Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear how the composition can “further comprise” chocolate chips when claim 1 recites “consisting essentially of”. Therefore, claim 5 broadens claims 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8,21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hey Fitzy(A Halloween Tradition – Popcorn Balls) in view of Duffy(US 2015/0272176).
Regarding claim 1, Hey Fitzy aka “Fitzy” teaches a popcorn ball snack product consisting essentially of a popcorn and a binder syrup. Fitzy does not specifically teach that the binder syrup comprises the claimed binder ingredient.
However, Duffy teaches a popcorn-based snack comprising a binder and a grain such as puffed corn(popcorn)(abstract, para 6). Duffy teaches that the binder comprises
about 30 to about 65% tapioca syrup(para 58-59)
About 0.1 to about 12% fiber(para 65)
a sweetener in the form of glycerin(para 59)
about 0 to about 20% sugar(para 59)
0.05% to about 3% salt(para 62)
About 1 to 6% cellulose(para 60)
About 1 to 6% gum Arabic(para 60)
About 0.1 to about 10% sunflower oil(para 61)
About 0.5 to about 2% soy lecithin(para 66)
Duffy does not teach about 20-30% tapioca fiber. However, Duffy teaches the use of fiber additives(para 29-32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to use 20-30% tapioca fiber since it is a known fiber. It would have been obvious to adjust the amount of tapioca fiber depending on the fiber content and health benefits desired in the product.
Duffy does not specifically teach that the glycerin is present in amount of 1-6%. However, since Duffy teaches that glycerin is a sweetener, it would have been obvious to adjust the amount of glycerin depending on the sweetness desired.
Duffy teaches that the binder syrup provides a desirable taste and flavor to the composition(para 12). It would have been obvious to use the binder of Duffy as the binder for the popcorn balls in Fitzy since the binder provides a desirable taste and flavor to the composition and because it can be used to bind grains such as popcorn.
Only popcorn and the binder components in Duffy are required so the references meet the “consisting essentially of” limitation.
Regarding claim 2, Fitzy in view of Duffy is silent on the water activity of the snack product. However, since a low water activity is important for shelf life, it would have been obvious to minimize the water activity of the snack product to less than or equal to about 0.3 as claimed.
Regarding claims 3-4, Duffy teaches that the composition comprises about 60% to about 85% grain(popcorn)(para 6) and about 35% to about 45% binder syrup(para 56). Therefore, the ratio of binder to popcorn is about 1:1 and not 1.25:1. Duffy also does not teach 54% binder. However, the purpose of the binder is to bind together the grain components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to adjust the binder amount in order to achieve a cohesive product.
Regarding claims 5-6, Duffy teaches that the popcorn-based snack comprises about 1% to about 10% chocolate chips(para 18). Duffy teaches that the composition comprises about 60% to about 85% grain(popcorn)(para 6) and about 35% to about 45% binder syrup(para 56). “About 45%” would comprise 49% as claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Fitzy teaches a popcorn ball snack product comprising a popcorn and a binder syrup. Fitzy does not specifically teach that the binder syrup comprises the claimed binder ingredient.
Duffy teaches a popcorn-based snack comprising a binder and a grain such as puffed corn(popcorn)(abstract, para 6). Duffy teaches that the binder comprises
about 30 to about 65% tapioca syrup(para 58-59)
About 0.1 to about 12% fiber(para 65)
a sweetener in the form of glycerin(para 59)
about 0 to about 20% sugar(para 59)
0.05% to about 3% salt(para 62)
About 1 to 6% cellulose(para 60)
About 1 to 6% gum Arabic(para 60)
About 0.1 to about 10% sunflower oil(para 61)
About 0.5 to about 2% soy lecithin(para 66)
Duffy does not teach about 23.5-24.5% tapioca fiber. However, Duffy teaches the use of grain fiber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use 20-30% tapioca fiber since it is a known grain. It would have been obvious to adjust the amount of tapioca fiber depending on the fiber content and health benefits desired in the product.
Duffy does not specifically teach that the glycerin is present in amount of about 3.0-4.0wt%. However, since Duffy teaches that glycerin is a sweetener, it would have been obvious to adjust the amount of glycerin depending on the sweetness desired.
Duffy teaches that the binder syrup provides a desirable taste and flavor to the composition(para 12). It would have been obvious to use the binder of Duffy as the binder for the popcorn balls in Fitzy since the binder provides a desirable taste and flavor to the composition and because it can be used to bind grains such as popcorn.
Only popcorn and the binder components in Duffy are required so the references meet the “consisting essentially of” limitation.
Regarding claim 8, Duffy teaches a popcorn-based snack comprising a binder and a grain such as puffed corn(popcorn)(abstract, para 6). Duffy teaches that the binder comprises
about 30 to about 65% tapioca syrup(para 58-59)
About 0.1 to about 12% fiber(para 65)
a sweetener in the form of glycerin(para 59)
about 0 to about 20% sugar(para 59)
0.05% to about 3% salt(para 62)
About 1 to 6% cellulose(para 60)
About 1 to 6% gum Arabic(para 60)
About 0.1 to about 10% sunflower oil(para 61)
About 0.5 to about 2% soy lecithin(para 66)
Duffy does not teach about 24.0% tapioca fiber. However, Duffy teaches the use of grain fiber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use 20-30% tapioca fiber since it is a known grain. It would have been obvious to adjust the amount of tapioca fiber depending on the fiber content and health benefits desired in the product.
Duffy does not specifically teach that the glycerin is present in amount of about 3.7wt%. However, since Duffy teaches that glycerin is a sweetener, it would have been obvious to adjust the amount of glycerin depending on the sweetness desired.
Duffy teaches that the binder syrup provides a desirable taste and flavor to the composition(para 12). It would have been obvious to use the binder of Duffy as the binder for the popcorn balls in Fitzy since the binder provides a desirable taste and flavor to the composition and because it can be used to bind grains such as popcorn.
Only popcorn and the binder components in Duffy are required so the references meet the “consisting essentially of” limitation.
Regarding claim 21, Fitzy teaches a popcorn ball snack product consisting of a popcorn and a binder syrup. Fitzy does not specifically teach that the binder syrup comprises the claimed binder ingredient.
However, Duffy teaches a popcorn-based snack comprising a binder and a grain such as puffed corn(popcorn)(abstract, para 6). Duffy teaches that the binder comprises
about 30 to about 65% tapioca syrup(para 58-59)
About 0.1 to about 12% fiber(para 65)
a sweetener in the form of glycerin(para 59)
about 0 to about 20% sugar(para 59)
0.05% to about 3% salt(para 62)
About 1 to 6% cellulose(para 60)
About 1 to 6% gum Arabic(para 60)
About 0.1 to about 10% sunflower oil(para 61)
About 0.5 to about 2% soy lecithin(para 66)
Duffy teaches that the composition comprises about 35% to about 45% binder syrup(para 56).
Duffy does not teach about 20-30% tapioca fiber. However, Duffy teaches the use of grain fiber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use 20-30% tapioca fiber since it is a known grain. It would have been obvious to adjust the amount of tapioca fiber depending on the fiber content and health benefits desired in the product.
Duffy does not specifically teach that the glycerin is present in amount of 1-6%. However, since Duffy teaches that glycerin is a sweetener, it would have been obvious to adjust the amount of glycerin depending on the sweetness desired.
Duffy teaches that the binder syrup provides a desirable taste and flavor to the composition(para 12). It would have been obvious to use the binder of Duffy as the binder for the popcorn balls in Fitzy since the binder provides a desirable taste and flavor to the composition and because it can be used to bind grains such as popcorn.
Duffy teaches that the popcorn-based snack comprises about 1% to about 10% chocolate chips(para 18). It would have been obvious to include chocolate chips in with the popcorn snack of Fitzy since it is a desirable additive with popcorn and grain products.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Duffy requires oats which are now excluded in the claims. However, the new primary reference Fitzy contains only popcorn and a binder as claimed.
The applicant argues that Duffy teaches grain fibers and it would not have been obvious to include tapioca fiber since tapioca is not a grain.
However, instead Duffy teaches “fiber additives” and does not limit the source of fiber. Duffy teaches in para 32
Examples of fiber additives include oat bran, oat fiber, oat flour, flaxseed, soluble corn fiber, gum arabic, wheat germ, wheat bran, carboxymethylcellulose, and the like. In an embodiment, the conditioning syrup comprises from about 0.1% to about 5% by weight of fiber additive. In another embodiment, the conditioning syrup comprises from about 1% to about 4% by weight of fiber additive.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to use 20-30% tapioca fiber since it is a known fiber. It would have been obvious to adjust the amount of tapioca fiber depending on the fiber content and health benefits desired in the product. As such, the role and health benefits of fiber are well known in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE D LEBLANC/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791