 34G containing a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a green light wavelength region of 500 nm or more and 580 nm or less, and microparticles 34R containing a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a red light wavelength region of 580 nm or more and 750 nm or less for the purpose of providing the desired combination of high efficiency emission and excellent color purity, as described above.
Regarding claim 10, Kuniyasu teaches that the wavelength conversion member 16 includes a laminate 26Y (wavelength conversion layer 26 has a multiplayer configuration 0121]) of a wavelength conversion layer 26G containing the microparticles 34G (another layer includes the above-described quantum dots (B) that are excited by excitation light (blue light) to emit green light [0121]) and a wavelength conversion layer 26R containing the microparticles 34R (one layer includes the above-described quantum dots (A) that are excited by excitation light (blue light) to emit red light [0121]).
Regarding claim 11, Kuniyasu teaches that the wavelength conversion member 16 alternately includes, as the wavelength conversion layer 26, a layer containing the microparticles 34G (green light emitted from the quantum dots (B) [0055]) and the microparticles 34R (red light emitted from the quantum dots (A) [055]) in the same layer (including the quantum dots (A) and the quantum dots (B)).
Regarding claim 12, Kuniyasu teaches that an average diameter of the microparticles 34 is within a range of 0.5 µm to 5 µm ([0096]) which overlaps the claimed range of 1 µm or more and 15 µm or less.
In addition, Kuniyasu teaches that the wavelength conversion layer 26 contains microparticles 34G containing a fluorescent material exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a green light ([0121]) wavelength region of 500 nm or more and 600 nm or less ([0054]) which contains the claimed region of 500 nm or more and 580 nm or less, and microparticles 34R containing a fluorescent material exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a red light ([0121]) wavelength region of 600 nm or more and 680 nm or less ([0054]) which is within the claimed region of 580 nm or more and 750 nm or less.
Ichihashi teaches that the wavelength conversion layer contains a pyrromethene
derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a green light wavelength region of 500 nm or more and 580 nm or less ([0181]), and a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a red light wavelength region of 580 nm or more and 750 nm or less ([0181, 0116]), for the purpose of providing the desired combination of high efficiency emission and excellent color purity ([0010]).
Accordingly, Kuniyasu, as modified by Ichihashi, teaches that the wavelength conversion layer 26 contains microparticles 34G containing a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a green light wavelength region of 500 nm or more and 580 nm or less, and microparticles 34R containing a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a red light wavelength region of 580 nm or more and 750 nm or less for the purpose of providing the desired combination of high efficiency emission and excellent color purity, as described above.
Regarding claim 13, Kuniyasu teaches that the wavelength conversion member 16 includes a laminate 26Y (wavelength conversion layer 26 has a multiplayer configuration 0121]) of a wavelength conversion layer 26G containing the microparticles 34G (another layer includes the above-described quantum dots (B) that are excited by excitation light (blue light) to emit green light [0121]) and a wavelength conversion layer 26R containing the microparticles 34R (one layer includes the above-described quantum dots (A) that are excited by excitation light (blue light) to emit red light [0121]).
Regarding claim 14, Kuniyasu teaches that the wavelength conversion member 16 alternately includes, as the wavelength conversion layer 26, a layer containing the microparticles 34G (green light emitted from the quantum dots (B) [0055]) and the microparticles 34R (red light emitted from the quantum dots (A) [055]) in the same layer (including the quantum dots (A) and the quantum dots (B)).
Regarding claims 15-16, Kuniyasu teaches that the wavelength conversion layer 26 contains 0.5% by mass of an emulsifier (sodium dodecyl-sulfate (SDS): 0.5 parts by mass [0193] disclosed in Applicant’s specification [0052, 0164]) which is within the claimed range of 0.01% to 5% by mass.
Regarding claim 17, Kuniyasu teaches a method for producing a wavelength conversion member (method of preparing the wavelength conversion film 16 [0143]), comprising steps of:
applying a composition (coating solution [0118]) containing microparticles 34G (microparticles 34 [0118]) containing a fluorescent material exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a green light ([0121]) wavelength region of 500 nm or more and 600 nm or less ([0054]) which contains the claimed region of 500 nm or more and 580 nm or less, onto a substrate (28 [0118]) to form a wavelength conversion layer 26G (wavelength conversion layer 26 [0118] another layer includes the above-described quantum dots (B) that are excited by excitation light (blue light) to emit green light [0121]), and
applying a composition (coating solution [0118]) containing microparticles 34R (microparticles 34 [0118]) containing a fluorescent material exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a red light ([0121]) wavelength region of 580 nm or more and 750 nm or less ([0054]), onto the wavelength conversion layer 26G (two-layer configuration [0121]), to form a wavelength conversion layer 26R (wavelength conversion layer 26 [0118] one layer includes the above-described quantum dots (A) that are excited by excitation light (blue light) to emit red light [0121]), and form a laminate 26Y (two-layer configuration [0121]).
Ichihashi teaches a method for producing a wavelength conversion member (color conversion film [0197]), comprising steps of:
applying a composition (coating [0197]) containing a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a green light wavelength region of 500 nm or more and 580 nm or less ([0181]), onto a substrate (transparent substrate [0205]) to form a wavelength conversion layer 26G (green conversion layer [0205]), and
applying a composition (coating [0197]) containing a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a red light wavelength region of 580 nm or more and 750 nm or less ([0181]), onto the wavelength conversion layer 26G (green conversion layer [0205]), to form a wavelength conversion layer 26R (red conversion layer [0205]), and form a laminate 26Y (color conversion layer preferably contains a red conversion layer and a green conversion layer [205]), for the purpose of providing the desired combination of high efficiency emission and excellent color purity ([0010]).
Accordingly, Kuniyasu, as modified by Ichihashi, teaches a method for producing a wavelength conversion member, comprising steps of:
applying a composition containing microparticles 34G containing a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a green light wavelength region of 500 nm or more and 580 nm or less, onto a substrate 28 to form a wavelength conversion layer 26G, and
applying a composition containing microparticles 34R containing a pyrromethene derivative exhibiting light emission by using excitation light, in which a peak wavelength is observed in a red light wavelength region of 580 nm or more and 750 nm or less, onto the wavelength conversion layer 26G, to form a wavelength conversion layer 26R, and form a laminate 26Y, for the purpose of providing the desired combination of high efficiency emission and excellent color purity, as described above.
Regarding claim 18, Kuniyasu teaches a light emitting device (10 [0036]) comprising: the wavelength conversion member 16 and a light source (18 [0036], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Kuniyasu teaches that the light source 18 is selected from the group consisting of a blue light emitting diode (blue LED [0169]) and an ultraviolet light (incident as excitation light [0044] emitting diode used as the light source 18 [0169]).
Regarding claim 20, Kuniyasu teaches a liquid crystal display device ([0036]) comprising the light emitting device 10 ([0036]), and by convention, a liquid crystal cell containing the liquid crystal active medium which is the key component of any liquid crystal display device.
/Sophie Hon/
Sow-Fun Hon
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782