DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
While Applicant explains in the specification that the below horizontal position is “(e.g., below the x-axis)”, Examiner notes that in the retracted stowed position shown in figure 3 of the published application, the x-axis is shown as a vertical line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “wherein the retracted stowed position is a below horizontal position” is indefinite. It is unclear what is meant by “a below horizontal position”. While Applicant explains in the specification that below horizontal position is “(e.g., below the x-axis)”, Examiner notes that in the retracted stowed position shown in figure 3 of the published application, the x-axis is shown as a vertical line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA-3063116 (CA’116) in view of GB-2155143 (GB’143).
Re: claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11-13, 15-18, and 20. CA’116 shows in figure 3 an assembly, comprising: a shock strut comprising: a shock strut cylinder 110; and a shock strut piston 120 slidably disposed within the shock strut cylinder which includes gas 134 the condition of which (pressure/temperature) sensor 150 detects as disclosed in paragraph [0046]; and a temperature control unit assembly 25, 150 with part of it or element 150 disposed within the shock strut cylinder and discloses in paragraph [0004] gas pressure (which is tied to gas temperature) being maintained within a design envelope), wherein the shock strut cylinder is divided into a liquid chamber 132 and a mixed fluid chamber 134, wherein the landing gear assembly is configured such that liquid from the liquid chamber 132 enters the mixed fluid chamber responsive to compression of the shock strut or responsive to the landing gear assembly being in a retracted stowed position by virtue of the chambers being open to each other and not separated by a barrier, the mixed fluid chamber 134 comprising a gas portion 134 and a liquid portion or the portion of 132 entering 134 as broadly recited, wherein the retracted stowed position is a below horizontal position or stowed below an X-axis line as broadly recited and as best understood, and wherein the temperature control unit assembly 25, 150 is configured such that a component of the temperature control unit assembly 25, 150 is positioned within the gas portion 134 of the mixed fluid chamber regardless of whether the landing gear assembly is in an extended position, a compressed position, or in the retracted or stowed position particularly in the retracted or stowed position to the point before the liquid reaches the temperature control unit assembly as broadly recited, but is silent with regard to the temperature control unit assembly comprising: a temperature regulator; a temperature sensor electrically coupled to the temperature regulator and is silent with regard to a heating element electrically coupled to the temperature regulator being configured to, responsive to a temperature within the shock strut cylinder falling below a predetermined temperature, heat gas within the shock strut cylinder. With regard to claim 9, CA’116 discloses an aircraft in the abstract.
GB’143 teaches in figure 1 and claim 1 the use of a temperature control unit assembly comprising in addition to a temperature sensor 28 a temperature regulator 32 and a heating element 30 electrically coupled to the temperature regulator 32.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the temperature control assembly of CA’116, as modified, to have also included a temperature regulator and a heating element electrically coupled to the regulator, in view of the teachings of GB’143, in order to provide an assembly made up of components that enable an increase in the gas pressure to make the strut stiffer to help it support more static load depending on the particular application.
GB’143 teaches in figure 1 and in clam 1 the use of a temperature control unit assembly 28, 30 being configured to, responsive to a temperature within the shock strut cylinder falling below a predetermined temperature, heat gas within 10 which is within the shock strut.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the temperature control assembly of CA’116, as modified, to have been configured to, responsive to a temperature within the shock strut cylinder falling below a predetermined temperature, heat gas within the shock strut cylinder, in view of the teachings of GB’143, in order to provide a means of increasing the gas pressure to make the strut stiffer to help it support more static loads depending on the particular application. With regard to claims 7, 8, 15, and 16 see claim 1 of GB’143 which describes heating up to the predetermined max temperature (claims 7, 15, and 20) and being configured to cease heating or maintain the gas temperature at said predetermined max temperature value (claims 8, 16, and 18).
Re: claims 6, 14, and 19. CA’116, as modified, is silent with regards to the heating element being a certain type.
GB’143 teaches in figure 1 the use of a heating element 30 being of the strip type, since it comprises a coil structure arranged in a strip fashion, as best understood.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the heating element of CA’116, as modified, to have been of the strip type, in view of the teachings of GB’143, in order to provide to provide an arrangement that results in a more compact assembly due to the strip type arrangement not taking up as much vertical space as another type of heating element.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to independent claims 1, 9, and 17 Applicant argues that Fazali (CA’116) is silent with regard to having a retracted stowed position that is a below horizontal position. In paragraph [0027] of the instant published application, Applicant describes below horizontal as “(e.g., below the x-axis)”. As broadly recited and as best understood, the retracted stowed position of the landing gear assembly of CA’116 is below an x-axis, particularly one drawn above the landing gear assembly. Applicant further argues that Guesdon (GB’143) also fails to show or suggest the retracted stowed position that is a below horizontal position. Examiner notes that GB’143 was used solely for the teaching of the temperature responsive heating element. Accordingly, the above rejections have been maintained.
Conclusion
mmb
June 11, 2026
/MELODY M BURCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616