DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to RCE dated 1/6/26. Claims 1, 4-12, 15-16, and19-23 have been examined. Claims 2-3, 13-14, and 17-18 have been cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
As per Applicant’s amendment, the objection to claims 1 and 16 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-12, 15-16, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Cirik (US 2019/0306765) in view of Zhang (WO 2020/057665).
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended),
A method of wireless communication, the method performed by a wireless communication device and comprising:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information for a scheduling request resource set for beam failure recovery [Cirik: 0247; at step 2301 (FIG. 23), and as shown at time T0 (FIG. 22), a wireless device 2201 may receive (e.g., from a base station) one or more messages comprising configuration parameters; the configuration parameters may comprise one or more BFR configuration parameters; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise a first set of RS resource configurations for a second cell 2202 (e.g., an SCell); the first set of RS resource configurations may comprise one or more first RSs (e.g., CSI-RS and/or SS blocks) of the second cell 2202; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise a second set of RS resource configurations comprising one or more second RSs (e.g., CSI-RS and/or SS blocks) of the second cell 2202; see also, Fig. 22],
wherein the scheduling request resource set includes two scheduling request resources for beam failure recovery [Cirik: two scheduling request resources == one or more BFRQ resources associated with first RSs and second RSs; 0247; the configuration parameters may comprise one or more BFR configuration parameters; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise a first set of RS resource configurations for a second cell 2202 (e.g., an SCell); the first set of RS resource configurations may comprise one or more first RSs (e.g., CSI-RS and/or SS blocks) of the second cell 2202; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise a second set of RS resource configurations comprising one or more second RSs (e.g., CSI-RS and/or SS blocks) of the second cell 2202; the wireless device 2201 may measure radio link quality of one or more beams associated with the one or more first RSs and/or the one or more second RSs; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise one or more beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) resources associated with the second cell 2202; the BFRQ resources may, for example, be on the first cell 2200 (e.g., if the second cell 2202 is configured without uplink resources for the wireless device 2201); the BFRQ resources may be on the second cell 2202; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise an association between each of the one or more second RSs and each of the one or more BFRQ resources; 0251; for the candidate beam identification procedure, the wireless device 2201 may identify a first RS (e.g., the Second RS 2) in the one or more second RSs; the first RS may be associated with a BFRQ resource of the one or more BFRQ resources; 0273];
detecting one or more beam failures each of which is detected based on a beam failure detecting reference signal resource set [Cirik: 0247; the wireless device 2201 may measure radio link quality of one or more beams associated with the one or more first RSs and/or the one or more second RSs; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise one or more beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) resources associated with the second cell 2202; the BFRQ resources may, for example, be on the first cell 2200 (e.g., if the second cell 2202 is configured without uplink resources for the wireless device 2201); the BFRQ resources may be on the second cell 2202; the wireless device 2201 may measure radio link quality of one or more beams associated with the one or more first RSs and/or the one or more second RSs; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise an association between each of the one or more second RSs and each of the one or more BFRQ resources; 0213; the first set and/or the second set may be used for radio link quality measurements on the serving cell; 0251; for the candidate beam identification procedure, the wireless device 2201 may identify a first RS (e.g., the Second RS 2) in the one or more second RSs; the first RS may be associated with a BFRQ resource of the one or more BFRQ resources; 0273],
wherein each of the one or more beam failures indicates that a corresponding number of beam failure instances has reached a predefined number [Cirik: 0274; the beam failure instance indications may comprise, for example, an indication of a beam failure instance from a physical layer of the wireless device to a medium-access layer of the wireless device. The beam failure instance may comprise assessing the one or more first RSs with radio quality lower than a first threshold; 0289; initiating a BFR procedure for the secondary cell in response to reaching a number of beam failure instance indications for the secondary cell; 0207; the beam failure may be detected, for example, by counting at least one beam failure instance indication from a lower layer of the wireless device (e.g., a PHY layer) to the MAC entity],
wherein each of the beam failure instance indications indicates radio link quality of all reference signals in the beam failure detecting reference signal resource set is worse than a threshold [Cirik: 0194; a wireless device may trigger a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) procedure, for example, if at least a beam failure occurs; a beam failure may occur if a quality of beam pair link(s) of at least one PDCCH falls below a threshold], and
wherein the one or more beam failures are based on respective one or more beam failure detecting reference signal resource sets [Cirik: 0214; for the first set, the wireless device may assess the first radio link quality according to periodic CSI-RS resource configurations and/or SS/PBCH blocks; 0215; a wireless device may, for example, apply the second threshold to a first layer-1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) for SS/PBCH blocks; 0247; the wireless device 2201 may measure radio link quality of one or more beams associated with the one or more first RSs and/or the one or more second RSs]; and
determining, based on the detecting the one or more beam failures, whether to transmit one or more scheduling request resources to the base station or initiate a process to transmit a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) [Cirik: 0251; based on determining a beam failure on the second cell, and as shown at time T2 in FIG. 22, the wireless device 2201 may initiate a BFR procedure (e.g., a random access procedure) of the second cell 2202; based on initiating the BFR procedure, the wireless device 2201 may at step 2308 (FIG. 23), and as also shown at time T2 (FIG. 22), start a BFR timer (if configured) and/or initiate a candidate beam identification procedure; for the candidate beam identification procedure, the wireless device 2201 may identify a first RS (e.g., the Second RS 2) in the one or more second RSs; the first RS may be associated with a BFRQ resource of the one or more BFRQ resources; the BFRQ resource may comprise at least one preamble and at least one PRACH resource (e.g., time and/or frequency); 0275; the random access procedure may comprise, for example, selecting a selected RS in the one or more second RSs from the configuration parameters; the selected RS may be associated with a BFRQ resource; the BFRQ resource may be, for example, one of the one or more BRFQ resources from the configuration parameters; the BFRQ resource may comprise at least one preamble and at least one random access channel resource of a BWP; the random access procedure may further comprise sending (e.g., transmitting), by the wireless device, the at least one preamble via the at least one random access channel resource],
wherein the process to transmit the PRACH is initiated when two beam failures are detected for a special serving cell (SPCell) [Cirik: special serving cell == second cell (SCell); 0271; If there is a beam failure and/or a failure of a BFR procedure for a second cell indicated by a cell index in one of the cell index fields, a wireless device may populate the additional data field, associated with that cell index field, with a value (e.g., a different one of the reserved values from FIG. 25 (e.g., 1111111)) indicative of the unsuccessful BFR (and/or of the beam failure); a base station receiving the beam report 2604 may determine, for each of the one or more second cells associated with cell indexes in the cell index fields, whether a BFR procedure of that second cell was unsuccessful and/or whether a beam failure occurred in that second cell; that determination by the base station may be based on whether each of the additional data fields associated with the cell index fields is either (i) empty and/or populated a value indicative of no beam failure (or of successful BFR), or (ii) populated with a value indicative of an unsuccessful BFR (and/or of a beam failure); 0273; The one or more configuration parameters may indicate at least one of one or more first RSs of the second cell; one or more second RSs of the second cell; and/or one or more beam BFRQ resources; the BFRQ resources may, for example, be on the first cell; the BFRQ resources may, for example, be on the second cell; the one or more configuration parameters may indicate an association between each of the one or more second RSs and each of the one or more BFRQ resources; 0274; a wireless device may initiate a random access procedure for a beam failure recovery for the second cell based on, for example, reaching a number of beam failure instance indications for the second cell; the beam failure instance may comprise assessing the one or more first RSs with radio quality lower than a first threshold; 0275; the random access procedure may comprise, for example, selecting a selected RS in the one or more second RSs from the configuration parameters; the selected RS may be associated with a BFRQ resource; the BFRQ resource may be, for example, one of the one or more BRFQ resources from the configuration parameters; the BFRQ resource may comprise at least one preamble and at least one random access channel resource of a BWP; the random access procedure may further comprise sending (e.g., transmitting), by the wireless device, the at least one preamble via the at least one random access channel resource; 0203; the wireless device may select a BFR-PRACH resource for transmitting a BFRQ signal, for example, if the wireless device is configured with the BFR-PRACH resource, a BFR-PUCCH resource, and/or a CF-PRACH resource],
wherein when one or less beam failure is detected for the SPCell, the one or more scheduling request resources are selected from the scheduling request resource set for beam failure recovery based on a relationship between with the one or more beam failures and the two scheduling request resources in the scheduling request resource set [Cirik: 0205; the wireless device may transmit the one or more BFR signals with a transmission beam corresponding to a receiving beam associated with the selected beam; the one or more BFR signals may comprise, for example, one or more of: a preamble transmitted on a PRACH resource, a SR signal transmitted on a PUCCH resource, a beam failure recovery (BFR) signal transmitted on a PUCCH resource, or a beam report transmitted on a PUCCH/PUSCH resource; 0265; the PUCCH beam reporting may comprise one or more beam indexes and one or more measurement fields; the one or more measurement fields may contain values of a measured characteristic (e.g., L1-RSRP) of one or more signals (e.g., RSs) indicated by indices (e.g., beam indices) associated with the measurement fields; one or more beam indexes may be associated (e.g., QCLed) with one or more RSs of a cell associated with a beam report; 0247; the wireless device 2201 may measure radio link quality of one or more beams associated with the one or more first RSs and/or the one or more second RSs; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise one or more beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) resources associated with the second cell 2202; the BFRQ resources may, for example, be on the first cell 2200 (e.g., if the second cell 2202 is configured without uplink resources for the wireless device 2201); the BFRQ resources may be on the second cell 2202; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise an association between each of the one or more second RSs and each of the one or more BFRQ resources; the one or more messages received at step 2301, and/or other messages received from the base station, may comprise configuration parameters defining and/or otherwise indicating reporting (e.g., beam reporting as described below) to be performed by the wireless device; 0213; the first set and/or the second set may be used for radio link quality measurements on the serving cell; the wireless device may determine, for example, if the wireless device is not provided with a higher layer parameter Beam-Failure-Detection-RS-ResourceConfig, a first set to include SS/PBCH block indexes and periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes; the SS/PBCH block indexes and the periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes may comprise values that are the same as one or more RS indexes in one or more RS sets].
Note:
Applicant asserts that a schedule request resource is a PUCCH resource to request PUSCH from the base station. See Remarks, p. 9.
However, Cirik does not teach that the SPCell is configured with two beam failure detecting reference signal resource sets and the two beam failures are respectively detected based on the two beam failure detecting reference signal resource sets.
Zhang teaches:
wherein the SPCell is configured with two beam failure detecting reference signal resource sets and the two beam failures are respectively detected based on the two beam failure detecting reference signal resource sets [Zhang: p. 37-38; for example, Pcell / SPcell corresponds to {beam failure detection reference signal set 0, candidate reference signal. Set 0}, Scell corresponds to {beam failure detection reference signal set 1, candidate reference signal set 1}; when a beam failure event is detected through a reference signal in a beam failure detection reference signal set, a reference signal is selected in a candidate reference signal set corresponding to the beam failure detection reference signal set; at least one of PRACH-BFR and SS-BFR is only in Pcell / SPcell; for example, each reference signal in two sets of candidate reference signal sets {candidate reference signal set 0, candidate reference signal set 1} is in Pcell / SPcell; p. 22; the beam failure recovery process includes: Operation one: detect whether a beam failure occurs … Operation 2: select a new beam …Operation 3: report the selected beam …; p. 23; the reporting reference signal indication information described in this article includes the terminal sending a Preamble on a reporting resource (such as a PRACH resource, and the PRACH resource may also be referred to as a PRACH-BFR resource), or the terminal reporting the reference selected in the candidate reference signal set in the PUCCH Signal indication information].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cirik and Zhang in order to quickly restore link communication [Zhang: p. 2].
Regarding Claim 4 (Currently Amended),
wherein the one or more scheduling request resources are selected from the scheduling request resource set further based on at least one of: i) a number of beam failure which is detected for a serving cell; or ii) a number of beam failure which is detected for a serving cell of a scheduling request resource in the scheduling request resource set [Cirik: 0247; the wireless device 2201 may measure radio link quality of one or more beams associated with the one or more first RSs and/or the one or more second RSs; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise one or more beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) resources associated with the second cell 2202; the BFRQ resources may, for example, be on the first cell 2200 (e.g., if the second cell 2202 is configured without uplink resources for the wireless device 2201); the BFRQ resources may be on the second cell 2202; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise an association between each of the one or more second RSs and each of the one or more BFRQ resources; 0213; the first set and/or the second set may be used for radio link quality measurements on the serving cell].
Regarding Claim 5 (Currently Amended),
further comprising: selecting, from the scheduling request resource set, the each of the one or more scheduling request resources associated with the third information which is same as the second information for at least one of the one or more beam failures, wherein at least one beam failure is associated with the second information [Cirik: 0247; the wireless device 2201 may measure radio link quality of one or more beams associated with the one or more first RSs and/or the one or more second RSs; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise one or more beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) resources associated with the second cell 2202; the BFRQ resources may, for example, be on the first cell 2200 (e.g., if the second cell 2202 is configured without uplink resources for the wireless device 2201); the BFRQ resources may be on the second cell 2202; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise an association between each of the one or more second RSs and each of the one or more BFRQ resources; the one or more messages received at step 2301, and/or other messages received from the base station, may comprise configuration parameters defining and/or otherwise indicating reporting (e.g., beam reporting as described below) to be performed by the wireless device; 0213; the first set and/or the second set may be used for radio link quality measurements on the serving cell; the wireless device may determine, for example, if the wireless device is not provided with a higher layer parameter Beam-Failure-Detection-RS-ResourceConfig, a first set to include SS/PBCH block indexes and periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes; the SS/PBCH block indexes and the periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes may comprise values that are the same as one or more RS indexes in one or more RS sets].
Regarding Claim 6 (Currently Amended),
wherein each of the second information and the third information includes a parameter index [Cirik: 0213; the first set and/or the second set may be used for radio link quality measurements on the serving cell; the wireless device may determine, for example, if the wireless device is not provided with a higher layer parameter Beam-Failure-Detection-RS-ResourceConfig, a first set to include SS/PBCH block indexes and periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes; the SS/PBCH block indexes and the periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes may comprise values that are the same as one or more RS indexes in one or more RS sets; 00136; a wireless device may receive, from a base station, a random access preamble index via PDCCH or RRC for a contention free random access procedure. The wireless device may select a random access preamble index, for example, if a base station does not configure a wireless device with at least one contention free PRACH resource associated with SS blocks or CSI-RS; 0095; in a resource grid, a resource element 805 may comprise a resource unit that may be identified by a subcarrier index and a symbol index].
Regarding Claim 7,
wherein each of the second information and the third information further includes a serving cell index [Cirik: 0271; A first portion of the report 2604 (e.g., for the indexes RS 1 through RS N) may be similar to the beam report 2601, except that the first portion of the report 2604 is for the first cell (e.g., for RSs associated with the first cell). A second portion of the beam report 2604 may comprise one or more additional cell index fields for cell indexes of one or more cells (e.g., cells indicated by cell indexes “Cell 1” to “Cell K”) and one or more additional data fields respectively associated with the additional cell index fields. Each of the one or more additional cell indexes may be associated with a serving second cell (e.g., other than the first cell). The serving cells may be, for example, SCells].
Regarding Claim 8 (Currently Amended),
wherein the selecting the one or more scheduling request resources from the scheduling request resource set is further based on a first serving cell set, wherein the first serving cell set excludes a serving cell for which X beam failures are detected, wherein X is greater than 1 and each of the X beam failures is associated with a parameter index; and/or the first serving cell set includes a serving cell for which up to Y beam failures are detected, wherein Y is greater than zero and each of the Y beam failures is associated with a parameter index same as a parameter index of one of the one or more scheduling request resources [Cirik: 0247; the wireless device 2201 may measure radio link quality of one or more beams associated with the one or more first RSs and/or the one or more second RSs; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise one or more beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) resources associated with the second cell 2202; the BFRQ resources may, for example, be on the first cell 2200 (e.g., if the second cell 2202 is configured without uplink resources for the wireless device 2201); the BFRQ resources may be on the second cell 2202; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise an association between each of the one or more second RSs and each of the one or more BFRQ resources; 0271; FIG. 26D shows an example beam report 2604 for a first cell (e.g., a PCell) that reports values for characteristics of the first cell, and that may report an unsuccessful BFR procedure (and/or a beam failure) for one or more second cells; 0274; a wireless device may initiate a random access procedure for a beam failure recovery for the second cell based on, for example, reaching a number of beam failure instance indications for the second cell; the beam failure instance may comprise assessing the one or more first RSs with radio quality lower than a first threshold; 0213; the first set and/or the second set may be used for radio link quality measurements on the serving cell].
Regarding Claim 9 (Currently Amended),
wherein the SPCell is a serving cell of the scheduling request resource set [Cirik: SPCell == second cell; 0247; the wireless device 2201 may measure radio link quality of one or more beams associated with the one or more first RSs and/or the one or more second RSs; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise one or more beam failure recovery request (BFRQ) resources associated with the second cell 2202; the BFRQ resources may, for example, be on the first cell 2200 (e.g., if the second cell 2202 is configured without uplink resources for the wireless device 2201); the BFRQ resources may be on the second cell 2202; the one or more BFR configuration parameters may comprise an association between each of the one or more second RSs and each of the one or more BFRQ resources; 0251; for the candidate beam identification procedure, the wireless device 2201 may identify a first RS (e.g., the Second RS 2) in the one or more second RSs; the first RS may be associated with a BFRQ resource of the one or more BFRQ resources; 0271; If there is a beam failure and/or a failure of a BFR procedure for a second cell indicated by a cell index in one of the cell index fields, a wireless device may populate the additional data field, associated with that cell index field, with a value (e.g., a different one of the reserved values from FIG. 25 (e.g., 1111111)) indicative of the unsuccessful BFR (and/or of the beam failure); a base station receiving the beam report 2604 may determine, for each of the one or more second cells associated with cell indexes in the cell index fields, whether a BFR procedure of that second cell was unsuccessful and/or whether a beam failure occurred in that second cell; that determination by the base station may be based on whether each of the additional data fields associated with the cell index fields is either (i) empty and/or populated a value indicative of no beam failure (or of successful BFR), or (ii) populated with a value indicative of an unsuccessful BFR (and/or of a beam failure); 0275; the random access procedure may comprise, for example, selecting a selected RS in the one or more second RSs from the configuration parameters; the selected RS may be associated with a BFRQ resource; the BFRQ resource may comprise at least one preamble and at least one random access channel resource of a BWP; the random access procedure may further comprise sending (e.g., transmitting), by the wireless device, the at least one preamble via the at least one random access channel resource; the at least one random access channel resource may comprise one or more time resources and/or one or more frequency resources; the selected RS may, for example, be associated with one of the one or more second RSs with radio quality higher than a second threshold].
Regarding Claim 10 (Currently Amended),
wherein the parameter index includes at least one of an index of beam failure detecting reference signal resource set or an index of a BFR process for a BWP [Cirik: 0213; the first set and/or the second set may be used for radio link quality measurements on the serving cell; the wireless device may determine, for example, if the wireless device is not provided with a higher layer parameter Beam-Failure-Detection-RS-ResourceConfig, a first set to include SS/PBCH block indexes and periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes; the SS/PBCH block indexes and the periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes may comprise values that are the same as one or more RS indexes in one or more RS sets; 0275; the random access procedure may comprise, for example, selecting a selected RS in the one or more second RSs from the configuration parameters; the selected RS may be associated with a BFRQ resource; the BFRQ resource may be, for example, one of the one or more BRFQ resources from the configuration parameters; the BFRQ resource may comprise at least one preamble and at least one random access channel resource of a BWP; the random access procedure may further comprise sending (e.g., transmitting), by the wireless device, the at least one preamble via the at least one random access channel resource].
Regarding Claim 11 (Currently Amended),
wherein the parameter index includes at least one of an index of beam failure detecting reference signal resource set or an index of a BFR process for a BWP [Cirik: 0213; the first set and/or the second set may be used for radio link quality measurements on the serving cell; the wireless device may determine, for example, if the wireless device is not provided with a higher layer parameter Beam-Failure-Detection-RS-ResourceConfig, a first set to include SS/PBCH block indexes and periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes; the SS/PBCH block indexes and the periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes may comprise values that are the same as one or more RS indexes in one or more RS sets; 0275; the random access procedure may comprise, for example, selecting a selected RS in the one or more second RSs from the configuration parameters; the selected RS may be associated with a BFRQ resource; the BFRQ resource may be, for example, one of the one or more BRFQ resources from the configuration parameters; the BFRQ resource may comprise at least one preamble and at least one random access channel resource of a BWP; the random access procedure may further comprise sending (e.g., transmitting), by the wireless device, the at least one preamble via the at least one random access channel resource].
Regarding Claims 12 and 15, which recite the same claim limitations as those in claims 1 and 4 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 1 and is applicable.
Regarding Claims 16 and 19-20, which recite a wireless communication apparatus having the same claim limitations as those in claims 1 and 4-5 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 1 and 4-5 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 21 (New),
Further comprising: when one or less beam failure is detected for the SPCell: transmitting a beam failure recovery-medium access control element (MAC-CE) in an uplink shared channel when an uplink shared channel is visible, or transmitting the one or more scheduling request resources to the base station [Cirik: 0244; an uplink notification of a failure of a BFR procedure for an SCell may be based on beam reporting via a PUCCH, an RRC message, and/or a MAC CE; the uplink notification may comprise an identity of the SCell associated with the beam failure].
Regarding Claim 22, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 21 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 21 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 23, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 21 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 21 is applicable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding claim on pages 8-9 of the Remarks section that Cirik [0213] does not teach (a) how one or more scheduling request resources is selected from the scheduling request resource set for beam failure recovery, and (b) it does not teach a relationship between information associated with beam failures and scheduling request resource information. Cirik [0250] can be viewed as one beam failure detecting reference signal set, instead multiple beam failure are detected in claims.
Examiner’s Response:
Cirik’s discussion in [250-51] is merely exemplary and not limiting. Zhang in Cirik-Zhang has been cited to teach “two beam failure detecting reference signal resource sets.” For relationship between information associated with beam failures and scheduling request resource information, Cirik teaches that the PUCCH beam reporting may comprise one or more beam indexes and one or more measurement fields … one or more beam indexes may be associated (e.g., QCLed) with one or more RSs of a cell (e.g. First RS1, Second RS1, First RS2, Second RS2 of Second Cell in Fig. 22) associated with a beam report [Cirik: 0265], thus teaching the limitation at issue.
Applicant argues regarding claim 1 on page 9-10 of the Remarks section that Cirik [247] does not teach that the wireless device to select an SR resource form a set based on a relationship the wireless device determines between beam failure information and SR resource information. Second, Cirik [251] discloses to set up a one-to-one association between multiple candidate RS resources in one RS candidate resource set and multiple BFRQ resource instead of a relationship between multiple scheduling request resources and one or more beam failures correspond to one or more beam failure RS sets. Third, Cirik [251] discloses that a CFRQ resource is a PRACH resource instead of a schedule request resource. Normally, a schedule request resource is a PUCCH resource to request PUSCH from the base station. In conclusion, Cirik fails to disclose two BFR processes performed by two beam failure detecting reference signal sets and two candidate RS sets for one cell.
Examiner’s Response:
Applicant’s limitations do not recite that a schedule request resource is a PUCCH resource. For purposes of brevity, please see the rejection above, where Cirik teaches both a PRACH resource and a PUCCH resource for beam reporting. Moreover, the claim limitations do not recite two BFR processes performed by two beam failure detecting reference signal sets and two candidate RS set for one cell, rather the limitation merely recites that “one or more scheduling request resources are selected from the scheduling request resource set for beam failure recovery based on a relationship between the one or more beam failures and the two scheduling requests resources in the scheduling request resource set.” In short, the limitation at issues is broader in scope under the BRI standard and has been construed as such. For purposes of brevity, please see the mapping for this limitation above while considering a schedule request resource being a PUCCH resource.
Conclusion
SAAD A. WAQAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/Saad A. Waqas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468