DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 06/14/2023 and 09/05/2023. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 11-13, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities and suggested corrections are listed:
Claim 4, lines 2 and 3: “…wherein the area of the first overlaid region and the area of the second overlaid region are within the same sub-pixel region are unequal.”
Claim 11, lines 2 and 3: “…and each adjacent [[two]] to of the some of the first color filter elements.”
Claim 12, lines 2 and 3: “…wherein the first color filter element and the second color filter element are aligned to one of the sub-pixel regions are of the same color.”
Claim 13, lines 2 and 3: “…wherein the first color filter element and the second color filter element are aligned to one of the sub-pixel regions are of the different colors.”
Claim 15, lines 2 and 3: “…wherein the shape of the first overlaid region and the shape of the second overlaid region are within the same sub-pixel region are complementary.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “complementary” in claims 2 and 15, line 3, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “complementary” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, “complementary” will be taken as “fitting within the display”.
The term “shape” in claims 2, 9, and 15, lines 1 and 2, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “shape” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, “shape” will be taken as “fitting within the display”
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the other section" in lines 1 and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the other section" will be taken as "an area outside of the section".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noguchi et al., (hereafter Noguchi) (US 2018/0307367 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Noguchi discloses a display device (Figure 1), comprising: a display panel having a display surface (display surface of 10, Figure 1; see also ¶[0057]) and a plurality of sub-pixel regions (plurality of sub-pixel regions , ¶[0092]) located on the display surface (display surface of 10, Figure 1; see also ¶[0057]); a conductive layer (11 and 18, Figure 1, and 40, Figure 2; see also ¶[0050]) located on the display surface (display surface of 10, Figure 1; see also ¶[0057]); a first color filter array (32R and 32G, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) located on the conductive layer (11 and 18, Figure 1, and 40, Figure 2; see also ¶[0050]), comprising a plurality of first color filter elements (32R are red and may be arrayed and 32G are green and may be arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]), wherein each of the first color filter elements (32R are red and may be arrayed and 32G are green and may be arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) is aligned to one of the sub-pixel regions (plurality of sub-pixel regions (SPix, Figure 14), ¶[0092]), and thus an orthogonal projection (see 32R, 32G and 32B, in Figure 14 how they are orthogonally projected) of each of the first color filter elements (32R are red and may be arrayed and 32G are green and may be arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) onto one of the sub-pixel regions (plurality of sub-pixel regions (SPix, Figure 14), ¶[0092]) defines a first overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14); and a second color filter (32B, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) located on the first color filter array (32R and 32G, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]), including a plurality of second color filter elements (32B can by arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]), wherein each of the second color filter elements (32B are blue arrayed elements, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) is aligned to one of the sub-pixel regions (plurality of sub-pixel regions (SPix, Figure 14), ¶[0092]), and thus an orthogonal projection (see 32R, 32G and 32B, Figure 14 how they are orthogonally projected) of each of the second color filter elements (32B can by arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) onto one of the sub-pixel regions (plurality of sub-pixel regions (SPix, Figure 14), ¶[0092]) defines a second overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14), wherein the first overlaid region and the second overlaid region are within the same sub-pixel region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14); wherein a section of the first overlaid region does not overlap (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14) a section of the second overlaid region within the same sub-pixel region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14).
With respect to Claim 2, Noguchi further discloses, as best understood, wherein the shape of the first overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14) and the shape of the second overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14) within the same sub-pixel region are complementary (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14).
With respect to Claim 3, Noguchi further discloses, wherein an area outside of the section of the first overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14) overlaps an area outside of the section of the second overlaid region within the same sub-pixel region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14).
With respect to Claim 4, Noguchi further discloses, wherein the area of the first overlaid region and the area of the second overlaid region within the same sub-pixel region are unequal (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14).
With respect to Claim 5, Noguchi further discloses, wherein at least two of the first overlaid regions have unequal areas (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14).
With respect to Claim 6, Noguchi further discloses wherein at least two of the second overlaid regions have unequal areas (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14).
With respect to Claim 7, Noguchi further discloses wherein the first overlaid region surrounds the second overlaid region within the same sub-pixel region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14).
With respect to Claim 8, Noguchi further discloses wherein the second overlaid region surrounds the first overlaid region within the same sub-pixel region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14).
With respect to Claim 9, Noguchi further discloses, as best understood, wherein the shape of one of the first overlaid regions is the same as the shape of one of the second overlaid regions (see annotated Figure 14; both are polygons).
With respect to Claim 10, Noguchi further discloses wherein the plurality of first color filter elements (32R are red and may be arrayed and 32G are green and may be arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) are separated from each other , and the plurality of second color filter element (32B can by arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) are separated from each other.
With respect to Claim 11, Noguchi further discloses wherein some of the first color filter elements (32R are red and may be arrayed and 32G are green and may be arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) are arranged along a direction, and each adjacent two of the some of the first color filter elements (32R are red and may be arrayed and 32G are green and may be arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) are of different colors (4 is red and 5 is green, Figure 6).
With respect to Claim 12, Noguchi further discloses wherein the first color filter element (32R are red and may be arrayed and 32G are green and may be arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) and the second color filter element (32B can by arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) aligned to one of the sub-pixel regions (plurality of sub-pixel regions (SPix, Figure 14), ¶[0092]) are of the same color (see ¶[0105]).
With respect to Claim 13, Noguchi further discloses wherein the first color filter element (32R are red and may be arrayed and 32G are green and may be arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) and the second color filter element (32B can by arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) aligned to one of the sub-pixel regions (plurality of sub-pixel regions (SPix, Figure 14), ¶[0092]) are of different colors (see ¶[0105]).
With respect to Claim 14, Noguchi discloses a display device (Figure 1), comprising: a display panel having a display surface (display surface of 10, Figure 1; see also ¶[0057]) and a plurality of sub-pixel regions (plurality of sub-pixel regions (SPix, Figure 14), ¶[0092]) located on the display surface (display surface of 10, Figure 1; see also ¶[0057]); a conductive layer (11 and 18, Figure 1, and 40, Figure 2; see also ¶[0050]) located on the display surface (display surface of 10, Figure 1; see also ¶[0057]); a first color filter array (32R and 32G, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) located on the conductive layer (11 and 18, Figure 1, and 40, Figure 2; see also ¶[0050]), comprising a plurality of first color filter elements (32R are red and may be arrayed and 32G are green and may be arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]), wherein each of the first color filter elements (32R are red and may be arrayed and 32G are green and may be arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) (4 is a plurality of red elements and 5 is a plurality of green elements, Figure 6) is aligned to one of the sub-pixel regions (plurality of sub-pixel regions (SPix, Figure 14), ¶[0092]), and thus an orthogonal projection (see 32R, 32G and 32B, in Figure 14 how they are orthogonally projected) of each of the first color filter elements (32R are red and may be arrayed and 32G are green and may be arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) onto one of the sub-pixel regions (plurality of sub-pixel regions (SPix, Figure 14), ¶[0092]) defines a first overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14); and a second color filter array (5 is a plurality of green elements, Figure 6) located on the first color filter array (32R and 32G, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]), including a plurality of second color filter elements (32B can by arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]), wherein each of the second color filter elements (32B can by arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) is aligned to one of the sub-pixel regions (plurality of sub-pixel regions (SPix, Figure 14), ¶[0092]), and thus an orthogonal projection (see 32R, 32G and 32B, in Figure 14 how they are orthogonally projected) of each of the second color filter elements (32B can by arrayed, Figure 14; see also ¶[0105]) onto one of the sub-pixel regions (plurality of sub-pixel regions (SPix, Figure 14), ¶[0092]) defines a second overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14), wherein the first overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14) and the second overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14) are within the same sub-pixel region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14); wherein a section of the first overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14) does not overlap (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14) a section of the second overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14) within the same sub-pixel region; wherein the area of the first overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14) and the area of the second overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14) within the same sub-pixel region are equal (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14).
With respect to Claim 15, Noguchi further discloses, as best understood, wherein the shape of the first overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14) and the shape of the second overlaid region (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14) within the same sub-pixel region are complementary (see annotated Figure 6 and see Figure 14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al., (US 2019/0020865 A1) teach a display device with color filters and sub-pixel regions.
Park et al., (US 9,093,669 B2) teach a display device with color filters and sub-pixel regions.
/TYW/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872