Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (U.S. Pub No.2021/0266753 A1) in view of KIM et al, (U.S. Pub No.2024/0251364 A1)
1, Kumar teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors [fig 15, par 0197, 0199, The memory 1530 may include RAM, ROM, or a combination thereof. The memory 1530 may store computer-readable code 1535 including instructions that, when executed by a processor (e.g., the processor 1540) cause the device to perform various functions described herein. In some cases, the memory 1530 may contain, among other things, a BIOS which may control basic hardware or software operation such as the interaction with peripheral components or devices];
and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: receive configuration information that indicates a first initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to monitor for network access control signaling [par 0005, 0097, In one aspect, the network may configure a first subset of BWPs in the frequency spectrum as dedicated for NR and second subset of BWPs in the frequency spectrum for DSS between NR and LTE, where the network may determine a BWP to activate for a UE based on the UE's rate matching capability. In some cases, when a UE 115 connects to a DSS-supported base station 105, the base station 105 may provide the UE 115 with LTE broadcast information in an NR message. As such, the UE 115 may determine resources to avoid (e.g., resources including LTE broadcast signals, such as LTE CRSs) and resources to monitor for NR signaling. DSS may allow for the UE 115 to remain using NR operations for a greater proportion of time (e.g., as opposed to maintaining LTE frequency bands as dedicated for LTE) and to reduce the frequency of the UE 115 performing inter-RAT handover procedures to LTE]
wherein a first radio access technology and a second radio access technology share a set of wireless resources that are configured within the first initial downlink BWP [par 0018, 0099, the UE from the first BWP to a second BWP of the set of BWPs different from the first BWP and dynamically shared between the first RAT and a second RAT, and transmit, to the UE, an indication of the second BWP for communication based on the switching. In some cases, LTE carriers may have a lower maximum carrier bandwidth than NR carriers, and thus one NR carrier may span one or more LTE carriers, and one or more NR BWPs may correspond in frequency to one or more LTE carriers. In some aspects, each BWP or subset of BWPs may be configured for one or more RATs. A first subset of BWPs may be dedicated for use with a first RAT (e.g., NR) and a second subset of BWPs may be dynamically shared between the first RAT and a second RAT (e.g., LTE) by employing DSS];
operate on the first initial downlink BWP [par 0005, 0100, In some cases, a network implementing DSS for NR and LTE may assign a UE to a specific bandwidth part (BWP) based on a rate matching capability of the UE. In one aspect, the network may configure a first subset of BWPs in the frequency spectrum as dedicated for NR and second subset of BWPs in the frequency spectrum for DSS between NR and LTE, where the network may determine a BWP to activate for a UE based on the UE's rate matching capability. Base station 105-a may transmit an indication of the activated BWP to UE 115-a over communication link 205-a (e.g., in a downlink channel) in a BWP activation indication 210 (e.g., in dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a downlink control information (DCI) message, etc.). In some aspects, base station 105-a may assign a BWP based on capabilities of UE 115-a, capabilities of other UEs 115 operating within coverage area],
and monitor the network access control signaling that includes network access information for both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology [par 0097, 0121, As such, the UE 115 may determine resources to avoid (e.g., resources including LTE broadcast signals, such as LTE CRSs) and resources to monitor for NR signaling. DSS may allow for the UE 115 to remain using NR operations for a greater proportion of time (e.g., as opposed to maintaining LTE frequency bands as dedicated for LTE) and to reduce the frequency of the UE 115 performing inter-RAT handover procedures to LTE. UE 115-c (e.g., in standalone mode) may receive control messages for both RATs through a common control channel (e.g., in a control channel for the first RAT on the first carrier), avoiding separate control channels for each RAT. Each control message may indicate a set of resources (e.g., for data communications) for the respective RAT in the same carrier bandwidth. As such, UE 115-c may use a single radio frequency transceiver and/or chain to concurrently monitor for NR messages and LTE messages (e.g., in a common control channel for both NR and LTE scheduling)],
and transmit a network access request using the first radio access technology based at least in part on the network access information from the network access control signaling [par 0127, UE 115-d may perform a second registration procedure with base station 105-d on a second cell (e.g., associated with the first cell) supporting the second RAT in the frequency spectrum based on base station 105-d supporting DSS between the first and second RATs. The second registration procedure may include, for example, authentication and security (e.g., key provisioning) and establishment of a default bearer for the second RAT. In the second registration procedure, the UE 115-d may send an attach request to the base station 105-d with an identifier of the UE 115-d (e.g., subscriber identity). The base station 105-d may confirm (e.g., via a core network) the subscriber identity and may establish an active bearer context for the UE 115-d on the second RAT].
Kumar fail to show wherein the network access information provides initial access information to initiate a connection using the first radio access technology and to initiate a connection using the second radio access technology;
In an analogous art Kim show wherein the network access information provides initial access information to initiate a connection using the first radio access technology and to initiate a connection using the second radio access technology [par 0032, 0033, When entering the cell area of the first satellite 21a, the terminal 31, 32, or 33 may receive a synchronization signal including an SSB from the first satellite 21a, and perform initial access to the first satellite 21a based on the synchronization signal. Embodiments in which the terminal 31, 32, or 33 performs initial access to the first satellite 21a based on a synchronization signal are described below with reference to FIGS. 2 to 4. In some embodiments, when the base station 11 or 12 establishes an initial connection with the terminal 31, 32, or 33 by using the first satellite group 20a, the first satellite group 20a may transmit synchronization signals including SSBs, taking into account two or more different RATs. Embodiments in which the first satellite group 20a transmits synchronization signals by considering two or more different RATs].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Kumar and Kim because this provides a wireless communication system capable of configuring a primary satellite and a secondary satellite in a satellite group when one or more satellites simultaneously use two or more different radio access technologies (RATs). [Kim par 0005]
16. Kumar disclose a network entity for wireless communication, comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors[par 0257, An apparatus for wireless communications implemented by a base station, comprising a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to perform];
and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to: transmit configuration information to at least a first user equipment (UE) and a second UE that indicates a first initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP) for network access control signaling [par 0018, 0076, 0105, An apparatus for wireless communications implemented by a base station is described. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to communicate with a UE in a first BWP of a set of BWPs dedicated for a first RAT, identify that the UE performs a number of handover procedures greater than a threshold number of handover procedures while communicating in the first BWP. The UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may wirelessly communicate with one another via one or more communication links 125 over one or more carriers. base station 105-a may identify that a UE 115 (e.g., UE 115-a) assigned to a first BWP (e.g., an NR-dedicated BWP) is performing frequent handover procedures. This frequent handover may be due to increased mobility of the UE 115, small cell sizes, or the like. In some aspects, the UE 115 may operate on a high frequency NR band (e.g., a frequency band greater than some threshold frequency). A high frequency band may correspond to a relatively small cell range, such that UEs 115 operating on such a high frequency band may frequently perform handover procedures to other cells (e.g., other cells with relatively small cell sizes). Base station 105-a may determine that switching UE 115-a from the first BWP to a second BWP (e.g., a BWP corresponding to a relatively lower frequency band below the threshold frequency) may reduce the number of handover procedures]
wherein the first UE uses a first radio access technology and the second UE uses a second radio access technology[par 0101, 0108, Base station 105-a and UE 115-a may be capable of using one or more radio protocols (e.g., one or more RATs, such as NR, LTE, or both), which may share the same carrier frequency or frequency band. It is to be understood that references to specific RATs (e.g., LTE and NR) are provided for illustrative purposes only, and different RATs not specifically referred to herein may be used interchangeably with those described below. a base station 105 may activate a specific BWP 310 for a UE 115 based on the network load, the rate matching capability indicated by the UE 115, or some combination thereof. The base station may prioritize use of dedicated BWPs (e.g., BWPs 310 dedicated for a specific RAT, rather than support spectrum sharing between multiple RATs) for UEs 115 that are not implementing rate matching and use of DSS BWPs (e.g., BWPs 310 supporting spectrum sharing between multiple RATs) for UEs 115 that are capable of rate matching between the multiple supported RATs],
and wherein the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology share a set of wireless resources configured within the first initial downlink BWP[par 0017, 0099, the UE from the first BWP to a second BWP of the set of BWPs different from the first BWP and dynamically shared between the first RAT and a second RAT, and transmitting, to the UE, an indication of the second BWP for communication based on the switching. A first subset of BWPs may be dedicated for use with a first RAT (e.g., NR) and a second subset of BWPs may be dynamically shared between the first RAT and a second RAT (e.g., LTE) by employing DSS];
transmit, via the first initial downlink BWP, the network access control signaling [par 0100, 0101, Base station 105-a may communicate with UE 115-a over communication link 205-a, which may be an NR communication link. Base station 105-a may configure UE 115-a with a number of BWPs and may activate a specific BWP for UE 115-a to use. UE 115-a may communicate in the activated BWP according to the configured parameters for communicating in each of the BWPs. Base station 105-a may transmit an indication of the activated BWP to UE 115-a over communication link 205-a (e.g., in a downlink channel) in a BWP activation indication 210 (e.g., in dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a downlink control information (DCI) message, etc.). In one aspect, UE 115-a may use a first RAT but may be capable of rate matching signals using the first RAT with signals or channels (e.g., CRS, a control channel) for a second RAT. Rate matching between RATs may allow UEs 115 communicating with base station 105-a to use different physical layer technologies with different transmission rates more efficiently, which may reduce overhead and increase throughput];
and receive, from the first UE, a network access request using the first radio access technology [par 0127, UE 115-d may perform a second registration procedure with base station 105-d on a second cell (e.g., associated with the first cell) supporting the second RAT in the frequency spectrum based on base station 105-d supporting DSS between the first and second RATs. The second registration procedure may include, for example, authentication and security (e.g., key provisioning) and establishment of a default bearer for the second RAT. In the second registration procedure, the UE 115-d may send an attach request to the base station 105-d with an identifier of the UE 115-d (e.g., subscriber identity). The base station 105-d may confirm (e.g., via a core network) the subscriber identity and may establish an active bearer context for the UE 115-d on the second RAT].
Kumar fail to show wherein the network access control signaling provides initial access information for initiating a connection using the first radio access technology and for initiating a connection using the second radio access technology.
In an analogous art Kim show wherein the network access control signaling provides initial access information for initiating a connection using the first radio access technology and for initiating a connection using the second radio access technology[par 0032, 0033, When entering the cell area of the first satellite 21a, the terminal 31, 32, or 33 may receive a synchronization signal including an SSB from the first satellite 21a, and perform initial access to the first satellite 21a based on the synchronization signal. Embodiments in which the terminal 31, 32, or 33 performs initial access to the first satellite 21a based on a synchronization signal are described below with reference to FIGS. 2 to 4. In some embodiments, when the base station 11 or 12 establishes an initial connection with the terminal 31, 32, or 33 by using the first satellite group 20a, the first satellite group 20a may transmit synchronization signals including SSBs, taking into account two or more different RATs. Embodiments in which the first satellite group 20a transmits synchronization signals by considering two or more different RATs].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Kumar and Kim because this provides a wireless communication system capable of configuring a primary satellite and a secondary satellite in a satellite group when one or more satellites simultaneously use two or more different radio access technologies (RATs). [Kim par 0005]
22. Kumar teaches a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving configuration information that indicates a first initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP) to monitor for network access control signaling[par 0006, 0017, 0100, transmitting, to the UE, an indication of the activated BWP for communication. The method may include communicating with a UE in a first BWP of a set of BWPs dedicated for a first RAT, identifying that the UE performs a number of handover procedures greater than a threshold number of handover procedures while communicating in the first BWP, switching, based on the identifying
Base station 105-a may transmit an indication of the activated BWP to UE 115-a over communication link 205-a (e.g., in a downlink channel) in a BWP activation indication 210 (e.g., in dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a downlink control information (DCI) message, etc.)],
wherein a first radio access technology and a second radio access technology share a set of wireless resources that are configured within the first initial downlink BWP[par 0018, 0099, the UE from the first BWP to a second BWP of the set of BWPs different from the first BWP and dynamically shared between the first RAT and a second RAT, and transmit, to the UE, an indication of the second BWP for communication based on the switching. In some cases, LTE carriers may have a lower maximum carrier bandwidth than NR carriers, and thus one NR carrier may span one or more LTE carriers, and one or more NR BWPs may correspond in frequency to one or more LTE carriers. In some aspects, each BWP or subset of BWPs may be configured for one or more RATs. A first subset of BWPs may be dedicated for use with a first RAT (e.g., NR) and a second subset of BWPs may be dynamically shared between the first RAT and a second RAT (e.g., LTE) by employing DSS];
operating on the first initial downlink BWP [par 0005, In some cases, a network implementing DSS for NR and LTE may assign a UE to a specific bandwidth part (BWP) based on a rate matching capability of the UE. In one aspect, the network may configure a first subset of BWPs in the frequency spectrum as dedicated for NR and second subset of BWPs in the frequency spectrum for DSS between NR and LTE, where the network may determine a BWP to activate for a UE based on the UE's rate matching capability],
and monitoring the network access control signaling that includes network access information for both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology[par 0097, 0121, As such, the UE 115 may determine resources to avoid (e.g., resources including LTE broadcast signals, such as LTE CRSs) and resources to monitor for NR signaling. DSS may allow for the UE 115 to remain using NR operations for a greater proportion of time (e.g., as opposed to maintaining LTE frequency bands as dedicated for LTE) and to reduce the frequency of the UE 115 performing inter-RAT handover procedures to LTE. UE 115-c (e.g., in standalone mode) may receive control messages for both RATs through a common control channel (e.g., in a control channel for the first RAT on the first carrier), avoiding separate control channels for each RAT. Each control message may indicate a set of resources (e.g., for data communications) for the respective RAT in the same carrier bandwidth. As such, UE 115-c may use a single radio frequency transceiver and/or chain to concurrently monitor for NR messages and LTE messages (e.g., in a common control channel for both NR and LTE scheduling)];
and transmitting a network access request using the first radio access technology based at least in part on the network access information from the network access control signaling[par 0127, UE 115-d may perform a second registration procedure with base station 105-d on a second cell (e.g., associated with the first cell) supporting the second RAT in the frequency spectrum based on base station 105-d supporting DSS between the first and second RATs. The second registration procedure may include, for example, authentication and security (e.g., key provisioning) and establishment of a default bearer for the second RAT. In the second registration procedure, the UE 115-d may send an attach request to the base station 105-d with an identifier of the UE 115-d (e.g., subscriber identity). The base station 105-d may confirm (e.g., via a core network) the subscriber identity and may establish an active bearer context for the UE 115-d on the second RAT].
Kumar fail to show wherein the network access information provides initial access information to initiate a connection using the first radio access technology and to initiate a connection using the second radio access technology;
In an analogous art Kim show wherein the network access information provides initial access information to initiate a connection using the first radio access technology and to initiate a connection using the second radio access technology [par 0032, 0033, When entering the cell area of the first satellite 21a, the terminal 31, 32, or 33 may receive a synchronization signal including an SSB from the first satellite 21a, and perform initial access to the first satellite 21a based on the synchronization signal. Embodiments in which the terminal 31, 32, or 33 performs initial access to the first satellite 21a based on a synchronization signal are described below with reference to FIGS. 2 to 4. In some embodiments, when the base station 11 or 12 establishes an initial connection with the terminal 31, 32, or 33 by using the first satellite group 20a, the first satellite group 20a may transmit synchronization signals including SSBs, taking into account two or more different RATs. Embodiments in which the first satellite group 20a transmits synchronization signals by considering two or more different RATs].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Kumar and Kim because this provides a wireless communication system capable of configuring a primary satellite and a secondary satellite in a satellite group when one or more satellites simultaneously use two or more different radio access technologies (RATs). [Kim par 0005]
Claim(s) 2, 3, 17, 18, 23, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (U.S, Pub No. 2021/0266753 A1) in view of KIM et al, (U.S. Pub No.2024/0251364 A1) in further view of Yi et al (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0274535 A1).
2, Kumar and Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, Kumar and Kim fail to show wherein the instructions to monitor are executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: monitor for a cell-defining (CD) synchronization signal block (SSB) and system information transmitted within the first initial downlink BWP, wherein the CD SSB and system information provide synchronization and network access information for both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology.
In an analogous art Yi show wherein the instructions to monitor are executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: monitor for a cell-defining (CD) synchronization signal block (SSB) [par 0181, The wireless device may determine the locations of the SSS and the PBCH, respectively, for example, based on a known structure of the SS/PBCH block if the PSS is found at a location in the time and frequency domains. The SS/PBCH block may be a cell-defining SS block (CD-SSB). A primary cell may be associated with a CD-SSB. The CD-SSB may be located on a synchronization raster. A cell selection/search and/or reselection may be based on the CD-SSB],
and system information transmitted within the first initial downlink BWP [par 0368, The wireless device 2108 may receive (e.g., step 2152), from the base station 2104, the one or more configuration messages 2112. The one or more configuration messages 2112 may comprise one or more SIBs and an MIB for a cell. The wireless device 2108 may determine an initial DL BWP and an initial UL BWP (e.g., initial DL/UP BWP 2110), for example, based on the MIB and the SIBs. The initial DL BWP of the cell may be defined based on a bandwidth and a numerology of CORESET#0 (e.g., a CORESET with CORESET index =0) of the cell. The wireless device 2108 may determines the initial UL BWP, for example, based on information broadcasted via the one or more SIBs. The initial DL BWP and the initial UL BWP of the cell may be based on a cell-specific configuration],
wherein the CD SSB and system information provide synchronization and network access information for both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology [par 0182, 0183, The SS/PBCH block may be used by the wireless device to determine one or more parameters of the cell. The wireless device may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, for example, based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS. The PBCH may comprise an indication of a current system frame number (SFN) of the cell and/or a SS/PBCH block timing index. These parameters may facilitate time synchronization of the wireless device to the base station. The PBCH may comprise a MIB used to send/transmit to the wireless device one or more parameters. The MIB may be used by the wireless device to locate remaining minimum system information (RMSI) associated with the cell. The RMSI may comprise a System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1). The SIB1 may comprise information for the wireless device to access the cell. The wireless device may use one or more parameters of the MIB to monitor a PDCCH, which may be used to schedule a PDSCH].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and Yi because tis provide better efficiency of scheduling may be achieved based on self-carrier scheduling or cross-carrier scheduling, for example, if BWPs are individually configured with self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling based on channel qualities. [Yi, par 0347]
3, Kumar and Kim disclose the UE of claim 1, Kumar and Kim fail to show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: receive additional configuration information associated with the first radio access technology that indicates one or more of a second initial downlink BWP or a second initial uplink BWP that is associated with access for the first radio access technology, wherein the one or more of the second initial downlink BWP or the second initial uplink BWP are provided in addition to the first initial downlink BWP shared by the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology, or a first initial uplink BWP associated with the second radio access technology.
In an analogous art Yi show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: receive additional configuration information associated with the first radio access technology that indicates one or more of a second initial downlink BWP or a second initial uplink BWP that is associated with access for the first radio access technology [par 0433, A wireless device may receive one or more messages. The one or more messages may comprise configuration parameters for a first cell. The configuration parameters may indicate a scheduling cell indicator/index, an initial DL BWP, and a second DL BWP. The wireless device may activate the initial DL BWP of the first cell as an active DL BW of the first cell. The wireless device may determine to use self-carrier scheduling, for example, based on the activating the initial DL BWP],
wherein the one or more of the second initial downlink BWP or the second initial uplink BWP are provided in addition to the first initial downlink BWP shared by the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology, or a first initial uplink BWP associated with the second radio access technology [par 0461, 0530, The first BWP set 2904 may comprise one or more first BWPs associated/configured with self-carrier scheduling for a primary cell of a cell group or a PUCCH group. The second BWP set 2908 may comprise one or more second BWPs associated/configured with cross-carrier scheduling for a secondary cell. The first cell may be associated with a first type of communication (e.g., a first RAT) that may share frequency spectrum with a second cell associated with a second type of communication (e.g., a second RAT)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and Yi because tis provide better efficiency of scheduling may be achieved based on self-carrier scheduling or cross-carrier scheduling, for example, if BWPs are individually configured with self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling based on channel qualities. [Yi, par 0347]
17. Kumar and Kim teaches the network entity of claim 16, Kumar and Kim fail to show wherein the network access control signaling is provided in a cell-defining (CD) synchronization signal block (SSB) and system information transmitted in the first initial downlink BWP, wherein the SSB and system information provide network access information for both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology.
In an analogous art Yi show wherein the network access control signaling is provided in a cell-defining (CD) synchronization signal block (SSB) and system information transmitted in the first initial downlink BWP[par 0181, The wireless device may determine the locations of the SSS and the PBCH, respectively, for example, based on a known structure of the SS/PBCH block if the PSS is found at a location in the time and frequency domains. The SS/PBCH block may be a cell-defining SS block (CD-SSB). A primary cell may be associated with a CD-SSB. The CD-SSB may be located on a synchronization raster. A cell selection/search and/or reselection may be based on the CD-SSB]
and system information transmitted in the first initial downlink BWP[par 0368, The wireless device 2108 may receive (e.g., step 2152), from the base station 2104, the one or more configuration messages 2112. The one or more configuration messages 2112 may comprise one or more SIBs and an MIB for a cell. The wireless device 2108 may determine an initial DL BWP and an initial UL BWP (e.g., initial DL/UP BWP 2110), for example, based on the MIB and the SIBs. The initial DL BWP of the cell may be defined based on a bandwidth and a numerology of CORESET#0 (e.g., a CORESET with CORESET index =0) of the cell. The wireless device 2108 may determines the initial UL BWP, for example, based on information broadcasted via the one or more SIBs. The initial DL BWP and the initial UL BWP of the cell may be based on a cell-specific configuration],
wherein the SSB and system information provide network access information for both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology[par 0182, 0183, The SS/PBCH block may be used by the wireless device to determine one or more parameters of the cell. The wireless device may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, for example, based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS. The PBCH may comprise an indication of a current system frame number (SFN) of the cell and/or a SS/PBCH block timing index. These parameters may facilitate time synchronization of the wireless device to the base station. The PBCH may comprise a MIB used to send/transmit to the wireless device one or more parameters. The MIB may be used by the wireless device to locate remaining minimum system information (RMSI) associated with the cell. The RMSI may comprise a System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1). The SIB1 may comprise information for the wireless device to access the cell. The wireless device may use one or more parameters of the MIB to monitor a PDCCH, which may be used to schedule a PDSCH].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and Yi because tis provide better efficiency of scheduling may be achieved based on self-carrier scheduling or cross-carrier scheduling, for example, if BWPs are individually configured with self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling based on channel qualities. [Yi, par 0347]
18, Kumar and Kim defines the network entity of claim 16, Kumar and Kim fail to show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to: transmit, to the first UE, additional configuration information associated with the first radio access technology that indicates one or more of a second initial downlink BWP or a second initial uplink BWP that is associated with network access for the first radio access technology, wherein the one or more of the second initial downlink BWP or the second initial uplink BWP are provided in addition to the first initial downlink BWP.
In an analogous art Yi show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to: transmit, to the first UE, additional configuration information associated with the first radio access technology that indicates one or more of a second initial downlink BWP or a second initial uplink BWP that is associated with network access for the first radio access technology[par 0433, A wireless device may receive one or more messages. The one or more messages may comprise configuration parameters for a first cell. The configuration parameters may indicate a scheduling cell indicator/index, an initial DL BWP, and a second DL BWP. The wireless device may activate the initial DL BWP of the first cell as an active DL BW of the first cell. The wireless device may determine to use self-carrier scheduling, for example, based on the activating the initial DL BWP],
wherein the one or more of the second initial downlink BWP or the second initial uplink BWP are provided in addition to the first initial downlink BWP[par 0461, 0530, The first BWP set 2904 may comprise one or more first BWPs associated/configured with self-carrier scheduling for a primary cell of a cell group or a PUCCH group. The second BWP set 2908 may comprise one or more second BWPs associated/configured with cross-carrier scheduling for a secondary cell. The first cell may be associated with a first type of communication (e.g., a first RAT) that may share frequency spectrum with a second cell associated with a second type of communication (e.g., a second RAT)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and Yi because tis provide better efficiency of scheduling may be achieved based on self-carrier scheduling or cross-carrier scheduling, for example, if BWPs are individually configured with self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling based on channel qualities. [Yi, par 0347]
23, Kumar and Kim disclose the method of claim 22, Kumar and Kim fail to show wherein the monitoring comprises: monitoring for a cell-defining (CD) synchronization signal block (SSB) and system information transmitted within the first initial downlink BWP, wherein the CD SSB and system information provide synchronization and network access information for both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology.
In an analogous art Yi show wherein the monitoring comprises: monitoring for a cell-defining (CD) synchronization signal block (SSB) and system information transmitted within the first initial downlink BWP[par 0181, The wireless device may determine the locations of the SSS and the PBCH, respectively, for example, based on a known structure of the SS/PBCH block if the PSS is found at a location in the time and frequency domains. The SS/PBCH block may be a cell-defining SS block (CD-SSB). A primary cell may be associated with a CD-SSB. The CD-SSB may be located on a synchronization raster. A cell selection/search and/or reselection may be based on the CD-SSB],,
and system information transmitted within the first initial downlink BWP [par 0368, The wireless device 2108 may receive (e.g., step 2152), from the base station 2104, the one or more configuration messages 2112. The one or more configuration messages 2112 may comprise one or more SIBs and an MIB for a cell. The wireless device 2108 may determine an initial DL BWP and an initial UL BWP (e.g., initial DL/UP BWP 2110), for example, based on the MIB and the SIBs. The initial DL BWP of the cell may be defined based on a bandwidth and a numerology of CORESET#0 (e.g., a CORESET with CORESET index =0) of the cell. The wireless device 2108 may determines the initial UL BWP, for example, based on information broadcasted via the one or more SIBs. The initial DL BWP and the initial UL BWP of the cell may be based on a cell-specific configuration],
and system information provide synchronization and network access information for both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology[par 0182, 0183, The SS/PBCH block may be used by the wireless device to determine one or more parameters of the cell. The wireless device may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, for example, based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS. The PBCH may comprise an indication of a current system frame number (SFN) of the cell and/or a SS/PBCH block timing index. These parameters may facilitate time synchronization of the wireless device to the base station. The PBCH may comprise a MIB used to send/transmit to the wireless device one or more parameters. The MIB may be used by the wireless device to locate remaining minimum system information (RMSI) associated with the cell. The RMSI may comprise a System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1). The SIB1 may comprise information for the wireless device to access the cell. The wireless device may use one or more parameters of the MIB to monitor a PDCCH, which may be used to schedule a PDSCH].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and Yi because tis provide better efficiency of scheduling may be achieved based on self-carrier scheduling or cross-carrier scheduling, for example, if BWPs are individually configured with self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling based on channel qualities. [Yi, par 0347]
24, Kumar and Kim illustrate the method of claim 22, Kumar and Kim fail to show further comprising: receiving additional configuration information associated with the first radio access technology that indicates one or more of a second initial downlink BWP or a second initial uplink BWP that is associated with access for the first radio access technology, wherein the one or more of the second initial downlink BWP or the second initial uplink BWP are provided in addition to the first initial downlink BWP shared by the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology, or a first initial uplink BWP associated with the second radio access technology.
In an analogous art Yi show further comprising: receiving additional configuration information associated with the first radio access technology that indicates one or more of a second initial downlink BWP or a second initial uplink BWP that is associated with access for the first radio access technology[par 0433, A wireless device may receive one or more messages. The one or more messages may comprise configuration parameters for a first cell. The configuration parameters may indicate a scheduling cell indicator/index, an initial DL BWP, and a second DL BWP. The wireless device may activate the initial DL BWP of the first cell as an active DL BW of the first cell. The wireless device may determine to use self-carrier scheduling, for example, based on the activating the initial DL BWP],
wherein the one or more of the second initial downlink BWP or the second initial uplink BWP are provided in addition to the first initial downlink BWP shared by the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology, or a first initial uplink BWP associated with the second radio access technology[par 0461, 0530, The first BWP set 2904 may comprise one or more first BWPs associated/configured with self-carrier scheduling for a primary cell of a cell group or a PUCCH group. The second BWP set 2908 may comprise one or more second BWPs associated/configured with cross-carrier scheduling for a secondary cell. The first cell may be associated with a first type of communication (e.g., a first RAT) that may share frequency spectrum with a second cell associated with a second type of communication (e.g., a second RAT)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and Yi because tis provide better efficiency of scheduling may be achieved based on self-carrier scheduling or cross-carrier scheduling, for example, if BWPs are individually configured with self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling based on channel qualities. [Yi, par 0347]
Claim(s) 4, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (U.S, Pub No. 2021/0266753 A1), KIM et al, (U.S. Pub No.2024/0251364 A1) in further view of Yi et al (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0274535 A1) in further view of Al Imari et al (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0122988 A1).
4, Kumar, Kim, and Yi disclose the UE of claim 3, Kumar, Kim, and Yi fail to show wherein the second initial downlink BWP has an associated center frequency that is unaligned with a center frequency of one or more of the first initial downlink BWP, the second initial uplink BWP associated with the first radio access technology, or the first initial uplink BWP associated with the second radio access technology .
In an analogous art Al-Imar show wherein the second initial downlink BWP has an associated center frequency that is unaligned with a center frequency of one or more of the first initial downlink BWP, the second initial uplink BWP associated with the first radio access technology, or the first initial uplink BWP associated with the second radio access technology[par 0006, If a 5G network configures the UE with an uplink (UL) iBWP that is not aligned with the configured DL iBWP in the frequency domain (e.g., in terms of the center frequency), the UE will have to re-tune between the UL iBWP and the DL iBWP].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, Yi, and Al Imar because this would supporting enhanced bandwidth part (BWP) operation for reduced capability (RedCap) user equipment (UE). [par 0008]
25, Kumar, Kim, and Yi creates the method of claim 24, Kumar, Kim, and Yi fail to show wherein the second initial downlink BWP has an associated center frequency that is unaligned with a center frequency of one or more of the first initial downlink BWP, the second initial uplink BWP associated with the first radio access technology, or the first initial uplink BWP associated with the second radio access technology.
In an analogous art Al lmar show wherein the second initial downlink BWP has an associated center frequency that is unaligned with a center frequency of one or more of the first initial downlink BWP, the second initial uplink BWP associated with the first radio access technology, or the first initial uplink BWP associated with the second radio access technology[par 0006, If a 5G network configures the UE with an uplink (UL) iBWP that is not aligned with the configured DL iBWP in the frequency domain (e.g., in terms of the center frequency), the UE will have to re-tune between the UL iBWP and the DL iBWP].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, Yi, and Al Imar because this would supporting enhanced bandwidth part (BWP) operation for reduced capability (RedCap) user equipment (UE). [par 0008]
6. Claim(s) 5, 6, 19, 26, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (U.S, Pub No. 2021/0266753 A1) in view of KIM et al, (U.S. Pub No.2024/0251364 A1) in further view of Mu (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0155657 A1).
5, Kumar and Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, Kumar and Kim fail to show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: receive, while the UE is in an idle or inactive state, control signaling that indicates BWP switching from the first initial downlink BWP to a second initial downlink BWP,
In an analogous art MU show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: receive, while the UE is in an idle or inactive state, control signaling that indicates BWP switching from the first initial downlink BWP to a second initial downlink BWP[par 0101, 0102, the determining module 101 is configured to, in response to the terminal being the first type of terminal and the first type of terminal being in an idle state, monitor a paging message based on the second initial downlink BWP pair. the determining module 101 is configured to, in response to the terminal being the first type of terminal, determine to switch to the second initial BWP pair, and measure a synchronization signal block (SSB)],
and operating on the second initial downlink BWP to monitor at least a portion of additional network access control signaling for the first radio access technology[par 0085, when the terminal needs to access the network, the terminal monitors the second initial BWP pair, and determines the second type of information carried on the second initial BWP pair. Measurement of the SSB, synchronization and reading of the system message are performed on the second initial downlink BWP. The terminal determines a type of itself, and in response to determining that the type of terminal itself is the first type of terminal, further determines the configuration information of the first initial BWP pair based on the second type of information]; and monitor the second initial downlink BWP for at least the portion of the additional network access control signaling [par 0058, the terminal monitors the second initial BWP pair, and determines the second type of information carried on the second initial BWP pair. Measurement of the SSB, synchronization and reading of the system message are performed on the second initial downlink BWP. The terminal determines a type of itself, and in response to determining that the type of terminal itself is the first type of terminal, further determines the configuration information of the first initial BWP pair based on the second type of information].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and Mu because so that the flexibility of the BWP configuration is guaranteed, the system overhead is reduced.[Mu par 0037]
6, Kumar, Kim, and Mu demonstrate the UE of claim 5, Kumar and Kim fail to show wherein the control signaling further indicates a second initial uplink BWP associated with network access for the first radio access technology that is different than a first initial uplink BWP associated with network access for the second radio access technology, and wherein the second initial uplink BWP is switched independent of which of the first initial downlink BWP or the second initial downlink BWP is monitored for the network access control signaling.
In an analogous art Mu show wherein the control signaling further indicates a second initial uplink BWP associated with network access for the first radio access technology that is different than a first initial uplink BWP associated with network access for the second radio access technology [par 0083, the first type of information may be a random access message of the first type of terminal. For example, the first initial downlink BWP may carry a RAR, a Msg.4 and other messages in a random access process. The second type of information may be a system message],
and wherein the second initial uplink BWP is switched independent of which of the first initial downlink BWP or the second initial downlink BWP is monitored for the network access control signaling [par 0058, 0102, when the terminal needs to access the network, the terminal monitors the second initial BWP pair, and determines the second type of information carried on the second initial BWP pair. The determining module 101 is configured to, in response to the terminal being the first type of terminal, determine to switch to the second initial BWP pair, and measure a synchronization signal block (SSB)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and Mu because so that the flexibility of the BWP configuration is guaranteed, the system overhead is reduced.[Mu par 0037]
19, Kumar and Kim disclose the network entity of claim 16, Kumar and Kim fail to show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to: transmit, to the first UE while the first UE is in an idle or inactive state, control signaling that indicates BWP switching from the first initial downlink BWP to a second initial downlink BWP to monitored at least a portion of the network access control signaling; and transmit, within the second initial downlink BWP, at least the portion of the network access control signaling associated with the first radio access technology.
In an analogous art Mu show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to: transmit, to the first UE while the first UE is in an idle or inactive state, control signaling that indicates BWP switching from the first initial downlink BWP to a second initial downlink BWP to monitored at least a portion of the network access control signaling [par 0101, 0102, the determining module 101 is configured to, in response to the terminal being the first type of terminal and the first type of terminal being in an idle state, monitor a paging message based on the second initial downlink BWP pair. the determining module 101 is configured to, in response to the terminal being the first type of terminal, determine to switch to the second initial BWP pair, and measure a synchronization signal block (SSB)],
at least the portion of the network access control signaling associated with the first radio access technology[par 0085, when the terminal needs to access the network, the terminal monitors the second initial BWP pair, and determines the second type of information carried on the second initial BWP pair. Measurement of the SSB, synchronization and reading of the system message are performed on the second initial downlink BWP. The terminal determines a type of itself, and in response to determining that the type of terminal itself is the first type of terminal, further determines the configuration information of the first initial BWP pair based on the second type of information];.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and Mu because so that the flexibility of the BWP configuration is guaranteed, the system overhead is reduced.[Mu par 0037]
26. Kumar and Kim discloses the method of claim 22, Kumar and Kim fail to show further comprising: receiving, while the UE is in an idle or inactive state, control signaling that indicates BWP switching from the first initial downlink BWP to a second initial downlink BWP, and operating on the second initial downlink BWP to monitor at least a portion of additional network access control signaling for the first radio access technology; and monitoring the second initial downlink BWP for at least the portion of the additional network access control signaling.
In an analogous art Mu show further comprising: receiving, while the UE is in an idle or inactive state, control signaling that indicates BWP switching from the first initial downlink BWP to a second initial downlink BWP par 0101, 0102, the determining module 101 is configured to, in response to the terminal being the first type of terminal and the first type of terminal being in an idle state, monitor a paging message based on the second initial downlink BWP pair. the determining module 101 is configured to, in response to the terminal being the first type of terminal, determine to switch to the second initial BWP pair, and measure a synchronization signal block (SSB)],
and operating on the second initial downlink BWP to monitor at least a portion of additional network access control signaling for the first radio access technology; and monitoring the second initial downlink BWP for at least the portion of the additional network access control signaling[par 0058, the terminal monitors the second initial BWP pair, and determines the second type of information carried on the second initial BWP pair. Measurement of the SSB, synchronization and reading of the system message are performed on the second initial downlink BWP. The terminal determines a type of itself, and in response to determining that the type of terminal itself is the first type of terminal, further determines the configuration information of the first initial BWP pair based on the second type of information].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and Mu because so that the flexibility of the BWP configuration is guaranteed, the system overhead is reduced.[Mu par 0037]
27, Kumar, Kim, and Mu defines the method of claim 26, Kumar and Kim fail to show wherein the control signaling further indicates a second initial uplink BWP associated with network access for the first radio access technology that is different than a first initial uplink BWP associated with network access for the second radio access technology, and wherein the second initial uplink BWP is switched independent of which of the first initial downlink BWP or the second initial downlink BWP is monitored for the network access control signaling.
In an analogous art Mu show wherein the control signaling further indicates a second initial uplink BWP associated with network access for the first radio access technology that is different than a first initial uplink BWP associated with network access for the second radio access technology[par 0083, the first type of information may be a random access message of the first type of terminal. For example, the first initial downlink BWP may carry a RAR, a Msg.4 and other messages in a random access process. The second type of information may be a system message],
and wherein the second initial uplink BWP is switched independent of which of the first initial downlink BWP or the second initial downlink BWP is monitored for the network access control signaling[par 0058, 0102, when the terminal needs to access the network, the terminal monitors the second initial BWP pair, and determines the second type of information carried on the second initial BWP pair. The determining module 101 is configured to, in response to the terminal being the first type of terminal, determine to switch to the second initial BWP pair, and measure a synchronization signal block (SSB)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and Mu because so that the flexibility of the BWP configuration is guaranteed, the system overhead is reduced.[Mu par 0037]
7. Claim(s) 7, 8, 20, 28, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (U.S, Pub No. 2021/0266753 A1) KIM et al, (U.S. Pub No.2024/0251364 A1) in view of Mu (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0155657 A1) in further view of Wu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2023/0328644 A1)
7. Kumar, Kim, and Mu creates the UE of claim 5, Kumar, Kim, and Mu fail to show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: transmit, based at least in part on the configuration information for the first radio access technology, a request for activation of an on-demand downlink reference signal responsive to determining that the second initial downlink BWP does not include a cell-defining (CD) synchronization signal block (SSB); and monitor for the on-demand downlink reference signal on the second initial downlink BWP responsive to the request being granted, or switch to the first initial downlink BWP to monitor for a CD-SSB responsive to the request not being granted.
In an analogous art Wu show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: transmit, based at least in part on the configuration information for the first radio access technology, a request for activation of an on-demand downlink reference signal responsive to determining that the second initial downlink BWP does not include a cell-defining (CD) synchronization signal block (SSB) [par 0017, 0018, the first request signaling, it is expected to receive the reference signal for downlink synchronization. , the reference signal for downlink synchronization includes at least one of the following - a synchronization signal block (SSB), a discovery reference signal (DRS), the DRS having more physical resource elements used for reference signal mapping than the SSB, and a non-cell defining SSB (NCD-SSB)],
and monitor for the on-demand downlink reference signal on the second initial downlink BWP responsive to the request being granted, or switch to the first initial downlink BWP to monitor for a CD-SSB responsive to the request not being granted[par 0119, 0141One type is cell defining SSBs (CD-SSBs), which carry associated configuration information of CORESET#0 and configuration information of the monitoring occasion of Type0-physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) common search space (CSS). The UE can receive a system information block 1 (SIB1) according to CORESET#0 and Type0-PDCCH CSS, and then obtain the minimum system information required to access the wireless network. The other type is NCD-SSBs, which do not carry configuration information of CORESET#0 and are mainly used for radio resource management (RRM). The UE may obtain RRM measurement by measuring the reference signal in the CD-SSB or CD-SSB, to support UE mobility management. if there is uplink data arriving at the UE but the base station enters the dormant state and cannot monitor the PRACH, referring to FIG. 6, the UE may wake up the dormant base station through the second request signaling to monitor the PRACH on a specific RACH occasion (RO). For example, the UE may transmit the second request signaling before the muted PRACH],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, Mu , and Wu because o provide an apparatus and method for reducing the power consumption of communication base stations [Wu, par 0011]
8. Kumar, Kim, Mu, and Wu disclose the UE of claim 7, Kumar, Mu, and Kim fail to show wherein the request for activation of the on- demand downlink reference signal is an explicit request or an implicit request provided via a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or any combinations thereof.
In an analogous art Wu to show wherein the request for activation of the on- demand downlink reference signal is an explicit request or an implicit request provided via a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or any combinations thereof [par 0034,0036, The transmitting of the request signaling to the base station includes at least one of the following ways - transmitting the request signaling to the base station through a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and transmitting the request signaling to the base station through a physical signal sequence. The transmitting of the request signaling to the base station includes at least one of the following situations, - when there is uplink data arriving at the UE on a preset logical channel, transmitting the request signaling to the base station, when there is uplink data arriving at the UE and the latest available PRACH transmission cannot satisfy a delay requirement of the arrived data, transmitting the request signaling to the base station, and when there is uplink data arriving at the UE and a priority of the arrived data is greater than a priority threshold, transmitting the request signaling to the base station. The examiner interprets the request being transmitted based upon condition as an explicit request because it is clearly stated if an condition takes place a request would be transmitted].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, Mu, and Wu because to provide an apparatus and method for reducing the power consumption of communication base stations [Wu, par 0011]
20. Kumar, Kim, and Mu disclose the network entity of claim 19, Kumar, Kim, and Mu fail to show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to: receive, from the first UE based at least in part on the configuration information, a request for activation of an on-demand downlink reference signal; and transmit, responsive to the request for activation, one of the on-demand downlink reference signal in the second initial downlink BWP, or control signaling that triggers the UE to switch to the first initial downlink BWP to monitor for a cell-defining (CD) synchronization signal block (SSB) in the first initial downlink BWP.
In an analogous art Wu show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to: receive, from the first UE based at least in part on the configuration information, a request for activation of an on-demand downlink reference signal [par 0013, 0015, transmitting at least one downlink signal, receiving at least one uplink signal, and entering an active state. The transmitting of the request signaling to a base station to request the base station to transmit at least one downlink signal includes transmitting a first request signaling to the base station to request the base station to transmit a reference signal for downlink synchronization]
and transmit, responsive to the request for activation, one of the on-demand downlink reference signal in the second initial downlink BWP, or control signaling that triggers the UE to switch to the first initial downlink BWP to monitor for a cell-defining (CD) synchronization signal block (SSB) in the first initial downlink BWP [par 0017, 0018, Optionally, after a first preset gap of transmitting the first request signaling, it is expected to receive the reference signal for downlink synchronization. The reference signal for downlink synchronization includes at least one of the following - a synchronization signal block (SSB), a discovery reference signal (DRS), the DRS having more physical resource elements used for reference signal mapping than the SSB, and a non-cell defining SSB (NCD-SSB)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, Mu, and Wu because to provide an apparatus and method for reducing the power consumption of communication base stations [Wu, par 0011]
28, Kumar, Kim, and Mu describe the method of claim 26, Kumar, Kim, and Mu fail to show further comprising: transmitting, based at least in part on the configuration information for the first radio access technology, a request for activation of an on-demand downlink reference signal responsive to determining that the second initial downlink BWP does not include a cell-defining (CD) synchronization signal block (SSB); and monitoring for the on-demand downlink reference signal on the second initial downlink BWP responsive to the request being granted, or switch to the first initial downlink BWP to monitor for a CD-SSB responsive to the request not being granted.
In an analogous art Wu show further comprising: transmitting, based at least in part on the configuration information for the first radio access technology, a request for activation of an on-demand downlink reference signal responsive to determining that the second initial downlink BWP does not include a cell-defining (CD) synchronization signal block (SSB) [par 0017, 0018, the first request signaling, it is expected to receive the reference signal for downlink synchronization. , the reference signal for downlink synchronization includes at least one of the following - a synchronization signal block (SSB), a discovery reference signal (DRS), the DRS having more physical resource elements used for reference signal mapping than the SSB, and a non-cell defining SSB (NCD-SSB)]; and
monitoring for the on-demand downlink reference signal on the second initial downlink BWP responsive to the request being granted, or switch to the first initial downlink BWP to monitor for a CD-SSB responsive to the request not being granted[par 0119, 0141One type is cell defining SSBs (CD-SSBs), which carry associated configuration information of CORESET#0 and configuration information of the monitoring occasion of Type0-physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) common search space (CSS). The UE can receive a system information block 1 (SIB1) according to CORESET#0 and Type0-PDCCH CSS, and then obtain the minimum system information required to access the wireless network. The other type is NCD-SSBs, which do not carry configuration information of CORESET#0 and are mainly used for radio resource management (RRM). The UE may obtain RRM measurement by measuring the reference signal in the CD-SSB or CD-SSB, to support UE mobility management. if there is uplink data arriving at the UE but the base station enters the dormant state and cannot monitor the PRACH, referring to FIG. 6, the UE may wake up the dormant base station through the second request signaling to monitor the PRACH on a specific RACH occasion (RO). For example, the UE may transmit the second request signaling before the muted PRACH],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, Mu, and Wu because o provide an apparatus and method for reducing the power consumption of communication base stations [Wu, par 0011]
29, Kumar, Kim, Mu, and Wu define the method of claim 28, Kumar, Kim, and Mu fail to show wherein the request for activation of the on-demand downlink reference signal is an explicit request or an implicit request provided via a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or any combinations thereof.
In an analogous art Wu show wherein the request for activation of the on-demand downlink reference signal is an explicit request or an implicit request provided via a physical random access channel (PRACH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or any combinations thereof [par 0034,0036, The transmitting of the request signaling to the base station includes at least one of the following ways - transmitting the request signaling to the base station through a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and transmitting the request signaling to the base station through a physical signal sequence. The transmitting of the request signaling to the base station includes at least one of the following situations, - when there is uplink data arriving at the UE on a preset logical channel, transmitting the request signaling to the base station, when there is uplink data arriving at the UE and the latest available PRACH transmission cannot satisfy a delay requirement of the arrived data, transmitting the request signaling to the base station, and when there is uplink data arriving at the UE and a priority of the arrived data is greater than a priority threshold, transmitting the request signaling to the base station. The examiner interprets the request being transmitted based upon condition as an explicit request because it is clearly stated if an condition takes place a request would be transmitted].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, Mu, and Wu because to provide an apparatus and method for reducing the power consumption of communication base stations [Wu, par 0011]
8. Claim(s) 9-14, 21, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (U.S, Pub No. 2021/0266753 A1) in view of KIM et al, (U.S. Pub No.2024/0251364 A1) in view of YANG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0277991 A1).
9, Kumar and Kim discloses the UE of claim 1, Kumar and Kim fail to show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: receive a set of candidate frequencies associated with one or more cells configured for shared access of both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology, measure one or more reference signals received via one or more candidate frequencies of the set of candidate frequencies; and transmit a measurement report for the one or more reference signals in a random access message or in a small data transmission message.
In an analogous art YANG show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: receive a set of candidate frequencies associated with one or more cells configured for shared access of both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology[par 0009, a user equipment (UE) includes means for determining whether a second radio access technology (RAT) cell corresponding to a frequency on a ranked frequency list of a second radio access technology (RAT) has a location ID that matches a location ID from a previous combined registration of a first RAT and the second RAT when the UE was in a first RAT cell],
measure one or more reference signals received via one or more candidate frequencies of the set of candidate frequencies [par 0073, the UE may scan all of the second RAT frequencies on the frequency list included in the redirection command and create a ranked frequency list. The UE ranks the frequencies, whose measured signal qualities are above a predetermined threshold, from strongest to weakest. The UE may then rank the frequencies or update a ranked frequency list, based on measured signal qualities. The measured signal qualities may include one or more of the following: received signal strength indicator (RSSI), received signal code power (RSCP), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), signal to noise ratio (SNR)];
and transmit a measurement report for the one or more reference signals in a random access message or in a small data transmission message [par 0055, 0058, 0087, The UE may send the serving RAT-1 cell a measurement report indicating results of the IRAT measurements performed by the UE. The serving cell may then trigger a handover of the UE to a new cell in the other RAT, such as the RAT-2 cell, based on the measurement report. The measurement may include a serving cell signal strength, such as a received signal code power (RSCP) for a pilot channel (e.g., primary common control physical channel (PCCPCH). The UE performing measurement and reporting the measurements on the circuit switched RAT. The blind redirection is intended to reduce latency of CSFB service by eliminating the time for measurement and measurement reporting on the circuit switched RAT. , the UE may proceed to collecting long-period SIBs for the selected target cell to gather information for a random access procedure for switching to the target cell for the CSFB call].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and YANG because this reduces potential CSFB call setup latency by avoiding a location area update procedure before circuit switched voice call establishment in a 2G/3G network. [YANG abstract]
10, Kumar, Kim, and YANG convey the UE of claim 9, Kumar and Kim fail to show wherein the set of candidate frequencies is received in one or more of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a system information communication, or a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) communication, and wherein the set of candidate frequencies is received before or after releasing an RRC connection at the UE.
In an analogous art YANG show wherein the set of candidate frequencies is received in one or more of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a system information communication, or a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) communication, and wherein the set of candidate frequencies is received before or after releasing an RRC connection at the UE [par 0068, the UE 902 may receive a connection release message, such as radio resource control (RRC) connection release message, from the LTE base station 904. Included in the release message is a set of frequencies of RAT-2 for the UE 902 to select as a target cell].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and YANG because this reduces potential CSFB call setup latency by avoiding a location area update procedure before circuit switched voice call establishment in a 2G/3G network. [YANG abstract]
11. Kumar teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors[fig 15, par 0197, 0199, The memory 1530 may include RAM, ROM, or a combination thereof. The memory 1530 may store computer-readable code 1535 including instructions that, when executed by a processor (e.g., the processor 1540) cause the device to perform various functions described herein. In some cases, the memory 1530 may contain, among other things, a BIOS which may control basic hardware or software operation such as the interaction with peripheral components or devices];
and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: receive a set of candidate frequencies for one or more measurements associated with a first initial downlink bandwidth part (BWP) that is used for wireless communications of both a first radio access technology and a second radio access technology [par 0021, the switching further may include operations, features, means, or instructions for switching the UE from a first cell (e.g., of a first carrier) supporting the first BWP dedicated for the first RAT in a first frequency band to a second cell (e.g., of a second carrier) supporting the second BWP dynamically shared between the first RAT and the second RAT in a second frequency band that may be different from the first frequency band];
Kumar fail to show wherein the network access information provides initial access information to initiate a connection using the first radio access technology and to initiate a connection using the second radio access technology;
In an analogous art Kim show wherein the network access information provides initial access information to initiate a connection using the first radio access technology and to initiate a connection using the second radio access technology [par 0032, 0033, When entering the cell area of the first satellite 21a, the terminal 31, 32, or 33 may receive a synchronization signal including an SSB from the first satellite 21a, and perform initial access to the first satellite 21a based on the synchronization signal. Embodiments in which the terminal 31, 32, or 33 performs initial access to the first satellite 21a based on a synchronization signal are described below with reference to FIGS. 2 to 4. In some embodiments, when the base station 11 or 12 establishes an initial connection with the terminal 31, 32, or 33 by using the first satellite group 20a, the first satellite group 20a may transmit synchronization signals including SSBs, taking into account two or more different RATs. Embodiments in which the first satellite group 20a transmits synchronization signals by considering two or more different RATs].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Kumar and Kim because this provides a wireless communication system capable of configuring a primary satellite and a secondary satellite in a satellite group when one or more satellites simultaneously use two or more different radio access technologies (RATs). [Kim par 0005]
Kumar and Kim fail to show measure one or more channel parameters associated with one or more candidate frequencies of the set of candidate frequencies; and transmit a measurement report of the one or more channel parameters in a network access request using the first radio access technology or in a small data transmission using the first radio access technology.
In an analogous art YANG show measure one or more channel parameters associated with one or more candidate frequencies of the set of candidate frequencies[par 0055, 0058, 0087, The UE may send the serving RAT-1 cell a measurement report indicating results of the IRAT measurements performed by the UE. The serving cell may then trigger a handover of the UE to a new cell in the other RAT, such as the RAT-2 cell, based on the measurement report. The measurement may include a serving cell signal strength, such as a received signal code power (RSCP) for a pilot channel (e.g., primary common control physical channel (PCCPCH). The UE performing measurement and reporting the measurements on the circuit switched RAT. The blind redirection is intended to reduce latency of CSFB service by eliminating the time for measurement and measurement reporting on the circuit switched RAT. , the UE may proceed to collecting long-period SIBs for the selected target cell to gather information for a random access procedure for switching to the target cell for the CSFB call];
and transmit a measurement report of the one or more channel parameters in a network access request using the first radio access technology or in a small data transmission using the first radio access technology par 0055, 0058, 0087, The UE may send the serving RAT-1 cell a measurement report indicating results of the IRAT measurements performed by the UE. The serving cell may then trigger a handover of the UE to a new cell in the other RAT, such as the RAT-2 cell, based on the measurement report. The measurement may include a serving cell signal strength, such as a received signal code power (RSCP) for a pilot channel (e.g., primary common control physical channel (PCCPCH). The UE performing measurement and reporting the measurements on the circuit switched RAT. The blind redirection is intended to reduce latency of CSFB service by eliminating the time for measurement and measurement reporting on the circuit switched RAT. , the UE may proceed to collecting long-period SIBs for the selected target cell to gather information for a random access procedure for switching to the target cell for the CSFB call].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and YANG because this reduces potential CSFB call setup latency by avoiding a location area update procedure before circuit switched voice call establishment in a 2G/3G network. [YANG abstract]
12. Kumar, Kim, and YANG provide the UE of claim 11, Kumar and Kim fail to show wherein the set of candidate frequencies is received in one or more of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a system information communication, or a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) communication, and wherein the set of candidate frequencies is received before or after releasing an RRC connection at the UE.
In an analogous art YANG show wherein the set of candidate frequencies is received in one or more of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a system information communication, or a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) communication, and wherein the set of candidate frequencies is received before or after releasing an RRC connection at the UE[par 0068, the UE 902 may receive a connection release message, such as radio resource control (RRC) connection release message, from the LTE base station 904. Included in the release message is a set of frequencies of RAT-2 for the UE 902 to select as a target cell].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and YANG because this reduces potential CSFB call setup latency by avoiding a location area update procedure before circuit switched voice call establishment in a 2G/3G network. [YANG abstract]
13, Kumar, Kim, and YANG demonstrate the UE of claim 11, Kumar and Kim fail to show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: receive, after a release of a radio resource control (RRC) connection, an updated set of candidate frequencies for one or more measurements, wherein the updated set of candidate frequencies is received as part of a random access procedure, as part of a small data transmission procedure, via a multicast control channel (MCCH), via a multicast traffic channel (MTCH), or as part of short message communication in an RRC inactive state or RRC idle state.
In an analogous art YANG to show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: receive, after a release of a radio resource control (RRC) connection, an updated set of candidate frequencies for one or more measurements [par 0072, The LTE network the UE is camping on does not support voice calls in this example and thus may redirect the UE to a circuit switched capable cell, such as a GSM cell or a TD-SCDMA cell, for providing the voice call service. In one aspect of the present disclosure, the redirection command is included in a connection release message, such as an LTE radio resource control (RRC) connection release message. Also included in the connection release message is a list of potential second RAT frequencies for selecting a target cell to switch to for the CSFB call],
wherein the updated set of candidate frequencies is received as part of a random access procedure, as part of a small data transmission procedure, via a multicast control channel (MCCH), via a multicast traffic channel (MTCH), or as part of short message communication in an RRC inactive state or RRC idle state [par 0076, 0082, the UE may collect and decode the short-period SIBs and obtain information such as public land mobile network (PLMN) ID, neighbor cell IDs and registration area IDs. The short-period SIBs are collected for frequencies on the ranked frequency list. ] At block 1106, for each cell on the ranked frequency list, the UE may collect and decode short-period system information blocks (SIBs) after decoding synchronization channels for each frequency].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and YANG because this reduces potential CSFB call setup latency by avoiding a location area update procedure before circuit switched voice call establishment in a 2G/3G network. [YANG abstract]
14, Kumar, Kim, and YANG reveal the UE of claim 11, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: receive configuration information that indicates the first initial downlink BWP is to be monitored for network access control signaling[Kumar, par 0006, 0017, 0100, transmitting, to the UE, an indication of the activated BWP for communication. The method may include communicating with a UE in a first BWP of a set of BWPs dedicated for a first RAT, identifying that the UE performs a number of handover procedures greater than a threshold number of handover procedures while communicating in the first BWP, switching, based on the identifying Base station 105-a may transmit an indication of the activated BWP to UE 115-a over communication link 205-a (e.g., in a downlink channel) in a BWP activation indication 210 (e.g., in dedicated radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a downlink control information (DCI) message, etc.)],
wherein the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology share a set of wireless resources that are configured within the first initial downlink BWP[par 0018, 0099, the UE from the first BWP to a second BWP of the set of BWPs different from the first BWP and dynamically shared between the first RAT and a second RAT, and transmit, to the UE, an indication of the second BWP for communication based on the switching. In some cases, LTE carriers may have a lower maximum carrier bandwidth than NR carriers, and thus one NR carrier may span one or more LTE carriers, and one or more NR BWPs may correspond in frequency to one or more LTE carriers. In some aspects, each BWP or subset of BWPs may be configured for one or more RATs. A first subset of BWPs may be dedicated for use with a first RAT (e.g., NR) and a second subset of BWPs may be dynamically shared between the first RAT and a second RAT (e.g., LTE) by employing DSS];
operate on the first initial downlink BWP [par 0005, In some cases, a network implementing DSS for NR and LTE may assign a UE to a specific bandwidth part (BWP) based on a rate matching capability of the UE. In one aspect, the network may configure a first subset of BWPs in the frequency spectrum as dedicated for NR and second subset of BWPs in the frequency spectrum for DSS between NR and LTE, where the network may determine a BWP to activate for a UE based on the UE's rate matching capability],
and monitor the network access control signaling that includes network access information for both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology[par 0097, 0121, As such, the UE 115 may determine resources to avoid (e.g., resources including LTE broadcast signals, such as LTE CRSs) and resources to monitor for NR signaling. DSS may allow for the UE 115 to remain using NR operations for a greater proportion of time (e.g., as opposed to maintaining LTE frequency bands as dedicated for LTE) and to reduce the frequency of the UE 115 performing inter-RAT handover procedures to LTE. UE 115-c (e.g., in standalone mode) may receive control messages for both RATs through a common control channel (e.g., in a control channel for the first RAT on the first carrier), avoiding separate control channels for each RAT. Each control message may indicate a set of resources (e.g., for data communications) for the respective RAT in the same carrier bandwidth. As such, UE 115-c may use a single radio frequency transceiver and/or chain to concurrently monitor for NR messages and LTE messages (e.g., in a common control channel for both NR and LTE scheduling)];
and transmit a network access request to using the first radio access technology based at least in part on the network access information from the network access control signaling[par 0127, UE 115-d may perform a second registration procedure with base station 105-d on a second cell (e.g., associated with the first cell) supporting the second RAT in the frequency spectrum based on base station 105-d supporting DSS between the first and second RATs. The second registration procedure may include, for example, authentication and security (e.g., key provisioning) and establishment of a default bearer for the second RAT. In the second registration procedure, the UE 115-d may send an attach request to the base station 105-d with an identifier of the UE 115-d (e.g., subscriber identity). The base station 105-d may confirm (e.g., via a core network) the subscriber identity and may establish an active bearer context for the UE 115-d on the second RAT].
21, Kumar and Kim discloses the network entity of claim 16, Kumar and Kim fail to show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to: transmit, to the first UE, a set of candidate frequencies associated with one or more cells configured for shared access of both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology; transmit one or more reference signals using one or more candidate frequencies of the set of candidate frequencies; and receive a measurement report for the one or more reference signals from the first UE in a random access message or in a small data transmission message.
In an analogous art YANG show wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to: transmit, to the first UE, a set of candidate frequencies associated with one or more cells configured for shared access of both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology [par 0009,0068, a user equipment (UE) includes means for determining whether a second radio access technology (RAT) cell corresponding to a frequency on a ranked frequency list of a second radio access technology (RAT) has a location ID that matches a location ID from a previous combined registration of a first RAT and the second RAT when the UE was in a first RAT cell, the UE 902 may receive a connection release message, such as radio resource control (RRC) connection release message, from the LTE base station 904. Included in the release message is a set of frequencies of RAT-2 for the UE 902 to select as a target cell].
transmit one or more reference signals using one or more candidate frequencies of the set of candidate frequencies[par 0073, the UE may scan all of the second RAT frequencies on the frequency list included in the redirection command and create a ranked frequency list. The UE ranks the frequencies, whose measured signal qualities are above a predetermined threshold, from strongest to weakest. The UE may then rank the frequencies or update a ranked frequency list, based on measured signal qualities. The measured signal qualities may include one or more of the following: received signal strength indicator (RSSI), received signal code power (RSCP), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), signal to noise ratio (SNR)];;
and receive a measurement report for the one or more reference signals from the first UE in a random access message or in a small data transmission message [par 0055, 0058, 0087, The UE may send the serving RAT-1 cell a measurement report indicating results of the IRAT measurements performed by the UE. The serving cell may then trigger a handover of the UE to a new cell in the other RAT, such as the RAT-2 cell, based on the measurement report. The measurement may include a serving cell signal strength, such as a received signal code power (RSCP) for a pilot channel (e.g., primary common control physical channel (PCCPCH). The UE performing measurement and reporting the measurements on the circuit switched RAT. The blind redirection is intended to reduce latency of CSFB service by eliminating the time for measurement and measurement reporting on the circuit switched RAT. , the UE may proceed to collecting long-period SIBs for the selected target cell to gather information for a random access procedure for switching to the target cell for the CSFB call].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and YANG because this reduces potential CSFB call setup latency by avoiding a location area update procedure before circuit switched voice call establishment in a 2G/3G network. [YANG abstract]
30, Kumar and Kim defines the method of claim 22, Kumar and Kim fail to show further comprising: receiving a set of candidate frequencies associated with one or more cells configured for shared access of both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology, measuring one or more reference signals received via one or more candidate frequencies of the set of candidate frequencies; and transmitting a measurement report for the one or more reference signals in a random access message or in a small data transmission message.
In an analogous art YANG show further comprising: receiving a set of candidate frequencies associated with one or more cells configured for shared access of both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology[par 0009, a user equipment (UE) includes means for determining whether a second radio access technology (RAT) cell corresponding to a frequency on a ranked frequency list of a second radio access technology (RAT) has a location ID that matches a location ID from a previous combined registration of a first RAT and the second RAT when the UE was in a first RAT cell],
measuring one or more reference signals received via one or more candidate frequencies of the set of candidate frequencies[par 0073, the UE may scan all of the second RAT frequencies on the frequency list included in the redirection command and create a ranked frequency list. The UE ranks the frequencies, whose measured signal qualities are above a predetermined threshold, from strongest to weakest. The UE may then rank the frequencies or update a ranked frequency list, based on measured signal qualities. The measured signal qualities may include one or more of the following: received signal strength indicator (RSSI), received signal code power (RSCP), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), signal to noise ratio (SNR)];
and transmitting a measurement report for the one or more reference signals in a random access message or in a small data transmission message[par 0055, 0058, 0087, The UE may send the serving RAT-1 cell a measurement report indicating results of the IRAT measurements performed by the UE. The serving cell may then trigger a handover of the UE to a new cell in the other RAT, such as the RAT-2 cell, based on the measurement report. The measurement may include a serving cell signal strength, such as a received signal code power (RSCP) for a pilot channel (e.g., primary common control physical channel (PCCPCH). The UE performing measurement and reporting the measurements on the circuit switched RAT. The blind redirection is intended to reduce latency of CSFB service by eliminating the time for measurement and measurement reporting on the circuit switched RAT. , the UE may proceed to collecting long-period SIBs for the selected target cell to gather information for a random access procedure for switching to the target cell for the CSFB call].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, and YANG because this reduces potential CSFB call setup latency by avoiding a location area update procedure before circuit switched voice call establishment in a 2G/3G network. [YANG abstract]
9. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (U.S, Pub No. 2021/0266753 A1) KIM et al, (U.S. Pub No.2024/0251364 A1) in view of YANG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0277991 A1) in further view of Yi et al (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0274535 A1)
15. Kumar, Kim, and YANG disclose the UE of claim 14, Kumar, Kim, and YANG fail to show wherein the instructions to monitor are executable by one or more processors to cause the UE to: monitor for a cell-defining (CD) synchronization signal block (SSB) and system information that are transmitted within the first initial downlink BWP, where the CD SSB and system information provide network access information for both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology.
In an analogous art Yi show wherein the instructions to monitor are executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: monitor for a cell-defining (CD) synchronization signal block (SSB) [par 0181, The wireless device may determine the locations of the SSS and the PBCH, respectively, for example, based on a known structure of the SS/PBCH block if the PSS is found at a location in the time and frequency domains. The SS/PBCH block may be a cell-defining SS block (CD-SSB). A primary cell may be associated with a CD-SSB. The CD-SSB may be located on a synchronization raster. A cell selection/search and/or reselection may be based on the CD-SSB], ) and system information transmitted within the first initial downlink BWP [par 0368, The wireless device 2108 may receive (e.g., step 2152), from the base station 2104, the one or more configuration messages 2112. The one or more configuration messages 2112 may comprise one or more SIBs and an MIB for a cell. The wireless device 2108 may determine an initial DL BWP and an initial UL BWP (e.g., initial DL/UP BWP 2110), for example, based on the MIB and the SIBs. The initial DL BWP of the cell may be defined based on a bandwidth and a numerology of CORESET#0 (e.g., a CORESET with CORESET index =0) of the cell. The wireless device 2108 may determines the initial UL BWP, for example, based on information broadcasted via the one or more SIBs. The initial DL BWP and the initial UL BWP of the cell may be based on a cell-specific configuration],
where the CD SSB and system information provide network access information for both the first radio access technology and the second radio access technology [par 0182, 0183, The SS/PBCH block may be used by the wireless device to determine one or more parameters of the cell. The wireless device may determine a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the cell, for example, based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS. The PBCH may comprise an indication of a current system frame number (SFN) of the cell and/or a SS/PBCH block timing index. These parameters may facilitate time synchronization of the wireless device to the base station. The PBCH may comprise a MIB used to send/transmit to the wireless device one or more parameters. The MIB may be used by the wireless device to locate remaining minimum system information (RMSI) associated with the cell. The RMSI may comprise a System Information Block Type 1 (SIB1). The SIB1 may comprise information for the wireless device to access the cell. The wireless device may use one or more parameters of the MIB to monitor a PDCCH, which may be used to schedule a PDSCH].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kumar, Kim, Yang, and Yi because tis provide better efficiency of scheduling may be achieved based on self-carrier scheduling or cross-carrier scheduling, for example, if BWPs are individually configured with self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling based on channel qualities. [Yi, par 0347]
Response to Arguments
Without conceding the merits of the rejection of independent claims 1, 16, and 22 under 35 U.S.C. § 102-and solely to expedite prosecution-Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 16, and 22. For example, independent claim 1 has been amended to recite, in part, that "the network access information provides initial access information to initiate a connection using the first radio access technology and to initiate a connection using the second radio access technology" (emphasis added). Independent claims 16 and 22 have been amended to recite similar or complementary features. Kumar does not teach or suggest each feature of amended independent claim 1.
However, the control channel communications described in Kumar are transmitted subsequent to a connection establishment, and are not the same as separate initial access procedures for each RAT, and thus the cited portions of Kumar are different than the claimed "network access information [that] provides initial access information to initiate a connection using the first radio access technology and to initiate a connection using the second radio access technology" as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added).
Further, Kumar describes that the DSS approach uses "rate matching capabilities" and BWP switching based on UE capabilities (Kumar I [0100]), and thus RAT-specific resources are provided based on UE capabilities, which is different from providing common initial access information that enables connection initiation for both RATs, as recited in amended claim 1. Kumar thus has not been shown to teach that the same network access information provides initial access information to initiate connections for both the first and second radio access technologies.
Therefore, for at least these reasons, Kumar does not teach or suggest "network access information [that] provides initial access information to initiate a connection using the first radio access technology and to initiate a connection using the second radio access technology," as recited in amended independent claim 1 (emphasis added). Accordingly, amended independent claim 1 is allowable over Kumar. Amended independent claims 16 and 22 recite similar features and are likewise allowable over Kumar for at least similar reasons. Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection of independent claims 1, 16, and 22 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 be withdrawn.
The applicant arguments are moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Without conceding the merits of the rejection of independent claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. § 103-and solely to expedite prosecution-Applicant has amended independent claim 11. For example, independent claim 11 has been amended to recite, in part, that the first initial downlink BWP "provides initial access information to initiate a connection using the first radio access technology and to initiate a connection using the second radio access technology." Kumar, Yi, Al Imari, Mu, Wu, and YANG-alone or in any combination-do not teach or suggest all of the features of amended independent claim 11.
As discussed above, Kumar is directed to a DSS system for NR and LTE, and does not describe the claimed "initial access information to initiate a connection using the first radio access technology and to initiate a connection using the second radio access technology," as recited in claim 11. Yang does not cure the deficiencies of Kumar.
The applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468