Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the method steps describing the formation of the second prepreg layer, the method steps describing the formation of the outer electrically conducting layers, and the separating layer must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because the second operation of figure 2 incorrectly describes the first prepreg layer. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in [0032], a first biodegradable material between two electrically conducting layers describes the core layer, not the first prepreg layer.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8-11, 14, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone (US 20150077951 A1) in view of Chamberlin (US 20190191559 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stone teaches in figure 1 a circuit board (3) core layer (4) made of biodegradable material ([0021]; wherein the substrate 4 can be paper, cardboard, or other fiber-based materials) and a first laminate layer ([0021]; plastic layer adjacent the fiber-based substrate material in the core layer).
Stone does not teach the first laminate layer is a prepreg layer, and the core layer comprises a material sandwiched between two electrically conducting layers.
However, Chamberlin teaches in figure 3C a first prepreg layer (334) adjacent to the core layer (304), wherein the core layer comprises a material sandwiched between two electrically conducting layers ([0021]; wherein the core layer has two outer layers of copper).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board of Stone to include a prepreg layer and two electrically conducting layers, in order to provide an insulating dielectric layer that will allow adhering of electrical wiring circuits to perform various circuit operations.
Regarding claim 2, Stone teaches in figure 1 a biodegradable material (4) that comprises paper or cardboard ([0021]; wherein the substrate 4 can be paper or cardboard).
Regarding claim 5, Stone teaches in figure 1 a core layer (4) in a circuit board (3).
Stone does not teach a second prepreg layer adjacent the core layer such that the core layer is sandwiched between the first prepreg layer and the second prepreg layer.
However, Chamberlin teaches in figure 3C a second prepreg layer (336) adjacent the core layer (304) such that the core layer is sandwiched between the first prepreg layer (334) and the second prepreg layer (wherein core 304 is between prepreg layers 334 and 336).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the core layer of Stone to be sandwiched between two prepreg layers, in order to provide an insulating dielectric layer that will allow adhering of electrical wiring circuits to perform various circuit operations.
Regarding claim 8, Stone teaches in figure 1 a core layer (4) in a circuit board (3).
Stone does not teach a first outer electrically conducting layer on the first prepreg layer, a second outer electrically conducting layer on the second prepreg layer such that the first prepreg layer, the core and the second prepreg layer are sandwiched between the first outer electrically conducting layer and the second outer electrically conducting layer.
However, Chamberlin teaches in figure 3C a first outer electrically conducting layer (302) on the first prepreg layer (334), a second outer electrically conducting layer (306) on the second prepreg layer (336) such that the first prepreg layer, the core and the second prepreg layer are sandwiched between the first outer electrically conducting layer and the second outer electrically conducting layer ([0027]; wherein layers 302 and 306 contain copper and surround 334, 304, and 336).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the core layer of Stone to include prepreg layers and electrically conducting layers sandwiching the core and prepreg layers, in order to provide an insulating dielectric layer that will allow adhering of electrical wiring circuits to perform various circuit operations.
Regarding claim 9, Stone teaches a circuit board (3).
Stone does not teach the first outer electrically conducting layer or the second outer electrically conducting layer comprises copper.
However, Chamberlin teaches in figure 3C the first outer electrically conducting layer or the second outer electrically conducting layer comprises copper ([0027]; wherein layers 302 and 306 have copper patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board of Stone to include outer conducting layers of copper, in order to improve the conducting properties of the circuit board.
Regarding claim 10, Stone teaches in figure 1 forming a circuit board (3) with a core layer (4) made of biodegradable material ([0021]; wherein the substrate 4 can be paper, cardboard, or other fiber-based materials) and a first laminate layer ([0021]; plastic layer adjacent the fiber-based substrate material).
Stone does not teach forming the first laminate layer as a prepreg layer, and the core layer comprises placing a material sandwiched between two electrically conducting layers.
However, Chamberlin teaches in figure 3C forming a first prepreg layer (334) adjacent to the core layer (304), wherein the core layer comprises placing a material sandwiched between two electrically conducting layers ([0021]; wherein the core layer has two outer layers of copper).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board method of Stone to include a prepreg layer and two electrically conducting layers in order to create electrical conduction on the core layer and to provide a flexible insulator to prevent resin starvation in certain areas of the circuit board (Chamberlin [0022]).
Regarding claim 11, Stone teaches in figure 1 a biodegradable material (4) that comprises paper or cardboard ([0021]; wherein the substrate 4 can be paper or cardboard).
Regarding claim 14, Stone teaches in figure 1 a core layer (4) in a circuit board (3).
Stone does not teach forming a second prepreg layer adjacent the core layer such that the core layer is sandwiched between the first prepreg layer and the second prepreg layer.
However, Chamberlin teaches in figure 3C forming a second prepreg layer (336) adjacent the core layer (304) such that the core layer is sandwiched between the first prepreg layer (334) and the second prepreg layer (wherein core 304 is between prepreg layers 334 and 336).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Stone to sandwich the core layer between two prepreg layers, in order to provide an insulating dielectric layer that will allow adhering of electrical wiring circuits to perform various circuit operations.
Regarding claim 17, Stone teaches in figure 1 forming a core layer (4) in a circuit board (3).
Stone does not teach forming a first outer electrically conducting layer on the first prepreg layer, a second outer electrically conducting layer on the second prepreg layer such that the first prepreg layer, the core and the second prepreg layer are sandwiched between the first outer electrically conducting layer and the second outer electrically conducting layer.
However, Chamberlin teaches in figure 3C forming a first outer electrically conducting layer (302) on the first prepreg layer (334), a second outer electrically conducting layer (306) on the second prepreg layer (336) such that the first prepreg layer, the core and the second prepreg layer are sandwiched between the first outer electrically conducting layer and the second outer electrically conducting layer ([0027]; wherein layers 302 and 306 contain copper and surround 334, 304, and 336).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board method of Stone to include prepreg layers and electrically conducting layers sandwiching the core and prepreg layers, in order to form a multilayer circuit board with more conducting properties.
Regarding claim 18, Chamberlin teaches in figure 3C the first outer electrically conducting layer or the second outer electrically conducting layer comprises copper ([0027]; wherein layers 302 and 306 have copper patterns).
Regarding claim 18, Stone teaches in figure 1 a circuit board (3).
Stone does not teach the first outer electrically conducting layer or the second outer electrically conducting layer comprises copper.
However, Chamberlin teaches in figure 3C the first outer electrically conducting layer or the second outer electrically conducting layer comprises copper ([0027]; wherein layers 302 and 306 have copper patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board of Stone to include outer conducting layers of copper, in order to improve the conducting properties of the circuit board.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stone (US 20150077951 A1) in view of Goh (US 11856719 B1).
Regarding claim 19, Stone teaches in figure 1 a core layer (see fiber-based material [0021]) and a laminate layer (see plastic layer that covers the fiber-based material in [0021]). The core layer and the plastic layer are joined together ([0021]) wherein the core layer comprises a separating layer of fiber-based material such as paper, card or cardboard ([0021]) for separating the plastic layer from the core layer upon dissolution in a solvent (wherein paper, card or cardboard separate when put in water).
Stone fails to teach that the laminate layer is a prepreg layer.
However, Goh teaches a prepreg layer (254) joined to a core layer (250).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include separable core and prepreg layers in the circuit board of Stone, in order to be able to reuse the prepreg layer in another board and discard the core layer in an environmentally friendly way (Goh Col. 16, lines 35-67 and Col. 17, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 20, Stone teaches in figure 1 the separating layer (4) comprises paper or cardboard ([0021]; wherein the substrate 4 can be paper or cardboard).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 12, 13, 15, and 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach " the first prepreg layer comprises a second biodegradable material sandwiched between two dielectric layers" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach " the second biodegradable material comprises jute, linen, areca nut husk, paper or cardboard" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims 1 and 3.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach " the second prepreg layer comprises a third biodegradable material sandwiched between two dielectric layers" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims 1 and 5.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach " the third biodegradable material comprises jute, linen, areca nut husk, paper or cardboard" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims 1, 5, and 6.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach " the first prepreg layer comprises placing a second biodegradable material between two dielectric layers" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach " the second biodegradable material comprises jute, linen, areca nut husk, paper or cardboard" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims 10 and 12.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach " the second prepreg layer comprises placing a third biodegradable material between two dielectric layers" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims 10 and 14.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach " the third biodegradable material comprises jute, linen, areca nut husk, paper or cardboard" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims 10, 14, and 15.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Afzali-Ardakani (US 6339116 B1), Rogers (US 20160050750 A1), and Poppe (US 20120070609 A1).
Afzali-Ardakani teaches a biobased printed circuit board with multiple layers, including prepreg layers and jute given as a potential component of one biobased component of a layer, designed to be environmentally friendly.
Rogers teaches biodegradable materials for printed circuit boards, where the layers can be water soluble or dissolved in a solvent and can have multiple layers including prepreg layers or dielectric layers.
Poppe teaches a composite panel with multiple layers, including biodegradable cardboard layers, layers with fibers like jute or linen, and prepreg layers.
None of the references, alone or in combination, teach all of the limitations for the claims.
Therefore, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the instant application claimed invention as a whole either taken alone or in combination.
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL MARIE THAYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847